HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Globetrotters International Cairns Hostel

154 Lake st, Cairns, Australia

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 82%

Location 79%

Safety 88%

Staff 87%

Value 91%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Steam room
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 4.00USD

Important Information

All guests are required to present International Passports on check in
All guests must be over 18years of age (new policy)
Late checkins must contact hostel business hrs (8am -5pm)

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 82%

Location 79%

Safety 88%

Staff 87%

Value 91%

Showing 81-55 of 55 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: new kitchen and showers great pool great atmosphere little bit like hotel

Disliked: to many sings evverywhere. " We are an budget hostel not a hotel" if you are not happy- leave"in a brand new and clean bathroom is really not neccessary

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: it was so clean, modern and cool

Disliked: nothing awesome hostel

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals

Liked: So much fun!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Globetrotters is a fab place to stay one of the cleanest hostels i have ever stayed in . staff are very helpful.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: free wifi nice

Disliked: its infected with ants in the room and kitchen, really bad.we only had aircon from 6pm to 8 am, its too hot in the room without aircon.and we didn't get clean bedsheets for 10 days, not ok.


The property's response is

We advise next time you are looking for accommodation you check into a childcare center where they can change your nappy and feed you.
Your parents must be really proud of raising a 22 year old baby, GROW UP Tine

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Nice clean and safe not far from everything and

Disliked: All good

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very close to seafront esplanade. Relatively cheap. Good place to base yourself. More suited to younger backpackers.There's a pool and decent TV area, plus kitchens and laundry facilities

Disliked: Booked double room with shared bathroom - room very very basic. Room had huge window that looked onto lounge area, a broken blind sort of covered it. No hooks to hang anything on. Although no noise rule after 11pm, you could hear everything from the lounge. Very noisy from walking up above in early hours of morning with a lot of overhead noise from people walking Towels extra surcharge. Shared bathroom was always quite messy. Staff had limited knowledge on excursions and the surrounding area.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: easy to get to

Disliked: the air con had mould all over it and was pretty noisey, nearlly rattled the window out when the compressor kicked in, leaking fosets in the shower upstairs and the air con wouldnt work until 6pm at night leaving you swealtering if you wanted an afternoon nap (i like afternoon naps) you need them sometimes before a big night out.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff was friendly and very helpful! On the day I was to be picked-up to catch my departing flight, it was late. One of the Front Desk staff Crystal, went above and beyond what I expected - even though I had personally made the shuttle booking, she called the company for me to make sure the shuttle was enroute, and when she discovered they got the pick-up wrong, helped to get them to send someone quickly so I wouldn\\'t miss my flight. A personal driver showed up for me only a few minutes later.

Disliked: n/a

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Free wifi and good beds

Disliked: Is not clean


The property's response is

As we have professional cleaners in everyday it could'nt have been to bad
as you extended two extra days

Check Availability