HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Globetrotters International Cairns Hostel

154 Lake st, Cairns, Australia

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 80%

Location 78%

Safety 87%

Staff 85%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Steam room
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 3.73USD

Important Information

All guests are required to present International Passports on check in
All guests must be over 18years of age (new policy)
Late checkins must contact hostel business hrs (8am -5pm)

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 80%

Location 78%

Safety 87%

Staff 85%

Value 90%

Showing 71-44 of 44 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It looks like Thai feel.

Disliked: Overall are very well.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was quiet and clean. It was a lovely hostel with a nice grassy yard and swimming pool. Lots of kitchens and a nice big lounge room.

Disliked: The staff is not there that often, so if you run out of toilet paper at night or need a blanket or something... it is hard to get it after 8pm.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The private room was a lot more spacious than the other hostel I stayed at and much cleaner. Also, I moved to a dorm room the next night and I liked the set-up of the beds - no bunk beds, but single beds - and how many kitchens and bathrooms this place had. You never had to wait to cook or shower. The swimming pool is a bonus too, although I never used it.

Disliked: The office hours end pretty early - 6 or 7 pm - so if you come after that, nobody is there to help you with anything. However, they do leave an information packet for you at the front desk and there is a number you can call. But it just makes booking day trips or the airport shuttle more difficult when there's no one to talk to. Also, the AC can only be turned on at certain times, so the rooms can get pretty hot!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very nice & friendly reception!this likes a resort more than a hostel! I will recommend to my friends to stay here!

Disliked: Nil

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean, nice staff, air condition, free Internet, awesome people

Disliked: Somebody stole me 200$. I think, it would be handy to have lockers in the room for our luggage.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Crystal (the receptionist) was an absolute star on our stay. She made our stay.

Disliked: The reception needs to be covered all day rather than just part time and our room was very near a kitchen which occasionally got very noisy.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel has quite a nice location. Just 10 minute walk to the shopping mall and 15 minutes to the Reef Fleet Terminal. Free Wi-Fi. Very clean and modern. Swimming Pool was very nice as well.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The atmosphere was great. The location was close to the pier and shopping centers. The facilities were fine. The beds were comfortable. The pool area and lounge were nice to spend time in. The other people staying at the hostel were fun to meet and talk with.

Disliked: It would be nice if the hostel was located closer to the center of town and the grocery store especially. It would be nice to have soap in the bathrooms for washing hands. It would be nice if the utensils and disches were more easily accessible.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Not much really

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: By far the best hostel during our five week-stay in Australia. The facilities are all clean and modern, the furniture is well-selected and modern, the service is superb and - it is very good (!) value for money. My girlfriend and I extendend our stay for about 2 weeks. The internet is very fast, the kitchens (yes, there are plenty!) are all nice, large and clean, and the staff as well as some other long-term residents were all very helpful and friendly. The owner of the place is very open to honest feedback and we received a large discount for a night without a functioning air-con. All in all, by far the best value-for-money we have experienced in Oz.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability