We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels

Reviews of Globetrotters International

Hostel | 154 - 156 Lake Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

75.9% Overall Rating

296 out of 320 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/07/2014)

Giancarlo Zucca thinks…

"Just the best hostel I have been in my life. A lot of common areas, facilities widely available, wifi just amazing (it's free and fast) What stroke is the beauty, the location, the cleanliness of…"

Read all Globetrotters International reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 4.37

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

All guests are required to present International Passports on check in All guests must be over 18years of age (new policy) Late checkins must contact hostel business hrs (8am -5pm)

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairns

Discovery Cairns
38.86 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront
17.47 USD

Hostel 87.4% 593 reviews
Asylum Cairns
10.48 USD

Hostel 74.6% 238 reviews
Castaway's Backpackers
17.47 USD

Hostel 84.8% 220 reviews
Njoy! Travellers Resort
18.34 USD

Hostel 77.5% 177 reviews
City Sheridan
24.89 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Cairns City Motel
20.96 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.2% 7 reviews
Cairns Rainbow Resort
30.57 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.9%

Overall Rating

296 out of 320 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Globetrotters International'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
80.0%
Value
79.2%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 259 of 307 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has the best communal area! It has great atmosphere about it. It is basic and clean. I would recommend it.

Disliked: The location is not the most central, but it's walkable to the centre.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

deborah barnett

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2011 deborah would recommend this property

Liked: lovely hostel,really nice and helpful staff.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jonathan stanley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2011 jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The price is amazing for the quality you get. Nice pool and lounge area and a great location. The staff are unbelievably friendly and helpful. The best place I stayed in Oz!

Disliked: none

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel...I was feeling like in a flat

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

17 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 10 min walk to the city center! the hostel offers free breakfast including a very good coffee! staff was really friendly and always helpful!

Disliked: can't think of anything :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JING HU

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2011 JING would recommend this property

Liked: I can not image that it's just a hostel! It is so beautiful just like some friends staying in a resort. It's really a best choice.

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's excellent! Friendly helpful staff, relaxing, safe, resort style!

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david jasper

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2011 david would recommend this property

Liked: Really liked globetrotters and would definitely recommend. Free wifi was great as this doesn't seem to be common place in oz. Communal areas are too high standard.

Disliked: Cooker oven didn't work, although this is something of a trend in hostels. Also, it is bit of a walk into CBD but all good exercise I guess.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was fantastic! I'll be back...

Disliked: nothing to dislike, all positive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its the best hostel, where have been stayed.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Prashant Choudhary

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2011 Prashant would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere,nice young people with big smiles all around.even helped me to rebook my tour that got cancelled from the tour operator.nice events opportunities with the groups around

Disliked: nothing specific

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have been travelling around for seven months now and I can honestly say this is the best backpackers I have ever been to. As soon as I arrived I felt right at home. The reception staff were friendly and organised. They went out of there way to help me plan all of my trips. The five bed dorm I was in was exceptional, It had all the extra touches (pictures, plaza t'v, big comfy sofa)you could ask for!!!!! Even breakfast here was a treat with freashly brewed coffee. This place is a hidden Gem which I would recommend to anybody. I look forward to going back when I visit Cairns later in the year.

Disliked: N/A

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: google search engine

Disliked: cannot think of anything

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wi-fi

Disliked: Breakfast

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice rooms, great to have own kitchen, living room and bathroom.

Disliked: Was not informed of building work that was ongoing and was woken every morning by the noise. Also the cleaner brought friends into our room for a chat as we tried to sleep.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kimberley swann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2011 kimberley would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms were clean and the friendly staff on hand all the time. the fact they are travelling backpackers themselves, makes them understand your needs a lot more.

Disliked: nothing was wrong with the property.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I felt very safe there. It was very clean! The front desk people were cordial and helpful. There was enough space to relax.

Disliked: Not very much character, kind of far from the center.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Nesbitt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2011 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel, great value for money! The rooms are amazing for the price, staff are super helpful and friendly, very clean, safe and secure and its not too far from the centre! The free wifi is an amazing bonus, just what every backpacker needs! Loved this place, great find!

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and comfortable room, tv and fridge in room. Generally pretty quiet, slept very well during the night

Disliked: Airconditioning only available in room between 430pm and 930am, (on a timer) - rooms are advertised as 'airconditioned' this is a bit misleading if tired/unwell/jetlagged and need to sleep during the day. A fan was offered but room hot and small so wouldn't have helped. Hostel probably caters more for a younger crowd, older travellers might prefer YHA.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jenny horsley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2011 jenny would recommend this property

Liked: amazing rooms felt like an apartment, fantastic receptionist, Ashley so friendly and helpful made my stay very enjoyable.

Disliked: Nothing it was perfect

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Wang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2011 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely helpful and flexible, the location is a little bit of a walk from the city center (good exercise!), but it's only two short blocks from the esplanade, which is great to walk around. The free meal on the first day was a really nice start to the trip!

Disliked: n/a

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Georgina Warner-Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2011 Georgina would recommend this property

Liked: Really lovely layout with nice outside area and good communcal facilities.

Disliked: Bit of a walk from the bus terminal.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2011

Liked: the owner

Disliked: no internet connection for over a week

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was amazing! The staff couldn't have been more helpful. Brian and Linda really go out of their way to accomodate visitors. I would definately advise booking tours through them as the office staff offer the best friendly and informative advice, I also found their prices alot more reasonable than so-called 'deals' I saw about town. This place was probably the cleanest hostel I have ever stayed in. It was nice to wake up in the morning to free cornflakes and coffee and then spend the day lying by the pool on the sunloungers. The free wifi is a great bonus, (One of the reasons why I chose to stay here.) and the free evening meal vouchers saved me a fortune on food. The place is very safe and secure, I would definately stay here again rather than hostels in the middle of town. I much prefer this laid back hostel to a party place. It has a lovely friendly family atmosphere, were you will be guaranteed a good nights sleep.

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, nice little hostel with great atmosphere!!! Stuff is very helpfull and nice

Disliked: a little bit far away from the city center (10min walk)


See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels