We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels

Reviews of Globetrotters International

Hostel | 154 - 156 Lake Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

80.2% Overall Rating

305 out of 329 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/03/2015)

Lynda Petro thinks…

"Best Wifi every and no time restriction, so different to other noisey patyting hostels, Very clean pleanty of bathroom facilities take a walk around as there are other kitchen and bathrooms not just…"

Read all Globetrotters International reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 3.92

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

All guests are required to present International Passports on check in All guests must be over 18years of age (new policy) Late checkins must contact hostel business hrs (8am -5pm)

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairns

Discovery Cairns
46.60 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront
15.67 USD

Hostel 88.0% 595 reviews
Asylum Cairns
9.40 USD

Hostel 74.7% 241 reviews
Castaways Backpackers
18.80 USD

Hostel 85.4% 222 reviews
Njoy! Travellers Resort
18.80 USD

Hostel 77.5% 177 reviews
Cairns City Sheridan
21.34 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Cairns City Motel
19.58 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.0% 8 reviews
Cairns Rainbow Resort
27.41 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.2%

Overall Rating

305 out of 329 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Globetrotters International'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
88.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 267 of 316 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have just finished travelling the East Coast and this is by far the best hostel I have stayed in throughout. The staff (Rachel and Markus especially) went out of their ways to help us with everything. They even kept the reception open late for us one night so that we could book a tour for the next day. Fantastic! I was very impressed by the new lounge area which included flat screens and free playstations. Cappucino in the mornings was very nice :-)

Disliked: N/A

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wi-fi and friendly staff

Disliked: My room was small for 3 bed dorm

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Arrived late, everything was sorted out when we arrived. Very helpful staff, both with finding day trip and booking them for us, letting us stay an extra night when we didn't get the nightbus we wanted and helped us book Greyhound buses. Also fridge in all rooms and aircon. Bathroom in girlroom could be a bit nicer, but it was clean. 10 min walk from city, but made it quite and nice at night.

Disliked: Old bathroom in girlsroom.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Didde Stenfeldt

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011 Didde would recommend this property

Liked: It is a really good spot and it has everything you need. The staff is amazingly helpful and friendly (I got really sick, and they where so helpful with everything from fresh linens to getting me to the medical center and kept making sure I was okay). It is clean and tidy and has all the facilities you could ask for, and the pool is lovely, definitely good value for money.

Disliked: The only tiny thing I can think of is that there's only 2 showers, which wasn't actually a problem for us anyway as they were free most times when we needed them, also

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff ist very friendly! They do everything for you. You just have to ask :-) The rooms have got a TV and a fridge and they are really clean. good atmosphere in the hostel :-) and really safe... You get a voucher for dinner everyday in a bar. So you can safe a lot of money! We will come back :-)!!

Disliked: The only thing is, that you have to walk 10 mins to the supermarket.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

jennifer warren

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2011 jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the following: very friendly and helpful staff, good wifi, fridge in the room so less chance of your food being taken, good beds, clean facilities, free towels, air con

Disliked: I disliked the following: free breakfast was just box of cheap cornflakes, the reception was closed most of the afternoon, its not located that close to center of cairns about 15-20 min walk which is not far but you might as well get somewhere nearer if you are staying a few days. Its lacks atmosphere.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dorms have a kitchen area and a fridge

Disliked: There is no lockers so hard to keep valuables safe

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Xavier Bazin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 November 2011 Xavier would recommend this property

Liked: Judith, The Playstation 3 and the F1 game

Disliked: the shower in the red house ;)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has the best communal area! It has great atmosphere about it. It is basic and clean. I would recommend it.

Disliked: The location is not the most central, but it's walkable to the centre.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

deborah barnett

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2011 deborah would recommend this property

Liked: lovely hostel,really nice and helpful staff.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jonathan stanley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2011 jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The price is amazing for the quality you get. Nice pool and lounge area and a great location. The staff are unbelievably friendly and helpful. The best place I stayed in Oz!

Disliked: none

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel...I was feeling like in a flat

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

17 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 10 min walk to the city center! the hostel offers free breakfast including a very good coffee! staff was really friendly and always helpful!

Disliked: can't think of anything :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JING HU

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2011 JING would recommend this property

Liked: I can not image that it's just a hostel! It is so beautiful just like some friends staying in a resort. It's really a best choice.

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's excellent! Friendly helpful staff, relaxing, safe, resort style!

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david jasper

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2011 david would recommend this property

Liked: Really liked globetrotters and would definitely recommend. Free wifi was great as this doesn't seem to be common place in oz. Communal areas are too high standard.

Disliked: Cooker oven didn't work, although this is something of a trend in hostels. Also, it is bit of a walk into CBD but all good exercise I guess.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was fantastic! I'll be back...

Disliked: nothing to dislike, all positive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its the best hostel, where have been stayed.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Prashant Choudhary

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2011 Prashant would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere,nice young people with big smiles all around.even helped me to rebook my tour that got cancelled from the tour operator.nice events opportunities with the groups around

Disliked: nothing specific

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have been travelling around for seven months now and I can honestly say this is the best backpackers I have ever been to. As soon as I arrived I felt right at home. The reception staff were friendly and organised. They went out of there way to help me plan all of my trips. The five bed dorm I was in was exceptional, It had all the extra touches (pictures, plaza t'v, big comfy sofa)you could ask for!!!!! Even breakfast here was a treat with freashly brewed coffee. This place is a hidden Gem which I would recommend to anybody. I look forward to going back when I visit Cairns later in the year.

Disliked: N/A

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: google search engine

Disliked: cannot think of anything

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wi-fi

Disliked: Breakfast

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice rooms, great to have own kitchen, living room and bathroom.

Disliked: Was not informed of building work that was ongoing and was woken every morning by the noise. Also the cleaner brought friends into our room for a chat as we tried to sleep.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kimberley swann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2011 kimberley would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms were clean and the friendly staff on hand all the time. the fact they are travelling backpackers themselves, makes them understand your needs a lot more.

Disliked: nothing was wrong with the property.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I felt very safe there. It was very clean! The front desk people were cordial and helpful. There was enough space to relax.

Disliked: Not very much character, kind of far from the center.


See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels