We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels

Reviews of Globetrotters International

Hostel | 154 - 156 Lake Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

75.9% Overall Rating

296 out of 320 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/07/2014)

Giancarlo Zucca thinks…

"Just the best hostel I have been in my life. A lot of common areas, facilities widely available, wifi just amazing (it's free and fast) What stroke is the beauty, the location, the cleanliness of…"

Read all Globetrotters International reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 4.52

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

All guests are required to present International Passports on check in All guests must be over 18years of age (new policy) Late checkins must contact hostel business hrs (8am -5pm)

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairns

Discovery Cairns
53.76 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront
18.07 USD

Hostel 87.2% 592 reviews
Asylum Cairns
10.84 USD

Hostel 75.8% 237 reviews
Castaway's Backpackers
21.68 USD

Hostel 84.8% 220 reviews
Njoy! Travellers Resort
18.97 USD

Hostel 77.5% 177 reviews
City Sheridan
28.23 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Cairns City Motel
24.10 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.2% 7 reviews
Cairns Rainbow Resort
31.62 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.9%

Overall Rating

296 out of 320 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Globetrotters International'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
80.0%
Value
79.2%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 258 of 306 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People staying there are so relaxed and stuffs at reception are so nice!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mary Marley

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

23 January 2012 Mary would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxed, great staff, very central. Enjoyed our stay

Disliked: Mary left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, free internet you even get a laptop if you don´t bring your own!!!!! nice and clean rooms. As it describes itselfs as a non-party accomodation, this is really true. it is quiet the whole day and night. If you want to get on a trip, you should ask there first, on special tours they can give you free extras!

Disliked: the breakfast consits just of cerials and coffee. but better than nothing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Smell of room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Peter Andersson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

11 January 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Great place with a very helpfull and friendly staff! Quit and relaxing.Not a party Hostel.Good value for money! i just exstended my stay with a couple of days just for the place is so great :) /Peter

Disliked: Breakfurst could be a little better..cornflakes milk and coffee.. thats what included in the price. But buy and slice a banan into the coenflakes and you are good to go;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel of Oceania I've been ! They have free Wifi ! The kitchen are great, not to busy (there are several kitchen), and with a lot of free stuff to cook. The staff is nice. There is a breakfast included. The price is really great.

Disliked: Almost nothing : advertisement for facebook.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a great atmosphere, it was clean and comfortable. It has good facilities with a good lounge area. The staff are very helpful and helped with everything you needed. Rachel was always cheery and an asset to the team. Linda was very welcoming and friendly. Free machine coffee was a nice touch to the free breakfast. When on a budget the free backpacker meal is ideal!

Disliked: One suggestion could be to have oven gloves and have more variety of cereal for breakfast. There were a few too many signs.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice place

Disliked: Internet didn't always work

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, everyone was really friendly

Disliked: Internet occasionally didn't work

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

maria del mar valls mollevi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

19 December 2011 maria del mar would recommend this property

Liked: it was be fine in all of the sense

Disliked: the music and snoze during the night, night parties in other rooms, and i can't sleep well because that

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the fact that there were free Wifi, breakfast, the outside area was awesome

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dorothy Ivatt

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2011 Dorothy would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff. Free internet and breakfast an added bonus. No noise after 11 ideal for those wanting an early start each morning. Good facilities-TV, washing machine, drier etc. Only a short walk to the sea front, then a pleasant stroll 'along the prom' to the main bars restaurants etc. If you want loads of noise, boozing and partying...don't pick Globetrotters! Want somewhere peaceful to rest and recoup and a good night's sleep-pick Globetrotters. I'd stay here again on my next trip.

Disliked: Dorothy left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Turner

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 December 2011 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very willing to help in any way possible. Also, there's a Great Dane that hangs out on the property - an absolutely wonderful dog.

Disliked: Bathrooms

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jessica Crooks

Alone

Family Holiday

10 December 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Safe, friendly environment. Staff was nice and helpful

Disliked: Big Cockroach

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcos Rodrigues

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 December 2011 Marcos would recommend this property

Liked: So good.

Disliked: Shower.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It worths the money.

Disliked: A bit far from central,but ok

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have just finished travelling the East Coast and this is by far the best hostel I have stayed in throughout. The staff (Rachel and Markus especially) went out of their ways to help us with everything. They even kept the reception open late for us one night so that we could book a tour for the next day. Fantastic! I was very impressed by the new lounge area which included flat screens and free playstations. Cappucino in the mornings was very nice :-)

Disliked: N/A

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wi-fi and friendly staff

Disliked: My room was small for 3 bed dorm

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Arrived late, everything was sorted out when we arrived. Very helpful staff, both with finding day trip and booking them for us, letting us stay an extra night when we didn't get the nightbus we wanted and helped us book Greyhound buses. Also fridge in all rooms and aircon. Bathroom in girlroom could be a bit nicer, but it was clean. 10 min walk from city, but made it quite and nice at night.

Disliked: Old bathroom in girlsroom.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Didde Stenfeldt

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011 Didde would recommend this property

Liked: It is a really good spot and it has everything you need. The staff is amazingly helpful and friendly (I got really sick, and they where so helpful with everything from fresh linens to getting me to the medical center and kept making sure I was okay). It is clean and tidy and has all the facilities you could ask for, and the pool is lovely, definitely good value for money.

Disliked: The only tiny thing I can think of is that there's only 2 showers, which wasn't actually a problem for us anyway as they were free most times when we needed them, also

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff ist very friendly! They do everything for you. You just have to ask :-) The rooms have got a TV and a fridge and they are really clean. good atmosphere in the hostel :-) and really safe... You get a voucher for dinner everyday in a bar. So you can safe a lot of money! We will come back :-)!!

Disliked: The only thing is, that you have to walk 10 mins to the supermarket.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

jennifer warren

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2011 jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the following: very friendly and helpful staff, good wifi, fridge in the room so less chance of your food being taken, good beds, clean facilities, free towels, air con

Disliked: I disliked the following: free breakfast was just box of cheap cornflakes, the reception was closed most of the afternoon, its not located that close to center of cairns about 15-20 min walk which is not far but you might as well get somewhere nearer if you are staying a few days. Its lacks atmosphere.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dorms have a kitchen area and a fridge

Disliked: There is no lockers so hard to keep valuables safe

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Xavier Bazin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 November 2011 Xavier would recommend this property

Liked: Judith, The Playstation 3 and the F1 game

Disliked: the shower in the red house ;)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has the best communal area! It has great atmosphere about it. It is basic and clean. I would recommend it.

Disliked: The location is not the most central, but it's walkable to the centre.


See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels