HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels

Reviews of Globetrotters International

Hostel | 154 - 156 Lake Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

81.7% Overall Rating

284 out of 305 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/04/2014)

"I liked that it was quiet and peaceful, the beds are so comfortable and the air con was greatly appreciated!"

Read all Globetrotters International reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 4.66

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

All guests are required to present International Passports on check in All guests must be over 18years of age (new policy) Late checkins must contact hostel business hrs (8am -5pm)

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairns

Discovery Cairns
60.13 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront
18.64 USD

Hostel 88.8% 578 reviews
Q Resorts Cascade Gardens
88.56 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 89.0% 14 reviews
Asylum Cairns
11.19 USD

Hostel 81.7% 225 reviews
Castaway's Backpackers
22.37 USD

Hostel 85.0% 216 reviews
Njoy! Travellers Resort
18.64 USD

Hostel 76.8% 173 reviews
Cairns City Motel
22.37 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.2% 7 reviews
Cairns Beach House
13.98 USD

Hostel 73.8% 97 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.7%

Overall Rating

284 out of 305 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Globetrotters International'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
83.2%
Value
85.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 246 of 292 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Turner

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 December 2011 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very willing to help in any way possible. Also, there's a Great Dane that hangs out on the property - an absolutely wonderful dog.

Disliked: Bathrooms

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jessica Crooks

Alone

Family Holiday

10 December 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Safe, friendly environment. Staff was nice and helpful

Disliked: Big Cockroach

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcos Rodrigues

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 December 2011 Marcos would recommend this property

Liked: So good.

Disliked: Shower.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It worths the money.

Disliked: A bit far from central,but ok

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have just finished travelling the East Coast and this is by far the best hostel I have stayed in throughout. The staff (Rachel and Markus especially) went out of their ways to help us with everything. They even kept the reception open late for us one night so that we could book a tour for the next day. Fantastic! I was very impressed by the new lounge area which included flat screens and free playstations. Cappucino in the mornings was very nice :-)

Disliked: N/A

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wi-fi and friendly staff

Disliked: My room was small for 3 bed dorm

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Arrived late, everything was sorted out when we arrived. Very helpful staff, both with finding day trip and booking them for us, letting us stay an extra night when we didn't get the nightbus we wanted and helped us book Greyhound buses. Also fridge in all rooms and aircon. Bathroom in girlroom could be a bit nicer, but it was clean. 10 min walk from city, but made it quite and nice at night.

Disliked: Old bathroom in girlsroom.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Didde Stenfeldt

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011 Didde would recommend this property

Liked: It is a really good spot and it has everything you need. The staff is amazingly helpful and friendly (I got really sick, and they where so helpful with everything from fresh linens to getting me to the medical center and kept making sure I was okay). It is clean and tidy and has all the facilities you could ask for, and the pool is lovely, definitely good value for money.

Disliked: The only tiny thing I can think of is that there's only 2 showers, which wasn't actually a problem for us anyway as they were free most times when we needed them, also

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff ist very friendly! They do everything for you. You just have to ask :-) The rooms have got a TV and a fridge and they are really clean. good atmosphere in the hostel :-) and really safe... You get a voucher for dinner everyday in a bar. So you can safe a lot of money! We will come back :-)!!

Disliked: The only thing is, that you have to walk 10 mins to the supermarket.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

jennifer warren

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2011 jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the following: very friendly and helpful staff, good wifi, fridge in the room so less chance of your food being taken, good beds, clean facilities, free towels, air con

Disliked: I disliked the following: free breakfast was just box of cheap cornflakes, the reception was closed most of the afternoon, its not located that close to center of cairns about 15-20 min walk which is not far but you might as well get somewhere nearer if you are staying a few days. Its lacks atmosphere.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dorms have a kitchen area and a fridge

Disliked: There is no lockers so hard to keep valuables safe

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Xavier Bazin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 November 2011 Xavier would recommend this property

Liked: Judith, The Playstation 3 and the F1 game

Disliked: the shower in the red house ;)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has the best communal area! It has great atmosphere about it. It is basic and clean. I would recommend it.

Disliked: The location is not the most central, but it's walkable to the centre.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

deborah barnett

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2011 deborah would recommend this property

Liked: lovely hostel,really nice and helpful staff.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jonathan stanley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2011 jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The price is amazing for the quality you get. Nice pool and lounge area and a great location. The staff are unbelievably friendly and helpful. The best place I stayed in Oz!

Disliked: none

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel...I was feeling like in a flat

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

17 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 10 min walk to the city center! the hostel offers free breakfast including a very good coffee! staff was really friendly and always helpful!

Disliked: can't think of anything :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JING HU

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2011 JING would recommend this property

Liked: I can not image that it's just a hostel! It is so beautiful just like some friends staying in a resort. It's really a best choice.

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's excellent! Friendly helpful staff, relaxing, safe, resort style!

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david jasper

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2011 david would recommend this property

Liked: Really liked globetrotters and would definitely recommend. Free wifi was great as this doesn't seem to be common place in oz. Communal areas are too high standard.

Disliked: Cooker oven didn't work, although this is something of a trend in hostels. Also, it is bit of a walk into CBD but all good exercise I guess.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was fantastic! I'll be back...

Disliked: nothing to dislike, all positive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its the best hostel, where have been stayed.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Prashant Choudhary

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2011 Prashant would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere,nice young people with big smiles all around.even helped me to rebook my tour that got cancelled from the tour operator.nice events opportunities with the groups around

Disliked: nothing specific

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have been travelling around for seven months now and I can honestly say this is the best backpackers I have ever been to. As soon as I arrived I felt right at home. The reception staff were friendly and organised. They went out of there way to help me plan all of my trips. The five bed dorm I was in was exceptional, It had all the extra touches (pictures, plaza t'v, big comfy sofa)you could ask for!!!!! Even breakfast here was a treat with freashly brewed coffee. This place is a hidden Gem which I would recommend to anybody. I look forward to going back when I visit Cairns later in the year.

Disliked: N/A

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: google search engine

Disliked: cannot think of anything


See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels