We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels

Reviews of Globetrotters International

Hostel | 154 - 156 Lake Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

80.0% Overall Rating

302 out of 326 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/02/2015)

"Not the closest spot to a grocery store. The free wifi helped made making travel arrangements much easier. The onsuite bathrooms were great. Lots of space even though in a room for 8 people"

Read all Globetrotters International reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 3.90

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

All guests are required to present International Passports on check in All guests must be over 18years of age (new policy) Late checkins must contact hostel business hrs (8am -5pm)

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairns

Discovery Cairns
50.33 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront
15.61 USD

Hostel 87.7% 594 reviews
Asylum Cairns
9.36 USD

Hostel 74.6% 238 reviews
Castaways Backpackers
15.61 USD

Hostel 85.5% 221 reviews
Njoy! Travellers Resort
16.39 USD

Hostel 77.5% 177 reviews
City Sheridan
20.48 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Cairns City Motel
19.51 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.0% 8 reviews
Cairns Rainbow Resort
27.31 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.0%

Overall Rating

302 out of 326 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Globetrotters International'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
85.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 264 of 313 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pool and lounge area is nice. Access to and from is good.

Disliked: The air-condition on at 7 pm and off at 8 am. No fan in room no place to hang clothes in room. Kitchen had lots of ant (no fault of owner) renovations in one of two shared washrooms/shower.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Emma Day

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 February 2012

Liked: The staff were really lovely and the kitchen facilities were great

Disliked: For me, the place lacked any kind of atmosphere. I'm sure it's a great place for people who want to get a decent night's sleep, wake up early and get out there, however if you're looking to meet people or have any kind of social time this is not the place for you. They're strict on rules like no noise after 11 which is completely fair enough but, like I say, for me it really dampened the experience.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel. Very clean, helpful and allways kind stuff, really good athmosphere! An awesome place for all types of guests!

Disliked: Some rooms have no own fridge, so you have to use the one in the kitchen. Sometimes some stuff of food is missing. But it is not the fault of the hostel and the most rooms have their own fridge now!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YOUNGMI RYU

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2012 YOUNGMI would recommend this property

Liked: Not only the location of it is great but also it wass very relaxing, and they helped backpackers to stay relaxed by having a strict rules. With full kitchen and fridge I was able to keep my water, food and whatever I have fresh and cool. During non-airconditioning time I jumped into the pool and had fun. There was no need to go outside of Globetrotters.

Disliked: Everything was great, but because I came from the country where it is very cold during February I could not get used ti the weather. I wish they extend the air-conditioning time.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness could be better, but the staff is really kind and helpful.

Disliked: The first room we slept (a double, non ensuite) (we arrived too late, and there was a bad communication, so we moved to our booked apartment one day after arrival) smelled bad, curtains were funged. On the other hand, the apartment was OK, big and clear.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Reinhard Holzinger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2012

Liked: Free wifi and free AC from 8PM to 8 AM.

Disliked: Free breakfast: only cornflakes, milk and a coffee. I wrote them a mail a few days before for organiziing an airport pickup - they don't write back. My 2 days divingtour was cancelled and they left a message for me at the hostel - they didn't tell me!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People staying there are so relaxed and stuffs at reception are so nice!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mary Marley

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

23 January 2012 Mary would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxed, great staff, very central. Enjoyed our stay

Disliked: Mary left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, free internet you even get a laptop if you don´t bring your own!!!!! nice and clean rooms. As it describes itselfs as a non-party accomodation, this is really true. it is quiet the whole day and night. If you want to get on a trip, you should ask there first, on special tours they can give you free extras!

Disliked: the breakfast consits just of cerials and coffee. but better than nothing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Smell of room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Peter Andersson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

11 January 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Great place with a very helpfull and friendly staff! Quit and relaxing.Not a party Hostel.Good value for money! i just exstended my stay with a couple of days just for the place is so great :) /Peter

Disliked: Breakfurst could be a little better..cornflakes milk and coffee.. thats what included in the price. But buy and slice a banan into the coenflakes and you are good to go;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel of Oceania I've been ! They have free Wifi ! The kitchen are great, not to busy (there are several kitchen), and with a lot of free stuff to cook. The staff is nice. There is a breakfast included. The price is really great.

Disliked: Almost nothing : advertisement for facebook.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a great atmosphere, it was clean and comfortable. It has good facilities with a good lounge area. The staff are very helpful and helped with everything you needed. Rachel was always cheery and an asset to the team. Linda was very welcoming and friendly. Free machine coffee was a nice touch to the free breakfast. When on a budget the free backpacker meal is ideal!

Disliked: One suggestion could be to have oven gloves and have more variety of cereal for breakfast. There were a few too many signs.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice place

Disliked: Internet didn't always work

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, everyone was really friendly

Disliked: Internet occasionally didn't work

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

maria del mar valls mollevi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

19 December 2011 maria del mar would recommend this property

Liked: it was be fine in all of the sense

Disliked: the music and snoze during the night, night parties in other rooms, and i can't sleep well because that

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the fact that there were free Wifi, breakfast, the outside area was awesome

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dorothy Ivatt

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2011 Dorothy would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff. Free internet and breakfast an added bonus. No noise after 11 ideal for those wanting an early start each morning. Good facilities-TV, washing machine, drier etc. Only a short walk to the sea front, then a pleasant stroll 'along the prom' to the main bars restaurants etc. If you want loads of noise, boozing and partying...don't pick Globetrotters! Want somewhere peaceful to rest and recoup and a good night's sleep-pick Globetrotters. I'd stay here again on my next trip.

Disliked: Dorothy left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Turner

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 December 2011 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very willing to help in any way possible. Also, there's a Great Dane that hangs out on the property - an absolutely wonderful dog.

Disliked: Bathrooms

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jessica Crooks

Alone

Family Holiday

10 December 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Safe, friendly environment. Staff was nice and helpful

Disliked: Big Cockroach

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcos Rodrigues

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 December 2011 Marcos would recommend this property

Liked: So good.

Disliked: Shower.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It worths the money.

Disliked: A bit far from central,but ok

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have just finished travelling the East Coast and this is by far the best hostel I have stayed in throughout. The staff (Rachel and Markus especially) went out of their ways to help us with everything. They even kept the reception open late for us one night so that we could book a tour for the next day. Fantastic! I was very impressed by the new lounge area which included flat screens and free playstations. Cappucino in the mornings was very nice :-)

Disliked: N/A

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wi-fi and friendly staff

Disliked: My room was small for 3 bed dorm

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Arrived late, everything was sorted out when we arrived. Very helpful staff, both with finding day trip and booking them for us, letting us stay an extra night when we didn't get the nightbus we wanted and helped us book Greyhound buses. Also fridge in all rooms and aircon. Bathroom in girlroom could be a bit nicer, but it was clean. 10 min walk from city, but made it quite and nice at night.

Disliked: Old bathroom in girlsroom.


See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels