HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels

Reviews of Globetrotters International

Hostel | 154 - 156 Lake Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

76.5% Overall Rating

294 out of 318 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/07/2014)

Giancarlo Zucca thinks…

"Just the best hostel I have been in my life. A lot of common areas, facilities widely available, wifi just amazing (it's free and fast) What stroke is the beauty, the location, the cleanliness of…"

Read all Globetrotters International reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 4.65

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

All guests are required to present International Passports on check in All guests must be over 18years of age (new policy) Late checkins must contact hostel business hrs (8am -5pm)

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairns

Discovery Cairns
73.99 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront
19.55 USD

Hostel 88.8% 590 reviews
Q Resorts Cascade Gardens
88.42 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 89.0% 14 reviews
Asylum Cairns
13.03 USD

Hostel 76.2% 236 reviews
Castaway's Backpackers
22.34 USD

Hostel 84.5% 218 reviews
Njoy! Travellers Resort
19.55 USD

Hostel 76.5% 174 reviews
City Sheridan
33.74 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Cairns City Motel
22.34 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.2% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.5%

Overall Rating

294 out of 318 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Globetrotters International'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
81.6%
Value
79.2%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 257 of 305 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms and big beds

Disliked: -

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, free coffee

Disliked: was a bit anonymous, tv was right next to my room so it was pretty loud in the evening when you wanna sleep before 11 pm

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2012

Liked: The place is nice, there is a garden and a little pool. Lots of sofas and tv set in the main room and free WIFI.

Disliked: The staff is not friendly, the room was very small, did not have place enough for our luggages. Showers and toilets are not that clean. For breakfast it is only cheap corn flakes but coffee was ok. The staff never talked to us about a free meal... There is a big kitchen which is nice but there is no place in fridges, there are full you can't even leave a bottle of water inside.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Heather Pacey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 May 2012 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were new and very clean. We loved the free wifi. Very close to the esplanade, the boardwalk and the lagoon. Free air conditioning at night was really nice. Facilities and kitchen were always clean. Free breakfast every morning was a plus. It was one less thing we had to worry about.

Disliked: We would have stayed longer if we had the funds and if they provided a weekly rate. More activites would have been nice.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Peaceful place, nice kitchen. Felt like own home.

Disliked: Too small fridge and basic breakfast (coffee and cerial). There were also ants almost everywhere.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Blodwyn McIntyre

With a large group / tour

Work / volunteering

06 May 2012 Blodwyn would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly, knowledgable, patient and able to get us great discounts. We'll always stay here when in Cairns. Also, when they say it'll be quiet at 11 pm, it relly is.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sarah Marsh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: I actually extended my stay by 3 more nights because I liked it here a lot! I also stayed in three different rooms! The best was the newly refurbished 4 bed share which was immaculate. Everything new and comfortable and clean. The larger 8 bed dorm was a bit rough around the edges but not bad really! And the twin room was pretty good too! Really loved the free wifi and breakfast. Massive help if you're on a budget! Air con at night was nice! Loved the dog wandering around too! Couldnt fault the staff either, they were all friendly and helpful :)

Disliked: Nothing! It was really nice to stay here!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: new kitchen / showers, free wi-fi, pool, lounge, tv, games, etc..

Disliked: location, really quite, not enough fridges

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: there was a tv with a PS3 and a tv with cable which was available in the lounge, good kitchen area with two upstairs and one downstairs, nice size double room with no tv, good free wifi! nice pool and pool area with lots of space to sunbathe

Disliked: no tv in room, people up past eleven and made some noise which was unfortunate as it's not the hostels fault but as it claims to be a quiet hostel it was a bit annoying. however it wasn't massively sleep distrubing and it defintely wasn't one of those crazy party hostels

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2012

Liked: The staff at this hostel, especially the young girl on reception was extremely helpful and very helpful. She was knowledgeable of the area, and went above and beyond to help me out.

Disliked: The room was very in tidy, with random beds everywhere. The sheets and pillow cases were very unclean with stains all over them. The kitchen was very dirty. Every occasion I cooked, all utensils I used were dirty and the general area was not hyginic. There was only one showers located on my floor for many dorms. There were other showers but you had to walk down to another area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helena Holmquist

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 March 2012 Helena would recommend this property

Liked: It is not like a normal hostel, more like an apartment! I have own kitchen and bathroom, flat screen tv and free wireless internet! The pool is amazing!

Disliked: nothing, it is perfect!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its cheap and offers many things for free, such as wifi, free meal on first night, breakfast... it has a nice pool area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was so clean and had loads to keep you busy on a rainy day e.g films, playstation, pool. Also the kitchen was new and nice to cook in and my boyfriend and I were put in a dorm but had a double bed :)

Disliked: Nothing!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

16 March 2012

Liked: Helpful English guy in reception. Breakfast. Nice tv-room/common area.

Disliked: Sheets not clean. Towels smellt bad. Should have a few knobs in the room for the guests to be able to hang up towels etc.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

15 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I would highly recommend Globetrotters to anyone visiting Cairns. The staff are very friendly and helped me to book tours and always gave good advice. The atmosphere is relaxed and sociable; so for someone travelling on there own it was easy to meet new people. The free wifi and breakfast was great to have available and the social areas all clean and comfortable. I booked in for only a few nights initially though ended up staying a lot longer so thank you for a very enjoyable stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bathroom facilities, free Laptop with Wifi

Disliked: no locker for valuables

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lounge and its facilities was amazing - so homely and welcoming. The Great Dane was a lovely addition!

Disliked: It was such a shame that although we loved the hostel and would recommend it to anyone, select people let our experience down. We stayed in the room of 5 with no bunk beds - which was a lovely room, but the people we shared with (two of which worked for the hostel itself) did not conduct themselves accordingly - despite numerous signs saying to lock the door, we'd often come back to find the door had been left unlocked and even open at times. Although the hostel itself is extremely secure, there are no safes provided in the rooms. Furthermore to the door issue, one time I was getting changed and was standing in my bra, and one of the guys just walked in and left the door open for everyone in the hallway to see me. We constantly had people who weren't staying in the room walking in and out all day and most of the evening trying to find one of the guys. On the morning of our check-out, someone had checked in a guy who was waiting around for our beds to become vacant. I could understand if it was the middle of the day - but it was 7am! Although the hostel itself (lounge, outside area etc) were very clean, our kitchen was sometimes a bit mucky - which is obviously understandable as it cannot be spick and span all the time. It is just an annoyance that people do not wash up after themselves or leave gunk in the sink which blocks it up. When we checked out I checked under our beds to check we hadn't left anything - to find empty water bottles, wrappers and other rubbish under our beds! The reception had strange hours as well - it shut at 12pm and opened again at 5pm. Apart from what I have mentioned, the hostel really was a lovely hostel and I'd recommend it to anyone - it's just a monopoly as to what kind of people you share dorms with really.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Building with comfortable lodge. Good location, about 5-10 Minutes to the City Center and the lagoon. Nice staff. Breakfast, Internet and Airconditioning. Mode than one kitchen, what makes it easy to cook im quiet am with space.

Disliked: There were many ants in the kitchens, but that is not a fault of the accomodation.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pool and lounge area is nice. Access to and from is good.

Disliked: The air-condition on at 7 pm and off at 8 am. No fan in room no place to hang clothes in room. Kitchen had lots of ant (no fault of owner) renovations in one of two shared washrooms/shower.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Emma Day

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 February 2012

Liked: The staff were really lovely and the kitchen facilities were great

Disliked: For me, the place lacked any kind of atmosphere. I'm sure it's a great place for people who want to get a decent night's sleep, wake up early and get out there, however if you're looking to meet people or have any kind of social time this is not the place for you. They're strict on rules like no noise after 11 which is completely fair enough but, like I say, for me it really dampened the experience.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel. Very clean, helpful and allways kind stuff, really good athmosphere! An awesome place for all types of guests!

Disliked: Some rooms have no own fridge, so you have to use the one in the kitchen. Sometimes some stuff of food is missing. But it is not the fault of the hostel and the most rooms have their own fridge now!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YOUNGMI RYU

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2012 YOUNGMI would recommend this property

Liked: Not only the location of it is great but also it wass very relaxing, and they helped backpackers to stay relaxed by having a strict rules. With full kitchen and fridge I was able to keep my water, food and whatever I have fresh and cool. During non-airconditioning time I jumped into the pool and had fun. There was no need to go outside of Globetrotters.

Disliked: Everything was great, but because I came from the country where it is very cold during February I could not get used ti the weather. I wish they extend the air-conditioning time.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness could be better, but the staff is really kind and helpful.

Disliked: The first room we slept (a double, non ensuite) (we arrived too late, and there was a bad communication, so we moved to our booked apartment one day after arrival) smelled bad, curtains were funged. On the other hand, the apartment was OK, big and clear.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Reinhard Holzinger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2012

Liked: Free wifi and free AC from 8PM to 8 AM.

Disliked: Free breakfast: only cornflakes, milk and a coffee. I wrote them a mail a few days before for organiziing an airport pickup - they don't write back. My 2 days divingtour was cancelled and they left a message for me at the hostel - they didn't tell me!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People staying there are so relaxed and stuffs at reception are so nice!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels