HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels

Reviews of Globetrotters International

Hostel | 154 - 156 Lake Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

81.7% Overall Rating

284 out of 305 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/04/2014)

"I liked that it was quiet and peaceful, the beds are so comfortable and the air con was greatly appreciated!"

Read all Globetrotters International reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 4.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

All guests are required to present International Passports on check in All guests must be over 18years of age (new policy) Late checkins must contact hostel business hrs (8am -5pm)

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairns

Discovery Cairns
60.38 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront
18.72 USD

Hostel 88.8% 578 reviews
Q Resorts Cascade Gardens
88.93 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 89.0% 14 reviews
Asylum Cairns
11.23 USD

Hostel 81.7% 225 reviews
Castaway's Backpackers
22.47 USD

Hostel 85.0% 216 reviews
Njoy! Travellers Resort
18.72 USD

Hostel 76.8% 173 reviews
Cairns City Motel
24.97 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.2% 7 reviews
Cairns Beach House
14.04 USD

Hostel 73.8% 97 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.7%

Overall Rating

284 out of 305 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Globetrotters International'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
83.2%
Value
85.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 246 of 292 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its cheap and offers many things for free, such as wifi, free meal on first night, breakfast... it has a nice pool area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was so clean and had loads to keep you busy on a rainy day e.g films, playstation, pool. Also the kitchen was new and nice to cook in and my boyfriend and I were put in a dorm but had a double bed :)

Disliked: Nothing!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

16 March 2012

Liked: Helpful English guy in reception. Breakfast. Nice tv-room/common area.

Disliked: Sheets not clean. Towels smellt bad. Should have a few knobs in the room for the guests to be able to hang up towels etc.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

15 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I would highly recommend Globetrotters to anyone visiting Cairns. The staff are very friendly and helped me to book tours and always gave good advice. The atmosphere is relaxed and sociable; so for someone travelling on there own it was easy to meet new people. The free wifi and breakfast was great to have available and the social areas all clean and comfortable. I booked in for only a few nights initially though ended up staying a lot longer so thank you for a very enjoyable stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bathroom facilities, free Laptop with Wifi

Disliked: no locker for valuables

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lounge and its facilities was amazing - so homely and welcoming. The Great Dane was a lovely addition!

Disliked: It was such a shame that although we loved the hostel and would recommend it to anyone, select people let our experience down. We stayed in the room of 5 with no bunk beds - which was a lovely room, but the people we shared with (two of which worked for the hostel itself) did not conduct themselves accordingly - despite numerous signs saying to lock the door, we'd often come back to find the door had been left unlocked and even open at times. Although the hostel itself is extremely secure, there are no safes provided in the rooms. Furthermore to the door issue, one time I was getting changed and was standing in my bra, and one of the guys just walked in and left the door open for everyone in the hallway to see me. We constantly had people who weren't staying in the room walking in and out all day and most of the evening trying to find one of the guys. On the morning of our check-out, someone had checked in a guy who was waiting around for our beds to become vacant. I could understand if it was the middle of the day - but it was 7am! Although the hostel itself (lounge, outside area etc) were very clean, our kitchen was sometimes a bit mucky - which is obviously understandable as it cannot be spick and span all the time. It is just an annoyance that people do not wash up after themselves or leave gunk in the sink which blocks it up. When we checked out I checked under our beds to check we hadn't left anything - to find empty water bottles, wrappers and other rubbish under our beds! The reception had strange hours as well - it shut at 12pm and opened again at 5pm. Apart from what I have mentioned, the hostel really was a lovely hostel and I'd recommend it to anyone - it's just a monopoly as to what kind of people you share dorms with really.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Building with comfortable lodge. Good location, about 5-10 Minutes to the City Center and the lagoon. Nice staff. Breakfast, Internet and Airconditioning. Mode than one kitchen, what makes it easy to cook im quiet am with space.

Disliked: There were many ants in the kitchens, but that is not a fault of the accomodation.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pool and lounge area is nice. Access to and from is good.

Disliked: The air-condition on at 7 pm and off at 8 am. No fan in room no place to hang clothes in room. Kitchen had lots of ant (no fault of owner) renovations in one of two shared washrooms/shower.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Emma Day

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 February 2012

Liked: The staff were really lovely and the kitchen facilities were great

Disliked: For me, the place lacked any kind of atmosphere. I'm sure it's a great place for people who want to get a decent night's sleep, wake up early and get out there, however if you're looking to meet people or have any kind of social time this is not the place for you. They're strict on rules like no noise after 11 which is completely fair enough but, like I say, for me it really dampened the experience.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel. Very clean, helpful and allways kind stuff, really good athmosphere! An awesome place for all types of guests!

Disliked: Some rooms have no own fridge, so you have to use the one in the kitchen. Sometimes some stuff of food is missing. But it is not the fault of the hostel and the most rooms have their own fridge now!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YOUNGMI RYU

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2012 YOUNGMI would recommend this property

Liked: Not only the location of it is great but also it wass very relaxing, and they helped backpackers to stay relaxed by having a strict rules. With full kitchen and fridge I was able to keep my water, food and whatever I have fresh and cool. During non-airconditioning time I jumped into the pool and had fun. There was no need to go outside of Globetrotters.

Disliked: Everything was great, but because I came from the country where it is very cold during February I could not get used ti the weather. I wish they extend the air-conditioning time.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness could be better, but the staff is really kind and helpful.

Disliked: The first room we slept (a double, non ensuite) (we arrived too late, and there was a bad communication, so we moved to our booked apartment one day after arrival) smelled bad, curtains were funged. On the other hand, the apartment was OK, big and clear.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Reinhard Holzinger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2012

Liked: Free wifi and free AC from 8PM to 8 AM.

Disliked: Free breakfast: only cornflakes, milk and a coffee. I wrote them a mail a few days before for organiziing an airport pickup - they don't write back. My 2 days divingtour was cancelled and they left a message for me at the hostel - they didn't tell me!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People staying there are so relaxed and stuffs at reception are so nice!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mary Marley

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

23 January 2012 Mary would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxed, great staff, very central. Enjoyed our stay

Disliked: Mary left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, free internet you even get a laptop if you don´t bring your own!!!!! nice and clean rooms. As it describes itselfs as a non-party accomodation, this is really true. it is quiet the whole day and night. If you want to get on a trip, you should ask there first, on special tours they can give you free extras!

Disliked: the breakfast consits just of cerials and coffee. but better than nothing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Smell of room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Peter Andersson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

11 January 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Great place with a very helpfull and friendly staff! Quit and relaxing.Not a party Hostel.Good value for money! i just exstended my stay with a couple of days just for the place is so great :) /Peter

Disliked: Breakfurst could be a little better..cornflakes milk and coffee.. thats what included in the price. But buy and slice a banan into the coenflakes and you are good to go;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel of Oceania I've been ! They have free Wifi ! The kitchen are great, not to busy (there are several kitchen), and with a lot of free stuff to cook. The staff is nice. There is a breakfast included. The price is really great.

Disliked: Almost nothing : advertisement for facebook.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a great atmosphere, it was clean and comfortable. It has good facilities with a good lounge area. The staff are very helpful and helped with everything you needed. Rachel was always cheery and an asset to the team. Linda was very welcoming and friendly. Free machine coffee was a nice touch to the free breakfast. When on a budget the free backpacker meal is ideal!

Disliked: One suggestion could be to have oven gloves and have more variety of cereal for breakfast. There were a few too many signs.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice place

Disliked: Internet didn't always work

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, everyone was really friendly

Disliked: Internet occasionally didn't work

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

maria del mar valls mollevi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

19 December 2011 maria del mar would recommend this property

Liked: it was be fine in all of the sense

Disliked: the music and snoze during the night, night parties in other rooms, and i can't sleep well because that

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the fact that there were free Wifi, breakfast, the outside area was awesome

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dorothy Ivatt

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2011 Dorothy would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff. Free internet and breakfast an added bonus. No noise after 11 ideal for those wanting an early start each morning. Good facilities-TV, washing machine, drier etc. Only a short walk to the sea front, then a pleasant stroll 'along the prom' to the main bars restaurants etc. If you want loads of noise, boozing and partying...don't pick Globetrotters! Want somewhere peaceful to rest and recoup and a good night's sleep-pick Globetrotters. I'd stay here again on my next trip.

Disliked: Dorothy left no negative feedback.


See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels