We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels

Reviews of Globetrotters International

Hostel | 154 - 156 Lake Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

80.0% Overall Rating

302 out of 326 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/02/2015)

"Not the closest spot to a grocery store. The free wifi helped made making travel arrangements much easier. The onsuite bathrooms were great. Lots of space even though in a room for 8 people"

Read all Globetrotters International reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 3.90

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

All guests are required to present International Passports on check in All guests must be over 18years of age (new policy) Late checkins must contact hostel business hrs (8am -5pm)

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairns

Discovery Cairns
50.33 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront
15.61 USD

Hostel 87.7% 594 reviews
Asylum Cairns
9.36 USD

Hostel 74.6% 238 reviews
Castaways Backpackers
15.61 USD

Hostel 85.5% 221 reviews
Njoy! Travellers Resort
16.39 USD

Hostel 77.5% 177 reviews
City Sheridan
22.43 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Cairns City Motel
19.51 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.0% 8 reviews
Cairns Rainbow Resort
27.31 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.0%

Overall Rating

302 out of 326 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Globetrotters International'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
85.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 264 of 313 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ciaran Hynes

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

14 July 2012 Ciaran would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Wood

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

06 July 2012 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: The amount I have paid for all the facilities you receive is great value for money! The staff and guests a very friendly and helpful and welcoming.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Feehan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2012 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: So clean! We had a really. As experience before and this is totally the opposite they had quite a few bad reviews but I don't agree with any of them they are really welcoming and friendly and the cleanliness was a big thing for me and people are constantly cleaning through out the day very on the ball. The owners aren't there but the fact it's run by people also either travelling or working in a visa makes you feel more comfortable their your age so it's easier to get on with compared with some people that own hostels.

Disliked: Lauren left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hoi Mei Chan

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Hoi Mei would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi. The stuff is friendly and helpful. The room is clean.

Disliked: The swimming is too bad. It is better not to have it

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Mc Cafferty

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: Clean none party hostel. Female dorms are excellent. Live the atmosphere and location . Close to the city centre and esplanade which is perfect . Staff very friendly and helpfull. Enjoyed my stay so much I booked for five more nights . Amanda

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenna Leach

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2012 Jenna would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely loved this hostel! Added an extra night as I didn't want to leave. Met some awesome people here and the room was amazing!! Best value for money hostel. Free wifi is ace, although a little walk from the centre it is a good walk on the Esplanade.

Disliked: Definitely can't say anything negative!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

aurelie tetard

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

23 June 2012 aurelie would recommend this property

Liked: Les douches et cuisines sont nettoyes tous les jours, l'équipement de la cuisine est bien complet,il y a même de la lessive et crème solaire à disposition ! Peu bruyant le soir.

Disliked: La qualité du lit et le manque de rangement dans la chambre. Une odeur désagréable des rideaux. Manque de ventilation dans les chambres la journee

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms and big beds

Disliked: -

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, free coffee

Disliked: was a bit anonymous, tv was right next to my room so it was pretty loud in the evening when you wanna sleep before 11 pm

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2012

Liked: The place is nice, there is a garden and a little pool. Lots of sofas and tv set in the main room and free WIFI.

Disliked: The staff is not friendly, the room was very small, did not have place enough for our luggages. Showers and toilets are not that clean. For breakfast it is only cheap corn flakes but coffee was ok. The staff never talked to us about a free meal... There is a big kitchen which is nice but there is no place in fridges, there are full you can't even leave a bottle of water inside.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Heather Pacey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 May 2012 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were new and very clean. We loved the free wifi. Very close to the esplanade, the boardwalk and the lagoon. Free air conditioning at night was really nice. Facilities and kitchen were always clean. Free breakfast every morning was a plus. It was one less thing we had to worry about.

Disliked: We would have stayed longer if we had the funds and if they provided a weekly rate. More activites would have been nice.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Peaceful place, nice kitchen. Felt like own home.

Disliked: Too small fridge and basic breakfast (coffee and cerial). There were also ants almost everywhere.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Blodwyn McIntyre

With a large group / tour

Work / volunteering

06 May 2012 Blodwyn would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly, knowledgable, patient and able to get us great discounts. We'll always stay here when in Cairns. Also, when they say it'll be quiet at 11 pm, it relly is.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sarah Marsh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: I actually extended my stay by 3 more nights because I liked it here a lot! I also stayed in three different rooms! The best was the newly refurbished 4 bed share which was immaculate. Everything new and comfortable and clean. The larger 8 bed dorm was a bit rough around the edges but not bad really! And the twin room was pretty good too! Really loved the free wifi and breakfast. Massive help if you're on a budget! Air con at night was nice! Loved the dog wandering around too! Couldnt fault the staff either, they were all friendly and helpful :)

Disliked: Nothing! It was really nice to stay here!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: new kitchen / showers, free wi-fi, pool, lounge, tv, games, etc..

Disliked: location, really quite, not enough fridges

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: there was a tv with a PS3 and a tv with cable which was available in the lounge, good kitchen area with two upstairs and one downstairs, nice size double room with no tv, good free wifi! nice pool and pool area with lots of space to sunbathe

Disliked: no tv in room, people up past eleven and made some noise which was unfortunate as it's not the hostels fault but as it claims to be a quiet hostel it was a bit annoying. however it wasn't massively sleep distrubing and it defintely wasn't one of those crazy party hostels

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2012

Liked: The staff at this hostel, especially the young girl on reception was extremely helpful and very helpful. She was knowledgeable of the area, and went above and beyond to help me out.

Disliked: The room was very in tidy, with random beds everywhere. The sheets and pillow cases were very unclean with stains all over them. The kitchen was very dirty. Every occasion I cooked, all utensils I used were dirty and the general area was not hyginic. There was only one showers located on my floor for many dorms. There were other showers but you had to walk down to another area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helena Holmquist

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 March 2012 Helena would recommend this property

Liked: It is not like a normal hostel, more like an apartment! I have own kitchen and bathroom, flat screen tv and free wireless internet! The pool is amazing!

Disliked: nothing, it is perfect!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its cheap and offers many things for free, such as wifi, free meal on first night, breakfast... it has a nice pool area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was so clean and had loads to keep you busy on a rainy day e.g films, playstation, pool. Also the kitchen was new and nice to cook in and my boyfriend and I were put in a dorm but had a double bed :)

Disliked: Nothing!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

16 March 2012

Liked: Helpful English guy in reception. Breakfast. Nice tv-room/common area.

Disliked: Sheets not clean. Towels smellt bad. Should have a few knobs in the room for the guests to be able to hang up towels etc.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

15 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I would highly recommend Globetrotters to anyone visiting Cairns. The staff are very friendly and helped me to book tours and always gave good advice. The atmosphere is relaxed and sociable; so for someone travelling on there own it was easy to meet new people. The free wifi and breakfast was great to have available and the social areas all clean and comfortable. I booked in for only a few nights initially though ended up staying a lot longer so thank you for a very enjoyable stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bathroom facilities, free Laptop with Wifi

Disliked: no locker for valuables

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lounge and its facilities was amazing - so homely and welcoming. The Great Dane was a lovely addition!

Disliked: It was such a shame that although we loved the hostel and would recommend it to anyone, select people let our experience down. We stayed in the room of 5 with no bunk beds - which was a lovely room, but the people we shared with (two of which worked for the hostel itself) did not conduct themselves accordingly - despite numerous signs saying to lock the door, we'd often come back to find the door had been left unlocked and even open at times. Although the hostel itself is extremely secure, there are no safes provided in the rooms. Furthermore to the door issue, one time I was getting changed and was standing in my bra, and one of the guys just walked in and left the door open for everyone in the hallway to see me. We constantly had people who weren't staying in the room walking in and out all day and most of the evening trying to find one of the guys. On the morning of our check-out, someone had checked in a guy who was waiting around for our beds to become vacant. I could understand if it was the middle of the day - but it was 7am! Although the hostel itself (lounge, outside area etc) were very clean, our kitchen was sometimes a bit mucky - which is obviously understandable as it cannot be spick and span all the time. It is just an annoyance that people do not wash up after themselves or leave gunk in the sink which blocks it up. When we checked out I checked under our beds to check we hadn't left anything - to find empty water bottles, wrappers and other rubbish under our beds! The reception had strange hours as well - it shut at 12pm and opened again at 5pm. Apart from what I have mentioned, the hostel really was a lovely hostel and I'd recommend it to anyone - it's just a monopoly as to what kind of people you share dorms with really.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Building with comfortable lodge. Good location, about 5-10 Minutes to the City Center and the lagoon. Nice staff. Breakfast, Internet and Airconditioning. Mode than one kitchen, what makes it easy to cook im quiet am with space.

Disliked: There were many ants in the kitchens, but that is not a fault of the accomodation.


See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels