We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels

Reviews of Globetrotters International

Hostel | 154 - 156 Lake Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

75.9% Overall Rating

296 out of 320 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/07/2014)

Giancarlo Zucca thinks…

"Just the best hostel I have been in my life. A lot of common areas, facilities widely available, wifi just amazing (it's free and fast) What stroke is the beauty, the location, the cleanliness of…"

Read all Globetrotters International reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 4.37

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

All guests are required to present International Passports on check in All guests must be over 18years of age (new policy) Late checkins must contact hostel business hrs (8am -5pm)

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairns

Discovery Cairns
43.67 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront
17.47 USD

Hostel 87.4% 593 reviews
Asylum Cairns
10.48 USD

Hostel 74.6% 238 reviews
Castaway's Backpackers
17.47 USD

Hostel 84.8% 220 reviews
Njoy! Travellers Resort
18.34 USD

Hostel 77.5% 177 reviews
City Sheridan
22.93 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Cairns City Motel
26.20 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.2% 7 reviews
Cairns Rainbow Resort
30.57 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.9%

Overall Rating

296 out of 320 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Globetrotters International'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
80.0%
Value
79.2%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 259 of 307 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Butler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

27 November 2012 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at this hostel were briliant and the double room was perfect for me and my partner. Free wifi is also a great bonus - other hostels should take note!

Disliked: It is a 10-15 minute walk to the town centre, however the walk is pretty much along the esplanade, so is nice.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

amy crimmins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012 amy would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and very helpful staff

Disliked: I think during the hot months the aircon in the doorm rooms should be allowed to come on at anytime rather then 8pm-8am

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free wifi, but sometimes it didn´t work really good, the smaller rooms are new and nice,

Disliked: no lockers or space where you can put your things in, the 8 bed dorms just have matrazes on the floor...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pool was great. :-D

Disliked: The bathroom could have been cleaner and it was really small for the amount of people sharing it for the particular room I was in.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Professional attitude! It is more than just an average hostel ! Everything is on a high level !

Disliked: maybe the bed was too soft ...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really relaxed and great atmosphere!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jane Coker

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 October 2012 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: Good kitchens and communal dining table. Nice little pool and pool lounge area.

Disliked: The Internet was not working- this was going to take 12 days to fix. Breakfast used to be included but has been crossed off the hostel inclusions. The sofas are becoming worn and the lounge is looking quite run down.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Alana Hewett

With my spouse / partner

City break

30 September 2012 Alana would recommend this property

Liked: Single beds instead of bunks. Nice modern interior - prints etc

Disliked: No shelves in the new showers. No individual lights by beds in dorm room. No toilet roll holders. No soap available in hand pumps.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 September 2012

Liked: Cheap, friendly staff, quiet, free air-conditioning.

Disliked: No free wi-fi, cockroaches and ants in the room, tiny fridge, uncomfortable bunk beds in the 8-bed dorm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wioletta Pijacka

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 Wioletta would recommend this property

Liked: good location, free wifi, clean good facilities, nice and helpful staff, good value.

Disliked: wifi connection was very poor in our room.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how it was a home-like atmosphere. Things were relatively clean.

Disliked: The description had said that there were no bunk beds, so I was a bit disappointed that I was staying in a bunk bed.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lauren Kennedy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2012 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good, just a short walk from the Esplanade. In the actual property, the lounge are was good, very big and the outside seating areas were good. Staff were very friendly and helpful. You could also borrow a laptop for free which was useful.

Disliked: Nothing.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved how quiet and peaceful it could be. The people were friendly and everyone helped everyone out!

Disliked: It was a little way out from cairns city centre. Other than that I had no other dislikes

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So nice to stay at a real hostel. Lots of character, friendly staff, and a very relaxing atmosphere.

Disliked: A tad bit of a walk from the heart of Cairns.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marie-Josee Gagnon

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa

05 August 2012 Marie-Josee would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean and super quiet. I really had the feeling I was at home. Unfortunately we stayed there only one night, but I kept repeating all week long how I would have loved to stay longer at that backpacker.

Disliked: Marie-Josee left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, and good that they have parking.

Disliked: Was a bit noisy, is a party place, so if the goal is to sleep, not that easy. but was in a good room, so was good

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

tim millgate

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2012 tim would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms and lots of space

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: awesome hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Heuritsch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 July 2012 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: You have your own kitchen and bathroom in the dorm, which is really nice, because you don't always have to store your whole stuff in your suitcase. Also the room seems to be big, so you don't feel trapped. You feel very safe, so when you have your valuabels lying around you know that it doesn't get stolen. Very fast free WiFi!

Disliked: 12$ Airport Transfer even though the webpage says 5$

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kevin whiting

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 July 2012 kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly staff, great location and, at least for Oz, cheap (without looking it!). Big kitchen area, nice clean pool, help yourself to extra towels for free, cosy lounge area. In all a lovely 'laid back' atmosphere without being loud, no pushy sales pitch re tours/car hire etc either!! Gilligan's it ain't...thank God!!!!!!

Disliked: Only drawback is no desktop computers for general use... DOES have free access of a wireless tablet though, and their office computer and printer if you ask.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ciaran Hynes

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

14 July 2012 Ciaran would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Wood

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

06 July 2012 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: The amount I have paid for all the facilities you receive is great value for money! The staff and guests a very friendly and helpful and welcoming.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Feehan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2012 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: So clean! We had a really. As experience before and this is totally the opposite they had quite a few bad reviews but I don't agree with any of them they are really welcoming and friendly and the cleanliness was a big thing for me and people are constantly cleaning through out the day very on the ball. The owners aren't there but the fact it's run by people also either travelling or working in a visa makes you feel more comfortable their your age so it's easier to get on with compared with some people that own hostels.

Disliked: Lauren left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hoi Mei Chan

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Hoi Mei would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi. The stuff is friendly and helpful. The room is clean.

Disliked: The swimming is too bad. It is better not to have it

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Mc Cafferty

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: Clean none party hostel. Female dorms are excellent. Live the atmosphere and location . Close to the city centre and esplanade which is perfect . Staff very friendly and helpfull. Enjoyed my stay so much I booked for five more nights . Amanda

Disliked: Nothing


See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels