HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels

Reviews of Globetrotters International

Hostel | 154 - 156 Lake Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

75.9% Overall Rating

295 out of 319 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/07/2014)

Giancarlo Zucca thinks…

"Just the best hostel I have been in my life. A lot of common areas, facilities widely available, wifi just amazing (it's free and fast) What stroke is the beauty, the location, the cleanliness of…"

Read all Globetrotters International reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 4.66

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

All guests are required to present International Passports on check in All guests must be over 18years of age (new policy) Late checkins must contact hostel business hrs (8am -5pm)

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairns

Discovery Cairns
50.83 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront
18.66 USD

Hostel 88.8% 590 reviews
Asylum Cairns
11.19 USD

Hostel 75.8% 237 reviews
Castaway's Backpackers
18.66 USD

Hostel 85.1% 219 reviews
Njoy! Travellers Resort
19.59 USD

Hostel 77.5% 177 reviews
City Sheridan
29.15 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Cairns City Motel
22.39 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.2% 7 reviews
Cairns Rainbow Resort
32.65 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.9%

Overall Rating

295 out of 319 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Globetrotters International'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
80.0%
Value
79.2%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 258 of 306 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The private room was a lot more spacious than the other hostel I stayed at and much cleaner. Also, I moved to a dorm room the next night and I liked the set-up of the beds - no bunk beds, but single beds - and how many kitchens and bathrooms this place had. You never had to wait to cook or shower. The swimming pool is a bonus too, although I never used it.

Disliked: The office hours end pretty early - 6 or 7 pm - so if you come after that, nobody is there to help you with anything. However, they do leave an information packet for you at the front desk and there is a number you can call. But it just makes booking day trips or the airport shuttle more difficult when there's no one to talk to. Also, the AC can only be turned on at certain times, so the rooms can get pretty hot!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thomas Kin Fai Kwong

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2013 Thomas Kin Fai would recommend this property

Liked: It looks like Thai feel.

Disliked: Overall are very well.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

SAMMI LAI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2013 SAMMI would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice & friendly reception!this likes a resort more than a hostel! I will recommend to my friends to stay here!

Disliked: Nil

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frederik Doetzer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2013 Frederik would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has quite a nice location. Just 10 minute walk to the shopping mall and 15 minutes to the Reef Fleet Terminal. Free Wi-Fi. Very clean and modern. Swimming Pool was very nice as well.

Disliked: Frederik left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LISA WOTTON

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 April 2013 LISA would recommend this property

Liked: Crystal (the receptionist) was an absolute star on our stay. She made our stay.

Disliked: The reception needs to be covered all day rather than just part time and our room was very near a kitchen which occasionally got very noisy.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, nice staff, air condition, free Internet, awesome people

Disliked: Somebody stole me 200$. I think, it would be handy to have lockers in the room for our luggage.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philipp Nastaly

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 April 2013 Philipp would recommend this property

Liked: By far the best hostel during our five week-stay in Australia. The facilities are all clean and modern, the furniture is well-selected and modern, the service is superb and - it is very good (!) value for money. My girlfriend and I extendend our stay for about 2 weeks. The internet is very fast, the kitchens (yes, there are plenty!) are all nice, large and clean, and the staff as well as some other long-term residents were all very helpful and friendly. The owner of the place is very open to honest feedback and we received a large discount for a night without a functioning air-con. All in all, by far the best value-for-money we have experienced in Oz.

Disliked: Philipp left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great. The location was close to the pier and shopping centers. The facilities were fine. The beds were comfortable. The pool area and lounge were nice to spend time in. The other people staying at the hostel were fun to meet and talk with.

Disliked: It would be nice if the hostel was located closer to the center of town and the grocery store especially. It would be nice to have soap in the bathrooms for washing hands. It would be nice if the utensils and disches were more easily accessible.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Colin Burnett

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

13 March 2013 Colin would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Not much really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: best hostel ive ever been. very clean!

Disliked: small ants in the kitchen. but hey thats northern Australia :-)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: new kitchen and showers great pool great atmosphere little bit like hotel

Disliked: to many sings evverywhere. " We are an budget hostel not a hotel" if you are not happy- leave" in a brand new and clean bathroom is really not neccessary

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed our stay at Globetrotters and would definitely go there again. It is a nice place to just chill out by the pool or watch TV and it situated close enough to town so its easy to walk in and out, but isn't so close that its too noisy. There's also free car parking. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: We liked this hostel, but I suppose if people were looking for a party atmosphere, its not really the place. It has a very nice friendly, communal feel though.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was so clean, modern and cool

Disliked: nothing awesome hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alisha Jandernoa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals

27 January 2013 Alisha would recommend this property

Liked: So much fun!

Disliked: Alisha left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2013

Liked: free wifi nice

Disliked: its infected with ants in the room and kitchen, really bad. we only had aircon from 6pm to 8 am, its too hot in the room without aircon. and we didn't get clean bedsheets for 10 days, not ok.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KIMBERLY BYRNE

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2013 KIMBERLY would recommend this property

Liked: Globetrotters is a fab place to stay one of the cleanest hostels i have ever stayed in . staff are very helpful.

Disliked: KIMBERLY left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean and safe not far from everything and

Disliked: All good

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to seafront esplanade. Relatively cheap. Good place to base yourself. More suited to younger backpackers. There's a pool and decent TV area, plus kitchens and laundry facilities

Disliked: Booked double room with shared bathroom - room very very basic. Room had huge window that looked onto lounge area, a broken blind sort of covered it. No hooks to hang anything on. Although no noise rule after 11pm, you could hear everything from the lounge. Very noisy from walking up above in early hours of morning with a lot of overhead noise from people walking Towels extra surcharge. Shared bathroom was always quite messy. Staff had limited knowledge on excursions and the surrounding area.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and very helpful! On the day I was to be picked-up to catch my departing flight, it was late. One of the Front Desk staff Crystal, went above and beyond what I expected - even though I had personally made the shuttle booking, she called the company for me to make sure the shuttle was enroute, and when she discovered they got the pick-up wrong, helped to get them to send someone quickly so I wouldn\'t miss my flight. A personal driver showed up for me only a few minutes later.

Disliked: n/a

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easy to get to

Disliked: the air con had mould all over it and was pretty noisey, nearlly rattled the window out when the compressor kicked in, leaking fosets in the shower upstairs and the air con wouldnt work until 6pm at night leaving you swealtering if you wanted an afternoon nap (i like afternoon naps) you need them sometimes before a big night out.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

01 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Estuvimos en una habitacion con mis tres amigas solas, muy linda y comoda..

Disliked: Los sanitarios un poco sucio, y gente durmiendo en los sillones de la sala comun.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Emily Ball

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2012 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, clean

Disliked: Very overpriced without breakfast

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Ewoud de Roos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2012

Liked: Free wifi and good beds

Disliked: Is not clean

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Astrid Koelsch

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2012 Astrid would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the whole atmosphere of the hostel, very very nice people. The hostel itself has a really cool layout and is very close to the Esplanade of Cairns.

Disliked: Could be a little cleaner at first glance but after a while you realise how often the important are being cleaned, they are just a bit worn down. They did renovate some rooms though, so maybe things have changed now.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Butler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

27 November 2012 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at this hostel were briliant and the double room was perfect for me and my partner. Free wifi is also a great bonus - other hostels should take note!

Disliked: It is a 10-15 minute walk to the town centre, however the walk is pretty much along the esplanade, so is nice.


See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels