HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Globetrotters International Cairns Hostel

154 Lake st, Cairns, Australia

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 83%

Location 80%

Safety 90%

Staff 87%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Steam room
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 3.85USD

Important Information

All guests are required to present International Passports on check in
All guests must be over 18years of age (new policy)
Late checkins must contact hostel business hrs (8am -5pm)

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 83%

Location 80%

Safety 90%

Staff 87%

Value 94%

Showing 21-30 of 62 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Only one shower for 10 people

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Garden

Disliked: Off Location , small rooms, too few bathrooms toilets and showers

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

WOW you like our garden, i will let our gardener know. OFF location is where most of the high rise apertments are paying $200 per night, small rooms paying $19 is normal standard with budget accommodation, and we only have 12 bathrooms and shower which is 3 times more than all other hostels in the area. WHy even bother seeing the world when you cant even see past the nose on your face. PATHETIC

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: quiet

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Not too far from the esplanade

Disliked: Tiny rooms. Also you have to pay a $20 deposit for utensils box to use as there is nothing in the kitchen but the box contains crappy old utensils and not all the ones you need. Walls of the rooms are paper thin and only one actual bathroom between at least 8 rooms. They say there is a 10pm curfew in the kitchen but its pushed literally to 10pm and there is a 11pm noise curfew elsewhere. This is not so. Voices from outside and at the front chairs could be heard well into the early morning. Very difficult to sleep


The property's response is

Most of our guests love our hostel but we do get the negative people that hve nothing better to do than bag us online and not even have the courage to leave there name on their review. Negative people leave nasty reviews , positive people tell their friends and fellow travellers and dont need to leave reviews, thats why we have 80% of our bookings from recomdations, so if you belive this crap dont come we dont want you, go to a kids hostel,we are for the grown ups with class and experience.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Just the best hostel I have been in my life.A lot of common areas, facilities widely available, wifi just amazing (it's free and fast)What stroke is the beauty, the location, the cleanliness of the rooms -no bunk beds-For the small price I paid it felt like I was in a five star.Thank you so muchStopped by three weeks

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Globetrotters in Cairns aims to keep the noise down at night so everyone can sleep.

Disliked: No room in the fridge.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We have locker fridges for $2 for hire for your entire stay... include the $18 per night for your stay including free NBN wi-fi 24 hrs a day and we say we are the best value hostel in Australia bar none, but what would we know.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: The kitchens are great! Room 6 is the best! There is a small pool, grassy enclosed lawn and a nice deck lounge area.

Disliked: On the bed there is only a sheet and a top sheet, top blanket.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: really nice homely place to stay at

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Price and nice mattress

Disliked: Dirty, cheap, to talked up on website which lead to higher expectations.


The property's response is

Hi Rebecca thanks for your review. Being an inexperienced traveller we will fill you in on the norm when staying in a dorm room.
Globetrotters staff clean kitchens, bathrooms and floors twice a day. There are some guests who do miss their mum and therefor leave things lying around , for you to say this is our fault just shows how inexperienced you are. We suggest next time you have a problem with a hostel act like a grown up and see the reception. Hope this helps you.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Proximity to the esplanade and lagoon, accommodating with storing baggage upon early arrival and for early check-out. I stayed in the 8-bed female dorm - rooms were cleaned each day and there were plenty of outlets near the beds for everyone to recharge their devices, as well as free wi-fi. Plenty of storage under the beds for luggage, and it was a really friendly atmosphere in the room. Access to the property is gated with entry code, and feels secure.

Disliked: Although it was cleaned each day, the bathroom felt dirty because there were so many products left from previous travellers and a shower curtain that didn't look clean. The showers fluctuated between decent pressure and temperature, to zero pressure and crazy temperature fluctuations, more than any other hostel I visited along the east coast. Front desk staff at times appeared inconvenienced if you had questions.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks Kerry for taking the time to let everybody now the small things at the hostel that warrented a 65.7%. The free totally unlimited wi-fi available 24 hrs a day , the 5 star sheet and bedding , the safe ,secure and relaxed style of the hostel ment you gave us one of the worst ratings for Cairns. $18 per night you work it out

Check Availability