We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels

Reviews of Globetrotters International

Hostel | 154 - 156 Lake Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

77.6% Overall Rating

299 out of 323 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/12/2014)

Sam Eke thinks…

"Excellent hostel with a great relaxing atmosphere, ideal place to stay in Cairns. Impressive rooms and very clean kitchens and lounge areas. Very handy having your own fridge key. Nice pool area and…"

Read all Globetrotters International reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 4.37

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

All guests are required to present International Passports on check in All guests must be over 18years of age (new policy) Late checkins must contact hostel business hrs (8am -5pm)

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairns

Discovery Cairns
51.97 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront
17.47 USD

Hostel 87.4% 593 reviews
Asylum Cairns
10.48 USD

Hostel 74.6% 238 reviews
Castaway's Backpackers
17.47 USD

Hostel 84.8% 220 reviews
Njoy! Travellers Resort
18.34 USD

Hostel 77.5% 177 reviews
City Sheridan
23.80 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Cairns Rainbow Resort
30.57 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Floriana Guest House
34.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.6%

Overall Rating

299 out of 323 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Globetrotters International'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
83.2%
Value
81.6%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 261 of 310 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicolo Bulla

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2013 Nicolo would recommend this property

Liked: Quite place good sleep

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracey Foster

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2013 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first time in a hostel and i couldn't have picked a better one to stay at! It felt like a family home rather than a pit stop for travellers. It was clean, welcoming, and everything you needed was at hand. Also, i liked that they had a sort of "curfew" for communal areas of 11pm making sure that there is no disturbance for those who want to sleep.

Disliked: One of the only complaints i have is the lack of chairs to lie down on by the pool.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

emily kate Blocki

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2013 emily kate would recommend this property

Liked: I loved room 6 bunk bed but not metal ones so no rocking, fan above beds, mini kitchen in room with microwave, toaster and kettle and fridge, lovely garden area, staff friendly helpful, quiet area. I stayed here earilier in the year same room and bed, my favourite hostel, love the room, tv area small and personal hostel. Would stay there if I could get a job in cairns.

Disliked: En suit bathroom, lovely and clean no problem, only issue was going to toilet as people were taking long showers around bedtime and not many other toilets around the building

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, areas to relax, kitchens kept clean and tidy.

Disliked: Need to pay for aircon, lounge could use refurbishing, some pool furniture broken, wireless was slow

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alex Bertoux

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet and friendly. Perfect to rest up, chill out and have a nice chat.

Disliked: A fair walk to the city, pretty warm in the rooms

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and guests. The atmosphere was enjoyable. After 11pm it is quit so you can sleep well.

Disliked: Not really well organised. Bit far from town and supermarket.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anja prellberg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2013 anja would recommend this property

Liked: very central and the staff is fantastic!

Disliked: anja left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andreas Moustrides

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 November 2013 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the free wifi. Easy to get a great nights sleep as it's in the quiet part of town. Comfy beds. Very clean. The hostel is a little out of town if you require something or want to go for some drinks but I guess if it was in the heart of the city you wouldn't get such a quiet place & great sleeps!

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kevin West

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

23 October 2013 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Location just outside town centre. Pool Good kitchen and showers.

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very large and comfortable common area, nice bedroom's and bathroom.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi included

Disliked: No food voucher

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Cecilie Tandrup

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 October 2013

Liked: bbb

Disliked: We had booked a double room, which was located to the reception area. It was extremely loud (people listening to loud music, people talking loudly, trucks passing by all night etc.). We kindly asked the staff if we could get another room but they said it was not possible because they were fully booked. People were checking in and out of the hostel all the time (and we were staying there for 5 days), so it seemed quite rude of the receptionists not to take our complain seriously.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

05 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 'Couse it was pretty close to city, nice atmosphere, location, safe

Disliked: 'Couse it is always full, so I'm afraid there is no room for me

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly & helpful staff. Great $2 cappuccinos ! Close to all Cairns sites . Clean. & comfortable. Loved wed had a private room for a reasonable price.

Disliked: Nothing!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Julie Elkin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2013 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and people. Overall pretty clean, thick mattresses, pool. Quieter at night than other hostels for the most part.

Disliked: Horrible internet. Rarely works in the evenings which makes trip planning and job hunting incredibly difficult. No free lockers to secure valuables. A little far from the CBD.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2013

Liked: Close to the boardwalk, good for late check in

Disliked: Only one oven worked in the kitchen. The hob had lost all the markings to explain how to use it.The room had a funny smell.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Such good value for money! Best place I've stayed in Australia! The owners Brian and Linda are so friendly and give you good tips on trips and the local area etc. no complaints,

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mia Pagh Jensen

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 July 2013 Mia Pagh would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at a female dorm, and I really liked that its so privat, though you live 8+ girls in the room. The bed is really nice and closed so you feel the privacy.. The room has its own kitchen and bathroom, really nice!

Disliked: The wifi can vary a bit in the rooms. Somewhere in room 6, there is no wifi to reach. The cleaning could be better, but it's still clean here, and for sure in the good end :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raphael Woltz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2013 Raphael would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really friendly, helpful for all your question, free wifi, big living room with a lot of couch and tv, garden with swimming pool, perfect to chill, have a tchat, or organise your next trip! This is not a factory of backpackers, you feel like at home! It´s a valuable place, next time I'll go back to this hostel.

Disliked: 5 min walking distance to the city, but it´s healthy to walk ;)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Brannaka

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 June 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient, pretty quiet at night, clean, bed was comfortable

Disliked: the light in my room wouldn't stay on, it would just flash. probably just my room. also a lot of the kitchen appliances were either difficult to use or didn't work.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean. internet

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2013

Liked: Free WIFI-, dorm rooms are great, lots of space to hang, feels safe, a good distance from the city- close enough to walk, quiet area, staff always cleaning everyday

Disliked: Just annoying you have to pay a deposit for cutlery, but I guess it keeps the kitchen clean:)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2013

Liked: having free wifi in our room, having a newly renovated shower room and washing basins area.

Disliked: poor design of the double room which making the room feels much smaller. Also, the location is still a little bit far away from cairns central, not very convenient.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleaner than other hostels

Disliked: It was not quiet after 10pm as desbribed.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

joo hwan han

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2013 joo hwan would recommend this property

Liked: almost good.

Disliked: little far from city. almost 4block. it is need walking 15min between.


See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels