HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels

Reviews of Globetrotters International

Hostel | 154 - 156 Lake Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

81.7% Overall Rating

284 out of 305 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/04/2014)

"I liked that it was quiet and peaceful, the beds are so comfortable and the air con was greatly appreciated!"

Read all Globetrotters International reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 4.66

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

All guests are required to present International Passports on check in All guests must be over 18years of age (new policy) Late checkins must contact hostel business hrs (8am -5pm)

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairns

Discovery Cairns
60.13 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront
18.64 USD

Hostel 88.8% 578 reviews
Q Resorts Cascade Gardens
88.56 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 89.0% 14 reviews
Asylum Cairns
11.19 USD

Hostel 81.7% 225 reviews
Castaway's Backpackers
22.37 USD

Hostel 85.0% 216 reviews
Njoy! Travellers Resort
18.64 USD

Hostel 76.8% 173 reviews
Cairns City Motel
22.37 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.2% 7 reviews
Cairns Beach House
13.98 USD

Hostel 73.8% 97 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.7%

Overall Rating

284 out of 305 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Globetrotters International'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
83.2%
Value
85.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 246 of 292 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2013

Liked: Close to the boardwalk, good for late check in

Disliked: Only one oven worked in the kitchen. The hob had lost all the markings to explain how to use it.The room had a funny smell.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Such good value for money! Best place I've stayed in Australia! The owners Brian and Linda are so friendly and give you good tips on trips and the local area etc. no complaints,

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mia Pagh Jensen

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 July 2013 Mia Pagh would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at a female dorm, and I really liked that its so privat, though you live 8+ girls in the room. The bed is really nice and closed so you feel the privacy.. The room has its own kitchen and bathroom, really nice!

Disliked: The wifi can vary a bit in the rooms. Somewhere in room 6, there is no wifi to reach. The cleaning could be better, but it's still clean here, and for sure in the good end :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raphael Woltz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2013 Raphael would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really friendly, helpful for all your question, free wifi, big living room with a lot of couch and tv, garden with swimming pool, perfect to chill, have a tchat, or organise your next trip! This is not a factory of backpackers, you feel like at home! It´s a valuable place, next time I'll go back to this hostel.

Disliked: 5 min walking distance to the city, but it´s healthy to walk ;)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Brannaka

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 June 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient, pretty quiet at night, clean, bed was comfortable

Disliked: the light in my room wouldn't stay on, it would just flash. probably just my room. also a lot of the kitchen appliances were either difficult to use or didn't work.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean. internet

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2013

Liked: Free WIFI-, dorm rooms are great, lots of space to hang, feels safe, a good distance from the city- close enough to walk, quiet area, staff always cleaning everyday

Disliked: Just annoying you have to pay a deposit for cutlery, but I guess it keeps the kitchen clean:)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2013

Liked: having free wifi in our room, having a newly renovated shower room and washing basins area.

Disliked: poor design of the double room which making the room feels much smaller. Also, the location is still a little bit far away from cairns central, not very convenient.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleaner than other hostels

Disliked: It was not quiet after 10pm as desbribed.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

joo hwan han

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2013 joo hwan would recommend this property

Liked: almost good.

Disliked: little far from city. almost 4block. it is need walking 15min between.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

22 May 2013

Liked: Nothing in particular

Disliked: It is not very clean and bathrooms smell. Threatening signs all over the place like: "This is a budget hostel, not a hotel, if you are not happy, please leave". Of course nobody leaves because you pay in advance but this doesn't make you feel confortable at all.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet and clean. It was a lovely hostel with a nice grassy yard and swimming pool. Lots of kitchens and a nice big lounge room.

Disliked: The staff is not there that often, so if you run out of toilet paper at night or need a blanket or something... it is hard to get it after 8pm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariliis Vaino

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2013 Mariliis would recommend this property

Liked: Its was clean and nice, quiet hostel. Good place where i would like stay longer. feels like home :)

Disliked: Mariliis left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The private room was a lot more spacious than the other hostel I stayed at and much cleaner. Also, I moved to a dorm room the next night and I liked the set-up of the beds - no bunk beds, but single beds - and how many kitchens and bathrooms this place had. You never had to wait to cook or shower. The swimming pool is a bonus too, although I never used it.

Disliked: The office hours end pretty early - 6 or 7 pm - so if you come after that, nobody is there to help you with anything. However, they do leave an information packet for you at the front desk and there is a number you can call. But it just makes booking day trips or the airport shuttle more difficult when there's no one to talk to. Also, the AC can only be turned on at certain times, so the rooms can get pretty hot!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thomas Kin Fai Kwong

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2013 Thomas Kin Fai would recommend this property

Liked: It looks like Thai feel.

Disliked: Overall are very well.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

SAMMI LAI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2013 SAMMI would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice & friendly reception!this likes a resort more than a hostel! I will recommend to my friends to stay here!

Disliked: Nil

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frederik Doetzer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2013 Frederik would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has quite a nice location. Just 10 minute walk to the shopping mall and 15 minutes to the Reef Fleet Terminal. Free Wi-Fi. Very clean and modern. Swimming Pool was very nice as well.

Disliked: Frederik left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LISA WOTTON

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 April 2013 LISA would recommend this property

Liked: Crystal (the receptionist) was an absolute star on our stay. She made our stay.

Disliked: The reception needs to be covered all day rather than just part time and our room was very near a kitchen which occasionally got very noisy.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, nice staff, air condition, free Internet, awesome people

Disliked: Somebody stole me 200$. I think, it would be handy to have lockers in the room for our luggage.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philipp Nastaly

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 April 2013 Philipp would recommend this property

Liked: By far the best hostel during our five week-stay in Australia. The facilities are all clean and modern, the furniture is well-selected and modern, the service is superb and - it is very good (!) value for money. My girlfriend and I extendend our stay for about 2 weeks. The internet is very fast, the kitchens (yes, there are plenty!) are all nice, large and clean, and the staff as well as some other long-term residents were all very helpful and friendly. The owner of the place is very open to honest feedback and we received a large discount for a night without a functioning air-con. All in all, by far the best value-for-money we have experienced in Oz.

Disliked: Philipp left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great. The location was close to the pier and shopping centers. The facilities were fine. The beds were comfortable. The pool area and lounge were nice to spend time in. The other people staying at the hostel were fun to meet and talk with.

Disliked: It would be nice if the hostel was located closer to the center of town and the grocery store especially. It would be nice to have soap in the bathrooms for washing hands. It would be nice if the utensils and disches were more easily accessible.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Colin Burnett

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

13 March 2013 Colin would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Not much really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: best hostel ive ever been. very clean!

Disliked: small ants in the kitchen. but hey thats northern Australia :-)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: new kitchen and showers great pool great atmosphere little bit like hotel

Disliked: to many sings evverywhere. " We are an budget hostel not a hotel" if you are not happy- leave" in a brand new and clean bathroom is really not neccessary

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed our stay at Globetrotters and would definitely go there again. It is a nice place to just chill out by the pool or watch TV and it situated close enough to town so its easy to walk in and out, but isn't so close that its too noisy. There's also free car parking. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: We liked this hostel, but I suppose if people were looking for a party atmosphere, its not really the place. It has a very nice friendly, communal feel though.


See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels