We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels

Reviews of Travellers Oasis

Hostel | 8 Scott Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

94.9% Overall Rating

385 out of 391 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/09/2015)

Jillian Vatch thinks…

"Great location, just a quick walk to city center. Had a private room With 2 beds and it was great for our stay. Good amount of space in the room and the fridge and TV were a nice plus! Staff was…"

Read all Travellers Oasis reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 3.56

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the hostel will pre-authorize your card as soon as you made a booking. Should this fail, they will contact you for alternative guarantees. Failure to comply and cooperate might result in the cancellation of your booking without a refund of your pre-payment. "CONFIRMING YOUR HOSTELBOOKERS RESERVATION ARRIVING" Do you know how & at what time you are arriving to our hostel? Our RECEPTION OPENS DAILY FROM 7AM-12PM & THEN AGAIN FROM 4PM-8PM. No problem to arrive outside of these times we just need to know to ensure you have the correct check-in instructions. Please email info@travellersoasis.com.au to contact us if need be.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairns

Dreamtime Travellers Rest
17.11 USD

Hostel 90.2% 458 reviews
Cairns City Backpackers
12.12 USD

Hostel 74.1% 293 reviews
Bohemia Cairns Resort
19.61 USD

Hostel 68.8% 117 reviews
Cairns Central YHA
18.54 USD

Hostel 86.1% 20 reviews
The Jack Backpackers
14.26 USD

Hostel 81.5% 157 reviews
The Northern Greenhouse
18.54 USD

Hostel 91.9% 172 reviews
Cairns - Sharehouse
14.26 USD

Hostel 82.9% 4 reviews
Gilligan's Backpackers Hotel & Resort Cairns
15.68 USD

Hostel 89.5% 185 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.9%

Overall Rating

385 out of 391 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travellers Oasis'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
98.4%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 301 of 350 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jillian Vatch

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2015 Jillian would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, just a quick walk to city center. Had a private room With 2 beds and it was great for our stay. Good amount of space in the room and the fridge and TV were a nice plus! Staff was really helpful and helped us plan activities around Cairns as well as a roadtrip up to Daintree

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff! By far the best I've ever come across.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

16 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hostel, would definitely stay again. Clean, friendly & secure & great value for money! Each bed has a little locker underneath where you can store travel documents, etc. Nice and peaceful on an evening, about 2 minutes from the shopping mall & central Cairns, great staff.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great stuff, great guests, had a lot of fun there,super clean and nice buildings, best hostel in OZ

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I've ever stayed!Everything was just perfect!Amazing friendly staff, excellent servis, cool facilities, great location..Absolutely perfect holiday...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

06 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My husband, two sons (age 14 & 16) and I stayed at Travellers' Oasis for four nights. We were given a very friendly welcome and really relevant information and guidance about the most suitable trips for our situation. We were also advised on weather reports and so were able to choose the calmest day to travel out onto the reef. We joined in with the Australian BBQ and the pizza night which was great fun; especially the play the digeredoo competition and also gave us the opportunity to meet other nationalities. The hostel was very clean, relaxed, quiet at night and friendly. We had a fantastic experience and would certainly recommend Travellers' Oasis to anyone looking for a quality hostel.

Disliked: Not applicable

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Vineeta Maruti

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 August 2015 Vineeta would recommend this property

Liked: Good location close enough to walk into city but far enough to not hear the loud club music at night/drunks on the street. Really clean bathroom and rooms, nice bungalow vibe and super helpful staff (gave us second lot of towels for free after we ruined first at the reef, let us store luggage on check-out day and loaned us beach towels as well), spacious barbeque and outdoor sitting area too. I liked the free DVD loan system as well since rooms had dvd players inside.

Disliked: Facilities could be a bit old (half of the stove gas burners in our building's kitchen weren't properly working, bit dangerous) and no proper indoor dining space. We had the deluxe hammock room and the pictures are a bit misleading, it looks like the entire balcony is for your room but in fact is split by a wooden screen for the other deluxe room as well, so it's not exactly 'private' as promised. Wifi was also really slow, but that's fairly standard of hostels in my experience.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like that it had a friendly atmosphere, free tea and coffee, and best of all free wifi.

Disliked: The way the showers and toilets are set out is a bit annoying, as they are located in different buildings so if one is busy you have to wander around to find an available one. There are two kitchens but tea and coffee is only in one of them. While travelling alone I do prefer to stay in female only dorms which this hostel do not offer, but it was ok as they seem to put me in a room with one girl and one guy. Would feel unsafe in a room with two males.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marine Desmoutier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2015 Marine would recommend this property

Liked: Feels like home. Very nice, quiet and enjoyable

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location and friendly staff, although a bit curt at times. Clean enough and good air conditioning/fans in the private rooms. Lots of good activities

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

angie moreno

Alone

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2015 angie would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent the people were so nice, friendly and the employess very helpfull, far way the best hostel !

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

10 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Can't fault this Hostel. Cheap and gives you everything you need. Very clean facilities and you won't find a better receptionist than Helen, she's a diamond! Will be staying here again!

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matt Gordon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2015 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have stayed in. Amazing staff, particular shout out to Helen who works there. She provided amazing advice on available tours and went out of her way to help you with anything (even admin stuff)

Disliked: I would say the only downside is the opening hours of reception. It would be nice for it to be available all throughout the day but it wasn't too much of a hindrance

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Migas

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

11 April 2015 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: What a lovely place. I traveled long time through australia and this was the nicest place i lived. This hostel was made with so many handmade details and love. Never seen such nice stuff. And i think this is important when you want to stay longer thanks a night, it was very clean. It was a pleasure to sleep here. Thanks Helen!

Disliked: Adam left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location close to town, comfortable and clean rooms and the staff were so helpful organising trips and booking other hostels.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and Atmosphere

Disliked: low ceiling fans

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Parth Shukla

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

08 February 2015 Parth would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, especially Helen, was super friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and accommodating. She really took her time explaining tours, making necessary calls and giving suggestions about local places to eat/drink etc. Good friendly and quiet atmosphere. Clean place. Free wifi.

Disliked: I have nothing bad to say about this place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanna Warren

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2015 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: Very cute, funky hostel with comfortable and clean rooms. Lovely chilled atmosphere, nice pool and incredibly friendly, helpful staff. Helen organised all our tours and we were either picked up from the hostel or Helen took us to the Marina.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Shortman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2015 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, close to centre, good facilities

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, free wi-fi, one of the best hostels i've ever stayed in

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lee Ornsby

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2015 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: What an amazing friendly place! All the facilities you need, staff that go above and beyond to help you out, great rooms and a great atmosphere. I met a lot of great people and will always have fond memories of this place.

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff and super friendly and helpful!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel with the friendliest staff I've come across! They were so helpful booking our entire trip north, and gave great advice about the local area. Rooms were clean and comfortable, would definitely recommend to anyone going to Cairns.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sierra Clark

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 November 2014 Sierra would recommend this property

Liked: Great common area and pool. Owner and staff are great. Not a perfect location, but solid. An easy walk to the main part of town around a shopping center. The only minor issue we had is that there never seems to be enough showers around 7:00-8:00 PM after excursions and getting ready for going out for the evening. We also had a fun group of people that happened to be staying there while we were there, which is always a plus!

Disliked: All was great, except bathroom lines.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

05 November 2014

Liked: The helpfulness of the staff regarding tours

Disliked: The room was stuffy, so turning on the fan / airconditioner was a must


See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels