We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels

Reviews of Travellers Oasis

Hostel | 8 Scott Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

95.7% Overall Rating

373 out of 379 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/04/2015)

Matt Gordon thinks…

"One of the best hostels I have stayed in. Amazing staff, particular shout out to Helen who works there. She provided amazing advice on available tours and went out of her way to help you with…"

Read all Travellers Oasis reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 3.90

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the hostel will pre-authorize your card as soon as you made a booking. Should this fail, they will contact you for alternative guarantees. Failure to comply and cooperate might result in the cancellation of your booking without a refund of your pre-payment. "CONFIRMING YOUR HOSTELBOOKERS RESERVATION ARRIVING" Do you know how & at what time you are arriving to our hostel? Our RECEPTION OPENS DAILY FROM 7AM-12PM & THEN AGAIN FROM 4PM-8PM. No problem to arrive outside of these times we just need to know to ensure you have the correct check-in instructions. Please email info@travellersoasis.com.au to contact us if need be.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairns

Dreamtime Travellers Rest
18.71 USD

Hostel 90.7% 457 reviews
Cairns City Backpackers
12.47 USD

Hostel 71.8% 291 reviews
Bohemia Cairns Resort
18.32 USD

Hostel 68.8% 117 reviews
Cairns Central YHA
20.27 USD

Hostel 86.8% 19 reviews
The Jack Backpackers
11.69 USD

Hostel 81.9% 155 reviews
The Northern Greenhouse
18.71 USD

Hostel 93.0% 170 reviews
Cairns - Sharehouse
15.59 USD

Hostel 81.0% 3 reviews
Gilligan's Backpackers Hotel & Resort Cairns
17.15 USD

Hostel 88.9% 171 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.7%

Overall Rating

373 out of 379 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travellers Oasis'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
99.2%
Value
94.4%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 289 of 337 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matt Gordon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2015 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have stayed in. Amazing staff, particular shout out to Helen who works there. She provided amazing advice on available tours and went out of her way to help you with anything (even admin stuff)

Disliked: I would say the only downside is the opening hours of reception. It would be nice for it to be available all throughout the day but it wasn't too much of a hindrance

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Migas

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

11 April 2015 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: What a lovely place. I traveled long time through australia and this was the nicest place i lived. This hostel was made with so many handmade details and love. Never seen such nice stuff. And i think this is important when you want to stay longer thanks a night, it was very clean. It was a pleasure to sleep here. Thanks Helen!

Disliked: Adam left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location close to town, comfortable and clean rooms and the staff were so helpful organising trips and booking other hostels.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and Atmosphere

Disliked: low ceiling fans

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Parth Shukla

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

08 February 2015 Parth would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, especially Helen, was super friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and accommodating. She really took her time explaining tours, making necessary calls and giving suggestions about local places to eat/drink etc. Good friendly and quiet atmosphere. Clean place. Free wifi.

Disliked: I have nothing bad to say about this place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanna Warren

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2015 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: Very cute, funky hostel with comfortable and clean rooms. Lovely chilled atmosphere, nice pool and incredibly friendly, helpful staff. Helen organised all our tours and we were either picked up from the hostel or Helen took us to the Marina.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Shortman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2015 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, close to centre, good facilities

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, free wi-fi, one of the best hostels i've ever stayed in

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lee Ornsby

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2015 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: What an amazing friendly place! All the facilities you need, staff that go above and beyond to help you out, great rooms and a great atmosphere. I met a lot of great people and will always have fond memories of this place.

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff and super friendly and helpful!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel with the friendliest staff I've come across! They were so helpful booking our entire trip north, and gave great advice about the local area. Rooms were clean and comfortable, would definitely recommend to anyone going to Cairns.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sierra Clark

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 November 2014 Sierra would recommend this property

Liked: Great common area and pool. Owner and staff are great. Not a perfect location, but solid. An easy walk to the main part of town around a shopping center. The only minor issue we had is that there never seems to be enough showers around 7:00-8:00 PM after excursions and getting ready for going out for the evening. We also had a fun group of people that happened to be staying there while we were there, which is always a plus!

Disliked: All was great, except bathroom lines.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

05 November 2014

Liked: The helpfulness of the staff regarding tours

Disliked: The room was stuffy, so turning on the fan / airconditioner was a must

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

yu jyun zeng

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014 yu jyun would recommend this property

Liked: it is a good place but sometimes its a little noisy at in night.

Disliked: shower room is too small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Cooper

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2014 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely friendly, went out their way to welcome you and show you around. Always asked how I was doing, what I'd been up too. Answered any questions I had

Disliked: Other guests not considering others after midnight

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ross Evans

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 September 2014 Ross would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxing

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very attractive garden and pool. The staff could not be more helpful, arranging tours and making you feel at home. Free WiFi. Comfortable beds, lots of room in the dorm and no bunk beds.

Disliked: What's to not like?

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the relaxed and quiet atmosphere provided Travellers Oasis. The staff were very polite and helpful and went out of their way to make sure our stay was a pleasant one.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Penny Stonehewer

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2014 Penny would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and the cleanliness and helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: not a thing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Siobhan Clancy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2014 Siobhan would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, free shuttle to reef boats, half hour to promenade

Disliked: Bit noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Larissa Cain

Alone

City break

03 August 2014 Larissa would recommend this property

Liked: Travellers Oasis is perfect for a chilled out vibe with extremely helpful staff. I woke up late this morning with no idea what I was going to do with my time in North QLD and the staff patiently helped me work it all out. Facilities are pretty standard but good. I think the important thing is that everyone feels comfortable and Travellers Oasis certainly achieved this.

Disliked: One bathroom and shower for the dorms does make life a little tricky however, certainly not a deal breaker.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Violeta Owczarek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2014 Violeta would recommend this property

Liked: Yes nice and cosy place to stay. Welcoming, helpful and friendly!

Disliked: Everything was just perfect!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Colourful, well-designed, the owner really cares about the hostel and guests and holds regular BBQ nights which gets everyone chatting. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful. It's clean and has loads of character. The best hostel I stayed in.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel; quiet for sleeping, clean, good cooking amenities (2 kitchens), rooms, kitchens and bathrooms cleaned daily; friendly staff and free wi-fi. They were helpful with booking tours and hosted popular bbq nights with a sister hostel. Although it's about 10-15 minutes walking to the esplanade, it's located nearby to a shopping centre and is an easy route to walk to the main tourist areas and lagoon.

Disliked: Only a minor thing, but one of the types of tours I wanted to book was completely booked up for the next few days with their preferred tour group, and they wouldn't help me with trying to book in with an alternate group.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free wi-fi and good deal with local restaurants available at the reception, nice pool and bbq area. room was nicely decorated too.

Disliked: not enough showers, we went in low season and we had to queue. sometimes noisy even after curfew and early in the morning especially if your room is facing the common area


See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels