We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels

Reviews of Travellers Oasis

Hostel | 8 Scott Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

95.9% Overall Rating

361 out of 367 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/11/2014)

"Excellent hostel with the friendliest staff I've come across! They were so helpful booking our entire trip north, and gave great advice about the local area. Rooms were clean and comfortable, would definitely recommend…"

Read all Travellers Oasis reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 4.37

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the hostel will pre-authorize your card as soon as you made a booking. Should this fail, they will contact you for alternative guarantees. Failure to comply and cooperate might result in the cancellation of your booking without a refund of your pre-payment. "CONFIRMING YOUR HOSTELBOOKERS RESERVATION ARRIVING" Do you know how & at what time you are arriving to our hostel? Our RECEPTION OPENS DAILY FROM 7AM-12PM & THEN AGAIN FROM 4PM-8PM. No problem to arrive outside of these times we just need to know to ensure you have the correct check-in instructions. Please email info@travellersoasis.com.au to contact us if need be.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairns

Dreamtime Travellers Rest
19.61 USD

Hostel 90.7% 453 reviews
Cairns City Backpackers
13.97 USD

Hostel 73.5% 286 reviews
Bohemia Cairns Resort
19.21 USD

Hostel 68.8% 117 reviews
Cairns Central YHA
22.71 USD

Hostel 86.8% 19 reviews
The Jack Backpackers
16.59 USD

Hostel 83.4% 148 reviews
The Northern Greenhouse
20.96 USD

Hostel 92.6% 163 reviews
Cairns - Sharehouse
17.47 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Gilligan's Backpackers Hotel & Resort Cairns
19.21 USD

Hostel 85.8% 161 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.9%

Overall Rating

361 out of 367 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travellers Oasis'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
96.8%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
100.0%
Value
95.2%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 279 of 325 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel with the friendliest staff I've come across! They were so helpful booking our entire trip north, and gave great advice about the local area. Rooms were clean and comfortable, would definitely recommend to anyone going to Cairns.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sierra Clark

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 November 2014 Sierra would recommend this property

Liked: Great common area and pool. Owner and staff are great. Not a perfect location, but solid. An easy walk to the main part of town around a shopping center. The only minor issue we had is that there never seems to be enough showers around 7:00-8:00 PM after excursions and getting ready for going out for the evening. We also had a fun group of people that happened to be staying there while we were there, which is always a plus!

Disliked: All was great, except bathroom lines.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

05 November 2014

Liked: The helpfulness of the staff regarding tours

Disliked: The room was stuffy, so turning on the fan / airconditioner was a must

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

yu jyun zeng

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014 yu jyun would recommend this property

Liked: it is a good place but sometimes its a little noisy at in night.

Disliked: shower room is too small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Cooper

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2014 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely friendly, went out their way to welcome you and show you around. Always asked how I was doing, what I'd been up too. Answered any questions I had

Disliked: Other guests not considering others after midnight

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ross Evans

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 September 2014 Ross would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxing

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very attractive garden and pool. The staff could not be more helpful, arranging tours and making you feel at home. Free WiFi. Comfortable beds, lots of room in the dorm and no bunk beds.

Disliked: What's to not like?

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the relaxed and quiet atmosphere provided Travellers Oasis. The staff were very polite and helpful and went out of their way to make sure our stay was a pleasant one.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Penny Stonehewer

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2014 Penny would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and the cleanliness and helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: not a thing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Siobhan Clancy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2014 Siobhan would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, free shuttle to reef boats, half hour to promenade

Disliked: Bit noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Larissa Cain

Alone

City break

03 August 2014 Larissa would recommend this property

Liked: Travellers Oasis is perfect for a chilled out vibe with extremely helpful staff. I woke up late this morning with no idea what I was going to do with my time in North QLD and the staff patiently helped me work it all out. Facilities are pretty standard but good. I think the important thing is that everyone feels comfortable and Travellers Oasis certainly achieved this.

Disliked: One bathroom and shower for the dorms does make life a little tricky however, certainly not a deal breaker.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Violeta Owczarek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2014 Violeta would recommend this property

Liked: Yes nice and cosy place to stay. Welcoming, helpful and friendly!

Disliked: Everything was just perfect!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Colourful, well-designed, the owner really cares about the hostel and guests and holds regular BBQ nights which gets everyone chatting. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful. It's clean and has loads of character. The best hostel I stayed in.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel; quiet for sleeping, clean, good cooking amenities (2 kitchens), rooms, kitchens and bathrooms cleaned daily; friendly staff and free wi-fi. They were helpful with booking tours and hosted popular bbq nights with a sister hostel. Although it's about 10-15 minutes walking to the esplanade, it's located nearby to a shopping centre and is an easy route to walk to the main tourist areas and lagoon.

Disliked: Only a minor thing, but one of the types of tours I wanted to book was completely booked up for the next few days with their preferred tour group, and they wouldn't help me with trying to book in with an alternate group.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free wi-fi and good deal with local restaurants available at the reception, nice pool and bbq area. room was nicely decorated too.

Disliked: not enough showers, we went in low season and we had to queue. sometimes noisy even after curfew and early in the morning especially if your room is facing the common area

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

25 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, good atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Janssen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2014 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely loved it! Great vibe, staff is really friendly and super helpful. Had a great stay, would've stayed longer if I could.

Disliked: Stephanie left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

MAGUIER Martin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

20 May 2014 MAGUIER would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet atmosphere, good location close to a mall and not that far from the center of the city.

Disliked: MAGUIER left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fabrizio Iuliano

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 May 2014 Fabrizio would recommend this property

Liked: The Travellers Oasis is a really nice and clean hostel a few minutes walk away from the lagoon. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The dorms are very spacious and you even have a locker underneath the bed. The atmosphere is fantastic. The kitchen is really good equipped and you can even use a BBQ. The hostel itself is really clean. I would definitely recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Fabrizio left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, quiet, very nice & helpful staff, comfturble bad

Disliked: A little bit far from the center

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For a budget-conscious hostel, the facilities on offer here are fantastic, many I would more expect in a hotel. The rooms are very spacious, and as stated, a very clean place with a great decor. Everyone here was really friendly, including fellow guests, and they have a good way of getting everyone involved with each other; themed 'pizza and beer' night and barbeque's. Special commendation to Micky and Helen, who dealt with all the requests we had during our stay very well.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Pemberton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Super comfy beds Staff so friendly and helpful Clean It's like a home away from home! Free wifi

Disliked: Nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There is so much to appreciate about this property. Location is perfect, the staff are really friendly and helpful. The single rooms are more than adequate for a solo traveller. (I recommend room number 5 for the most spacious single room - I did a quick sneak and peak). They supported organise excursions and the highlight was the weekly famous BBQ. The swimming pool, kitchen, toilets, showers and communal areas are kept clean and well kept. Highly recommend this accommodation.

Disliked: This is a chilled out and relaxed accommodation that is in keeping with Cairns. The only thing I disliked was the payment of Airconditionig requiring exact change. When the office is closed, it is very difficult to get change anywhere nearby. I'd recommend a communal change machine or an option to incorporate AC into your booking at an additional cost.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Sturgis

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

11 April 2014 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: This was the cosiest and homeliest hostel we stayed in on the east coast. Everything was super clean, the common areas and kitchens very inviting. I loved that they provide free tea and coffee as well as some spices and olive oil which just makes cooking easier. We also had a fridge in our twin room. The pool is nice and so is the barbecue area. It felt super safe, you need a code to get in at night and we had a safe in our twin room. The staff is really nice and shows you around everywhere when you get there.

Disliked: There is free wifi but the connection is really bad, they should fix that. There were no hooks or rails to hang our towels in our room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Suzie Curtis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 March 2014 Suzie would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Good, homely communal areas. A nice little retreat away from the crazy hostels of Cairns.

Disliked: Walk into Cairns isn't too long, but the road is a little poorly lit. That said, I didn't encounter any problems walking back at night, and the hostel runs a complimentary bus to/from town until 9pm-ish. After that point, taxis aren't too expensive.


See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels