We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels

Reviews of Travellers Oasis

Hostel | 8 Scott Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

95.3% Overall Rating

372 out of 378 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/04/2015)

Adam Migas thinks…

"What a lovely place. I traveled long time through australia and this was the nicest place i lived. This hostel was made with so many handmade details and love. Never seen such nice stuff. And i think…"

Read all Travellers Oasis reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 3.89

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the hostel will pre-authorize your card as soon as you made a booking. Should this fail, they will contact you for alternative guarantees. Failure to comply and cooperate might result in the cancellation of your booking without a refund of your pre-payment. "CONFIRMING YOUR HOSTELBOOKERS RESERVATION ARRIVING" Do you know how & at what time you are arriving to our hostel? Our RECEPTION OPENS DAILY FROM 7AM-12PM & THEN AGAIN FROM 4PM-8PM. No problem to arrive outside of these times we just need to know to ensure you have the correct check-in instructions. Please email info@travellersoasis.com.au to contact us if need be.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairns

Dreamtime Travellers Rest
18.65 USD

Hostel 90.7% 457 reviews
Cairns City Backpackers
12.43 USD

Hostel 71.8% 291 reviews
Bohemia Cairns Resort
18.26 USD

Hostel 68.8% 117 reviews
Cairns Central YHA
20.20 USD

Hostel 86.8% 19 reviews
The Jack Backpackers
13.21 USD

Hostel 81.9% 155 reviews
The Northern Greenhouse
18.65 USD

Hostel 93.0% 170 reviews
Cairns - Sharehouse
15.54 USD

Hostel 81.0% 3 reviews
Gilligan's Backpackers Hotel & Resort Cairns
17.10 USD

Hostel 89.0% 170 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.3%

Overall Rating

372 out of 378 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travellers Oasis'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
99.2%
Value
94.4%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 288 of 336 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and the building. Everythin is nice and colourful and friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

16 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely sociable, especially the staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Yacoub

20 June 2010 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: This has been my best hostel experience to date. The staff (John and Helen) are amazingly helpful and really go out of their way to ensure that you stay at Travellers Oasis and in Cairns is enjoyable. They offer really good info on trips to do in and around Cairns and book everything for you. All the suggestions they made (I did a Cape Trib, Kuranda and two sailing trips) were spot on and exactly what I wanted. The hostel itself really is a little oasis in Cairns and I love the decor here. The best place to stay in Cairns if you are looking for somewhere away from the party atmosphere to chill and relax.

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Lacoste

15 June 2010 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: We spent two lovely nights in Traveller Oasis. The room was very clean, freshly renovated. Hotel interior and exterior design was very well done: we took a lot of pictures of the hotel. Last but not least, John was really helpfull finding for us a very good car rental deal at the last minutes and suggesting us what self-driving tour we could do do. His advices were perfect: we really enjoy the tour we did following his advices.

Disliked: Caroline left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stella harley

21 May 2010 stella would recommend this property

Liked: The staff where exceptionally friendly and helpful. Both John and Helen went above and beyond to help organize the best possible expeditions and events during our stay in Cairns.

Disliked: stella left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

charlotte huston

15 May 2010 charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: staff our really friendly helped us plan our tour of the east coast!

Disliked: charlotte left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The personnel of th ehostel were very polite and really wanted everyone to enjoy ones staying in hostel and the tours which they were recommended. They always ask the feedback fron every tour. The took care of everything concerned the living in this part of Australia.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gilles petelle

29 March 2010 gilles would recommend this property

Liked: On of the best value out of the 31 different accommodations we have staid at during our last trip.

Disliked: gilles left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Rueegg

13 March 2010 David would recommend this property

Liked: Nice familiar place with exeptionaly friendliy staff!

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of the staff is just great!!! The rooms are a little bit old but clean. I would recommend this hostel anytime!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacqueline Cavalheiro

11 February 2010 Jacqueline would recommend this property

Liked: John was fantastic. He was knowledgeable , friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was refreshing. Great for people trying to save a buck but not loose out.D&J- Canada

Disliked: Jacqueline left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ian Barber

30 January 2010 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing team of staff, great laid back atmosphere, small enough hostel to meet and talk to other guests. Great weekly BBQ.

Disliked: Ian left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: /

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An excellent hostel with a great atmosphere. These people take care of everything. We have never stayed in a better hostel, except the Tropic Days, which is managed by the same owners.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alison Jowett

01 September 2009 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: Very homely, incredilby helpful staff in bookng all the excursions. No bunk beds so the dorms are lovey and comfortable, lots of fridge space. Lovely pool. A wonderful place to stay. Made my holiday extraspecial.

Disliked: Alison left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alison Jowett

12 August 2009 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: It has a lovely relaxed feel about it. The rooms are clean and no bunk beds! which is nice. John at reception went out of his way to help book site seeing tours for me whilst I was there which were wonderful. He has a wealth of information and ideas which made my time in Cairns unforgetable in the best possible way. Thank you for making my holiday a dream come true.

Disliked: Alison left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

STEVEN KAY

29 July 2009 STEVEN would recommend this property

Liked: was really chilled out and everyone was really friendly, best hostel i have stayed in

Disliked: STEVEN left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Elizabeth Floyd

09 June 2009 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: This was a sweet place to stay. It is was short walk to the center of Cairns so it was pretty quiet when you wanted to sleep but the parties were not far away either. The kitchen and bathrooms were really clean as well.

Disliked: Elizabeth left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's just so relaxed it's like your on holiday

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stacey Knowles

01 June 2009 Stacey would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were sooo friendly and very helpful. Really good place to stay too, I would recommend it to anyone.

Disliked: Stacey left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

20 May 2009

Liked: staff was nice but gave wrong directions 3 times. No working telephone. Bring your own towel for showering, I do not trust their towels.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff and clean rooms

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels