We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels

Reviews of Travellers Oasis

Hostel | 8 Scott Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

95.4% Overall Rating

375 out of 381 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/05/2015)

angie moreno thinks…

"Excellent the people were so nice, friendly and the employess very helpfull, far way the best hostel !"

Read all Travellers Oasis reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 3.84

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the hostel will pre-authorize your card as soon as you made a booking. Should this fail, they will contact you for alternative guarantees. Failure to comply and cooperate might result in the cancellation of your booking without a refund of your pre-payment. "CONFIRMING YOUR HOSTELBOOKERS RESERVATION ARRIVING" Do you know how & at what time you are arriving to our hostel? Our RECEPTION OPENS DAILY FROM 7AM-12PM & THEN AGAIN FROM 4PM-8PM. No problem to arrive outside of these times we just need to know to ensure you have the correct check-in instructions. Please email info@travellersoasis.com.au to contact us if need be.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairns

Dreamtime Travellers Rest
18.42 USD

Hostel 90.7% 457 reviews
Cairns City Backpackers
13.05 USD

Hostel 71.8% 291 reviews
Bohemia Cairns Resort
18.03 USD

Hostel 68.8% 117 reviews
Cairns Central YHA
19.95 USD

Hostel 86.1% 20 reviews
The Jack Backpackers
16.88 USD

Hostel 81.6% 156 reviews
The Northern Greenhouse
23.02 USD

Hostel 93.0% 170 reviews
Cairns - Sharehouse
15.35 USD

Hostel 81.0% 3 reviews
Gilligan's Backpackers Hotel & Resort Cairns
16.88 USD

Hostel 87.4% 178 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.4%

Overall Rating

375 out of 381 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travellers Oasis'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
99.2%
Value
93.6%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 291 of 339 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

paul connolly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2011 paul would recommend this property

Liked: everything - amazing staff. really chilled atmosphere. good location. very clean. really cute and quirky design. i could go on...

Disliked: nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shane Farrell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2011 Shane would recommend this property

Liked: Top class hostel.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

katherine ferrer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 April 2011 katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely the best way to finish or start the East Coast, everyone is friendly, all your home comforts, and the staff really do care about your stay- John went out his way to sort me accomodation when my flight was cancelled! Short walk to the beach and the party, but you'll always find someone to do it with!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BAPTISTE DUBOIS

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 April 2011 BAPTISTE would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is very pleasant, it really makes you feel on holidays! The staff is extraordinarly friendly and comprehensive.

Disliked: Nothing!!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was good value for money, but this can be expected to some degree as the location was less central than a lot of other hostels. To make up for this, the staff were really great and there were a lot of activities on offer and at discount prices. There was a small pool which was nice when the weather was sunny, and plenty of tables and benches to sit at in the outdoor area. The rooms were basic but clean.

Disliked: The shower facilities were a bit sparse and not the nicest. Considering Cairns has such a humid climate, I was a bit put off to find a coin box attached to the air conditioner in our room - 1 dollar for 3 hours is a bit cheeky if you ask me! Overall, however, I would recommend this hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caitlin Hemphill

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 April 2011 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the cute decor, the outdoor BBQ, the central pool and the tv room. Very approachable atmosphere.

Disliked: The air conditioners were extremely loud, but other than that, Travellers' Oasis was perfect!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erin Corcoran

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2011 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly, actually, the staff at all the sister hostels were also very friendly. The facilities were very well-kept. There was a lot on offer and it was a pretty decent place to meet people. It was really comfortable and I slept really well here. My only regret was not staying longer!

Disliked: I had hoped for more of a party hostel, but it was not described as such, so that's my own oversight.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracy Watts

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2011 Tracy would recommend this property

Liked: Alot of effort has been put in to ensure that it is a fun and lively place to be. Everything you need is here and they have 2 kitchens, a laundry, pool, BBQ etc etc. The rooms have AC and mine had a large fridge which was good. They also have hundreds and hundreds of leaflets about the local area and what there is to do as well as having loads of advice for you.

Disliked: hmmmmmmm Nothing!!!!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Conor Keating

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2011 Conor would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely fantastic place! The best hostel I have ever stayed in! The staff were so lovely, helpful and a good laugh. The whole hostel was always clean and tidy. The hostel also had a very chilled atmosphere but on certain nights ie pizza, BBQ and local bar promotions the staff got you involved!!! I would defiantly go here again.

Disliked: There really was nothing I didn't like.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

02 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best customer service ever! John & Helen you are the best.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johanna MacKinnon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2011 Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the staff!! John & Hels, Cathy and Gab. absolutely wonderful advice and help with bookings. kind courteous warm inviting clean friendly, the pool is divine, the barbie so much fun. you guys have been the best place to stay in the 5 weeks we have been in Aussie.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were excellent

Disliked: It's a bit away from the main drag

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Brian Kennedy

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 February 2011 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, very helpful, friendly and knowlegable. I had cancelled my booking because of cyclone yasi but once I heard it blew through without damaging Cairns the staff rebooked me with no problem. The staff is always around and available to help. They had really nice common areas, a pool and a BBQ.

Disliked: It is a little bit of a walk to get to the attractions, but it's really nice how quite and calm the place is.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff, nice facility, very cool to spend some relaxing days.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Priscilla Owusu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2010 Priscilla would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, really close to the centre of Cairns. The facilities were really good too. The room was really comfortable & the staff go out of their way to make you feel at home.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

17 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpfulness staff

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: afforfdable, helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kat Bromhall

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

25 November 2010 Kat would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, especially helpful when booking tours. Plenty of communal areas. Small dormswith proper beds rather than bunks.

Disliked: No lockers in rooms. No breakfast provided. Had to pay for internet and wifi.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sian Parsons

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 November 2010 Sian would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at Travellers Oasis are lovely, especially John at reception...such a decent guy. The rooms were clean and spacious (we stayed in a twin and 4 bed dorm), the shower rooms and toilets were good as was the kitchen. It's in a nice location, just behind the mall and about 5 minutes walk from the bars etc. I would recommend you stay here when in Cairns.

Disliked: There were no bins in the rooms and that's only because i'm trying to find a fault.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

21 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was within walking distance to all central areas. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms and common areas very clean. Nice pool area and good kitchen facilities.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gareth Parry

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2010 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: Good loaction, Great staff and overall just a good place to stay

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Faye Cunningham

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2010 Faye would recommend this property

Liked: Really charming property with lots of social space. Staff are excellent, very friendly and helpful. A 10 minute walk into town but well worth the extra little distance.

Disliked: Faye left no negative feedback.


See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels