HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Travellers Oasis Cairns Hostel

8 Scott street, Parramatta Park, Cairns, Australia

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 91%

Location 81%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 92%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Late Check-out
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 3.81USD

Important Information

Please note that the hostel will pre-authorize your card as soon as you made a booking. Should this fail, they will contact you for alternative guarantees. Failure to comply and cooperate might result in the cancellation of your booking without a refund of your pre-payment.

"CONFIRMING YOUR HOSTELBOOKERS RESERVATION ARRIVING"

Do you know how & at what time you are arriving to our hostel?

Our RECEPTION OPENS DAILY FROM 7AM-12PM & THEN AGAIN FROM 4PM-8PM.
No problem to arrive outside of these times we just need to know to ensure you have the correct check-in instructions. Please email info@travellersoasis.com.au to contact us if need be.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 91%

Location 81%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 92%

Showing 61-70 of 74 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There is so much to appreciate about this property. Location is perfect, the staff are really friendly and helpful. The single rooms are more than adequate for a solo traveller. (I recommend room number 5 for the most spacious single room - I did a quick sneak and peak). They supported organise excursions and the highlight was the weekly famous BBQ. The swimming pool, kitchen, toilets, showers and communal areas are kept clean and well kept. Highly recommend this accommodation.

Disliked: This is a chilled out and relaxed accommodation that is in keeping with Cairns.The only thing I disliked was the payment of Airconditionig requiring exact change. When the office is closed, it is very difficult to get change anywhere nearby. I'd recommend a communal change machine or an option to incorporate AC into your booking at an additional cost.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very friendly staff. Awesome vibe. Fellow travellers were really chill. If you are trying to avoid the 18 yr old part scene, stay here

Disliked: Nothing !

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Friendly staff. Good, homely communal areas. A nice little retreat away from the crazy hostels of Cairns.

Disliked: Walk into Cairns isn't too long, but the road is a little poorly lit. That said, I didn't encounter any problems walking back at night, and the hostel runs a complimentary bus to/from town until 9pm-ish. After that point, taxis aren't too expensive.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Fabulous staff, loved them!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It was just perfect.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Lovely tropical character, great covered picnic/eating areas, very helpful staff

Disliked: Very hot

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great common area and pool. Owner and staff are great. Not a perfect location, but solid. An easy walk to the main part of town around a shopping center. The only minor issue we had is that there never seems to be enough showers around 7:00-8:00 PM after excursions and getting ready for going out for the evening. We also had a fun group of people that happened to be staying there while we were there, which is always a plus!

Disliked: All was great, except bathroom lines.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff on arrival were exceptionally friendly and this continued throughout my stay. It was amazing that they actually remembered your name as well! The facilities were excellent lots of toilets and bathrooms and 2 kitchens that were well stocked. They even had tubs of sunscreen for you as well which I thought was a brilliant touch. The people staying there were really friendly and it just had a lovely chilled out vibe. I would 100% recommend this place to anyone who wants to come to Cairns to party but go back to a chilled, friendly and quiet hostel for a good night's sleep! I only wish I'd have stayed here longer!

Disliked: I suppose the only thing is the aircon is on meter but you only pay $1 for 3 hours worth so chuck a dollar in it before you go to bed and you're fine.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: The staff were fabulous. Helen was so pleasant, helpful and went out of her way especially in returning a much loved sweatshirt. It was my 13 year olds first experience of a hostel and she loved it. Have already recommended it to friends and family. Great place!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: The staff is awesome! Join the Monday BBQ it's good and inexpensive.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability