HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels

Reviews of Travellers Oasis

Hostel | 8 Scott Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

96.7% Overall Rating

358 out of 363 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/09/2014)

Samuel Cooper thinks…

"Staff were extremely friendly, went out their way to welcome you and show you around. Always asked how I was doing, what I'd been up too. Answered any questions I had"

Read all Travellers Oasis reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 4.37

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the hostel will pre-authorize your card as soon as you made a booking. Should this fail, they will contact you for alternative guarantees. Failure to comply and cooperate might result in the cancellation of your booking without a refund of your pre-payment. "CONFIRMING YOUR HOSTELBOOKERS RESERVATION ARRIVING" Do you know how & at what time you are arriving to our hostel? Our RECEPTION OPENS DAILY FROM 7AM-12PM & THEN AGAIN FROM 4PM-8PM. No problem to arrive outside of these times we just need to know to ensure you have the correct check-in instructions. Please email info@travellersoasis.com.au to contact us if need be.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairns

Dreamtime Travellers Rest
23.17 USD

Hostel 90.7% 453 reviews
Cairns City Backpackers
13.97 USD

Hostel 73.5% 286 reviews
Bohemia Cairns Resort
19.21 USD

Hostel 68.8% 117 reviews
Cairns Central YHA
22.71 USD

Hostel 86.8% 19 reviews
The Jack Backpackers
18.34 USD

Hostel 84.0% 146 reviews
The Northern Greenhouse
26.20 USD

Hostel 93.0% 162 reviews
Cairns - Sharehouse
17.47 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Gilligan's Backpackers Hotel & Resort Cairns
19.21 USD

Hostel 85.8% 161 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.7%

Overall Rating

358 out of 363 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travellers Oasis'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
99.2%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
100.0%
Value
96.8%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 276 of 321 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff which knows all about its region. Really helpful in booking tours or next accommodation.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff, great location, fantastic accomodation! loved every minuite of my stay.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angela Nixon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2011 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: BEST OF THE BEST IN EVERY WAY. FRIENDLY CARING STAFF ESPECIALLY JOHN, HELEN AND KERRIE. BEST ADVICE ON TOURS TO TAKE AND THE PLACE IS CLEAN AND COMFY. SAFE AND SECURE WITH ONLY MINUTES WALK TO EVERYTHING.

Disliked: NOTHING, IT WAS PERFECT

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, friendly & helpful staff, nice atmosphere, one of the best hostels we have stayed in. We have never seen as clean common kitchen and toilet facilities as here.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved how helpful the staff was. They helped me plan all of the trips that I wanted while visiting Cairns and it was really a fun and friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: The staff clean the facilities during the time in the morning that many people want to take showers which was inconvenient. Also I wish that there were paper towels in the bathrooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff that help you book your trips and give their opinion of all the trips as they themselves have been on them. Also they show you really good places to eat cheaply which i really appreciated.

Disliked: Showers are too far from the bedrooms and their aren't enough showers. They also clean them at inconvenient times - ex. 8:30 am - 10:30am - basically right when you want to use them. Also only one person on the front desk which isn't enough at times as it is always busy and the front desk closed at 7 which is too early!! otherwise LOVED IT!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful and friendly staff, helped organise a lot of tours for me. Had a great time here.

Disliked: .

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small and friendly hostel. Great Staff; full of advice about reef and rainforest trips.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff. (ie they remember your name and address you by your first name when they see you thereby making you feel welcome from the outset) spotlessly clean, great, comfortable rooms

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool atmosphere, clean, good services

Disliked: Not much

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

paul connolly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2011 paul would recommend this property

Liked: everything - amazing staff. really chilled atmosphere. good location. very clean. really cute and quirky design. i could go on...

Disliked: nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shane Farrell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2011 Shane would recommend this property

Liked: Top class hostel.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

katherine ferrer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 April 2011 katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely the best way to finish or start the East Coast, everyone is friendly, all your home comforts, and the staff really do care about your stay- John went out his way to sort me accomodation when my flight was cancelled! Short walk to the beach and the party, but you'll always find someone to do it with!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BAPTISTE DUBOIS

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 April 2011 BAPTISTE would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is very pleasant, it really makes you feel on holidays! The staff is extraordinarly friendly and comprehensive.

Disliked: Nothing!!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was good value for money, but this can be expected to some degree as the location was less central than a lot of other hostels. To make up for this, the staff were really great and there were a lot of activities on offer and at discount prices. There was a small pool which was nice when the weather was sunny, and plenty of tables and benches to sit at in the outdoor area. The rooms were basic but clean.

Disliked: The shower facilities were a bit sparse and not the nicest. Considering Cairns has such a humid climate, I was a bit put off to find a coin box attached to the air conditioner in our room - 1 dollar for 3 hours is a bit cheeky if you ask me! Overall, however, I would recommend this hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caitlin Hemphill

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 April 2011 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the cute decor, the outdoor BBQ, the central pool and the tv room. Very approachable atmosphere.

Disliked: The air conditioners were extremely loud, but other than that, Travellers' Oasis was perfect!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erin Corcoran

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2011 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly, actually, the staff at all the sister hostels were also very friendly. The facilities were very well-kept. There was a lot on offer and it was a pretty decent place to meet people. It was really comfortable and I slept really well here. My only regret was not staying longer!

Disliked: I had hoped for more of a party hostel, but it was not described as such, so that's my own oversight.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracy Watts

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2011 Tracy would recommend this property

Liked: Alot of effort has been put in to ensure that it is a fun and lively place to be. Everything you need is here and they have 2 kitchens, a laundry, pool, BBQ etc etc. The rooms have AC and mine had a large fridge which was good. They also have hundreds and hundreds of leaflets about the local area and what there is to do as well as having loads of advice for you.

Disliked: hmmmmmmm Nothing!!!!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Conor Keating

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2011 Conor would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely fantastic place! The best hostel I have ever stayed in! The staff were so lovely, helpful and a good laugh. The whole hostel was always clean and tidy. The hostel also had a very chilled atmosphere but on certain nights ie pizza, BBQ and local bar promotions the staff got you involved!!! I would defiantly go here again.

Disliked: There really was nothing I didn't like.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

02 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best customer service ever! John & Helen you are the best.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johanna MacKinnon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2011 Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the staff!! John & Hels, Cathy and Gab. absolutely wonderful advice and help with bookings. kind courteous warm inviting clean friendly, the pool is divine, the barbie so much fun. you guys have been the best place to stay in the 5 weeks we have been in Aussie.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were excellent

Disliked: It's a bit away from the main drag

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Brian Kennedy

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 February 2011 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, very helpful, friendly and knowlegable. I had cancelled my booking because of cyclone yasi but once I heard it blew through without damaging Cairns the staff rebooked me with no problem. The staff is always around and available to help. They had really nice common areas, a pool and a BBQ.

Disliked: It is a little bit of a walk to get to the attractions, but it's really nice how quite and calm the place is.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: Nothing


See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels