HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels

Reviews of Travellers Oasis

Hostel | 8 Scott Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

95.8% Overall Rating

330 out of 335 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/04/2014)

"There is so much to appreciate about this property. Location is perfect, the staff are really friendly and helpful. The single rooms are more than adequate for a solo traveller. (I recommend room number 5 for the…"

Read all Travellers Oasis reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 4.66

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the hostel will pre-authorize your card as soon as you made a booking. Should this fail, they will contact you for alternative guarantees. Failure to comply and cooperate might result in the cancellation of your booking without a refund of your pre-payment. "CONFIRMING YOUR HOSTELBOOKERS RESERVATION ARRIVING" Do you know how & at what time you are arriving to our hostel? Our RECEPTION OPENS DAILY FROM 7AM-12PM & THEN AGAIN FROM 4PM-8PM. No problem to arrive outside of these times we just need to know to ensure you have the correct check-in instructions. Please email info@travellersoasis.com.au to contact us if need be.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairns

Geckos Backpackers
22.37 USD

Hostel 73.4% 13 reviews
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
23.31 USD

Hostel 92.8% 446 reviews
Cairns City Backpackers
15.85 USD

Hostel 76.9% 280 reviews
Bohemia Cairns Resort
17.71 USD

Hostel 67.4% 115 reviews
Cairns Central YHA
22.37 USD

Hostel 92.0% 14 reviews
The Jack Backpackers
19.58 USD

Hostel 84.8% 121 reviews
The Northern Greenhouse
23.31 USD

Hostel 93.8% 157 reviews
Cairns - Sharehouse
18.64 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.8%

Overall Rating

330 out of 335 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travellers Oasis'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
96.0%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
99.2%
Value
97.6%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 257 of 293 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely fantastic place! The best hostel I have ever stayed in! The staff were so lovely, helpful and a good laugh. The whole hostel was always clean and tidy. The hostel also had a very chilled atmosphere but on certain nights ie pizza, BBQ and local bar promotions the staff got you involved!!! I would defiantly go here again.

Disliked: There really was nothing I didn't like.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

02 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best customer service ever! John & Helen you are the best.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johanna MacKinnon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2011 Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the staff!! John & Hels, Cathy and Gab. absolutely wonderful advice and help with bookings. kind courteous warm inviting clean friendly, the pool is divine, the barbie so much fun. you guys have been the best place to stay in the 5 weeks we have been in Aussie.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were excellent

Disliked: It's a bit away from the main drag

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Brian Kennedy

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 February 2011 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, very helpful, friendly and knowlegable. I had cancelled my booking because of cyclone yasi but once I heard it blew through without damaging Cairns the staff rebooked me with no problem. The staff is always around and available to help. They had really nice common areas, a pool and a BBQ.

Disliked: It is a little bit of a walk to get to the attractions, but it's really nice how quite and calm the place is.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff, nice facility, very cool to spend some relaxing days.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Priscilla Owusu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2010 Priscilla would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, really close to the centre of Cairns. The facilities were really good too. The room was really comfortable & the staff go out of their way to make you feel at home.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

17 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpfulness staff

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: afforfdable, helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kat Bromhall

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

25 November 2010 Kat would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, especially helpful when booking tours. Plenty of communal areas. Small dormswith proper beds rather than bunks.

Disliked: No lockers in rooms. No breakfast provided. Had to pay for internet and wifi.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sian Parsons

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 November 2010 Sian would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at Travellers Oasis are lovely, especially John at reception...such a decent guy. The rooms were clean and spacious (we stayed in a twin and 4 bed dorm), the shower rooms and toilets were good as was the kitchen. It's in a nice location, just behind the mall and about 5 minutes walk from the bars etc. I would recommend you stay here when in Cairns.

Disliked: There were no bins in the rooms and that's only because i'm trying to find a fault.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

21 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was within walking distance to all central areas. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms and common areas very clean. Nice pool area and good kitchen facilities.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gareth Parry

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2010 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: Good loaction, Great staff and overall just a good place to stay

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Faye Cunningham

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2010 Faye would recommend this property

Liked: Really charming property with lots of social space. Staff are excellent, very friendly and helpful. A 10 minute walk into town but well worth the extra little distance.

Disliked: Faye left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Tomanka

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

14 October 2010 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, just behind the Cairns Shopping center. A great pool, nice way to get out of the humidity. A very helpful staff that can assist you in booking any number of tours or other services in the area.

Disliked: Wish the internet was free, but such is life... Hostel bookers also don't get the free airport shuttle unless they are already in the area. Careful if you read about the free airport shuttle online or in a guide book. Thanks, nice hostel!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Tomanka

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

13 October 2010 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: The pool is great, also awesome kitchen facilities. My private double had a mini-fridge in it, that was a great help.

Disliked: The A/C in the rooms was $1 for three hours. I thought it was rough to pay for A/C but at least the value was reasonable for a dollar.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and the building. Everythin is nice and colourful and friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

16 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely sociable, especially the staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Yacoub

20 June 2010 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: This has been my best hostel experience to date. The staff (John and Helen) are amazingly helpful and really go out of their way to ensure that you stay at Travellers Oasis and in Cairns is enjoyable. They offer really good info on trips to do in and around Cairns and book everything for you. All the suggestions they made (I did a Cape Trib, Kuranda and two sailing trips) were spot on and exactly what I wanted. The hostel itself really is a little oasis in Cairns and I love the decor here. The best place to stay in Cairns if you are looking for somewhere away from the party atmosphere to chill and relax.

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Lacoste

15 June 2010 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: We spent two lovely nights in Traveller Oasis. The room was very clean, freshly renovated. Hotel interior and exterior design was very well done: we took a lot of pictures of the hotel. Last but not least, John was really helpfull finding for us a very good car rental deal at the last minutes and suggesting us what self-driving tour we could do do. His advices were perfect: we really enjoy the tour we did following his advices.

Disliked: Caroline left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stella harley

21 May 2010 stella would recommend this property

Liked: The staff where exceptionally friendly and helpful. Both John and Helen went above and beyond to help organize the best possible expeditions and events during our stay in Cairns.

Disliked: stella left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

charlotte huston

15 May 2010 charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: staff our really friendly helped us plan our tour of the east coast!

Disliked: charlotte left no negative feedback.


See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels