HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels

Reviews of Travellers Oasis

Hostel | 8 Scott Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

95.8% Overall Rating

330 out of 335 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/04/2014)

"There is so much to appreciate about this property. Location is perfect, the staff are really friendly and helpful. The single rooms are more than adequate for a solo traveller. (I recommend room number 5 for the…"

Read all Travellers Oasis reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 4.67

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the hostel will pre-authorize your card as soon as you made a booking. Should this fail, they will contact you for alternative guarantees. Failure to comply and cooperate might result in the cancellation of your booking without a refund of your pre-payment. "CONFIRMING YOUR HOSTELBOOKERS RESERVATION ARRIVING" Do you know how & at what time you are arriving to our hostel? Our RECEPTION OPENS DAILY FROM 7AM-12PM & THEN AGAIN FROM 4PM-8PM. No problem to arrive outside of these times we just need to know to ensure you have the correct check-in instructions. Please email info@travellersoasis.com.au to contact us if need be.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairns

Geckos Backpackers
22.39 USD

Hostel 73.4% 13 reviews
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
23.33 USD

Hostel 92.8% 446 reviews
Cairns City Backpackers
15.86 USD

Hostel 76.9% 280 reviews
Bohemia Cairns Resort
17.73 USD

Hostel 67.4% 115 reviews
Cairns Central YHA
22.39 USD

Hostel 92.0% 14 reviews
The Jack Backpackers
19.59 USD

Hostel 84.8% 121 reviews
The Northern Greenhouse
23.33 USD

Hostel 93.8% 157 reviews
Cairns - Sharehouse
18.66 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.8%

Overall Rating

330 out of 335 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travellers Oasis'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
96.0%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
99.2%
Value
97.6%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 257 of 293 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place to stay!!! it's really hoemly and beautiful! lovely pool too! the staff were very friendly and helpful, it's an easy walk to the center

Disliked: nothing! I wish I could have stayed longer! :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Reiter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: It was so pleasent to stay there. Everybody was friendly and so helpfull. There was a very chilled atmosphere. We stayed in a doubleroom without a own bath. The community bath and toiletts were clean and they worked well (thats not normal...) Our room was about 16 sqm. In every room was a fridge! The place of the location isnt soooo good. By feet you need about 10 to 15 minutes to the esplanade but there is a shuttle service, offered by the hostel, that brings you about 10 times a day to the city and back again, for free!

Disliked: Nothing!!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janine van Mierlo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2011 Janine would recommend this property

Liked: Travellers oasis is à Great place to stay when you are in Cairns. Very nice staff over There, they help you where they can. Nice And clean rooms.

Disliked: There was nothing that i didn't liked

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elisabeth Stecki

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 August 2011 Elisabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff! Friendly and very informative

Disliked: reception not being open all day - only 8-12pm and 4-8pm

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Beverly Aldrich

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2011 Beverly would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness,helpfulness of staff

Disliked: Room was a bit noisy at night with other guests' talking outside.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Holland

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2011 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: After more than a year travelling through Europe, S America, NZ and Oz, this could well be the best hostel we've stayed in. Brilliant staff, great location, great homely vibe and sound bunch of people staying there. And did I mention the staff?

Disliked: Nothing. Honestly.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff which knows all about its region. Really helpful in booking tours or next accommodation.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff, great location, fantastic accomodation! loved every minuite of my stay.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angela Nixon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2011 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: BEST OF THE BEST IN EVERY WAY. FRIENDLY CARING STAFF ESPECIALLY JOHN, HELEN AND KERRIE. BEST ADVICE ON TOURS TO TAKE AND THE PLACE IS CLEAN AND COMFY. SAFE AND SECURE WITH ONLY MINUTES WALK TO EVERYTHING.

Disliked: NOTHING, IT WAS PERFECT

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, friendly & helpful staff, nice atmosphere, one of the best hostels we have stayed in. We have never seen as clean common kitchen and toilet facilities as here.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved how helpful the staff was. They helped me plan all of the trips that I wanted while visiting Cairns and it was really a fun and friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: The staff clean the facilities during the time in the morning that many people want to take showers which was inconvenient. Also I wish that there were paper towels in the bathrooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff that help you book your trips and give their opinion of all the trips as they themselves have been on them. Also they show you really good places to eat cheaply which i really appreciated.

Disliked: Showers are too far from the bedrooms and their aren't enough showers. They also clean them at inconvenient times - ex. 8:30 am - 10:30am - basically right when you want to use them. Also only one person on the front desk which isn't enough at times as it is always busy and the front desk closed at 7 which is too early!! otherwise LOVED IT!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful and friendly staff, helped organise a lot of tours for me. Had a great time here.

Disliked: .

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small and friendly hostel. Great Staff; full of advice about reef and rainforest trips.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff. (ie they remember your name and address you by your first name when they see you thereby making you feel welcome from the outset) spotlessly clean, great, comfortable rooms

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool atmosphere, clean, good services

Disliked: Not much

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

paul connolly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2011 paul would recommend this property

Liked: everything - amazing staff. really chilled atmosphere. good location. very clean. really cute and quirky design. i could go on...

Disliked: nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shane Farrell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2011 Shane would recommend this property

Liked: Top class hostel.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

katherine ferrer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 April 2011 katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely the best way to finish or start the East Coast, everyone is friendly, all your home comforts, and the staff really do care about your stay- John went out his way to sort me accomodation when my flight was cancelled! Short walk to the beach and the party, but you'll always find someone to do it with!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BAPTISTE DUBOIS

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 April 2011 BAPTISTE would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is very pleasant, it really makes you feel on holidays! The staff is extraordinarly friendly and comprehensive.

Disliked: Nothing!!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was good value for money, but this can be expected to some degree as the location was less central than a lot of other hostels. To make up for this, the staff were really great and there were a lot of activities on offer and at discount prices. There was a small pool which was nice when the weather was sunny, and plenty of tables and benches to sit at in the outdoor area. The rooms were basic but clean.

Disliked: The shower facilities were a bit sparse and not the nicest. Considering Cairns has such a humid climate, I was a bit put off to find a coin box attached to the air conditioner in our room - 1 dollar for 3 hours is a bit cheeky if you ask me! Overall, however, I would recommend this hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caitlin Hemphill

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 April 2011 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the cute decor, the outdoor BBQ, the central pool and the tv room. Very approachable atmosphere.

Disliked: The air conditioners were extremely loud, but other than that, Travellers' Oasis was perfect!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erin Corcoran

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2011 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly, actually, the staff at all the sister hostels were also very friendly. The facilities were very well-kept. There was a lot on offer and it was a pretty decent place to meet people. It was really comfortable and I slept really well here. My only regret was not staying longer!

Disliked: I had hoped for more of a party hostel, but it was not described as such, so that's my own oversight.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracy Watts

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2011 Tracy would recommend this property

Liked: Alot of effort has been put in to ensure that it is a fun and lively place to be. Everything you need is here and they have 2 kitchens, a laundry, pool, BBQ etc etc. The rooms have AC and mine had a large fridge which was good. They also have hundreds and hundreds of leaflets about the local area and what there is to do as well as having loads of advice for you.

Disliked: hmmmmmmm Nothing!!!!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Conor Keating

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2011 Conor would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing


See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels