HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels

Reviews of Travellers Oasis

Hostel | 8 Scott Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

96.7% Overall Rating

358 out of 363 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/09/2014)

Samuel Cooper thinks…

"Staff were extremely friendly, went out their way to welcome you and show you around. Always asked how I was doing, what I'd been up too. Answered any questions I had"

Read all Travellers Oasis reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 4.37

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the hostel will pre-authorize your card as soon as you made a booking. Should this fail, they will contact you for alternative guarantees. Failure to comply and cooperate might result in the cancellation of your booking without a refund of your pre-payment. "CONFIRMING YOUR HOSTELBOOKERS RESERVATION ARRIVING" Do you know how & at what time you are arriving to our hostel? Our RECEPTION OPENS DAILY FROM 7AM-12PM & THEN AGAIN FROM 4PM-8PM. No problem to arrive outside of these times we just need to know to ensure you have the correct check-in instructions. Please email info@travellersoasis.com.au to contact us if need be.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairns

Dreamtime Travellers Rest
23.17 USD

Hostel 90.7% 453 reviews
Cairns City Backpackers
13.97 USD

Hostel 73.5% 286 reviews
Bohemia Cairns Resort
19.21 USD

Hostel 68.8% 117 reviews
Cairns Central YHA
22.71 USD

Hostel 86.8% 19 reviews
The Jack Backpackers
18.34 USD

Hostel 84.0% 146 reviews
The Northern Greenhouse
26.20 USD

Hostel 93.0% 162 reviews
Cairns - Sharehouse
17.47 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Gilligan's Backpackers Hotel & Resort Cairns
19.21 USD

Hostel 85.8% 161 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.7%

Overall Rating

358 out of 363 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travellers Oasis'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
99.2%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
100.0%
Value
96.8%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 276 of 321 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly people,cleanliness and location.

Disliked: some better possibility for a toothbrushplace.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Akiyoshi Suzuki

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2012 Akiyoshi would recommend this property

Liked: Staff. Helen and Micky are really friendly and nice. Also, people staying here are so friendly that we can make a conversation easily.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I kept trying to think of things that went wrong here, and i couldnt. First and foremost, the staff is exceptionally friendly and knowledgable. I don't think i've ever met better. The place is very clean, facilities are great, beds are comfortable. No bunk beds here! Really, a great place to hang your hat a few days before or after heading to the reef.

Disliked: Only thing i might say i wasnt excited about at first was the AC is on a $1 for 3 hour system. But in most hostels, people are gone for most of the day, and they leave the AC on. Environmentally speaking, it`s better to charge as people didnt gratuitously use it. And 3 dollars a day for AC wasnt unreasonable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Very nice atmosphere. Staff are very helpful. Ended up staying in the hostel longer than originally booked.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner of the location was awesome. He had a real desire for backpackers to experience the local culture. The hostel itself was very cool too - a lot of decorations and landscaping.

Disliked: $10/day internet!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Naied Shakeb

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2012 Naied would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, helpful staff...free tea and coffee!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JOHN HAGUE

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 January 2012 JOHN would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent friendly staff - couldn't be more amiable and helpful and made everyone of all nationalities feel welcome. Clean rooms and great location over the road from the mall and only 15mins walk to beach and lagoon.

Disliked: Would be good to have free wifi (although PC's available for $1 for 15mins)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is by far the best hostel I have ever stayed in. The staff are amazing! They know every traveller by name from the minute they walk in the door, which makes you feel very welcome. They genuinely want you to have a good trip in Cairns and beyond and will go out of their way to help you book tours, busses, and hostels across Australia. Their office hours are officially 8am-noon and 4pm-8pm, but they arrive early to greet early morning arrivals or to drive guests to their early morning tour locations, and stay over their lunch break or late into the evening to make sure everyone's plans are sorted. The hotel itself is great, with no bunk beds, no over crowded rooms, and great common areas filled with like-minded and curteous guests. I wholeheartedly recommend this hostel to any traveller!

Disliked: Nothing. It was perfect.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely communal areas. Nice big kitchens and prep areas. Really friendly office start who make you feel welcome!

Disliked: The location is really nice as its pretty quite and near the shopping centre, however to walk to the sea front and lively bars its about 15 mins-wouldnt put me off though!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic and helpfull staff, very generous, friendly, likeable! When you travel alone, don't hesitate to ask them. They can help and advice you!

Disliked: I disliked the little bugs in the kitchen and some backpackers who don't clean their stuff.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere, relaxed, nice pool area, clean and safe! excellent value!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very good. Good services.

Disliked: Rooms little bit small

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, the hostel was incredibly homely and very comfortable

Disliked: Only dislike would be having to walk around the shopping centre when it shut of an evening, not a major problem at all!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ursula Drabikowski

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Ursula would recommend this property

Liked: It had an awesome vibe, very chilled, and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bo Weng

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

10 November 2011 Bo would recommend this property

Liked: Stuff there are quite helpful with the tour bookings. And the BBQ is perfect!

Disliked: Nah.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Sawtell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2011 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Amazingly friendly staff. Comfortable beds - no bunks just single beds which is great too. Monday night BBQ is well worth it!

Disliked: No bar - but bottle store is very close by.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Florian Gniech

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2011 Florian would recommend this property

Liked: super friendly staff, clean and comfy

Disliked: no free wifi, but really fast if you pay for it

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Cecilie Ostenfeld

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2011 Cecilie would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere

Disliked: The kitchen was not that clean

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely decorated, cosy rooms. Very peaceful, nice pool and outdoor eating area. Very quite, near a great little bar that you get food vouchers for. A good place to chill out and relax.

Disliked: Very warm, though every room did have a fan and air con but you did have to pay for it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place to stay!!! it's really hoemly and beautiful! lovely pool too! the staff were very friendly and helpful, it's an easy walk to the center

Disliked: nothing! I wish I could have stayed longer! :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Reiter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: It was so pleasent to stay there. Everybody was friendly and so helpfull. There was a very chilled atmosphere. We stayed in a doubleroom without a own bath. The community bath and toiletts were clean and they worked well (thats not normal...) Our room was about 16 sqm. In every room was a fridge! The place of the location isnt soooo good. By feet you need about 10 to 15 minutes to the esplanade but there is a shuttle service, offered by the hostel, that brings you about 10 times a day to the city and back again, for free!

Disliked: Nothing!!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janine van Mierlo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2011 Janine would recommend this property

Liked: Travellers oasis is à Great place to stay when you are in Cairns. Very nice staff over There, they help you where they can. Nice And clean rooms.

Disliked: There was nothing that i didn't liked

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elisabeth Stecki

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 August 2011 Elisabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff! Friendly and very informative

Disliked: reception not being open all day - only 8-12pm and 4-8pm

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Beverly Aldrich

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2011 Beverly would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness,helpfulness of staff

Disliked: Room was a bit noisy at night with other guests' talking outside.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Holland

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2011 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: After more than a year travelling through Europe, S America, NZ and Oz, this could well be the best hostel we've stayed in. Brilliant staff, great location, great homely vibe and sound bunch of people staying there. And did I mention the staff?

Disliked: Nothing. Honestly.


See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels