HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels

Reviews of Travellers Oasis

Hostel | 8 Scott Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

96.7% Overall Rating

358 out of 363 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/09/2014)

Samuel Cooper thinks…

"Staff were extremely friendly, went out their way to welcome you and show you around. Always asked how I was doing, what I'd been up too. Answered any questions I had"

Read all Travellers Oasis reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 4.37

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the hostel will pre-authorize your card as soon as you made a booking. Should this fail, they will contact you for alternative guarantees. Failure to comply and cooperate might result in the cancellation of your booking without a refund of your pre-payment. "CONFIRMING YOUR HOSTELBOOKERS RESERVATION ARRIVING" Do you know how & at what time you are arriving to our hostel? Our RECEPTION OPENS DAILY FROM 7AM-12PM & THEN AGAIN FROM 4PM-8PM. No problem to arrive outside of these times we just need to know to ensure you have the correct check-in instructions. Please email info@travellersoasis.com.au to contact us if need be.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairns

Dreamtime Travellers Rest
23.17 USD

Hostel 90.7% 453 reviews
Cairns City Backpackers
13.97 USD

Hostel 73.5% 286 reviews
Bohemia Cairns Resort
19.21 USD

Hostel 68.8% 117 reviews
Cairns Central YHA
22.71 USD

Hostel 86.8% 19 reviews
The Jack Backpackers
18.34 USD

Hostel 84.0% 146 reviews
The Northern Greenhouse
26.20 USD

Hostel 93.0% 162 reviews
Cairns - Sharehouse
17.47 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Gilligan's Backpackers Hotel & Resort Cairns
19.21 USD

Hostel 85.8% 161 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.7%

Overall Rating

358 out of 363 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travellers Oasis'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
99.2%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
100.0%
Value
96.8%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 276 of 321 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matt Turzo

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 August 2012 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: The pictures actually don't do it justice. The keep the property immaculate, but in a welcoming way... It kind of feels like you just brought a cleaner into your own place. As for the staff - every single one was so excited about the trip I was on. They must hear the same crap over and over ("oh wow that reef was amazing!") but they are genuinely really happy to hear about your adventure. I arrived with no plans and a mission to see the reef, so as soon as I checked in, I started asking about the best way to go. They recommended a smaller boat (which was cheaper than the one I was looking at), and both of them behind the desk had done a few trips with different operators and reckoned that I would enjoy Coral Sea the most. They were spot on. I only booked for 2 days in case I didn't like the hostel, but as soon as I arrived I booked out the rest of the week because I could tell right away it felt like home. in short, loved it.

Disliked: The pool is smallish - but that's a minor detail and you are in cairns so go see the reef!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel (actually the best we stayed in during our RTW trip)! The staff was extremely friendly and helped us planning our complete trip down to Sydney.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Work / volunteering

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, clean rooms, good location. I wanted to extend my stay, but they were full, so they arranged me a room at their 'sister hostel' Tropic Days. I got free transportation there and I like it even better! :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good value, easy access to mall and train station

Disliked: Not enough showers, and toilets

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pedro Pinochet

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2012 Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, in special Helen is very friendly and willing to help any time, good recommendations and lots of help when booking, etc

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yancey arrington

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 July 2012 yancey would recommend this property

Liked: Not only beautiful Helen was extremely helpful. I was very happy how flexiable and accomidating they were despite my flakey travel plans. The hostel also had a mature atmosphere which fit well with my needs.

Disliked: yancey left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Delphine Lasnier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2012 Delphine would recommend this property

Liked: Small, quiet, close to the train station and city center. Staff very helpfull to find the tour you want to do.

Disliked: Delphine left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Laid back feel, friendliness and helpfulness of staff

Disliked: While it's only 15 minutes to the Esplanade it does feel a little out of the way.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

jan yard

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 June 2012 jan would recommend this property

Liked: It's been well designed, with small communal areas leading to a big atmosphere.Dirty showers are my bete noir - even the slightest grubby and used feeling to someone else's shower and I won't use it, but here there was nothing to pick about, so 10 out of 10 for yours.

Disliked: The cost of using the internet is on a daily basis. I don't know the Aussie setup, but being a Brit I was expecting it to be inclusive, as in the UK.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Cheater

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing bbq night at sister hostel Tropic Days, super friendly staff, comfy beds and nice communal areas to meet new people.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shun Bun Chan

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

30 May 2012 Shun Bun would recommend this property

Liked: Decoration

Disliked: No free wi-fi

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's really chill. The hostel is just away enough from the downtown to be a bit more relaxed. The rooms were spacious. Even with four to a room, the room did not feel crowded. Everyone had their own little space. There are lots of tour and trip pamphlets and they can pretty much tell you how to organize your stay in Cairns.

Disliked: There weren't too many bathrooms. But with that said, each one was fairly spacious and you either got a shower with a toilet or an individual shower or an individual toilet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place to stay. Really comfortable vibe. Very helpful staff. Willing to help book trips along the east coast and beyond. Thanks for everything. Best hostel in Australia.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Eva Maria Schweitzer

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Eva Maria would recommend this property

Liked: nicely furnished; tropical atmosphere; staff were fantastic

Disliked: Eva Maria left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were wonderful and remembered all guests' first names. Hostel is definitely not a party one, but is relaxed and calming. Rooms are great too!

Disliked: Wi-fi/internet was quite expensive, but this is maybe not out of place in Australia...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

01 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff - helen is awesome=)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff make this place especially Helen - so friendly and helpful about everything! Very chilled out atmosphere and relaxed travellers

Disliked: No bins or safety deposit boxes in rooms, no free wifi, showers aren't very powerful, rooms basic but comfortable

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sanjay Valavil

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 April 2012 Sanjay would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, clean, comfortable and a really good relaxing vibe.

Disliked: Needs a few more hooks for hanging towels in the shower room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice small hostel with really friendly staff. There's a good atmosphere even though it's small.

Disliked: Only one bathroom per 'building'.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2012

Liked: Well located, clean, safe and cheerfully decorated. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the swimming pool is nice. I would stay here again!

Disliked: Wi-fi charges are a bit steep, but that seems to be the way of things in Oz.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is excelent, they help in everything you need. The hostel is very clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! There's a great atmosphere and plenty of common areas to meet other travellers. The staff are simply outstanding - they are so helpful, friendly and knowledgeable!

Disliked: It was a 20-minute walk to the sea front, but there are plenty of services closer than that, like a supermarket and restaurants and bars.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarah Higgins

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great base to have in Cairns and you could book all your tours and stuff at the front desk with Helen who is pretty much an Oracle on all things reefy.

Disliked: it would have been great to have free (or at least cheaper) wifi.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, staff are very friendly especially the lovely Helen! who has been very helpful booking and adjusting all of our trips over the last couple of days!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the most welcoming and friendly hostel I have stayed at in the world. The staff are absolutly fantastic and helpful and the rooms are comfy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels