We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels

Reviews of Travellers Oasis

Hostel | 8 Scott Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

96.7% Overall Rating

358 out of 363 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/09/2014)

Samuel Cooper thinks…

"Staff were extremely friendly, went out their way to welcome you and show you around. Always asked how I was doing, what I'd been up too. Answered any questions I had"

Read all Travellers Oasis reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 4.46

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the hostel will pre-authorize your card as soon as you made a booking. Should this fail, they will contact you for alternative guarantees. Failure to comply and cooperate might result in the cancellation of your booking without a refund of your pre-payment. "CONFIRMING YOUR HOSTELBOOKERS RESERVATION ARRIVING" Do you know how & at what time you are arriving to our hostel? Our RECEPTION OPENS DAILY FROM 7AM-12PM & THEN AGAIN FROM 4PM-8PM. No problem to arrive outside of these times we just need to know to ensure you have the correct check-in instructions. Please email info@travellersoasis.com.au to contact us if need be.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairns

Geckos Backpackers
21.42 USD

Hostel 76.1% 19 reviews
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
23.20 USD

Hostel 90.7% 453 reviews
Cairns City Backpackers
14.28 USD

Hostel 73.7% 285 reviews
Bohemia Cairns Resort
19.63 USD

Hostel 68.8% 117 reviews
Cairns Central YHA
23.20 USD

Hostel 86.8% 19 reviews
The Jack Backpackers
18.74 USD

Hostel 82.7% 145 reviews
The Northern Greenhouse
26.77 USD

Hostel 93.0% 162 reviews
Cairns - Sharehouse
17.85 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.7%

Overall Rating

358 out of 363 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travellers Oasis'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
99.2%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
100.0%
Value
96.8%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 276 of 321 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

18 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly and helpful staff, work with you to get you what you need even if they're office hours are technically closed, not a huge hostel, cozy.

Disliked: You have to pay for air conditioning ($1 for 3 hours)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erica Hickey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2013 Erica would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to chill out and stay. What really makes this place is the staff though. They are amazing with tour planning and are super knowledgable about the area. We will be back for sure!

Disliked: Everything was fantastic!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cristy Harper

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2012 Cristy would recommend this property

Liked: location and the friendliness of the staff. It was a great hostel and I'll stay here again next time I come to Cairns

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful and friendly staff; physical appearance; facilities

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

17 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel staff were extremely helpful. They had a very good knowledge of the tours available and were very helpful in booking them. Also towels were provided for reef tours or whenever needed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this hostel! Great atmosphere, comfy rooms and friendly people:) We will definitely recommend to all our friends and stay here again when we're in Cairns!

Disliked: Not a thing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sean Doyle

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2012 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: Pool and hammocks were awesome!

Disliked: Books up fast =(

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There is a very chilled and friendly vibe to this place, more than most city based hostels. It is, as described an oasis. We arrived very early after a night bus and were welcomed in and looked after beautifully by staff, who treated us like family as opposed to being on the endless conveyer-belt of backpackers through the hostel, which you get with many places. I could carry on for ages about the travellers oasis, and how great the staff are. it is an excellent hostel and would stay there again in a heart beat.

Disliked: Nothing really. Stayed in a private room which was fairly small but fine. It's a bit of a walk into the main bit of town (10-20 mins) which could get tiresome if staying a long time but don't let that put you off there is the central shopping centre 2mins away.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

STEPHANIE MAZIERE

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

03 December 2012 STEPHANIE would recommend this property

Liked: Everything !!! Really nice hostel, clean, quiet. A sepcial thanks to Helen who's very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

01 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Attractive, clean

Disliked: Noisy people at night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and clean. Everytime again.

Disliked: Aircon 1AUD for three hours

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, good setup. Was great to have the pool there, and the staff were very helpful.

Disliked: Limited toilets and showers, though I didn't have much of an issue myself. Could also use a wall clock near the pool.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bronislaw Sutarzewicz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2012 Bronislaw would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and excellent service Top 5 in my list

Disliked: Don't get any bad point

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

10 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were very helpful and friendly. dorm rooms were quite spacious.

Disliked: rooms only have com operated air con

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ben ewens

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 November 2012 ben would recommend this property

Liked: If you want a good, clean, friendly and relaxing backpackers in Cairns then this is the place. Very happy with my stay.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, nice, friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Location far from hyper centre, good in a way as there were no noise from the street

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Chilled out vibe, really clean and comfortable

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SIGNES Nicolas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 October 2012 SIGNES would recommend this property

Liked: Great rooms, great staff, great place all around.

Disliked: Nothing of note.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Theresa Hendrie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012 Theresa would recommend this property

Liked: Very pretty, two lovely small kitchens, outside areas, swimming pool, near shops, staff always smiling and helpful. Helped me book some trips that were very considerate about my budget and what I would personally enjoy (i.e. reef tour with max 12 people)

Disliked: Theresa left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Cockerton

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, organised everything for me. Had fun at the BBQ on Monday night, and found lots of cool travellers to hang out with.

Disliked: Airconditioning was extra (you had to put in a $1 for every 3 hours, which is not bad, but it did say aircon, and I think the usual assumption is that it's automatically included). And the location was further out than a lot of other hostels, which I'd pass as I walked back to this one. Still, nice enough.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hendrik Cornelis Vos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2012 Hendrik Cornelis would recommend this property

Liked: Very Very Good

Disliked: noting

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Logan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2012 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Warm welcome and continued lovely attitude from all staff. We attended the BBQ which joined with the sister hostel, the food was excellent and big daddy Gabriel made us feel very welcome! Highly recommended!

Disliked: An extremely minor issue, just would like some more hooks in the bedrooms to hang up towels and clothes etc.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marilyn Patton

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 September 2012 Marilyn would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was knowledgable about area tours and attractions and helpful about arranging them and facilitating your arrival to the tour, comfy beds, gracious service, whatever you might need was available.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is not great since most of the restaurants are a bit of a walk...but you do get a good price and a great facility. I was happy with it. The private room with balcony was great - quiet, clean, and comfortable.

Disliked: It is a 10 minute walk to everything and walking back late at night it seems a little creepy since the roads are quiet and no one else around. I didn't have any problems with my stay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gordie McKay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2012 Gordie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great very helpful, good social areas to meet other people, nice pool.

Disliked: nothing really


See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels