HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels

Reviews of Travellers Oasis

Hostel | 8 Scott Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

95.8% Overall Rating

330 out of 335 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/04/2014)

"There is so much to appreciate about this property. Location is perfect, the staff are really friendly and helpful. The single rooms are more than adequate for a solo traveller. (I recommend room number 5 for the…"

Read all Travellers Oasis reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 4.65

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the hostel will pre-authorize your card as soon as you made a booking. Should this fail, they will contact you for alternative guarantees. Failure to comply and cooperate might result in the cancellation of your booking without a refund of your pre-payment. "CONFIRMING YOUR HOSTELBOOKERS RESERVATION ARRIVING" Do you know how & at what time you are arriving to our hostel? Our RECEPTION OPENS DAILY FROM 7AM-12PM & THEN AGAIN FROM 4PM-8PM. No problem to arrive outside of these times we just need to know to ensure you have the correct check-in instructions. Please email info@travellersoasis.com.au to contact us if need be.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairns

Geckos Backpackers
22.32 USD

Hostel 74.9% 14 reviews
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
24.18 USD

Hostel 92.3% 447 reviews
Cairns City Backpackers
15.81 USD

Hostel 76.9% 280 reviews
Bohemia Cairns Resort
17.67 USD

Hostel 67.4% 115 reviews
Cairns Central YHA
22.32 USD

Hostel 90.9% 15 reviews
The Jack Backpackers
19.53 USD

Hostel 84.8% 121 reviews
The Northern Greenhouse
23.25 USD

Hostel 93.8% 157 reviews
Cairns - Sharehouse
18.60 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.8%

Overall Rating

330 out of 335 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travellers Oasis'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
96.0%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
99.2%
Value
97.6%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 257 of 293 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Cockerton

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, organised everything for me. Had fun at the BBQ on Monday night, and found lots of cool travellers to hang out with.

Disliked: Airconditioning was extra (you had to put in a $1 for every 3 hours, which is not bad, but it did say aircon, and I think the usual assumption is that it's automatically included). And the location was further out than a lot of other hostels, which I'd pass as I walked back to this one. Still, nice enough.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hendrik Cornelis Vos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2012 Hendrik Cornelis would recommend this property

Liked: Very Very Good

Disliked: noting

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Logan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2012 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Warm welcome and continued lovely attitude from all staff. We attended the BBQ which joined with the sister hostel, the food was excellent and big daddy Gabriel made us feel very welcome! Highly recommended!

Disliked: An extremely minor issue, just would like some more hooks in the bedrooms to hang up towels and clothes etc.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marilyn Patton

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 September 2012 Marilyn would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was knowledgable about area tours and attractions and helpful about arranging them and facilitating your arrival to the tour, comfy beds, gracious service, whatever you might need was available.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is not great since most of the restaurants are a bit of a walk...but you do get a good price and a great facility. I was happy with it. The private room with balcony was great - quiet, clean, and comfortable.

Disliked: It is a 10 minute walk to everything and walking back late at night it seems a little creepy since the roads are quiet and no one else around. I didn't have any problems with my stay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gordie McKay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2012 Gordie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great very helpful, good social areas to meet other people, nice pool.

Disliked: nothing really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matt Turzo

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 August 2012 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: The pictures actually don't do it justice. The keep the property immaculate, but in a welcoming way... It kind of feels like you just brought a cleaner into your own place. As for the staff - every single one was so excited about the trip I was on. They must hear the same crap over and over ("oh wow that reef was amazing!") but they are genuinely really happy to hear about your adventure. I arrived with no plans and a mission to see the reef, so as soon as I checked in, I started asking about the best way to go. They recommended a smaller boat (which was cheaper than the one I was looking at), and both of them behind the desk had done a few trips with different operators and reckoned that I would enjoy Coral Sea the most. They were spot on. I only booked for 2 days in case I didn't like the hostel, but as soon as I arrived I booked out the rest of the week because I could tell right away it felt like home. in short, loved it.

Disliked: The pool is smallish - but that's a minor detail and you are in cairns so go see the reef!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel (actually the best we stayed in during our RTW trip)! The staff was extremely friendly and helped us planning our complete trip down to Sydney.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Work / volunteering

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, clean rooms, good location. I wanted to extend my stay, but they were full, so they arranged me a room at their 'sister hostel' Tropic Days. I got free transportation there and I like it even better! :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good value, easy access to mall and train station

Disliked: Not enough showers, and toilets

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pedro Pinochet

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2012 Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, in special Helen is very friendly and willing to help any time, good recommendations and lots of help when booking, etc

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yancey arrington

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 July 2012 yancey would recommend this property

Liked: Not only beautiful Helen was extremely helpful. I was very happy how flexiable and accomidating they were despite my flakey travel plans. The hostel also had a mature atmosphere which fit well with my needs.

Disliked: yancey left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Delphine Lasnier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2012 Delphine would recommend this property

Liked: Small, quiet, close to the train station and city center. Staff very helpfull to find the tour you want to do.

Disliked: Delphine left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Laid back feel, friendliness and helpfulness of staff

Disliked: While it's only 15 minutes to the Esplanade it does feel a little out of the way.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

jan yard

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 June 2012 jan would recommend this property

Liked: It's been well designed, with small communal areas leading to a big atmosphere.Dirty showers are my bete noir - even the slightest grubby and used feeling to someone else's shower and I won't use it, but here there was nothing to pick about, so 10 out of 10 for yours.

Disliked: The cost of using the internet is on a daily basis. I don't know the Aussie setup, but being a Brit I was expecting it to be inclusive, as in the UK.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Cheater

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing bbq night at sister hostel Tropic Days, super friendly staff, comfy beds and nice communal areas to meet new people.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shun Bun Chan

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

30 May 2012 Shun Bun would recommend this property

Liked: Decoration

Disliked: No free wi-fi

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's really chill. The hostel is just away enough from the downtown to be a bit more relaxed. The rooms were spacious. Even with four to a room, the room did not feel crowded. Everyone had their own little space. There are lots of tour and trip pamphlets and they can pretty much tell you how to organize your stay in Cairns.

Disliked: There weren't too many bathrooms. But with that said, each one was fairly spacious and you either got a shower with a toilet or an individual shower or an individual toilet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place to stay. Really comfortable vibe. Very helpful staff. Willing to help book trips along the east coast and beyond. Thanks for everything. Best hostel in Australia.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Eva Maria Schweitzer

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Eva Maria would recommend this property

Liked: nicely furnished; tropical atmosphere; staff were fantastic

Disliked: Eva Maria left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were wonderful and remembered all guests' first names. Hostel is definitely not a party one, but is relaxed and calming. Rooms are great too!

Disliked: Wi-fi/internet was quite expensive, but this is maybe not out of place in Australia...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

01 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff - helen is awesome=)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff make this place especially Helen - so friendly and helpful about everything! Very chilled out atmosphere and relaxed travellers

Disliked: No bins or safety deposit boxes in rooms, no free wifi, showers aren't very powerful, rooms basic but comfortable

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sanjay Valavil

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 April 2012 Sanjay would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, clean, comfortable and a really good relaxing vibe.

Disliked: Needs a few more hooks for hanging towels in the shower room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice small hostel with really friendly staff. There's a good atmosphere even though it's small.

Disliked: Only one bathroom per 'building'.


See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels