HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels

Reviews of Travellers Oasis

Hostel | 8 Scott Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

96.7% Overall Rating

358 out of 363 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/09/2014)

Samuel Cooper thinks…

"Staff were extremely friendly, went out their way to welcome you and show you around. Always asked how I was doing, what I'd been up too. Answered any questions I had"

Read all Travellers Oasis reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 4.37

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the hostel will pre-authorize your card as soon as you made a booking. Should this fail, they will contact you for alternative guarantees. Failure to comply and cooperate might result in the cancellation of your booking without a refund of your pre-payment. "CONFIRMING YOUR HOSTELBOOKERS RESERVATION ARRIVING" Do you know how & at what time you are arriving to our hostel? Our RECEPTION OPENS DAILY FROM 7AM-12PM & THEN AGAIN FROM 4PM-8PM. No problem to arrive outside of these times we just need to know to ensure you have the correct check-in instructions. Please email info@travellersoasis.com.au to contact us if need be.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairns

Dreamtime Travellers Rest
23.17 USD

Hostel 90.7% 453 reviews
Cairns City Backpackers
13.97 USD

Hostel 73.5% 286 reviews
Bohemia Cairns Resort
19.21 USD

Hostel 68.8% 117 reviews
Cairns Central YHA
22.71 USD

Hostel 86.8% 19 reviews
The Jack Backpackers
18.34 USD

Hostel 84.0% 146 reviews
The Northern Greenhouse
26.20 USD

Hostel 93.0% 162 reviews
Cairns - Sharehouse
17.47 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Gilligan's Backpackers Hotel & Resort Cairns
19.21 USD

Hostel 85.8% 161 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.7%

Overall Rating

358 out of 363 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travellers Oasis'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
99.2%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
100.0%
Value
96.8%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 276 of 321 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allison Bawden

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 February 2014 Allison would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely tropical character, great covered picnic/eating areas, very helpful staff

Disliked: Very hot

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

vicky rourke

As a family with children

Family Holiday

30 January 2014 vicky would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were fabulous. Helen was so pleasant, helpful and went out of her way especially in returning a much loved sweatshirt. It was my 13 year olds first experience of a hostel and she loved it. Have already recommended it to friends and family. Great place!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susannah Beck

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2013 Susannah would recommend this property

Liked: The staff on arrival were exceptionally friendly and this continued throughout my stay. It was amazing that they actually remembered your name as well! The facilities were excellent lots of toilets and bathrooms and 2 kitchens that were well stocked. They even had tubs of sunscreen for you as well which I thought was a brilliant touch. The people staying there were really friendly and it just had a lovely chilled out vibe. I would 100% recommend this place to anyone who wants to come to Cairns to party but go back to a chilled, friendly and quiet hostel for a good night's sleep! I only wish I'd have stayed here longer!

Disliked: I suppose the only thing is the aircon is on meter but you only pay $1 for 3 hours worth so chuck a dollar in it before you go to bed and you're fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Parr

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 December 2013 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, especially the staff

Disliked: Nothing, bit of a long walk to the Marina

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emanuel Kunz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

27 November 2013 Emanuel would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is awesome! Join the Monday BBQ it's good and inexpensive.

Disliked: Emanuel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel; more like a hotel! Amazing staff esp Helen!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've stayed in in Australia; awesome location, facilities, staff etc- stay here if in Cairns!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice proper beds in my dorm - no bunks! Very friendly and knowledgeable staff who give you maps, tips and drinks/meals discounts on your arrival. They can also book tours and transport for you. 10 mins walk from the shopping mall and cinema, 15 mins from the bars of the city centre. Great covered outdoor communal area with BBQ - good to meet people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Glenn Rawlings

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 October 2013 Glenn would recommend this property

Liked: Private fridge (double room), personal safe, 2 kitchens, clean bathroom, natural light in the room

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: While a bit off the center, located just near the shopping mall. Very helpful staff!

Disliked: Paid aie conditioner in the rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy but clean and very freindly and helbful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Terrill

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

14 July 2013 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly helpful staff, lovely atmosphere with smaller kitchens and lounge areas, adding a more personal feel for the place. Situated just near railway station and cairns central shopping centre. Pool, plus several outdoor areas and free wi fi.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Wagstaff

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 June 2013 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: All staff were so helpfull and friendly. A brilliant start to my Australian adventure. Without a doubt the best hostel I've stayin in. An excellent hostel that attracts brilliant backpackers.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very very nice staff, giving great help for tours and bookings.

Disliked: The underwater camera of the hostel we booked wasn't that good. For a price of $40 we expected a good underwater camera, instead it was a normal camera in an underwater casing, nothing really special. The pictures the camera made were poor in colors.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

07 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vic Rana

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2013 Vic would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpful

Disliked: The guests are loud around the BBQ area. I complained once so it was taken care on that night. But I noticed the same every night while I was there for 7 nights. All drunk, smoking and loud..even at 2-3 am. I didn't bother to complain again.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

AMQUE MEI QING GOH

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 May 2013 AMQUE MEI QING would recommend this property

Liked: It is clean and homely!

Disliked: It is quite a walk to the main streets. We have to cut through the railway station and the Cairns Central Mall. The room is also a little too dim.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good, even with the noisy road outside the property. People were generally quiet by 10 pm. I also liked the set-up of the hostel and the amenities that were offered. So nice to have laundry on site.

Disliked: I was a little frustrated about scheduling the airport shuttle. The night prior, I was told that no reservation was needed for the shuttle. I was just supposed to show up at the time posted. The next morning, I was told that I needed a reservation and ended up having to take a taxi to the airport. Also, why is the ride there $5 and the return ride $12?

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bedroom is clean and comfortable

Disliked: Sometimes too noise ( depends on the other customer close the door and runing on the lounge)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's beautiful, clean and welcoming. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Cannot find any faults.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

LU XU

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2013 LU would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, homelike surroundings

Disliked: narrow corridor and small window make it diffult for air to circulatie in such hot weather in Cairns

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had the deluxe room with our own balcony which was nice to chill out on in the hammock and a TV and DVD player which is always a bonus when you are backpacking to keep you entertained in the evenings. Very friendly staff and knowledgeable about the trips available

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked a lot the athmosphere at the hostel. Helen from reception was really friendly and helped us a lot.

Disliked: -

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were amazing (Helen in particular!), making me feel like more than a Guest & helping me organise trips & tours! The hostel is quite small & chilled out rather than party but was still possible to meet people especially with the pizza night & other activities.

Disliked: Whilst the building is cool, there aren't any lockers (fairly standard in Australia) & the security of the room requires everyone to lock the door on the way out.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, great beds (no bunks), very friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels