We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels

Reviews of Travellers Oasis

Hostel | 8 Scott Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

95.0% Overall Rating

370 out of 376 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/03/2015)

"Great location close to town, comfortable and clean rooms and the staff were so helpful organising trips and booking other hostels."

Read all Travellers Oasis reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 3.87

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the hostel will pre-authorize your card as soon as you made a booking. Should this fail, they will contact you for alternative guarantees. Failure to comply and cooperate might result in the cancellation of your booking without a refund of your pre-payment. "CONFIRMING YOUR HOSTELBOOKERS RESERVATION ARRIVING" Do you know how & at what time you are arriving to our hostel? Our RECEPTION OPENS DAILY FROM 7AM-12PM & THEN AGAIN FROM 4PM-8PM. No problem to arrive outside of these times we just need to know to ensure you have the correct check-in instructions. Please email info@travellersoasis.com.au to contact us if need be.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairns

Dreamtime Travellers Rest
18.59 USD

Hostel 90.7% 457 reviews
Cairns City Backpackers
12.39 USD

Hostel 73.9% 287 reviews
Bohemia Cairns Resort
17.43 USD

Hostel 68.8% 117 reviews
Cairns Central YHA
20.14 USD

Hostel 86.8% 19 reviews
The Jack Backpackers
13.17 USD

Hostel 82.6% 154 reviews
The Northern Greenhouse
18.59 USD

Hostel 93.0% 170 reviews
Cairns - Sharehouse
15.49 USD

Hostel 81.0% 3 reviews
Gilligan's Backpackers Hotel & Resort Cairns
17.04 USD

Hostel 88.1% 169 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.0%

Overall Rating

370 out of 376 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travellers Oasis'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
99.2%
Value
92.8%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 287 of 334 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

MAGUIER Martin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

20 May 2014 MAGUIER would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet atmosphere, good location close to a mall and not that far from the center of the city.

Disliked: MAGUIER left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fabrizio Iuliano

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 May 2014 Fabrizio would recommend this property

Liked: The Travellers Oasis is a really nice and clean hostel a few minutes walk away from the lagoon. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The dorms are very spacious and you even have a locker underneath the bed. The atmosphere is fantastic. The kitchen is really good equipped and you can even use a BBQ. The hostel itself is really clean. I would definitely recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Fabrizio left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, quiet, very nice & helpful staff, comfturble bad

Disliked: A little bit far from the center

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For a budget-conscious hostel, the facilities on offer here are fantastic, many I would more expect in a hotel. The rooms are very spacious, and as stated, a very clean place with a great decor. Everyone here was really friendly, including fellow guests, and they have a good way of getting everyone involved with each other; themed 'pizza and beer' night and barbeque's. Special commendation to Micky and Helen, who dealt with all the requests we had during our stay very well.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Pemberton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Super comfy beds Staff so friendly and helpful Clean It's like a home away from home! Free wifi

Disliked: Nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There is so much to appreciate about this property. Location is perfect, the staff are really friendly and helpful. The single rooms are more than adequate for a solo traveller. (I recommend room number 5 for the most spacious single room - I did a quick sneak and peak). They supported organise excursions and the highlight was the weekly famous BBQ. The swimming pool, kitchen, toilets, showers and communal areas are kept clean and well kept. Highly recommend this accommodation.

Disliked: This is a chilled out and relaxed accommodation that is in keeping with Cairns. The only thing I disliked was the payment of Airconditionig requiring exact change. When the office is closed, it is very difficult to get change anywhere nearby. I'd recommend a communal change machine or an option to incorporate AC into your booking at an additional cost.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Sturgis

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

11 April 2014 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: This was the cosiest and homeliest hostel we stayed in on the east coast. Everything was super clean, the common areas and kitchens very inviting. I loved that they provide free tea and coffee as well as some spices and olive oil which just makes cooking easier. We also had a fridge in our twin room. The pool is nice and so is the barbecue area. It felt super safe, you need a code to get in at night and we had a safe in our twin room. The staff is really nice and shows you around everywhere when you get there.

Disliked: There is free wifi but the connection is really bad, they should fix that. There were no hooks or rails to hang our towels in our room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Suzie Curtis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 March 2014 Suzie would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Good, homely communal areas. A nice little retreat away from the crazy hostels of Cairns.

Disliked: Walk into Cairns isn't too long, but the road is a little poorly lit. That said, I didn't encounter any problems walking back at night, and the hostel runs a complimentary bus to/from town until 9pm-ish. After that point, taxis aren't too expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Blankenship

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 March 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Awesome vibe. Fellow travellers were really chill. If you are trying to avoid the 18 yr old part scene, stay here

Disliked: Nothing !

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matija Pestotnik

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 March 2014 Matija would recommend this property

Liked: It was just perfect.

Disliked: Matija left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine O'Connor

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2014 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulous staff, loved them!

Disliked: Catherine left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allison Bawden

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 February 2014 Allison would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely tropical character, great covered picnic/eating areas, very helpful staff

Disliked: Very hot

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

vicky rourke

As a family with children

Family Holiday

30 January 2014 vicky would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were fabulous. Helen was so pleasant, helpful and went out of her way especially in returning a much loved sweatshirt. It was my 13 year olds first experience of a hostel and she loved it. Have already recommended it to friends and family. Great place!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susannah Beck

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2013 Susannah would recommend this property

Liked: The staff on arrival were exceptionally friendly and this continued throughout my stay. It was amazing that they actually remembered your name as well! The facilities were excellent lots of toilets and bathrooms and 2 kitchens that were well stocked. They even had tubs of sunscreen for you as well which I thought was a brilliant touch. The people staying there were really friendly and it just had a lovely chilled out vibe. I would 100% recommend this place to anyone who wants to come to Cairns to party but go back to a chilled, friendly and quiet hostel for a good night's sleep! I only wish I'd have stayed here longer!

Disliked: I suppose the only thing is the aircon is on meter but you only pay $1 for 3 hours worth so chuck a dollar in it before you go to bed and you're fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Parr

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 December 2013 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, especially the staff

Disliked: Nothing, bit of a long walk to the Marina

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emanuel Kunz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

27 November 2013 Emanuel would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is awesome! Join the Monday BBQ it's good and inexpensive.

Disliked: Emanuel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel; more like a hotel! Amazing staff esp Helen!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've stayed in in Australia; awesome location, facilities, staff etc- stay here if in Cairns!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice proper beds in my dorm - no bunks! Very friendly and knowledgeable staff who give you maps, tips and drinks/meals discounts on your arrival. They can also book tours and transport for you. 10 mins walk from the shopping mall and cinema, 15 mins from the bars of the city centre. Great covered outdoor communal area with BBQ - good to meet people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Glenn Rawlings

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 October 2013 Glenn would recommend this property

Liked: Private fridge (double room), personal safe, 2 kitchens, clean bathroom, natural light in the room

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: While a bit off the center, located just near the shopping mall. Very helpful staff!

Disliked: Paid aie conditioner in the rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy but clean and very freindly and helbful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Terrill

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

14 July 2013 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly helpful staff, lovely atmosphere with smaller kitchens and lounge areas, adding a more personal feel for the place. Situated just near railway station and cairns central shopping centre. Pool, plus several outdoor areas and free wi fi.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Wagstaff

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 June 2013 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: All staff were so helpfull and friendly. A brilliant start to my Australian adventure. Without a doubt the best hostel I've stayin in. An excellent hostel that attracts brilliant backpackers.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very very nice staff, giving great help for tours and bookings.

Disliked: The underwater camera of the hostel we booked wasn't that good. For a price of $40 we expected a good underwater camera, instead it was a normal camera in an underwater casing, nothing really special. The pictures the camera made were poor in colors.


See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels