HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of JJ's Backpackers Cairns

Hostel

11-13 Charles Street, Cairns, Australia

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 90%

Location 76%

Safety 90%

Staff 99%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • PlayStation
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 7.67USD
  • Towel 1.53USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 07:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 90%

Location 76%

Safety 90%

Staff 99%

Value 90%

Showing 1-10 of 28 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everyone was friendly, a big room and security was good.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your ratings and lovely feedback. It is great that yuo enjoyed your time with us at JJ's.
Happy travels x

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Absolutely everythingNice staff, good location, convenient shuttle service...Good value!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

You are a super star and we couldn't thank you enough for your great comments! We are soooooo happy you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for sharing your experiences with other.
Hope you are enjoying the desert ;o)

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: clean and comfortable; provide free shuttle to and from Cairns City

Disliked: should provide some basic facilities in rooms like shelves and hooks

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your comments and feedback we have taken on board your comments and will be looking at additional facilities in the rooms.
It was great to meet you all and thank you for staying with us a JJ's.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff, free breakfast, location

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

WOW 100% thank you thank you thank you!!!!!
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us at JJ's

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Handy shuttle to and from town, able to book tours in advance, always helpful with information over email and over the phone when planning our stay/ trip in advance, clear and easy instructions for late check in

Disliked: At check in we were told a large lump sum amount to pay the balance for our stay and tours booked. I paid this off, but Made the mistake of trusting the receptionist that everything was paid off as she'd said. I should have been given a break down as to what I was really paying as it turned out it was a mixture of full payments, and trip deposits which I wasn't even told about (found out when we'd already left for one of the unpaid trips so it was really annoying, it was lucky I even had my credit card with me on the trip). Also wasn't told about the extras that we had for pay for on our reef trip (reef tax each, extra for going on the glass bottom boat which we were told was included). The manager of the hostel eventually gave me the breakdown of what I initially paid, but really the check in process should have been better handled and hassle free.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We hope you did enjoy your tours and did have a great time on trips whilst here, you sure was busy
We obviously made a good impression prior to your arrival in answering all your questions and helping with choosing the trips that suited you both. We do usually explain all costs and inclusions when describing trips so that there are no surprises when you travel.
Your early check in and early tour departure made for a rushed welcome & we are very sorry for this. This will not happen again :o(

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Staff was very helpful. One easily gets in touch with other travellers.

Disliked: Internet costs 10 AUD extra.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your feedback and ratings, we really appreciate you sharing :o)
Happy travels!

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Staff were all friendly and helpful. Free breakfast was fine.

Disliked: I arrived at 5:00am, they forgot to unlock the main door for me to enter and stay in their living room. Fortunately someone arrived earlier and opened the door for me. Wifi was bad: although the signal was good and covered a big range, speed was quite slow. Actually sometimes I got mad using WiFi. They also advertised some events by changing wifi code to fit the name of the events. This is quite annoying. At one night, I waited for the 21:30 shuttle running from city centre to JJ's until 22:20, it did not present, then I had to walk back.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you sooo much for your great ratings and feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for the lateness of the bus. We were actually at the airport picking up new guests who could not be found in the right spot. We did go to the city very late that night :o(
We thought it a great idea to make the WIFI codes to reflect the fun things we do at JJ's on social nights. WIFI is usually good unless we have lots of guests downloading all at the same time?? Thank you again for your comments :o)

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Simon and Tracy (The Owners) were perfect Hosts, Anything you need to know about Cairns they can help you with. 20 years experience. Advice/Arrangement on all the Trips you need. The Free breakfast in the morning is a good start too. Though only basic (Tea/Coffee Toast and Cereal) It gets you up and out. Also a Nice Place to mingle and meet people. Lots of Like Minded Nationalities all wanting to experience Oz. Rooms are Basic and Clean but what do you want for the Money. The Bed was Comfy, Quiet area of Cairns Slightly away from the Bars/main strip etc but they offer a free Bus journey (5 mins) certain times of the day. Though we did walk most of the Time as the Esplanade is Beautiful. Our Experience overall was a Good one

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks squillions you guys for a fantastic review, we really appreciate you doing this!!!!!
We love to get feedback good or bad. We may have 20 years experience however we are always learning new ways to ever improve our little hostel and our customer service. Thank you!!!!!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice and quiet, good communal areas to meet people.

Disliked: Free wifi would have been nice.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

WOW thank you soooooo much for your ratings and comments!!!!

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: helpful staff

Disliked: its use as a campsite in the compound yard

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you soooo much for your great ratings, we really appreciate this :o)

Check Availability