We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels

Reviews of JJ's Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | 11-13 Charles Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

88.2% Overall Rating

238 out of 269 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/07/2014)

Steve Knight thinks…

"Simon and Tracy (The Owners) were perfect Hosts, Anything you need to know about Cairns they can help you with. 20 years experience. Advice/Arrangement on all the Trips you need. The Free breakfast…"

Read all JJ's Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 6.11
  • Towel USD 1.75

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairns

Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
18.34 USD

Hostel 82.5% 222 reviews
Floriana Guest House
34.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Reef Palms Motel
36.90 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Aspect Central
54.15 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Cairns Rainbow Resort
30.57 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Globetrotters International
14.56 USD

Hostel 75.9% 320 reviews
City Sheridan
22.93 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Discovery Cairns
41.48 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.2%

Overall Rating

238 out of 269 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'JJ's Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
72.8%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
98.4%
Value
91.2%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 195 of 222 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Schellenberger

Alone

Business / conference
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 August 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very helpful. One easily gets in touch with other travellers.

Disliked: Internet costs 10 AUD extra.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steve Knight

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 July 2014 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: Simon and Tracy (The Owners) were perfect Hosts, Anything you need to know about Cairns they can help you with. 20 years experience. Advice/Arrangement on all the Trips you need. The Free breakfast in the morning is a good start too. Though only basic (Tea/Coffee Toast and Cereal) It gets you up and out. Also a Nice Place to mingle and meet people. Lots of Like Minded Nationalities all wanting to experience Oz. Rooms are Basic and Clean but what do you want for the Money. The Bed was Comfy, Quiet area of Cairns Slightly away from the Bars/main strip etc but they offer a free Bus journey (5 mins) certain times of the day. Though we did walk most of the Time as the Esplanade is Beautiful. Our Experience overall was a Good one

Disliked: Steve left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Yi-Huei Chen

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 July 2014 Yi-Huei would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were all friendly and helpful. Free breakfast was fine.

Disliked: I arrived at 5:00am, they forgot to unlock the main door for me to enter and stay in their living room. Fortunately someone arrived earlier and opened the door for me. Wifi was bad: although the signal was good and covered a big range, speed was quite slow. Actually sometimes I got mad using WiFi. They also advertised some events by changing wifi code to fit the name of the events. This is quite annoying. At one night, I waited for the 21:30 shuttle running from city centre to JJ's until 22:20, it did not present, then I had to walk back.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and quiet, good communal areas to meet people.

Disliked: Free wifi would have been nice.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, free breakfast and laid back atmosphere!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kamilla Fronz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 April 2014 Kamilla would recommend this property

Liked: family atmosphere, very helpfull and friendly staff, shuttle bus to the city

Disliked: it´s a little bit outside, but you can take a shuttlebus fron the hostel to the city, that´s good

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Cutting

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff

Disliked: its use as a campsite in the compound yard

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariana Sumi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 December 2013 Mariana would recommend this property

Liked: Free meal and transport to the city centre.

Disliked: Little bit far from the city centre.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the service of the bus. Almost every hour the driver pick us at the hostel to the city or vice-versa. Also there is a bathroom for every set of rooms.

Disliked: However, the bathrooms were not always clean and one day I missed the toilet paper.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andre Bosch

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 November 2013 Andre would recommend this property

Liked: The reviews that JJ's gets everywhere are well deserved. No traveller could hope for a better hostel experience. The staff almost perform a double act as travel agents, are incredibly friendly and helpful, and the hostel is more comfortable, clean, and convenient than any I have ever seen, verging on motel quality but with a great atmosphere.

Disliked: Internet access could definitely be improved! Wi-Fi is $10 for your entire stay, but it is erratic and most of the time, incredibly slow - difficult to trust when making other bookings, etc.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Perring

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 November 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this place. Our room was spacey and comfortable. Great staff and nice cosy atmosphere as smaller hostel. 20 min walk from centre of cairns, but shuttle bus runs all day to save your legs. Would definitely stay again.

Disliked: Only gripe was wifi. Poor connection and bit expensive at $10 per person.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Kable

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and simple accomodation, though I reccomend paying for the air conditioning in summer

Disliked: Emily left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Warwick francis

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 October 2013 Warwick would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere and helpful and pleasant staff. The only real problem is its distance from Cairns central.

Disliked: It needs some maintenance ; just a few touches here and there would make a lot of difference.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kate Maclean

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 September 2013 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly on arrival which I enjoyed. The hostel is quaint enough so it's easy to chat with everyone staying in it. The kitchen is opened all night which is great if you like midnight snacks like me. They have free breakfast every am and free tea/coffee all day.

Disliked: The only downside is its a touch far from the main hub of cairns if you are looking for a quick walk to shops etc. they do have a bus that goes to and from the city centre which is helpful though if you don't want to walk the 25 mins.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Power was out for maintenance one night, not their fault

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2013

Liked: It was clean so an ok hostel. Ok breakfast 2.

Disliked: I stayed for 1 week and it was supposed 2 be cheaper but I actually paid the same price just like everyone did.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

DAMJANA JAKOMINI

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2013 DAMJANA would recommend this property

Liked: I liked very. Nice and helpfull staff, and though is this hostel a bit out of town's sceene they have a bus which takes you to the town and picks you up as well like 6x a day, so it's very convenient plus it's free. The stuff was very helpfull by advising what tours should I take, so IT'S went to Reef and visited rainforest and actually those were the best days I had in Australia. Would recomend hostel.

Disliked: Everything was cool.

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013

Liked: Infrequent shuttle bus to and from centre of Cairns.

Disliked: No hot water. Half an hour walk from the centre of Cairns. Wifi costs $10.

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jorge REY

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013

Liked: The shuttle bus to the town was good

Disliked: they don't say things clearly in the description

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Terence Stenvold

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2013 Terence would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in :)

Disliked: No blankets? but then again you never needed one

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aaron Soo-Hoo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2013 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very friendly, Jordan helped me organize my tour to the Great barrier reed. I only spent two nights there, but I would most definitely recommend other backpackers to this place. They do drop off and pick up to the city center plus they offer free dinner at a restaurant. Thanks!

Disliked: Aaron left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

alastair breen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2013 alastair would recommend this property

Liked: Small, friendly and helpful

Disliked: free evening meal is a bit of a scam if you want to get a full belly!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ema Pinto

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2013 Ema would recommend this property

Liked: Great stay! Friendly and helpful staff! Do recommend :)

Disliked: Ema left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013

Liked: The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The location

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Malin Paalsdatter Svenske

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2013 Malin Paalsdatter would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff, very helpful and always with a smile! Nice little pool and other common areas, clean! It's a 20 minute walk from the city centre, but they run their own little shuttle bus back and forth every hour for free, so it's not a problem. Did I mention the free breakfast and dinner?

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...


See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels