HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Castaways Backpackers Cairns Cairns Hostel

Po Box 5648, 207 Sheridan Street, Cairns, Australia

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 86%

Location 66%

Safety 87%

Staff 89%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • PlayStation
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 86%

Location 66%

Safety 87%

Staff 89%

Value 88%

Showing 1-10 of 13 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very cleanFriendly staff

Disliked: Reception was closed between 12 and 4pm. We arrived at half 2 and were unable to check in until 4pm. This was not explained on booking Parking was only allowed on street. ParkING facilities on site were kept for campervans who MAY arrive. Wifi not the best had to.move.around to.find the best signal

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: great quit hostel with friendly staff, clean rooms and facilities.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Interesting international lodgers

Disliked: 48 hours lock-in prevent us from going to another resort. Front desk unavailable in the afternoon.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice little family owned hostel. The hosts ware super friendly and try to help whenever they can. They even called me on my arrival to know when to pick me up. Rooms were all clean as the whole hostel. You feel like you are staying in a shared flat with a nice kitchen and living room:) I would totally recommend this hostel

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good communal areas. Staff helpful.

Disliked: Poor Wifi in most parts of communal areas, and non existant in some rooms

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay at Gilligan's ! My room was clean, the bed was comfortable, there was a desk in my room and a free internet connexion. There was also a free transport in the city center multiple time each days, which was really useful. The staff was amazing, helpful and friendly ! :)I would stay there again for sure !

Disliked: A bit far from the city center, but they can take you to the city center for free in the morning and the evening, so it wasn't a problem

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It was really clean and safe. Kitchen was great. Not only dishes and pans but also salt and pepper, soy source, and oil, almost everything was there.

Disliked: We stayed more than 10 days there but we never used the bus to go to the city, so it's possible enough to walk there. It was a little bit noisy everyday, but when it becomes 10 pm, they stop drinking, singing, and listening to music.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was very familiar.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: lovely hostel with really nice staff. Angie especially helped us out. regular shuttles into the city centre which was really handy!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability