We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels

Reviews of Castaway's Backpackers

Hostel | 207 Sheridan St, Cairns, Australia 4870

84.8% Overall Rating

202 out of 220 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/09/2014)

Simon Paré-Gaudreault thinks…

"I really enjoyed my stay at Gilligan's ! My room was clean, the bed was comfortable, there was a desk in my room and a free internet connexion. There was also a free transport in the city center…"

Read all Castaway's Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairns

Njoy! Travellers Resort
18.34 USD

Hostel 77.5% 177 reviews
Asylum Cairns
10.48 USD

Hostel 74.6% 238 reviews
City Sheridan
25.11 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Discovery Cairns
43.23 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cairns City Motel
20.96 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.2% 7 reviews
Globetrotters International
14.56 USD

Hostel 75.9% 320 reviews
Cairns Rainbow Resort
30.57 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront
18.34 USD

Hostel 87.4% 593 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.8%

Overall Rating

202 out of 220 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Castaway's Backpackers'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
60.8%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
91.2%
Value
89.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 165 of 168 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Simon Paré-Gaudreault

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

06 September 2014 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay at Gilligan's ! My room was clean, the bed was comfortable, there was a desk in my room and a free internet connexion. There was also a free transport in the city center multiple time each days, which was really useful. The staff was amazing, helpful and friendly ! :) I would stay there again for sure !

Disliked: A bit far from the city center, but they can take you to the city center for free in the morning and the evening, so it wasn't a problem

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really clean and safe. Kitchen was great. Not only dishes and pans but also salt and pepper, soy source, and oil, almost everything was there.

Disliked: We stayed more than 10 days there but we never used the bus to go to the city, so it's possible enough to walk there. It was a little bit noisy everyday, but when it becomes 10 pm, they stop drinking, singing, and listening to music.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very familiar.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Graham Neville

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 April 2014 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: lovely hostel with really nice staff. Angie especially helped us out. regular shuttles into the city centre which was really handy!

Disliked: Graham left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Cornelia van Dooijeweert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

08 March 2014 Cornelia would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice swimmingpool, kitchen has everything you need, they organize nice nights out, you can book lots of tours at the reception. Nice, small hostel, recommended!

Disliked: Cornelia left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff. Free wifi. Clean, spacious dorms with no bunk beds. Sociable but not a party Hostel. Would highly recommend this Hostel.

Disliked: 15 minute walk to town (although there are free shuttles provided) plus lockers would be nice.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alan Stock

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2013 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean and friendly place. Easy to meet people here. Great friendly staff and very helpful with tours. Free tea and coffee. TV and xbox in comfy lounge, decent kitchen and balcony for eating and drinking.

Disliked: 20 minute walk into town

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Gray

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 July 2013 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: LOVED our stay at castaways in cairns! We had only booked for a week but ended up extending it to two weeks since we were having such an amazing time! From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we had a great experience at castaways. The staff offer shuttle buses throughout the day as the hostel is around a ten minute walk for the cbd, lagoon and bars and clubs (we walked this about twice a day and it was no problem) they are also on hand with loads of local knowledge and can book trips and tours for you - many of which they've done themselves so can recommend and advise on the best ones. Nothing is ever too much trouble for these guys. The hostel itself is very clean, bonus of your own fridge in the room and free wifi! We enjoyed bbqs and drinks on the balcony but you can be as involved or not as you like, there's no pressure. There's a large well equipped kitchen/dining area and a comfortable communal lounge. We made some amazing friends during our stay and really didn't want to leave!

Disliked: Absolutely NOTHING!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Franziska Oberkandler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

14 June 2013 Franziska would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel staff is awesome and the hostel is really clean!! It's not in the CBD but still just 10 minutes walk away. They also offer you shuttles, if you don't want to walk. Nice pool, BBQ area and a big balcony. and very important: no bunk beds ;)

Disliked: Franziska left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

12 December 2012

Liked: nil

Disliked: the location was far from the city, although they has a shuttle bus, the number of the bus was very rare (the latest bus was 1945), and there is only 6 seats in each bus, so you have to book very early, not convenient.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel.Chris and Laura who run it are a great help with places to go and things to do.They go above and beyond with looking after guests. The owner should give them a rise.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and quiet

Disliked: A bit far from the city

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, comfortable place. Good facilities. Friendly staff. Location no problem, easy walk into town, Esplanade not far away, shuttle available. I can only recommend this backpacker.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Viviana Aguayo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

15 July 2012 Viviana would recommend this property

Liked: it was really clean

Disliked: it's a bit far from the city

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff, good kitchen and common areas

Disliked: noisy older residents who rang Britain at 1pm to get the tennis score and young child who stayed up till very late and then screamed for hours.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amelie bourgault

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2012 Amelie would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, rooms are not to crowded fridge in the room

Disliked: Amelie left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, good kitchen and other facilities.

Disliked: Far from the center of town, need to call to arrange the free shuttle (we have no phone!)

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

john collins

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2012

Liked: Free meals, but the meals are provided at a bar in town, which pretty much every hostel in carnis provides

Disliked: They are only pick up between a certain time period, for example if it is after 8pm, they won't come to collect from the greyhound drop off. Despite them knowing that buses come in at the time. AND IT IS ONLY PICK UPS, NOT DROP OFFS. They calm great service, but don't provide, you might as well book a hostel in the centre for the same price.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pauline kozak

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

13 April 2012 pauline would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was the most helpful and reliable I ever met!! always there if you need, friendly and well organized. Everypart of the bp was clean, and the atmosphere was not too noisy, every conditions are gathered to make really good friends

Disliked: Absolutely nothing, it just a little bit too far from the center when it s rainning.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Clark

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2012 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: cheap hostel, not too many people in each dorm rooms, very clean, friendly staff, FREE WIFI. 15-20min walk to city but nice to be further out as quiet and not a party hostel. enjoyed my stay here. would defo stay again. last hotel after 2months in australia, great last place to stay.

Disliked: rooms can be very warm if you dont pay the $1 per 3hr aircon no lockers, but can leave stuff with reception

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wing man ho

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2012 Wing man would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice n helpful staff! Good kitchen n every where clean ! Free wifi !!!

Disliked: Wing man left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jean-Paul Streng

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2012 Jean-Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel, friendly staff and great service!

Disliked: Jean-Paul left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice kitchen and tv room

Disliked: you have to pay for the aircon

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

brendan owens

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2012 brendan would recommend this property

Liked: There was a free suttle bus ran frequently into and from the town center. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. There was a quite, relaxing atmosphere around the hostel. free meal vouchers and if you didn't fancy going to town there was some restaurants close by.

Disliked: Wifi signal wasn't great in the rooms across the car park

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2012

Liked: Friendliness of staff

Disliked: You had to pay ffor air con and it was atleast a 20 minute walk from town.


See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels