We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels

Reviews of Castaway's Backpackers

Hostel | 207 Sheridan St, Cairns, Australia 4870

84.8% Overall Rating

202 out of 220 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/09/2014)

Simon Paré-Gaudreault thinks…

"I really enjoyed my stay at Gilligan's ! My room was clean, the bed was comfortable, there was a desk in my room and a free internet connexion. There was also a free transport in the city center…"

Read all Castaway's Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairns

Njoy! Travellers Resort
19.01 USD

Hostel 77.5% 177 reviews
Asylum Cairns
10.87 USD

Hostel 75.8% 237 reviews
City Sheridan
28.30 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Discovery Cairns
71.98 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cairns City Motel
21.73 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.2% 7 reviews
Globetrotters International
18.11 USD

Hostel 75.9% 320 reviews
Cairns Rainbow Resort
31.69 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront
18.11 USD

Hostel 87.2% 592 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.8%

Overall Rating

202 out of 220 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Castaway's Backpackers'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
60.8%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
91.2%
Value
89.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 165 of 168 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really friendly little hostel thats always immaculatly clean! The staff were always cheerful and happy to help whereever possible. Free internet is always a bonus, and I was pleasently surprised by the free woolshed meal - pretty tasty for a freebie!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Erin Sinclair

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2010 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and quiet so that you get a good sleep.

Disliked: It is a bit of a distance outside of the centre of town but they offer courtesy shuttles and the walk is only about fifteen minutes.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really friendly and informative. Free fast wifi was great. Nice little courtyard area with picnic tables. Good balcony too but shame it closed at 7.30pm - we weren't there to party but would have been nice to have it open til 10pm, to chill out on.

Disliked: It is a bit of a walk from the city centre so just be aware of this. They do free bus transfers at times during the day.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Elise Allport

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2010 Elise would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful in booking and organising things. They were very good about giving lifts

Disliked: Elise left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chris Hopley

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2010 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: As stated it is a little walk away from Cairns centre but nothing like others have exaggerated. Clean and very quiet at night... Good Kitchen. Travel desk were also very helpful.

Disliked: Chris left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Carole Khalil

17 June 2010 Carole would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the location although it was still a bit of a walk to town, bit scary at night! we loved the room, the kitchen, the facilities and the people we met there. Having the travel agency and all the great advice from the staff there was unvaluable. The only thing I would change though would be to leave the balcony open until at least 22.00, 19.00 is way too early.

Disliked: Carole left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good and clean hostel. Staff very helpful. Location was average, about 20-30 mins walk to the centre of town however the hostel did provide a free shuttle bus throughout the day and early evening at specific times. Would stay here again if in Cairns

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Juan Grana

05 April 2010 Juan would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about this hostel is its cleaness. The "wine and cheese" is a nice moment to meet people. Internet worked ok, and the bus from the airport and to the city were quiet usefull (due to the hot weather, the 15 min walk to the city centre was tiring if you considered to walk back too)The downside was the bed, which was a little uncomfortable, and that their were too strict with quietness: the balcony (which was a really cool place to eat and chat) closed by 730pm and the tv automatically turned off at 1030pm.

Disliked: Juan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alison Garland

01 April 2010 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: I liked just about everything about Castaways. This was probably the best hostel I've ever stayed at. Free airport pick-up, free dinner coupons for the Woolshed, fun friendly atmosphere, extremely helpful staff, wine & cheese night, really clean bathroom..... Stay at Castaways!!

Disliked: Alison left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the owners were really nice and helpful!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place to stay, staff was really friendly. Loved the room and facilities! Thanks!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lovly staff,geat to book tour, good cooking area , good vale .We had a good time

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really nice and picked us up at the airport and recommended things to do, also there's a cute looking swimming pool outside, but we didn't have time to try it, as we were busy scubadiving and hiking in the tablelands. It's a bit far to walk from the city centre though, perhaps 20+ minutes walk. However, they provide free shuttle pick up, just ask them (but not if you're out too late).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful. Also about 10 minute walk to town. Hostel was also very clean. I would definitely recommend this hostel to people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: When we arrived there was a cheese and wine evening on - all supplied by the gaffer!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

16 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff free airport pick was great

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great place to stay. Excellent value for money with meal vouchers included and great cheese and wine night which is good to meet people and is free! It's about a 20 minute walk to the city centre but there is a free shuttle bus which runs regularly. All the staff were really helpful and we really enjoyed our stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love this hostel. The only downside is the location and they have free buses to take you down and pick you up. It's the cleanest hostel I've ever seen.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is the worst part about it and theyoffer free bus rides into town.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yvonne Manning

09 September 2009 Yvonne would recommend this property

Liked: lovely communal areas. The kitchen was spotless. All the staff were great - they were especially helpful with booking tours. Great wine and cheese night. Not noisy.

Disliked: Yvonne left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaume Lapena

06 September 2009 Jaume would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, really clean, nice staff and the wine&cheese nights.

Disliked: Jaume left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

ANDY TESLUK

27 August 2009 ANDY would recommend this property

Liked: The property quite clean and quiet. Unfortunately, we got robbed through our window at night up on the second floor. Should have safety bars as it's easy to climb in. Otherwise, and enjoyable stay.

Disliked: ANDY left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

MASAMI SUMINO

21 August 2009 MASAMI would recommend this property

Liked: it was great place to have lelax. almost except asian guys. clean and quiet!! just its far from city..... but absoltury gooooood!!

Disliked: MASAMI left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

nadine landt

17 April 2009 nadine would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was realy friendly and the service was fantastic. it was super clean and i would recomend this hostel to everyone who needs a place to stay for a view days.

Disliked: nadine left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Timo Hassinen

06 March 2009

Liked: Friendly staff.

Disliked: Timo left no negative feedback.


See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels