We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels

Reviews of Castaways Backpackers

Hostel | 207 Sheridan St, Cairns, Australia 4870

85.9% Overall Rating

205 out of 223 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2015)

"Nice little family owned hostel. The hosts ware super friendly and try to help whenever they can. They even called me on my arrival to know when to pick me up. Rooms were all clean as the whole hostel. You feel like you…"

Read all Castaways Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairns

Njoy! Travellers Resort
18.37 USD

Hostel 81.4% 180 reviews
Asylum Cairns
13.01 USD

Hostel 74.1% 245 reviews
Discovery Cairns
44.02 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cairns City Motel
19.14 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.7% 9 reviews
Globetrotters International
13.78 USD

Hostel 81.7% 335 reviews
Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront
15.31 USD

Hostel 88.0% 595 reviews
Bohemia Cairns Resort
17.99 USD

Hostel 68.8% 117 reviews
Cairns Girls Hostel
16.84 USD

Hostel 90.4% 41 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/06/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/06/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.9%

Overall Rating

205 out of 223 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Castaways Backpackers'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
63.2%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
91.2%
Value
91.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 167 of 171 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

brendan owens

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2012 brendan would recommend this property

Liked: There was a free suttle bus ran frequently into and from the town center. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. There was a quite, relaxing atmosphere around the hostel. free meal vouchers and if you didn't fancy going to town there was some restaurants close by.

Disliked: Wifi signal wasn't great in the rooms across the car park

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2012

Liked: Friendliness of staff

Disliked: You had to pay ffor air con and it was atleast a 20 minute walk from town.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jane Holsgrove

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 November 2011 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: You get a real bed - no bunkbeds! It's clean and the staff are really friendly.

Disliked: Nothing.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anne Wilson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2011 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: This place is quiet and clean and for $22 I got a pick up from the airport, a free dinner at a down town restaurant - this is a substancial meal not just a snack, and a clean bed for the night. Very good value.

Disliked: It is a 15 minute walk to the city centre and there is no real common area so it is a bit difficult to interact with other travellers. The rooms are hot so I wouldn't recommend a stay here in December or January.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely and relaxed, a nice place to chill out. Good facilities, free laundry, wifi. Really helpful staff. Very clean and big room.

Disliked: A little way out of town but plenty of shops, places to eat and a pub nearby.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere here is really great, and stuffs are very friendly!

Disliked: It might take a walk about 15 minutes or more to go to town

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

louisa stewart

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2011

Liked: not much - was expecting a high standard after reading reviews but was definitely below par

Disliked: couldn't get in even though we'd specified exact time and booked our transfers through them - not what u want after 14 hrs on the road! not that clean, poor internet(turned off at night), far from town, not a nice looking place.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: no bunk beds, beds really comfortable. Staff really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Not precisely described especially Location and wifi. Showers Not Fitting for Tall persons

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roy Piepers

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2011 Roy would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff and clean

Disliked: Limited internet and WiFi access. WiFi only works between 8am and 8pm.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vojtech Bednar

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2011 Vojtech would recommend this property

Liked: It has been our best stay in backpacker so far. Thumbs up!! Plenty of space in rooms, great facilities-everything is clean and working:), awesome staff, cozy place! I am giving 100% to it !!!

Disliked: when you share room it is always hassle (snoring:)) but this is more about people than hostel itself:)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the easy meeting people

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eric Faucher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2011 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Great hostel, great staff, free wifi.

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lovely little room for two with enough space. great staff. loved the free airport pick up!

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Talia Mallory-Thulin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2011 Talia would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that I could have a private room.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

22 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good service, incl. the tour desk - plus, the location is all well if you don't mind a bit of walk or catching the ever-so-often shuttle that staff is providing

Disliked: nothing to dislike

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free nightly meal, Free Internet access, Free courtesy bus

Disliked: 20 minutes walking from the town center, Fly over by an air route

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ming Yin

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2010 Ming would recommend this property

Liked: We sure had a great time there. The staffs are very friendly, room is very clean, and the price is not expensive at all.

Disliked: a little far from town center, but it's cool cause it's only about 15-20 minutes walk, besides the hostel provide free trasportation service many times a day.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I would stay at this hostel again. It is off the beaten path but they do offer a free shuttle and transport from the airport.

Disliked: Location

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wine and cheese social on Tuesdays are a great way to meet other traveler. The airport pick up and transports to town are very nice. And no bunk beds!!

Disliked: The balcony closes at 7:30pm

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

katie hickey

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2010 katie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing here, nothing is too much trouble. The dorms were proper beds and not bunks and the kitchen facilities were great.

Disliked: The walk into town was a good 15 minutes but I didn't really mind. There was free drop offs however at set times.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the nicest hostels I have ever stayed in! Amazingly clean, staff were really helpful and knowledgeable about the area and the free internet was actually good. Its worth the 15 minute walk from the city. I've stayed in a few hostels since and none come close to Castaways. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful with trips and travel advice. The hostel was about 10 minutes walk from Cairns it was quiet so not really a place for meeting lots of people but it was comfortable and clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free food shelf

Disliked: long walk to the city

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so helpful for booking all my tours and trips, they really know their stuff about Cairns and Australia in general. The hostel itself is spotless clean and has loads of free stuff! The free evening meal is great along with the wine and cheese evenings and of course free internet is great. I would definitely recommend to Castaways to anyone visiting Cairns!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Nicholson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

16 August 2010 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, clean, friendly hostel. Free meal at the Woolshed was a bonus and wine andcheese nights also organised.

Disliked: 4 bed room - didn't meet many other people.


See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels