We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/01/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/01/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Byron Bay, Australia

90.7%
193 reviews Book Now 
1

Byron Beach Resort

Hostel
25 Childe Street, Byron Bay, Australia NSW 2481

184 out of 193 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Byron Beach Resort

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 95% Facilities - 89% Safety - 92%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 92%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 29 January 2015

Brand new bathrooms, friendly staff, well equipped cottage. We stayed in two bed cottage and it was up at hotel standard. Very new and comfortable beds.

Katie Hodgkinson
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Katie would recommend this property 27 January 2015

The hostel had an extremely friendly vibe about it which made me feel at home as soon as I got there. It's chilled and although it's a 15 minute walk from town it's right next to the beach and they run (pretty much) hourly shuttle buses into and back from town. So for me it was the perfect location. Free towel hire was another awesome plus which meant I could keep my personal towel clean.

84.8%
65 reviews Book Now 
2

Byron Bay YHA

Hostel
7 Carlyle Street, Byron Bay, Australia 2481

64 out of 65 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Byron Bay YHA

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 88% Facilities - 81% Safety - 88%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 72%
leonardo molinari
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
42.9%
leonardo would recommend this property 13 August 2014

Really clean toilets and showers, cozy bed, next to everythink (small city) not really noisy.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 03 October 2013

Great heated swimming pool, big dorms, very clean bathrooms, big communal area and kitchen, easy to meet people.

84.6%
241 reviews Book Now 
3

Nomads Byron Bay

Hostel
1 Lawson Lane, Byron Bay, Australia 2481

208 out of 241 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Nomads Byron Bay

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 87% Facilities - 80% Safety - 88%
Location - 99% Cleanliness - 79% Value - 74%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 19 January 2015

Very nice facilities, modern and clean. Airconditioning was great!! Courtyard was really nice and they had program every evening of my stay, for example on weekend there was Dj playing music. Staff was really nice and helpful.

Zoe Booth
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing
62.9%
02 January 2015

Good location with parking underneath. Girls on the front desk were super helpful.

83.8%
47 reviews Book Now 
4

Cape Byron YHA

Hostel
Cnr Byron & Middleton Sts, Byron Bay, Australia 2481

43 out of 47 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cape Byron YHA

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 92% Facilities - 81% Safety - 79%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 78% Value - 80%
Roisin Craig
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Roisin would recommend this property 21 July 2014

In a great location, close to the beach, the shops and bars. Good atmosphere.Clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
65.7%
08 May 2014

Nice pool, near city and beach, social areas are well seperated from rooms so its quiet at night, free wifi, free computers, atm inside hostel, nice staff

81.6%
232 reviews Book Now 
5

Backpackers Inn- Byron Bay

Hostel
29 Shirley Street, Byron Bay, Australia 2481

200 out of 232 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Backpackers Inn- Byron Bay

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 86% Facilities - 77% Safety - 74%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 76% Value - 79%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 05 January 2015

Great indie vibe, wonderful employees and an atmosphere encouraging social activity

Samantha Ierullo
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
62.9%
Samantha would recommend this property 21 July 2014

Staff were extremely friendly! Except for one guy who worked the door late night Saturday. Very unfriendly and rude.

80.3%
154 reviews Book Now 
6

Arts Factory Lodge

Hostel
Skinners Shoot Rd, Byron Bay, Australia 2481

136 out of 154 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Arts Factory Lodge

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 88% Facilities - 81% Safety - 79%
Location - 76% Cleanliness - 74% Value - 74%
Sophie Hedges
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
82.9%
Sophie would recommend this property 18 January 2015

Atmosphere, very chilled and everyone including staff were friendly. Different nights, one night karaoke and another night a quiz which we won and got $180

Samuel Lambert-O'Sullivan
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Samuel would recommend this property 15 September 2014

The atmosphere was fantatsic, great facilities, staff were very friendly and very helpful, loved the set-up, so different to any hostel ive stayed before

76.3%
171 reviews Book Now 
7

Cape Byron Lodge

Hostel
78 Bangalow Rd, Byron Bay, Australia NSW 2481

127 out of 171 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cape Byron Lodge

Atmosphere - 75% Staff - 84% Facilities - 80% Safety - 76%
Location - 66% Cleanliness - 75% Value - 76%
Anna Persson
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
94.3%
Anna would recommend this property 14 September 2014

Cape Byron Lodge is the best hostel I'v been to during my trip at the east coast. Some say its too far away from city and the beach but its only 15 min walk, no worries! Its the cheapest stay in Byron and still nice, comfy and clean. The showers were great and the pancakes amazing! I recomend it to all of you guys, but as always its you who decide how friendly and openminded you are!!

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
68.6%
Customer would recommend this property 28 August 2014

Showers are not made for tall people. Kitchen was very small. Did like the free breakfast en the rooms were clean and comfy. The hostel is quit far away from the city centre but there is a shuttle bus going regularly.

Byron Bay

10 Hostels from 23.01 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Byron Bay hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Byron Bay. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.