We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Byron Bay, Australia

91.8%
185 reviews Book Now 
1

Byron Beach Resort

Hostel
25 Childe Street, Byron Bay, Australia NSW 2481

176 out of 185 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Byron Beach Resort

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 96% Facilities - 91% Safety - 92%
Location - 82% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 96%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 05 November 2014

hammocks! It's really far away from town but they offer a free shuttle to town and back every hour and the beach is very empty and clean. Free tour to the lighthouse to see the sunrise, definitely worth i! Also nice walk to see wallabies.

Giuseppe Alfano
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Giuseppe would recommend this property 27 October 2014

Really nice atmosphere and common room area. The resort literally a stones throw from the beach which was quaint, and a short walk from the busier main beach and town. The staff were really helpful and honest with booking trips, we wanted to go kyaking but unfortunately the weather was too windy, the girl on the desk called the company to enquire before we booked it so avoided any issues. The free bus into town and drop off/pick up was really handy. Individual crockery meant people seemed more willing to wash up after themselves so the kitchen was always quite tidy.

86.1%
62 reviews Book Now 
2

Byron Bay YHA

Hostel
7 Carlyle Street, Byron Bay, Australia 2481

62 out of 62 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Byron Bay YHA

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 88% Facilities - 81% Safety - 88%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 76%
leonardo molinari
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
42.9%
leonardo would recommend this property 13 August 2014

Really clean toilets and showers, cozy bed, next to everythink (small city) not really noisy.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 03 October 2013

Great heated swimming pool, big dorms, very clean bathrooms, big communal area and kitchen, easy to meet people.

84.0%
237 reviews Book Now 
3

Nomads Byron Bay

Hostel
1 Lawson Lane, Byron Bay, Australia 2481

205 out of 237 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Nomads Byron Bay

Atmosphere - 82% Staff - 87% Facilities - 78% Safety - 87%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 82% Value - 73%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
68.6%
Customer would recommend this property 23 August 2014

the rooms were spacious, you can actually hang out in them. Kitchen and picnic tables are also nice

Amy-Lee Fitzpatrick
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation/spa
88.6%
Amy-Lee would recommend this property 03 August 2014

Loved that you had the option of private king rooms because you could have privacy but still enjoy the atmosphere.

83.8%
47 reviews Book Now 
4

Cape Byron YHA

Hostel
Cnr Byron & Middleton Sts, Byron Bay, Australia 2481

43 out of 47 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cape Byron YHA

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 92% Facilities - 81% Safety - 79%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 78% Value - 80%
Roisin Craig
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Roisin would recommend this property 21 July 2014

In a great location, close to the beach, the shops and bars. Good atmosphere.Clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
65.7%
08 May 2014

Nice pool, near city and beach, social areas are well seperated from rooms so its quiet at night, free wifi, free computers, atm inside hostel, nice staff

81.5%
231 reviews Book Now 
5

Backpackers Inn- Byron Bay

Hostel
29 Shirley Street, Byron Bay, Australia 2481

199 out of 231 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Backpackers Inn- Byron Bay

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 85% Facilities - 78% Safety - 73%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 76% Value - 79%
Samantha Ierullo
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
62.9%
Samantha would recommend this property 21 July 2014

Staff were extremely friendly! Except for one guy who worked the door late night Saturday. Very unfriendly and rude.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 25 June 2014

Awesome place with a great vibe! Right on the beach, pool, kitchen, lounge... Let me check in early and put me in a better room than what I paid for :))

80.8%
152 reviews Book Now 
6

Arts Factory Lodge

Hostel
Skinners Shoot Rd, Byron Bay, Australia 2481

134 out of 152 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Arts Factory Lodge

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 88% Facilities - 84% Safety - 79%
Location - 73% Cleanliness - 76% Value - 74%
Samuel Lambert-O'Sullivan
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Samuel would recommend this property 15 September 2014

The atmosphere was fantatsic, great facilities, staff were very friendly and very helpful, loved the set-up, so different to any hostel ive stayed before

Bruna Dantas
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Bruna would recommend this property 23 April 2014

Everything is in perfect harmony! The staff, the costumers, everybody is always helpfull and smiling. The food they have at the restaurant has great value and it is delicious. You can learn a little bit of african drums every monday and wednesday morning. You also can help with the organic growing space. Best hostel I have ever been!!

78.7%
170 reviews Book Now 
7

Cape Byron Lodge

Hostel
78 Bangalow Rd, Byron Bay, Australia NSW 2481

127 out of 170 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cape Byron Lodge

Atmosphere - 78% Staff - 88% Facilities - 81% Safety - 76%
Location - 68% Cleanliness - 78% Value - 80%
Anna Persson
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
94.3%
Anna would recommend this property 14 September 2014

Cape Byron Lodge is the best hostel I'v been to during my trip at the east coast. Some say its too far away from city and the beach but its only 15 min walk, no worries! Its the cheapest stay in Byron and still nice, comfy and clean. The showers were great and the pancakes amazing! I recomend it to all of you guys, but as always its you who decide how friendly and openminded you are!!

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
68.6%
Customer would recommend this property 28 August 2014

Showers are not made for tall people. Kitchen was very small. Did like the free breakfast en the rooms were clean and comfy. The hostel is quit far away from the city centre but there is a shuttle bus going regularly.

Byron Bay

10 Hostels from 29.69 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Byron Bay hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Byron Bay. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.