We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cape Byron YHA

Hostel | Cnr Byron & Middleton Sts, Byron Bay, Australia 2481

83.3% Overall Rating

42 out of 46 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/07/2014)

Roisin Craig thinks…

"In a great location, close to the beach, the shops and bars. Good atmosphere.Clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again."

Read all Cape Byron YHA reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Byron Bay?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Byron Bay

Byron Bay YHA
27.95 USD

Hostel 86.1% 62 reviews
Nomads Byron Bay
27.95 USD

Hostel 83.4% 236 reviews
Backpackers Holiday Village
27.95 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Backpackers Inn- Byron Bay
23.58 USD

Hostel 81.5% 231 reviews
Cape Byron Lodge
21.83 USD

Hostel 78.7% 170 reviews
Byron Beach Resort
23.58 USD

Hostel 92.5% 184 reviews
Arts Factory Lodge
26.20 USD

Hostel 81.7% 151 reviews
Coast Inn Motel Ballina
22.05 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.3%

Overall Rating

42 out of 46 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cape Byron YHA'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
91.2%
Value
79.2%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 41 of 45 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014

Liked: very close to Byron Bay beach

Disliked: rather a youngster party location with the respective childish and loud behavior, not so good for a couple close to 30y. ;-)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Maurice

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2014 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were awesome and it was very clean!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roisin Craig

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 Roisin would recommend this property

Liked: In a great location, close to the beach, the shops and bars. Good atmosphere.Clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Timothy Reese

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 July 2014 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: Very Friendly Staff, great location

Disliked: A little over priced, and free WiFi only in common area

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

08 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that travellers went out after around 11pm so noise was to a minimum

Disliked: wifi not available in rooms and what was available was a poor service. Nice to be free though. Staff were nice

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2014

Liked: Nice pool, near city and beach, social areas are well seperated from rooms so its quiet at night, free wifi, free computers, atm inside hostel, nice staff

Disliked: Kitchen is always crowded, food got stolen, u have to ask in reception for ur set of dishes and keep them in ur room so they wont get taken, no lockers, showers and bathroom area is always messy and wet, when the room gets full theres not enough place for stuff (I stayed in a girls dorm and between bags and food storage there was no room to stand), reception is always buissy so you need to wait a long time to get staff's attention/help. In general its a buissy, big hostel and not really my cup of tea. Would have moved if not for the nice people i met.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kerry Goode

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 May 2014 Kerry would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly, cheerful, helpful and professional - perhaps this is because, unlike some hostels, they are not all backpakers with no prior customer service experience. Being able to use services such as the free bike loan after check-out helped me to make the most of my very short stay in Byron. Thanks a lot guys :)

Disliked: Wifi is temperamental, but this seems to be the norm in hostels I stayed at in Australia.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Malin Isaksen

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 Malin would recommend this property

Liked: x

Disliked: Malin left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were always very friendly and helpful. The hostel is literally a 2 min walk from the beach and 5 mins to the nearest bar so close enough to walk to and no noise.

Disliked: Nothing but I would suggest wifi in rooms

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Vibeke Johannessen

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break

16 March 2014

Liked: Good location. Ok price.

Disliked: Too noisy at night and the staff didnt care. Some travellers had sex at the toilet at night... I will never recommend this place.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Rhianna Henderson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 Rhianna would recommend this property

Liked: I was sick with food poisoning when I arrived and the staff were so helpful and nice, they put me in my own room so I could get better and not worry about bothering other people. I really appreciated that and that they didn't charge me more for it. The hostel was like all other hostels but in a good location.

Disliked: The people who stayed there were very much there to party so it was very noisy at night and I even had roommates come back at 4:30am one night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Safinaz Oelmez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2014 Safinaz would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful, friendly staff Clean facilities, missing only lockers

Disliked: Somehow only few people are interested in getting Contact, yha offers good facilities to get in contact

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I find that the staff at YHA are lovely and very helpful, there are always activities you can book, the location is excellent (short stroll to the beach or the centre), free use of bicycles (get in quick!) and boogie boards, and everything is fairly clean and well-maintained. I'm not really a hostel person, but this place is fine for me because it's convenient, cheap and I spend most of my time out and about in Byron anyway, not in my room!

Disliked: I prefer to get a room closer to the bathrooms just because it's convenient - it's a pain walking for ages to have a shower. Sometimes other guests are pretty obnoxious and loud but otherwise the atmosphere is peaceful. I wish the pool was cleaner and the pillows were more comfortable. The bathrooms aren't bad at all considering you have to share with multiple people - it just works well!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Elisabeth Schmid

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2013 Elisabeth would recommend this property

Liked: staff

Disliked: no lockers in rooms

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Abigayle Brown

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Abigayle would recommend this property

Liked: it had a really comfortable atmosphere and very friendly staff. it was safe and I really enjoyed staying here meeting new people and experiencing the backpacker lifestyle. I will definitely be returning for another awesome adventure. I meet some really cool people who I will stay in contact with which is all thanks to Cape Byron YHA, thanks guys I had a blast.

Disliked: the bedding situation wasn't very organised, which I understand was a mistake and doesn't happen often. it didn't really bother me but it could have been a bit more set out.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location in the city and near to the beach. Man on reception is really helpful. Free hire of surfboards/bodyboards/towels.

Disliked: The quiet after 11 rule isn't always enforced very strongly.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great location. Good communal areas.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Less than 5min walk from the main road. 5 share didn't feel cramped. Toilets were clean.

Disliked: There are no lockers. Have to give $20 deposit for kitchen utensils. No wifi available. The fact that there are 2 YHAs a block away from each other was quite confusing on arrival.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the beach.

Disliked: No wifi

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Jayde Dortmans

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

22 January 2013 Jayde would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big pool area, large communal meals and relaxing areas, very friendly staff.

Disliked: Hair all over the floor of the bedrooms. Not enough showers.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Benjamin Heistracher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere! Love Byron Bay! Good beds, pool, kitchen

Disliked: Bathroom not very clean!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff!!! They were very helpful and extremely friendly! They pool is really nice and the use of free bikes etc was nice bonus! Had a really good atmosphere here and you could party or have an early night easily!

Disliked: The kitchen could do with some new pots and pans as they are old and dirty but that's it!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near to beach, free bodyboards, nice hostel in resort-style with pool

Disliked: bad fan at the room

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and close to the beach.

Disliked: atmosphere was very sterile. didn't have great common area to mix with other travellers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SANDRINE TIRMAN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2012 SANDRINE would recommend this property

Liked: The location, between the city and the beach..perfect ! It is clean.

Disliked: There is no wi-fi !!! and the access to the internet is expensive !