HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Arts Factory Lodge

Hostel | Skinners Shoot Rd, Byron Bay, Australia 2481

82.5% Overall Rating

131 out of 149 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/04/2014)

Bruna Dantas thinks…

"Everything is in perfect harmony! The staff, the costumers, everybody is always helpfull and smiling. The food they have at the restaurant has great value and it is delicious. You can learn a…"

Read all Arts Factory Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 2.81
  • Towel USD 1.87

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

We DO NOT accept group bookings for bucks nights, hens nights, footy trips, schoolies or persons under 18 years of age. Group booking maximum 5 people, with a minimum of 3 night stay, maximum of 7 night stay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Byron Bay?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Byron Bay

Backpackers Holiday Village
25.27 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Cape Byron Lodge
18.72 USD

Hostel 75.4% 166 reviews
Backpackers Inn- Byron Bay
25.27 USD

Hostel 81.5% 231 reviews
Byron Bay YHA
26.21 USD

Hostel 88.3% 60 reviews
Nomads Byron Bay
25.27 USD

Hostel 82.5% 233 reviews
Byron Beach Resort
18.72 USD

Hostel 93.4% 182 reviews
Cape Byron YHA
25.27 USD

Hostel 83.3% 45 reviews
Coast Inn Motel Ballina
23.63 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.5%

Overall Rating

131 out of 149 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arts Factory Lodge'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
88.8%
Value
76.0%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 135 of 145 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sandra Anne Eskildsen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 July 2014 Sandra Anne would recommend this property

Liked: We met up with some Danish friends and had an awesome evening!

Disliked: We didn't cook there but we went to the kitchen between 6 and 7 pm and it was so crowded! We decided quickly that we wouldn't be cooking in that crowd.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bruna Dantas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2014 Bruna would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is in perfect harmony! The staff, the costumers, everybody is always helpfull and smiling. The food they have at the restaurant has great value and it is delicious. You can learn a little bit of african drums every monday and wednesday morning. You also can help with the organic growing space. Best hostel I have ever been!!

Disliked: Nothing at all!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

29 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: Too many people

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

amy wilson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2014 amy would recommend this property

Liked: Cinema, facilities and classes on offer. Comfy beds. Cafe had nice food.

Disliked: amy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

06 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Most amazing place i've stayed at...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is flower power

Disliked: A bit expensive and always fully booked

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mariella Steeb

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping

24 February 2014 Mariella would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the pool, all the workshops and the nice people!!

Disliked: The rooms were expensive, but then I changed to the campground which had a really good price and I could still stay at the hostel!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Grace White

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2014 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, good vibes, activities everyday, Eco garden, lots of history, has cinema and brewery! Cool!

Disliked: The shuttle pick up was always late and sometimes the driver would get out and not return for half an hour. Usually full too. Staff were not that happy!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere! So much to do at the hostel you don't need to leave! Cafe has great value for food you get

Disliked: No soap or hand dryers in any wash rooms, would be nice go have lockable lockers in shared rooms

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really chilled out atmosphere, location was great, free shuttle bus

Disliked: Really noisy at night, although we did catch the last of the schoolies

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

03 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere. A small hostel.

Disliked: Dirty

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michael DeVries

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Really cool atmosphere. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Had an awesome stay!

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa

16 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved that it is located in a rainforest with lakes and swamps. I also like the island retreat tents, gorgeous! The atmosphere is great.

Disliked: It would be nice if the beach would be a little bit closer

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice, affordable cafe on site

Disliked: No free baggage check

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The surroundings.

Disliked: People are after midnight still very noisy. can't have a giod nights sleep at all.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexandra Sparr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2013 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel! The cafe serves good food at a very reasonable price, staff is amazing and the atmosphere is fun- VERY Byron Bay. Hostel has a pool, volleyball courts, pool tables, brewery/bar, cinema, cafe, free classes offered for guests and much more. Excellent place to stay in Byron.

Disliked: Room smelled a bit but it was just after Splendour so I'm not really surprised.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

robert dix

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2013 robert would recommend this property

Liked: Large interesting hostel with lots going on. Home to lots of creative people. Great showers.

Disliked: A little bit out of the way, but not too bad. Some of the facilities in need of repair and security not great.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Luke Burnheim

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 September 2013 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: The cube I stayed in was decent, there was nightly happenings, the people staying in the hostel are a very decent crowd, the food is tasty, and the area is beautiful.

Disliked: I can't say I disliked much, really. I mean, it's not as if it was perfect, but I didn't dislike the imperfections.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great vibes

Disliked: A short walk into town if you don't have a car.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Trumper

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: I really like the friendly sociable atmosphere at this hostel. Its also great having the cafe on site and there is a really good range of activities on offer every day.

Disliked: The only I disliked is that we were travelling as a group of 5 and we were told at check in that we would have to pay for the 6th bed in our room, I think if this is the policy that it should have been made clear at the time of booking.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Martin Lee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2013

Liked: Nothing. I wouldn't come back again.

Disliked: What was there to like? It's horrible. Smelly, grubby, grimey. Our dorm was appalling. Right next to a swamp. Insects and Pests everywhere. Got bitten so many times during the night. Rooms aren't cleaned, staff are lazy, kitchen is poor and everyone's a tramp.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jennifer cooper

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Visiting friends or family

18 April 2013 jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, set in a really awesome location, with interesting alternative types of rooms

Disliked: Nothing springs to mind

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Ryan Morley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2013 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: How groovy and unique it is!

Disliked: nit the friendliest of staff but nice enough I suppose.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

12 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very friendly and relaxed. Everybody was really helpful. The cafe was also excellent and very handy for some reasonably priced food.

Disliked: Just the mosquitoes around the lake!

The property's response is...

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Richard Deeble

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

03 March 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The total disregard for the comfort of clients, they are money grabbing.