We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Arts Factory Lodge

Hostel | Skinners Shoot Rd, Byron Bay, Australia 2481

81.4% Overall Rating

140 out of 159 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/02/2015)

"The overall atmosphere was pretty relaxed and the staff seemed pretty friendly and helpful whenever I needed anything. The coffee was good and fairly reasonable."

Read all Arts Factory Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 2.19
  • Towel USD 1.46

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

We DO NOT accept group bookings for bucks nights, hens nights, footy trips, schoolies or persons under 18 years of age. Group booking maximum 5 people, with a minimum of 3 night stay, maximum of 7 night stay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Byron Bay?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Byron Bay

Backpackers Holiday Village
20.42 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Backpackers Inn- Byron Bay
18.96 USD

Hostel 82.9% 234 reviews
Byron Bay YHA
19.69 USD

Hostel 84.9% 69 reviews
Nomads Byron Bay
19.69 USD

Hostel 85.9% 250 reviews
Byron Beach Resort
16.04 USD

Hostel 92.2% 211 reviews
Cape Byron YHA
20.42 USD

Hostel 83.8% 55 reviews
Coast Inn Motel Ballina
19.22 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.4%

Overall Rating

140 out of 159 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arts Factory Lodge'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
74.4%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 143 of 155 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

11 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, all the different beautiful characters

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very relaxing atmosphere and not that far away from the centre of Byron Bay.

Disliked: We should have asked for extra blankets. It was a little bit cold in the nights.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Tanja Pfluger

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

18 February 2015 Tanja would recommend this property

Liked: Gh

Disliked: Not good organised

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2015

Liked: The overall atmosphere was pretty relaxed and the staff seemed pretty friendly and helpful whenever I needed anything. The coffee was good and fairly reasonable.

Disliked: The rooms were not that clean. We stayed in a 10 bed dorm and it was really insecure. There were no lockers at all in the rooms and the door was just a sliding door that was usually open and always unlocked - we didn't have to use our keys once. Along with the fact that there were a lot of people in the hostel and there were lots of routes in, I didn't feel safe leaving my stuff in there. One guy in our room told us he had already had 2 phone chargers stolen. There are lockers available but you have to pay for every 12 hours you use them. The kitchen wasn't that well equipped and it wasn't made obvious that you could rent kitchen equipment. Although I didn't mind the noise too much, a lot of the people there were quite Young and only seemed interested in getting really wasted. The shuttle to town was good but there was no information anywhere about where the pick up point in town was. We waited for ages where we had been dropped off and no buses came so we ended up walking back. I also thought it was expensive compared to all the other hostels we have stayed in on our trip around aus.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

23 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was situated next to brewery and cinema

Disliked: Seemed very busy

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sophie Hedges

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2015 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere, very chilled and everyone including staff were friendly. Different nights, one night karaoke and another night a quiz which we won and got $180

Disliked: I stayed in the lake cabin which could have been a bit cleaner, lots of spiders webs

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Lambert-O'Sullivan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was fantatsic, great facilities, staff were very friendly and very helpful, loved the set-up, so different to any hostel ive stayed before

Disliked: Samuel left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of parking Sweet little huts

Disliked: Walkways around huts dangerous at night

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sandra Anne Eskildsen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 July 2014 Sandra Anne would recommend this property

Liked: We met up with some Danish friends and had an awesome evening!

Disliked: We didn't cook there but we went to the kitchen between 6 and 7 pm and it was so crowded! We decided quickly that we wouldn't be cooking in that crowd.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bruna Dantas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2014 Bruna would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is in perfect harmony! The staff, the costumers, everybody is always helpfull and smiling. The food they have at the restaurant has great value and it is delicious. You can learn a little bit of african drums every monday and wednesday morning. You also can help with the organic growing space. Best hostel I have ever been!!

Disliked: Nothing at all!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

29 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: Too many people

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

amy wilson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2014 amy would recommend this property

Liked: Cinema, facilities and classes on offer. Comfy beds. Cafe had nice food.

Disliked: amy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

06 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Most amazing place i've stayed at...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is flower power

Disliked: A bit expensive and always fully booked

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mariella Steeb

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping

24 February 2014 Mariella would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the pool, all the workshops and the nice people!!

Disliked: The rooms were expensive, but then I changed to the campground which had a really good price and I could still stay at the hostel!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Grace White

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2014 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, good vibes, activities everyday, Eco garden, lots of history, has cinema and brewery! Cool!

Disliked: The shuttle pick up was always late and sometimes the driver would get out and not return for half an hour. Usually full too. Staff were not that happy!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere! So much to do at the hostel you don't need to leave! Cafe has great value for food you get

Disliked: No soap or hand dryers in any wash rooms, would be nice go have lockable lockers in shared rooms

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really chilled out atmosphere, location was great, free shuttle bus

Disliked: Really noisy at night, although we did catch the last of the schoolies

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

03 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere. A small hostel.

Disliked: Dirty

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michael DeVries

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Really cool atmosphere. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Had an awesome stay!

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa

16 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved that it is located in a rainforest with lakes and swamps. I also like the island retreat tents, gorgeous! The atmosphere is great.

Disliked: It would be nice if the beach would be a little bit closer

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice, affordable cafe on site

Disliked: No free baggage check

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The surroundings.

Disliked: People are after midnight still very noisy. can't have a giod nights sleep at all.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexandra Sparr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2013 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel! The cafe serves good food at a very reasonable price, staff is amazing and the atmosphere is fun- VERY Byron Bay. Hostel has a pool, volleyball courts, pool tables, brewery/bar, cinema, cafe, free classes offered for guests and much more. Excellent place to stay in Byron.

Disliked: Room smelled a bit but it was just after Splendour so I'm not really surprised.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

robert dix

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2013 robert would recommend this property

Liked: Large interesting hostel with lots going on. Home to lots of creative people. Great showers.

Disliked: A little bit out of the way, but not too bad. Some of the facilities in need of repair and security not great.