We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cape Byron Lodge

Hostel | 78 Bangalow Rd, Byron Bay, Australia NSW 2481

78.7% Overall Rating

127 out of 170 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/09/2014)

Anna Persson thinks…

"Cape Byron Lodge is the best hostel I'v been to during my trip at the east coast. Some say its too far away from city and the beach but its only 15 min walk, no worries! Its the cheapest stay in…"

Read all Cape Byron Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Byron Bay?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Byron Bay

Backpackers Holiday Village
26.20 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Byron Bay YHA
29.69 USD

Hostel 86.1% 62 reviews
Cape Byron YHA
23.58 USD

Hostel 83.3% 46 reviews
Nomads Byron Bay
26.20 USD

Hostel 83.4% 236 reviews
Backpackers Inn- Byron Bay
23.58 USD

Hostel 81.5% 231 reviews
Arts Factory Lodge
26.20 USD

Hostel 81.7% 151 reviews
Byron Beach Resort
24.45 USD

Hostel 92.7% 183 reviews
Coast Inn Motel Ballina
22.05 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.7%

Overall Rating

127 out of 170 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cape Byron Lodge'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
68.0%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
88.0%
Value
80.0%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 125 of 133 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Persson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 September 2014 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Cape Byron Lodge is the best hostel I'v been to during my trip at the east coast. Some say its too far away from city and the beach but its only 15 min walk, no worries! Its the cheapest stay in Byron and still nice, comfy and clean. The showers were great and the pancakes amazing! I recomend it to all of you guys, but as always its you who decide how friendly and openminded you are!!

Disliked: If there is something at all I didn't like its that there are no free safety boxes.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Showers are not made for tall people. Kitchen was very small. Did like the free breakfast en the rooms were clean and comfy. The hostel is quit far away from the city centre but there is a shuttle bus going regularly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great hostel for what we paid during festival season. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the hostel was really clean. It really helped that there was a free shuttle in and out of the town centre and free pancakes was a bonus.

Disliked: The beds weren't the most comfortable but that's just something minor compared to the other great things this hostel had to offer.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Claudia Cummins

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

28 July 2014 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: Clean hostel with really friendly staff. Great location if you're travelling with a car, otherwise you could walk or take the hostel bus into the town centre too. My friends and I had our own room to ourselves and found it very comfortable and safe. We would definitely stay here again on our next trip to Byron!

Disliked: Claudia left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful, there's free pick up/drop off to/from the bus stop as it's not in a very central position and we also got free pancakes for breakfast!

Disliked: There's no lockers in the rooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Paul Stacey

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 July 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and quiet and close to everything. Great atmosphere to chill and play music.

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was only a short walk from the CBD but with the option of a shuttle bus. So it was a lovely quite hostel and we slept well.

Disliked: Rooms smelt damp and the blankets were very scratchy but that's just part of the hostel experience...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Losfeld

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 June 2014 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Bus to the city every hour, matching with Greyhound bus arrival and departures. The place was clean, the staff was really nice and enthusiast. Pancakes in the morning are great. This is a cool chill place.

Disliked: The shower is hard to use (too hot/cold)

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2014

Liked: Almost nothing... The free bikes are a joke...

Disliked: Worst matresses ever... It's like sleeping on the floor... Dirty, bad bathrooms

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

18 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff all really friendly. Real family feel at the hostel. Although a bit further out of town the shuttle service is really good. Room and bathroom pretty clean. Kitchen a bit small. Not really a party hostel but nice and chilled out in the day. The people make it!

Disliked: Kitchen. Shower pressure!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free wifi, nice staff, hostel shuttle to and from the city

Disliked: location, not central, just fyi

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Francesca Gibbens

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014

Liked: Free wifi! (Although it seemed a lot of people struggled to skype on it), the place has a lot of character and is very byron bay. Good strong showers! The mattress was comfortable and beds didn't squeak. A quiet place and easy to sleep. There is a shuttle service to take you to town but I prefer walking and it's only about 20 mins to walk. The guy on reception was really friendly when I checked in.

Disliked: The girls showers in the main building were too small... It's just a typical hostel, not dirty but run down, they do keep it clean. If you want a party hostel in town this isn't for you but it's very relaxed and I slept well!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and had a good atmosphere

Disliked: Outside rooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2014

Liked: 5 min to the beach, good travel desk, great chill area

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

samantha munera

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 samantha would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff and guest where fantastic, really friendly really enjoyed staying there added an extra 3 days to our stay as it was so friendly!!

Disliked: Nothing....

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2014

Liked: Fridge in the room..

Disliked: Quiet possibility the most uncomfortable mattress i have slept on in my 12 months of travelling.. internet was very poor, and there were so many staff/volunteers they completely took over the place.. But by far the most disappointing was the extremely relaxed attitude towards smoking weed.. i couldn't even shower without smelling the stuff because someone was smoking while showering.. demand was so high one of the guys in my dorm was selling it to other guests..

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Giulia Erichsen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 January 2014 Giulia would recommend this property

Liked: perfect hostel for everyone who wants to explore the real Byron Bay. Amazing and beautiful garden, the atmosphere is extremely friendly-you feel immediately at home. The kitchen is cleaned twiche(!) a day and the vending machines offer everything you need against chocolate or chips craving. The WiFi is sometimes a bit slow but usually very good and the shuttle service to town runs very frequently there is a beach nearly across the street ( maybe 7 min walk)

Disliked: There are no pancakes anymore, but do not be dissappointed the hostel is good anyway :D

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice atmosphere, good facilities and friendly helpful staff :)

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steve Watson

Alone

Events / festivals

27 October 2013 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere.

Disliked: Minor problems with the lights.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2013

Liked: Good shuttle service from and to town

Disliked: Atmosphere was really unfriendly. Everywhere there are signs telling you things you cannot do and how you will be fined if you do something wrong. It's a big place and it's just very unpersonal. I could never feel at home here just looked forward to leaving.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel little bit outside. nice rooms friendly stuff maybe they changed because we read bad reviews. nice big kitchen. seems like a lot people working there and stay there for longer. free wifi and bikes. shuttel to the city

Disliked: no locker but could give the valets to a safe. bit far from city but with shuttel no problem

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cape Byron has a great vibe although it is a little out of town they do offer a free shuttle service in. The staff were friendly, the common area is great plus you get free pancakes for breakfast!!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

29 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: How close it was to the CBD, the friendliness of the staff and the atmosphere

Disliked: N/A

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Nicola Forsyth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2013

Liked: The double rooms were good value and the garden spaces were great. If run better this could be a really great place. Tours were sometimes cheaper booked through reception rather than directly.

Disliked: The staff and volunteers really let the place down, they far outnumber guests and are always hanging around, sometimes to the point where it becomes difficult to use bathroom and kitchen facilities. I'm not entirely sure what their 'job' is as they never seem to be doing much and they're neither friendly or welcoming. On arrival we were left standing around for two hours as the guy on reception was too hungover to get in on time. On arrival you get a bag of cutlery and plates - ours were still dirty and featuring the odd pube, nice! Unless you work there you're really made to feel unwelcome. Unless you're a teenage traveller with few social skills and the desire only to get smashed then I'd give it a miss.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, free pancakes in the morning and two nice enough hang-out areas (indoors / outdoors).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.