HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Gonow Family Backpacker Brisbane Hostel

145 vulture street westend, Brisbane, Australia

Atmosphere 67%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 64%

Location 80%

Safety 76%

Staff 74%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 26.13USD

Important Information

All guests are required to provide valid international passport upon check in.
All guests are required a refundable $20 cash key deposit upon check in.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 67%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 64%

Location 80%

Safety 76%

Staff 74%

Value 81%

Showing 1-10 of 32 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Nov 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Location is great, value for money

Disliked: Rooms are dirty

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Oct 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Very close to the Brisbane Convention Centre so an ideal location for me. Nice area upstairs to use laptops and plug in devices.

Disliked: Perhaps the dorm rooms would be improved if there was some other furniture than the beds, so that we had something to store our things in. At the moment we can only store things on the ground.

Customer would recommend this property

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Unclean, no sinks in toilets. No lockers in rooms and doors never locked. Beds and pillows filthy. Very cheap squeaky beds.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: WOW THIS IS BY FAR THE BEST CLEANEST LOW COST AROUND Great wifi and great times

Disliked: No pool..... prob good tho as its close 10min walk to brisbanes free lagoon pool more fun

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Very friendly and helpful receptionist, nice people, free parking

Disliked: Room was smelling a bit, showers are pretty tiny (1st floor), wifi is pretty slow

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Liked: Location.

Disliked: The stench of Body Odour in the hall.The brown stains on mattress, floor and in fridge.The urine and faeces all over the toilet.The dark floating things all over the floor of the shower.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: The hostel is located halfway between South Bank and West End and so is only 10 minutes walk from a range of cafes, restaurants, bars and shops. The private room was nice and light and of a good size including a table, a fridge and a storage rack on the wall. The included breakfast is toast and a few different spreads, and starts nice and early at 6am.

Disliked: When I arrived the receptionist told me they hadn't received my booking and that I should try the hostel across the road. I pointed out that I had already paid a deposit, and he was just very confused. I eventually got given a room so not sure why there was such a drama when they did have a room spare... I found the layout of the upstairs bathroom a little strange, the toilets have (frosted) windows onto the balcony, the sink was in a shower room so if someone was in there you had to go out onto the balcony to wash your hands. Not a major problem, just strange!

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good value for money, peaceful, not a party hostel which is quiet after 10pm.Good to chill outdoor.Free wifiFree breakfast

Disliked: Dirty kitchen (Shelfs, walls and cooking area. The plates are not very clean)Realy old kitchen ustensils (dirty and sticky pans)Showers sometimes dirty (it seems that they don't cleen the floor realy often).Taps in the kitchen and in the shower leeks a lot and need to be fixed.Squeaking bunk beds.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Was very nice and clean, free breakfast in the morning was pretty decent. Wifi was free and worked well in the room. Staff were friendly for the most part.

Disliked: You couldn't go anywhere in the hostel without being bombarded by rules about almost everything. It seemed like I was in a jail at times and had to sign a ridiculous contract before I could even check in. I could sort of understand all of this if it was some wild, party hostel but it wasn't at all. The place was very cliquely (not a problem exclusive to this hostel, most places in Australia are the same). Also it's not 5 minutes walk from South Bank Station (more like 15-20 minutes), not a big problem really and easy to find but feel people should know this.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping

Liked: Close to South Bank. Free wifi. Good value for money. Quiet. Friendly staff.

Disliked: No furniture in my room other than a bunk bed and some sort of towel rack / overhead luggage storage rack - I would have really appreciated a desk and chair. No taps to wash your hands after going to the toilet other than in the adjacent showers, which is a problem if the showers are already occupied. No major gripes.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability