We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of GoNow Family Backpacker

Hostel | 147 Vulture street, West End, Brisbane, Australia QLD 4101

82.4% Overall Rating

32 out of 38 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/03/2015)

"Good location in Brisbane's West end. About a thirty minute walk to the city centre. The man who checked me in was really helpful answering any questions I had. The free breakfast wasn't anything special…"

Read all GoNow Family Backpacker reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 27.06

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brisbane

Brisbane Backpackers Resort
17.78 USD

Hostel 76.7% 144 reviews
Somewhere To Stay
14.69 USD

Hostel 78.9% 153 reviews
Some Rooms Backpacker
16.24 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Minto Accomodation
57.98 USD

Hostel 84.2% 34 reviews
Ambassador Motor Inn
42.52 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.8% 7 reviews
Yellow Submarine Backpackers
12.37 USD

Hostel 70.2% 42 reviews
Eton house
50.25 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Brisbane City YHA
26.29 USD

Hostel 85.9% 172 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.4%

Overall Rating

32 out of 38 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'GoNow Family Backpacker'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
88.0%
Value
88.8%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 33 of 38 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Maria Hoeegh Joergensen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

31 March 2015 Maria Hoeegh would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in Brisbane's West end. About a thirty minute walk to the city centre. The man who checked me in was really helpful answering any questions I had. The free breakfast wasn't anything special (toast/jam/peanut butter/milk) but still appreciated. A/C was great at night and the perfect temperature. It didn't run during the day, but I didn't find that to be a problem since I didn't spend much time in the room during the day. There's a nice deck area where you can hang out with outlets if you need to charge anything. The free wifi was a great bonus!

Disliked: There was no soap in the bathrooms. Also, there wasn't a ton of space in the rooms. I stayed in a six bed dorm and most of the beds were full when I arrived. Since I was on a top bunk I ended up keep my backpack on the end of my bed. It worked for me but if you have a large suitcase, you may have more trouble. Our room had a lock on the door but the other girls in my room seemed to never actually lock it. That being said, the hostel had a pretty safe atmosphere and I never worried about my things being left in the unlocked room.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: WiFi and breakfast

Disliked: small facilities

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lynette Ohye

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Visiting friends or family

27 January 2015 Lynette would recommend this property

Liked: I picked this hostel because of the other reviews and proximity to the city. I didn't want to stay in the party district, and this was great for getting a good night's sleep. Does include free breakfast (homebrand tea, coffee, bread, spreads). Close to West End cafes and shops, 15 minute walk from South Bank train station, so fairly easy access from the airport.

Disliked: Quite hot on a bad summer day, they only turn on the air con at night in dorm rooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2015

Liked: There's free wifi,which is really good! They have secure lockers and I quite liked the location - west End (just a 15 minute walk to queen street) , showers were really good. Would recommend it for short term stay (one or two nights) only!!!

Disliked: Unfriendly via email, rooms are packed (not much space for your stuff, long-term stayers leave a mess in the rooms), it smelled funny at the corridors, there's not really an area to chill out, air con couldn't be used manually (so the room was hot during the day, freezing cold during the night)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Heidi Jalonen

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2014 Heidi would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast, good WiFi, nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing much. It gets crowded in the 8-bed dorm but that's normal.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lorena Vargas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2014 Lorena would recommend this property

Liked: King staff, very familiar. Breakfast included. Nice garden. Good localion in a charming district, West End.

Disliked: Not the cleanest hostel I've stayed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Mercer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Staff extremely helpful, onsite car parking, showers really good and clean. Big kitchen

Disliked: N/A

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

15 September 2014

Liked: It was safe, clean and in a good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Devincenzi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

11 August 2014 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Good beds, clean, nice staff Free breakfast! Free rice! Free WIFI!!

Disliked: the only things i dont like about this hostel are things that I dont like about australian hostels in general, so they arent worth mentioning.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Janos Vincze

Alone

Business / conference

07 August 2014 Janos would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Chiniese staff (the receptionist actually carried my suitcase up at check-in!), good location, good Wi-Fi, no partying, many electrical sockets around the beds.

Disliked: Too few and somewhat unclean bathrooms, no storage space in the room, very limited breakfast.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best Hostel I have stayed in during my time in Australia. Breakfast is included which was a great surprise as it isn't mentioned on the hostelbookers website. Really clean, fantastic bathrooms.

Disliked: no comments to make here! Really liked it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mary Wall

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

09 May 2014 Mary would recommend this property

Liked: Down to earth staff. Paul the manager he was very helpful and a great guy. They make sure you feel comfortable and welcome. We intend to stay there again sometime in the future.

Disliked: Mary left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Huot Iv

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2014 Huot would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and well organize

Disliked: This hostel is mostly for people working in Brisbane so you won't meet that many other travellers

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff.

Disliked: Not very close to the city center.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sebastian kleefeld

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2014 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: friendly stuff, Paul onside-manager is helpful and a real good manager. quiet hostel good for workers, partyhostel on the other side of the street. close to all important sightseeing-places.

Disliked: they offer breakfast, but only tea, no coffee. they also forgot soap on the washing rooms

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really appreciated the friendliness of the staff, free breakfast and free rice and pasta!

Disliked: The bathrooms have no sinks included and there are only three showers for the whole hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pete commons

Alone

Visiting friends or family

27 December 2013 pete would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely superb , the staff were friendly and helpfull , very clean , and a 20 minute walk from the main shopping center / bus , train terminal . If I return to Brizzy I would definately stay there again . Didn't fell out of place being a 51 y/o bloke

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: is quite place, nice people, not too far from the center.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our stay was great! I enjoyed the laid back atmosphere and proximity to the city beach and botanic gardens. The many clothes lines they had were helpful to do laundry--there was no competition for space. The beds and linens were clean and comfortable. The premises was cleaned regularly. We loved the free breakfast! WiFi worked intermittently, but with a strong connection throughout the entire premises. The staff was very helpful. They gave us advice for our travels and stay there. Also, they helped maintain the property and continued improving the cleanliness of the kitchen, shared bathrooms and common spaces.

Disliked: The rooms were a little cramped for space, given that longer term residents had claimed areas of our room before we got there.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Samantha Farrissey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

01 December 2013 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money! Didn't notice bed bus so guess there wasn't any. Free breakfast in the mornings, nice power shower upstairs and staff was amazing especially Lang from reception who offered to take us to the train station to go to our next destination, he even carried out bags to the platform! Brilliant n helpful guy! If you want value for money and somewhere to just shower and rest your head this is your place.

Disliked: Not much going on aroun if your young, depends on who's in your hostel at the time everyone seemed to just sit with earphones in and wasn't very sociable but this isn't the hostels fault.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great stay at gonow backpackers. Good wifi and lockers

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013

Liked: close to the city

Disliked: management, facilities- not enaugh showers

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2013

Liked: Good location, near West End shops. WiFi was good and worked in the bedrooms. Free breakfast was ok. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: You get what you pay for! A basic hostel with lots of beds. Run by Chinese staff (apart from the owner who I think is an Aussie) and had lots of Chinese tenants. I found the rooms and especially the bathrooms very dirty; they are surface cleaned daily but not deep cleaned and all the showers had black scum marks on the floor - not pleasant.