We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Kookaburra Inn

Guesthouse | 41 Phillips Street, Spring Hill, Brisbane, Australia 4000

91.4% Overall Rating

266 out of 286 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/05/2014)

Jan Glasson thinks…

"I stayed one night. The hosts were very warm and welcoming. Made sure I was settled in, helped out with information."

Read all Kookaburra Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brisbane

Bunk Backpackers
20.52 USD

Hostel 84.1% 415 reviews
Base Brisbane - Central
21.42 USD

Hostel 68.0% 488 reviews
Brisbane Manor Hotel
29.89 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.5% 90 reviews
Base Brisbane-Embassy
21.42 USD

Hostel 74.2% 178 reviews
Bluetongue Backpackers & Tours
20.08 USD

Hostel 74.4% 71 reviews
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
17.85 USD

Hostel 75.2% 147 reviews
Bowen Terrace Accommodation
30.78 USD

Hostel 86.9% 26 reviews
Banana Bender Backpackers
23.20 USD

Hostel 79.4% 42 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.4%

Overall Rating

266 out of 286 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kookaburra Inn'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
97.6%
Value
92.0%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 215 of 225 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Moseley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2012 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic, friendly hosts. Large spacious double rooms with good facilities. Really good position for town centre, River and restaurants.

Disliked: There is only shower!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are extremely friendly and hospitable. The location is up a small hill in a quiet, residential area. A short walk takes you to Chinatown, Fortitude Valley and the free loop town shuttle which which runs from 7am-6pm quickly transports you downtown, by the river and all the main tourist sites. The hostel is great value for the money with a full kitchen and shared tv room.

Disliked: If you have a heavy suitcase, best to have a cab take you there as the hill is steep.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Penelope Steventon

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

23 May 2012 Penelope would recommend this property

Liked: small, compact but unusual.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

20 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful

Disliked: It isn't walking distance to any restaurants etc.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Helena Hanell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2012 Helena would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, very quiet and lazing with very good facilities - bathrooms and kitchen. The people running the place are very friendly and helpful as well. We really enjoyed staying here for the comfort and tranquility of the place.

Disliked: Nothing - for us it was perfect.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorna Flood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2012 Lorna would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, reeally friendly staff. We booked a deluxe room which was huge and had a fridge, sink, towels and aircon. The toilet and kitchen facilities are really near the rooms and are really clean. Location is great too, it's a really short walk to the river, CBD and all the sights.

Disliked: There are two dogs and they do look scary when you first see them (they're pretty big) but they're absolutely adorable and we only actually saw them on check in and check out.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room

Disliked: smelled of the dogs everywhere. location

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lucy Vickers

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway

01 March 2012 lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel with a lovely homely feel. Friendly staff. Very clean, everything you need in a hostel, good location. Would recommend.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Rogers

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

21 February 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Really homely place! Lovely staff. Excatly what you want when you are in a City you have no idea about.

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jess Mullins

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2012 Jess would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the old fashioned feel of the building - a 1930s building, in a nice quiet location, but not too far from the centre. David was very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. Nice clean accomodation, good kitchen facilities and fast, free wi-fi.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fiona Parr

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

15 January 2012 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff- David especially, an older property but very clean, bar fridges in rooms and small but functional communal kitchens and living areas. Location wise a 5-10min walk from the city in nice quiet area in residential street. Perfect for what we needed.Would definitely go back, great value for money.

Disliked: Fiona left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Holly Phillips

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

06 January 2012 Holly would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, air-conditioned room with mini fridge =) Great staff and gorgeous dogs, close to the city

Disliked: This isn't the owners fault but there was really loud arguing in the wee hours, and because our room was right by the kitchen and there were noisy travellers in there at 5.30am too

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

24 November 2011

Liked: location good a place for young people

Disliked: if you are not white people, or you are not hot and young, don't stay there

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jie Liang

Alone

Relaxation/spa

24 November 2011 Jie would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and worthwile

Disliked: carpet is old and a little dirty

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and very quiet

Disliked: None

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica lee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 November 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Dave was really helpful and let us store our bags in our room after we checked out as reception closed before we left for our coach. He was also really helpful in giving information and directions and was very accommodating when we checked in 2 hrs early. The rooms are ok, nice to have a fridge and a sink in the rooms. The bathrooms are nice and meticulously clean. Kitchen has lots of food etc available for use which was good so no need to buy oil, salt, sugar, jam etc.

Disliked: Location was a bit far out, no pick up services offered from Greyhound coach, about $12 in a taxi or a 20minute walk (downhill from the hostel which is ok, otherwise uphill if you are going to it so would advise a cab!) Reception hours are quite short

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

LIA RASTELLI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 October 2011 LIA would recommend this property

Liked: We have been there at the very beginning of the holiday and we decided to book it again before coming back home as the location is great, just a pleasant walk to all major places of interests! The place is very quiet, everything in the hostel is clean and well organized, the room too was little but very clean and perfect in every detail. I really raccomand this hostel to whom has to spend some days in Brisbane also because the staff is very kind and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nathan Alexander

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

09 October 2011 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for the right price.

Disliked: Room had a very slight must smell when first opened.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

vanessa obrien

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

18 August 2011 vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: basic but very clean

Disliked: no tv in room

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable place to stay

Disliked: Not for young people backpacking looking to meet other travellers

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2011

Liked: I'm not sure I did like this place....

Disliked: The property was old and dated - the carpet looked dirty and the showers were not very clean or new. Our bedroom had a cockroach in it, too. There was both a fan and an air conditioner in our room, but it would have cost 10 dollars extra a night for air con, which I thought was a bit cheeky. However, you're not left with much choice when it's 35 degrees outside and humidity is about 80%. Reception didn't seem to be open very much, so if you had problems there was a good chance nobody would be around to help you. Which brings me to the free wifi: there's a reason it is free - because it's so bad!!!! We stayed 3 nights and had connection for about 5 mins the whole time. It was possibly the worst internet I've ever experienced (or not...). Also, if you don't like big dogs then this might not be the best option for you, even though they were pretty harmless.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wendy and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The facilities and services provided was good.

Disliked: Just the location which was far from shops and transport but enjoyed my stay there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Kavanagh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms very very clean, private room with air con, showers were very big, own refridgerator

Disliked: Altough internet wifi was free it had its problems only connected 50% of the time it was very fast though when we did get connected,small kitchen no oven

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location with walking distance to The Brisbane Center and the railway station.

Disliked: A little bit dark surroundings in the night as I arrived when the desk was closed due to timedelay at the airport.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Your own room, with fridge and running water

Disliked: nothing