HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Base Brisbane - Central Brisbane Hostel

308 Edward Street, Brisbane, Australia

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 66%

Location 95%

Safety 71%

Staff 76%

Value 70%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 4.89USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 66%

Location 95%

Safety 71%

Staff 76%

Value 70%

Showing 71-57 of 57 reviews

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping

Liked: Location, friendliness by staff

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi, and thansk for taking the time to pass on your feedback. We're glad you liked our location and staff, although we are a little confused at your ratings - you've given both those the lowest marks.

Thanks again and safe travels!
The Base Central Crew

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: central, clean, safe

Disliked: no wheelchair access, meaning now access for your suitcaseinternet very very slow and you still got charged for it

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi, and thanks for taking the time to pass on your feedback. We are working with our internet supplier to ensure the connection is both fast and reliable for guests.

Safe travels!
The Base Central Crew

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Location was absolutely superb!

Disliked: Noisy neighbours.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi, and thanks for taking the time to pass on your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay - with the noisy neighbours let the night staff know and we can get them to be quiet at times people want to sleep.

Safe travels!
The Base Central crew

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Location

Disliked: Noisy

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi, and thank-you for taking the time to pass on your feedback. We do have staff on all night, so if people are being rather loud and obnoxious then let us know so we can get them to stop.

Thanks again and safe travels,
The Base Central Crew

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: Good location. Good weekly prices.

Disliked: Kitchen is too small for the number of people living there.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Our weekly rates are fantastic aren't they - and can only be booked direct at the hostel! We are currently looking at ways to improve the use of space in our kitchen, we do encourage people to snag one of our delicious $10 Meal & Pint Deals in Zi Bar or the infamous DUB. Happy Travels, The Base Brisbane Crew

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location

Disliked: Noisy, dirty, no space in room


The property's response is

Thanks for leaving a review. Our hostel is cleaned by our fantastic housekeeping staff, but unfortunately sometimes there are some guests that leave their belongings spread around. The Base Brisbane Crew

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff and quirky building

Disliked: Funny smell in room and hallways. Pretty noisy in the morning which is not at all unusual for a hostel

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. We think our building is pretty quirky too. The Base Brisbane Crew

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Accommodation was comfortable, bathrooms were clean.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking your time to review our hostel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Happy Travels, The Base Brisbane Crew

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: It is next to the train station, there is a 24 hour check in desk, and the girls' bathroom has swipe key access.

Disliked: It smelt bad, the rooms have a vent above the door that lets in lots of light and noise,and the bedding (blanket) looked shabby.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: It was centrally located. It was literally kiddie corner from central station which made transit really very easy. Located above a bar which made it easy to get out for the night as well.

Disliked: Shortly after arrival me and my girlfriend were changing and someone entered the room. The front desk put two different parties in my private room. It made my girlfriend very uncomfortable for her first hostel experience.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability