HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Base Brisbane - Central Brisbane Hostel

308 Edward Street, Brisbane, Australia

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 66%

Location 95%

Safety 71%

Staff 76%

Value 70%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 4.81USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 66%

Location 95%

Safety 71%

Staff 76%

Value 70%

Showing 61-57 of 57 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Convenient location for the station and the 24 hour reception

Disliked: Late night noise and dirty showers

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review. We appreciated the time you have taken to give us feedback about your stay. We are sorry you were disappointed in the cleanliness of our showers. We do try to keep our bathrooms as clean as possible, with them being cleaned 3 times a day. I will however, bring your complaint to the attention our our housekeeping supervisor. Happy Travels, the Base Brisbane Crew.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location is great!

Disliked: The staff were not very helpful.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review. We agree that the location of Base Central is fantastic. It's very disappointing and surprising to hear you did not find our staff helpful. The quality of service our guests receive is something that we find extremely important and put a lot of resources into staff training. I will be following up on this, as all staff are aware of the importance of the happiness of guests in our industry.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Not much apart from good location

Disliked: No air conditioning that worked. Club in the basement could be heard on the third floor up to 4am both nights. Combined with no air con doesnt equal a good nights sleep.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, in CBD and just a short walk to Queen Street Malls, the Botanical Gardens, opposite Central Station. I guess its quite cheap so you get what you pay for. Good value for money at Down Under Bar - cooked breakfast $7 and meals for $10.

Disliked: So noisy!! In every other hostel I've stayed out, its noisy but at least is quite after 12am/1am latest and corridors are usually patrolled or have security cameras. I had one of the worst night sleeps ever, people skate-boarding down the corridor at 5am!! What is worst is that you can hear into every room because there is a window/screen with holes in above every door! The kitchen is quite poorly equipped, had to wait often for cutlery and washing up is never done apart from by people who work there cleaning the kitchen! Need tougher rules like in other hostels!


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. Regarding your comments on noise we do have a night auditor that does security checks around our hostel on the hour and will always be happy to help and speak with guests making noise. Regarding the grates you mentioned letting in noise above the doors unfortunately we are unable to alter them as our building is heritage listed although we have improved our security system so we can monitor upstairs better and have noticed a marked improvement in the noise levels.

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Central location

Disliked: Dirty toilets , broken lift , dirty and poor showers, over priced for the condition of the premises


The property's response is

Thank you for sending in some feedback of our hostel. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We really do appreciate good and bad comments as it's important to us to know what our guests thoughts on our property are. Happy Travels, The Base Brisbane Crew

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: No comment

Disliked: No comment

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I think If you need a a good night sleep you would pay the extra for a hotel! But if your looking to meet new friends and have a drink on the roof (one of the best views in Brisbane) this is the place to stay, bar is always a few stairs down can be heard till late. A true backpacker experience.

Disliked: Stay away from level 1, a bit to messy. Down Under Bar great meal deals!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. We do pride ourselves on being a party hostel and am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Peace & Love, The Base Brisbane Crew

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I think everything depends on what kind of roommate u are sharing the room with. .. One thing to my poorest satisfaction is the quilt. Although it's warm enough, but the cover is really dirty

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi, and thanks for taking the time to pass on your feedback. It really is true how good room-mates make a lot of difference! As for your quilt, we will look into it and make sure that they're all up to standard.

Safe travels,
The Base Crew

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location

Disliked: The manual lift is too scary sometimes

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi, and thanks for passing on your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay - lift aside! The lift - and the whole building - are actually part of the heritage listing for the property, so getting permission to get it updated is an ongoing process.

Safe travels!
The Base Brisbane Crew

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location and the building from the outside were very nice. Also, the Zi Bar situated underneath is very nice and has very good value for money food and drinks offers.

Disliked: Just about everything


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. We think our building is pretty special. ZiBar & DUB do have amazing deals like the $10 Meal & Pint deal or a FULL breakfast for only $7. Well worth it. Safe Travels, The Base Brisbane Crew

Check Availability