HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Base Brisbane - Central Brisbane Hostel

308 Edward Street, Brisbane, Australia

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 66%

Location 95%

Safety 71%

Staff 76%

Value 70%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 4.83USD

Important Information

All reservations between 23th December 2016 and 3th January 2017 require a minimum 5-night consecutive stay.
All bookings over this period will be charged in full on the 1 December.
Failure of payment will result in cancelled bookings!
Credit cards will incur a 2% fee.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 66%

Location 95%

Safety 71%

Staff 76%

Value 70%

Showing 51-50 of 50 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: near the central station. and heart of city.

Disliked: toilet and bathroom are a little bit small.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello & thank you for your review! We are glad you mostly enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is fantastic isn't it. We are disappointed that you feel our toilets and bathrooms weren't up to scratch due to being a bit small. As our building is over 100 years old the structures were all put into place then, but think they are mostly normal sized in comparison to other accommodation providers. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. The Base Brissy Crew!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The location is just perfect & the building, even though it shows quite a bit of wear & tear, has plenty of charm and has been adapted really well.

Disliked: There was a constant hum from the air-con machinery outside the window on the upper floors, but you can get used to it.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed you stay and appreciate the charms and quirks of our building as much as we do. We love it! Happy Travels! The Base Crew Xx

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Central location

Disliked: Toilets are very basic and rough. The place has an atmosphere of general decay.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing special, we only went there because hostel booker had good price

Disliked: The horrible noise of the bar under the hostel until 2 o'clock in the morning. If you want to sleep, don't go there!


The property's response is

Thanks for the review. We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay with us. We do promote ourselves as a party hostel, so if you are after something quieter we do recommend our other two properties in Brisbane - base Brisbane Embassy & base Brisbane Uptown. Embassy doesn't have the bar attached and is a much quieter hostel. Uptown, despite having the Guilty Rouge on the ground floor, offers great value and private facilities. Hope you enjoy your travels. The Base Brissy Crew

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Busiest bar in the town, clean, god location

Disliked: not enough power points in the rooms

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review on hostelbookers. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We love our DUB bar and hope you had a good night there :) In regards to powerpoints in rooms, we do realise there aren't many in most of the rooms (think old building back in the days when no one had a phone, computer and hair straighteners). Because of this we do keep a few extension cords at reception that you can borrow throughout your stay. We can also charge phone, batteries etc behind reception for you

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Shopping

Liked: cheap

Disliked: no

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again sometime soon. Happy Travels, The Base Brisbane Crew

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: housekeeping

Disliked: almost everything


The property's response is

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you liked our housekeepers - We think they are pretty cool too. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us in one of our twin rooms. We would have appreciated you coming to reception to voice your concerns to us during your stay, so we could have made your stay more enjoyable. Happy Travels. The Base Brisbane Crew.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bit noisy

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. We think our hostel is in a fabulous location too - just across from Central train station & one block from the main shopping district in the city. Happy Travels and we hope to see you again in the future. The Base Brisbane Crew.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Work / volunteering

Liked: Overall was very good staying here, place is clean and staff are friendly.

Disliked: Stayed in a private room and didn't have anywhere to hang or clothes or a locker. Internet was slow

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry to here that during your stay, internet access was a bit slow. We are currently in the process of getting the internet upgraded, so should be alot faster. Happy Travels. The base Brisbane Crew.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff nice enough, rooms/bathroom clean enough. Air con which was a plus. Jeremy the job man us ace!!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that Jeremy at the Job Club was able to help you out looking for work. We do love having this free service for backpackers. Happy Travels. The Base Brisbane Crew

Check Availability