We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Base Brisbane - Central

Hostel | Corner Ann & Edward Streets, Brisbane, Australia .

68.0% Overall Rating

343 out of 488 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/08/2014)

Serra Battal thinks…

"The location is great, the private room was not big but it was not small either. The staff were very helpful and the hostel had a very good overall ambience. I bought a diet coke and as soon as I…"

Read all Base Brisbane - Central reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.35

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brisbane

Base Brisbane-Embassy
21.42 USD

Hostel 74.2% 178 reviews
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
17.85 USD

Hostel 75.2% 147 reviews
Kookaburra Inn
37.03 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 286 reviews
Bunk Backpackers
20.52 USD

Hostel 84.1% 415 reviews
Chill Backpackers
23.20 USD

Hostel 74.5% 217 reviews
Banana Bender Backpackers
23.20 USD

Hostel 79.4% 42 reviews
Brisbane City Backpackers
20.52 USD

Hostel 78.6% 737 reviews
Aussie Way Hostel
24.09 USD

Hostel 80.8% 293 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.0%

Overall Rating

343 out of 488 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Base Brisbane - Central'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
56.0%
Staff
73.6%
Value
64.8%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 306 of 342 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caitlynn McWhorter

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
Work / volunteering

17 October 2010 Caitlynn would recommend this property

Liked: The staff members at Base were incredible. This was my first hostel stay, but I've stayed in plenty of hotels and have never encountered better concierge services. They were friendly, helpful, cracked jokes, and seemed honestly concerned with the well being of their guests.

Disliked: The only thing I had a problem with, and I guess it was my fault for not looking further into it, but I assumed, when amenities are listed and WiFi is one of them that it would be free, but I guess this was a poor assumption. You have to pay for wireless internet here, as you do everywhere else.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Tour desk available.

Disliked: The price for a private double room is the same as at some other hostels and the rooms are much better and include a bathroom. I was a little surprised at how small the room turned out to be.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

15 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: At first appearance Base Brisbane shows charm. It is a hostel to cater for the younger generation, having a nightclub below and a pub give a lot of opportunities for people to meet and to have fun. Security for the ladies was outstanding and security for the after hours venues was a comfort. Location Location Location! I enjoyed my stay and tell others about the hostel too.

Disliked: It was looking tired on the inside , no tv, and no privacy at night time because the screen was see through. I'm not a porn star ! I don't like people been able to watch me make love to my partner ! It was noisy through to the late hours, (that's kind normal for a hostel though) But so were we!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

10 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very clean and affordable

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Bethany Speicher

With my spouse / partner

09 October 2010

Liked: Only the location as it is accross form the Central station

Disliked: Everything please see comment above

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Stefan Krueger

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2010 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: location good :-). bathroom :-(.

Disliked: Stefan left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2010

Liked: Location

Disliked: The room

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

ILSEOB SONG

Alone

Shopping

26 September 2010 ILSEOB would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location for travel brisbane

Disliked: hard to say its so clean hostel

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway
Shopping

14 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building, nice location

Disliked: Too big and noisy, esp. kitchen

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

12 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was within walking distance to everything, your right over the road from central station, there are taxi's waiting outside all the time and queen street has food and there are little 24 hr convience stores everywhere which is handy in the middle of the night =)

Disliked: the bed in room 223 OMG you need a new one no joke there are springs coming through it everywhere, which didnt make for a very nice sleep. in cooler weather an extra blanket wouldn't go astray either. oh and i think you may have bed bugs =) coz i wore boots the whole time i was down here except when i slept and i have bites all over my legs

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dan Willis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2010 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in Brisbane

Disliked: Lack of atmosphere, can be noisy

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool place to stay, can't be more central. Ok, Interior is old and worn and the ventilation units on the roof of the building make a lot of noise, but the atmos is great, "HEAD ON DOWN TO THE ZIBAR FOR SOME BREAKY" lol!! And an excellent base to start your day of siteseeing or your night in the city from!

Disliked: Old worn interior. Rooms near the elevator can be noisy at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, cleanliness, vending machines, the look and atmosphere in general. just an awesome place all around. definitely recommended. SO CLEAN!!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

22 August 2010

Liked: Excellent location, nice people and great way to meet them.

Disliked: Dirty kitchen. Even saw a cockroach scurry across the floor! Lift doors are really heavy to use!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping

11 August 2010

Liked: The hostel is in the middle in the city and at the central station

Disliked: It was very noisy at the night, because of the nightclub under the hostel

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

05 August 2010

Liked: Location

Disliked: Small rooms, loud guests (private rooms were not fully sealed for sound) Questionable bathrooms (old, unclean). Internet was expensive (compare a Singapore hostel at half the price with free internet). You are trading a lot just for location.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2010

Liked: Close to train. Job club is great. Some of the staff are nice.

Disliked: It's not a place to sleep. The duff duff from downstairs went on til 3AM on a wednesday night. Don't go here if you want to sleep. It's a drunken obnoxious and loud in your face place if you like that.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location. Very central.

Disliked: The noise. It was pretty much that every level was one huge dorm. Above the door was an open window in every room, that you could hear EVERYTHING- ALL NIGHT LONG! It was very diffucult to sleep more than an hour in a row.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

26 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is fantastic.

Disliked: Run down, and in need of renovation. Only supplying a sheet and no blanket for winter is NOT adequate!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Value and location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

28 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Some beds recieve all the cool air, from the central ac system. Try to choose the down beds

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

23 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's central, nice staff and nice showers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Craig Hill

12 June 2010 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: The showers..

Disliked: Craig left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfectly located in the town centre, 2 minutes walk from everything you need, and great lively bar downstairs where you can meet and enjoy fun games with other backpackers and locals.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

simon spooner

31 May 2010 simon would recommend this property

Liked: everything realy cool hostel all the staff where nice an helpfull clean an tidy kitchen clen rooms good bar under hostle not to nosy if you want a early night top hostle

Disliked: simon left no negative feedback.