We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Base Brisbane - Central

Hostel | Corner Ann & Edward Streets, Brisbane, Australia .

69.5% Overall Rating

352 out of 504 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/11/2014)

Duncan Bewick thinks…

"Great staff, great bar, and stuff to do on everyday of week at hostel Overall a really good place to stay"

Read all Base Brisbane - Central reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.73

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brisbane

Base Brisbane-Embassy
21.30 USD

Hostel 71.9% 183 reviews
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
18.93 USD

Hostel 75.1% 157 reviews
Kookaburra Inn
32.73 USD

Guesthouse 91.5% 288 reviews
Bunk Backpackers
18.93 USD

Hostel 82.7% 437 reviews
Chill Backpackers
20.51 USD

Hostel 76.0% 224 reviews
Banana Bender Backpackers
17.35 USD

Hostel 81.3% 44 reviews
Brisbane City Backpackers
20.51 USD

Hostel 78.1% 745 reviews
Aussie Way Hostel
21.30 USD

Hostel 82.3% 299 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.5%

Overall Rating

352 out of 504 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Base Brisbane - Central'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
76.0%
Value
63.2%
Safety
63.2%
Refine your results Showing 319 of 358 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

20 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location

Disliked: Awful bathrooms

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2011

Liked: Location, right next to the main station and the city centre.

Disliked: I booked a double room for me and my gilrfriend and we got a tiny twin room. On arrival, there was water on the floor and on one of the beds. Rain was leaking from the roof inside the room. We had to change for 2 single rooms cause there was no other option available. We finally slept together in a single bed. Then we had to change again on the next day or a double room, that means check out at 10 am and check in again at 2 pm. We were homeless from 10 am to 2 pm, even though we had booked and paid for 2 days. There is noise and smell in the rooms, corridors, and sanitaries. Tiny size of the bedrooms, just enough to fit a bed. Poorly equipped rooms, no furniture apart from the bed, leave all your stuff on the floor. This hotel looks just like a factory, and seems just a goods means of making money out of backpackers. Wouldn't recommend this hotel to others, definitely won't come again.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Nikoletta Nadasi

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2011 Nikoletta would recommend this property

Liked: Location only. It was close to the city center.

Disliked: Dirt, noise, zero design...etc.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2011

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Everything.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Gustavo Cordero

Alone

City break

28 December 2010

Liked: The situation and cheap food

Disliked: All the rest, dirty, stupid staff (not all but some staff are stupid), there are rats and cokroaches (I saw 3 rats in 3 days!) No clean bathroom) Bedroom very very small and dirty, smell humidity and the floor is glue

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were very good

Disliked: not enough kitchen utensils

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ane Tillisch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2010 Ane would recommend this property

Liked: When I first got there I imagined a horror movie made by Steven king. The old fashion elevators, and the whole surroundings were just like it. I was afraid finding a dead body when going for a cigaret. Just kidding. The hostel was always very clean, and the staff was extremely kind and helpful. I absolutely LOVED it. Lots of space in the room, and a locker. The location was just amazing. Close to everything - just me who's unbelievable bad at finding places. And thats a fact! Ha ha. It was easy to find the Hostel, and is located next to some cool bars, with good prices.

Disliked: The only thing missing was a place to plug your rechargers in. Only one place to do that - Behind a bed. It was kind of difficult when theres 10 people staying there. But other than that, i might say it's my favorite hostel so far.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

19 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: central,cleane,helpfull,freunly staff

Disliked: dont no

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

19 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Dinner and Drink Meals

Disliked: The Hallways were a bit scruffy.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was awesome-right near Queen Street. Plus, the old building has a lot of charm, what with the 1950s elevator.

Disliked: The bathrooms are really old. In fact, everything is, but we're talking dirty as here.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds

Disliked: the staff were decent but not overly friendly, real moody bitch on the front dest that morning.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 November 2010

Liked: Location is fantastic, the bar/cafe has good cheap food.

Disliked: The noisiest hostel I have ever stayed in, the Wifi is horrendously expensive.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

17 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are very good: real clean linnen and a comfortable mattress.Bathroom was a bit dissapointing.

Disliked: The bathroom is used by a lot of people and is not very clean.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caitlynn McWhorter

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
Work / volunteering

17 October 2010 Caitlynn would recommend this property

Liked: The staff members at Base were incredible. This was my first hostel stay, but I've stayed in plenty of hotels and have never encountered better concierge services. They were friendly, helpful, cracked jokes, and seemed honestly concerned with the well being of their guests.

Disliked: The only thing I had a problem with, and I guess it was my fault for not looking further into it, but I assumed, when amenities are listed and WiFi is one of them that it would be free, but I guess this was a poor assumption. You have to pay for wireless internet here, as you do everywhere else.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Tour desk available.

Disliked: The price for a private double room is the same as at some other hostels and the rooms are much better and include a bathroom. I was a little surprised at how small the room turned out to be.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

15 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: At first appearance Base Brisbane shows charm. It is a hostel to cater for the younger generation, having a nightclub below and a pub give a lot of opportunities for people to meet and to have fun. Security for the ladies was outstanding and security for the after hours venues was a comfort. Location Location Location! I enjoyed my stay and tell others about the hostel too.

Disliked: It was looking tired on the inside , no tv, and no privacy at night time because the screen was see through. I'm not a porn star ! I don't like people been able to watch me make love to my partner ! It was noisy through to the late hours, (that's kind normal for a hostel though) But so were we!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

10 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very clean and affordable

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Bethany Speicher

With my spouse / partner

09 October 2010

Liked: Only the location as it is accross form the Central station

Disliked: Everything please see comment above

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Stefan Krueger

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2010 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: location good :-). bathroom :-(.

Disliked: Stefan left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2010

Liked: Location

Disliked: The room

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

ILSEOB SONG

Alone

Shopping

26 September 2010 ILSEOB would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location for travel brisbane

Disliked: hard to say its so clean hostel

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway
Shopping

14 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building, nice location

Disliked: Too big and noisy, esp. kitchen

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

12 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was within walking distance to everything, your right over the road from central station, there are taxi's waiting outside all the time and queen street has food and there are little 24 hr convience stores everywhere which is handy in the middle of the night =)

Disliked: the bed in room 223 OMG you need a new one no joke there are springs coming through it everywhere, which didnt make for a very nice sleep. in cooler weather an extra blanket wouldn't go astray either. oh and i think you may have bed bugs =) coz i wore boots the whole time i was down here except when i slept and i have bites all over my legs

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dan Willis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2010 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in Brisbane

Disliked: Lack of atmosphere, can be noisy

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool place to stay, can't be more central. Ok, Interior is old and worn and the ventilation units on the roof of the building make a lot of noise, but the atmos is great, "HEAD ON DOWN TO THE ZIBAR FOR SOME BREAKY" lol!! And an excellent base to start your day of siteseeing or your night in the city from!

Disliked: Old worn interior. Rooms near the elevator can be noisy at night.