HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Base Brisbane - Central Brisbane Hostel

308 Edward Street, Brisbane, Australia

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 66%

Location 95%

Safety 71%

Staff 76%

Value 70%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 4.83USD

Important Information

All reservations between 23th December 2016 and 3th January 2017 require a minimum 5-night consecutive stay.
All bookings over this period will be charged in full on the 1 December.
Failure of payment will result in cancelled bookings!
Credit cards will incur a 2% fee.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 66%

Location 95%

Safety 71%

Staff 76%

Value 70%

Showing 41-50 of 50 reviews

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Perfectly located in the city

Disliked: We were treated very badly when complaining for the reasoning of only having one plug socket in a four bedroom dorm. The receptionist on was more interested in talking to his friend then dealing with our simple request for an extension cable. We weren't even offered one for the next day when we went back. This should come with the price of the room.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello. Thanks for leaving a review. We are sorry to hear about your issue with the plug socket. We are an old heritage listed building and unfortunatley back in the day not many people needed plug sockets to charge their phones, cameras, laptops, hair straightners and all other devices we now can't seem to live without. Due to the wiring of the building we havent been able to change this, however, we now offer at reception an power board extension for a small deposit which guest can borrow.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing other than the location

Disliked: Almost everything. The worst hostel I've ever stayed in. Booked an 8 bed mixed dorm which was expected except turned up to a door that said it was a 4 person dorm inside was 6 beds (3 bunks) then got told it was an 'unofficial' 8 bed where people didn't pay for beds they just slept on the floor. Room was filthy my bed sheets had been used and woke up early hours noise outside and inside the dorm and 2people on the floor. And it stank!


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we take all of our guest’s comments on board so that we can make any necessary improvements. We are dissappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The signs outside the rooms are getting updated as unfortunatley some are incorrect so we apologise for the confusion. Other guests sometimes sneak others into the dorm, a quick nip down to reception & we could have had this issue sorted, and changed your room if necessary.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Love the fact that everyone helped each other. Staff were extremely helpful, and other guests too. Shared a room with 5 other people who were very friendly

Disliked: The only thing I can remember that I disliked was the smell of the room I was staying in. It seemed to smell of stale wee, but you couldn't smell anything after you'd stayed inside for a few minutes. The carpet needed to be changes, and maybe a coat of paint just to brighten the place up a little.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi, and thanks for taking the time to pass on your feedback. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We love to hear that you found our staff extremly helpful and that the other guests in your room made your stay even more enjoyable. One by one we are renovating the rooms and we plan to give the place a lick of paint. We hope to see you again in the near future. Safe Travels. The Base Brissy Crew Xx

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: nothing covient location is.

Disliked: most of it.


The property's response is

Hi Keith. Thanks for taking the time to leave some feedback. We think our hostel is in a fabulous location - just across from Central train station & one block from the main shopping district in the city so I am unsure why you have rated our location so low. We take all feedback on board and would have liked some more comments on what you disliked about the hostel so we could improve in those areas. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. The Base Brisbane Crew.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I like the offers of activities, like sport and partying.It's really good to be that close to the city.

Disliked: the kitchen is a bit too dirty

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Thanks for mentioning our activities. We think they are pretty awesome with a hostel activity being offered every day! In regards to the kitchen, it has just been painted and we are sourcing new furniture. So we are hoping once done it will be AWESOME. The kitchen is cleaned 5 times a day, unfortunately some guests are not as respectful as others and don't clean up after themselves. We do hope you enjoy the rest of your travels!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Close to the main strip for shopping and food

Disliked: Not enough secure storage for all members

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you and your mates enjoyed your stay with us. Most dorms have cupboards or under bed draws to store your personal items. Alternatively there are safe storage lockers near reception, and lockers you can hire in the luggage room. We hope to see you again in the near future. Happy Travels. The Base Crew!

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location, friendly staff

Disliked: Heard the down under bar very clearly in our dorm at night till 3am, kitchen is not well equipped and too small for that size of a hostel

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi, and thanks for taking the time to pass on your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed the service you received during your stay with us. Central is a party hostel with the Down Under Bar open 7 nights a week. Unfortunately sometimes the beats from the DUB can travel upstairs, but the bar does monitor its noise levels continuously throughout the night. If needed one of our friendly reception staff would have been happy to change your rooms. Safe travels!

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Fabulous central location, awesome views from the rooftop, nicely restored old building.

Disliked: A bit noisy at night, but I think its a fair trade off for such a good location.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Seasons Greetings. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We think we are fantastically located too - smack bang in the middle of Brisbane city. We are sorry to hear it was a bit noisy at night. We are a party hostel, but we do ask guests to keep the noise to a minimum after 10pm. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and hope to see you again in the future. Peace & Love, The Base Brissy Crew!

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: Noisy,unclean bed linen, no free wifi

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location next to the Central.

Disliked: Very loud in the night.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello! Thanks for your review. We are glad your group enjoyed your stay in our hostel. We pride ourselves on be party hostel so it can get a wee bit louder at night. We do ask guests to come down and see reception as soon as possible so we can help out with any issues. In this instance, we might have looked at changing your room. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. The Base Brissy Crew!

Check Availability