We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Base Brisbane - Central

Hostel | Corner Ann & Edward Streets, Brisbane, Australia .

69.5% Overall Rating

355 out of 509 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/09/2015)

"Proximity to city and Central Rail station. Twin Room was clean and the beds were comfy. We got a well-earned good night's sleep, ready to face another day of travelling further to visit family. The staff at reception…"

Read all Base Brisbane - Central reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brisbane

Base Brisbane-Embassy
17.70 USD

Hostel 71.3% 184 reviews
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
17.70 USD

Hostel 74.6% 158 reviews
Kookaburra Inn
29.39 USD

Guesthouse 91.2% 290 reviews
Bunk Backpackers
14.16 USD

Hostel 81.9% 455 reviews
Chill Backpackers
16.99 USD

Hostel 75.8% 226 reviews
Banana Bender Backpackers
17.70 USD

Hostel 82.3% 46 reviews
Brisbane City Backpackers
18.41 USD

Hostel 80.1% 748 reviews
Aussie Way Hostel
19.83 USD

Hostel 80.2% 301 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.5%

Overall Rating

355 out of 509 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Base Brisbane - Central'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
73.6%
Value
62.4%
Safety
64.8%
Refine your results Showing 324 of 363 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Sheppard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Location, the very helpful staff

Disliked: Not much character

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the kind staff...

Disliked: too noisy

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Lucy Jackson

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011

Liked: Great cheap bar and restaurant

Disliked: The staff were rude and unfriendly, the bar downstairs was directly below the room I stayed in and therefore was blasting music into our sleeping quarters until 4am - if I had known that there was a club so close to the rooms we never would have stayed here. Furthermore, I was seriously injured when trying to close a window in the room - it had no safety latch and it fell directly onto my finger, which is now fractured. The staff had no interest in helping us with either issue and made no effort to compensate us.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Samantha Baker

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

18 August 2011 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: The bar downstairs

Disliked: I had booked a twin room, and when we arrived we got a double room.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

17 August 2011

Liked: Nothing, the property is entirely filthy. I am no coming to this place.

Disliked: the property is entirely filthy. I am no coming to this place.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Toby Mullan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2011 Toby would recommend this property

Liked: PARTY PARTY PARTY!!!!

Disliked: nowt

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Toby Mullan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2011 Toby would recommend this property

Liked: Cool. Party Palace. Love it!!

Disliked: erm.....

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: central location, nice people

Disliked: bed sheets not so clean

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price

Disliked: Very old building and elevator, it looks like it's gonna break apart...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2011

Liked: Nothing, only good thing is the location.

Disliked: Everything

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

04 July 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Noise, grotty unclean toilets, prison cell like rooms

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2011

Liked: cheap meal sometimes at the pub like 5 dollar including a pint of beer

Disliked: some staffs are really rude at the reception ! capacity and mobility is high so the toilets are hard to maintained clean ! And VERY NOISY !!! people talking in the corridor all the time and there are windows / gap on the doors so you could just listen and probably join people's conversation easily !

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Ralf Wingen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2011

Liked: rooftop really cool

Disliked: only 1 kitchen, fire alarm goes off a lot

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Catherine Ellis

Alone

Visiting friends or family

30 May 2011

Liked: It was easy to find. Security was OK.

Disliked: I have stayed in over 30 Hostels worldwide and this is hands down the worst experience I have ever had. The double room that was booked was disgusting! I would not stay here again and am very disappointed that I wasted my money staying here this time. I spent as little time as possible at the property for many reasons - shared areas were not clean at any point. There was toilet paper and water (I assume) all over the bathroom floors, not just one but on different levels. The room was very disappointing, stained carpets, holes in the linen and pillow cases, windows that would not open, no ventilation in the room, the smell was gut wrenching and it was extremely small. The private room had a bed. That was the highlight - however, the mattress was in desperate need of replacement.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Adam Ahmet

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2011 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact I got a free upgrade, this made me happy.

Disliked: It seemed very unsociable as a hostel, perhaps as a result of it's size. It didn't have the same backpacker feel most good hostels do. Went to Embassy and the rooms are much nicer, its much more modern.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: there is lockers, bed lights and many electric powers in the room. good location. nice people.

Disliked: messy kitchen, many ppl didnt do their dishes. bathroom is big enough... but u can find many ants are having the shower with u@@

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Justin Scott-Matthews

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 May 2011 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located to almost everything in Brisbane. Within walking distance to most attractions and transport.

Disliked: No windows above the doors in the rooms so you can hear all the noises from every other room. The showers and toilets could use a good scrub as well.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

07 May 2011

Liked: position, fun

Disliked: value money, noise, durty place

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2011

Liked: The upstairs showers were nice.

Disliked: The doors are left open in your rooms! the kitchen is so filthy. The hallways stink of damp. Mostly the toilets don't work.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2011

Liked: allot of people to get to know

Disliked: expensive, not clean

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kelly Baker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2011 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: great old style building, large rooms and bathrooms, bar downstairs was wicked, location was fantastic - can walk to everything and the sushi place near is amazing !!!

Disliked: bit noisy but hey its party

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location.

Disliked: Air conditioning broken.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 March 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Noisy, dirty, smelly...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Conviniently located to the Central Train Station and within the CBD to conduct business. The staff were very kind and friendly and the arrangements for extra two days was no hassle.

Disliked: Some of the rooms definitely need some tender care. And a handy man would be necessary to fix up this including making sure there were no leaks. Whatever happened on the night that brought the fire and rescue services would not have happened if there was a little bit of TLC to the bathrooms and the rooms.