HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Base Brisbane - Central

Hostel | Corner Ann & Edward Streets, Brisbane, Australia .

68.0% Overall Rating

343 out of 488 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/08/2014)

Serra Battal thinks…

"The location is great, the private room was not big but it was not small either. The staff were very helpful and the hostel had a very good overall ambience. I bought a diet coke and as soon as I…"

Read all Base Brisbane - Central reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.24

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brisbane

Base Brisbane-Embassy
20.09 USD

Hostel 73.4% 179 reviews
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
18.34 USD

Hostel 77.7% 150 reviews
Kookaburra Inn
36.24 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 286 reviews
Bunk Backpackers
17.47 USD

Hostel 82.4% 416 reviews
Chill Backpackers
18.34 USD

Hostel 74.5% 217 reviews
Banana Bender Backpackers
22.71 USD

Hostel 79.4% 42 reviews
Brisbane City Backpackers
20.96 USD

Hostel 78.9% 738 reviews
Aussie Way Hostel
23.58 USD

Hostel 80.8% 293 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.0%

Overall Rating

343 out of 488 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Base Brisbane - Central'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
56.0%
Staff
73.6%
Value
64.8%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 306 of 342 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

07 May 2011

Liked: position, fun

Disliked: value money, noise, durty place

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2011

Liked: The upstairs showers were nice.

Disliked: The doors are left open in your rooms! the kitchen is so filthy. The hallways stink of damp. Mostly the toilets don't work.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2011

Liked: allot of people to get to know

Disliked: expensive, not clean

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kelly Baker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2011 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: great old style building, large rooms and bathrooms, bar downstairs was wicked, location was fantastic - can walk to everything and the sushi place near is amazing !!!

Disliked: bit noisy but hey its party

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location.

Disliked: Air conditioning broken.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 March 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Noisy, dirty, smelly...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Conviniently located to the Central Train Station and within the CBD to conduct business. The staff were very kind and friendly and the arrangements for extra two days was no hassle.

Disliked: Some of the rooms definitely need some tender care. And a handy man would be necessary to fix up this including making sure there were no leaks. Whatever happened on the night that brought the fire and rescue services would not have happened if there was a little bit of TLC to the bathrooms and the rooms.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location.

Disliked: Maybe because it's an old building, it's a bit noisy (when someone walk on the floor even outside the room!)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: was close to the city

Disliked: the fridge in the kitchen

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ben Reeson

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 February 2011 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: It is really well located and has good facilities and is also cheap!

Disliked: Nothing much. All seemed well. Some people couldn't work the old school lift, which was funny.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

John Butcher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2011

Liked: I needed to catch the early train out to the airport, so the location was excellent. Other wise I'd never stay there again.

Disliked: I stayed in a single room. My bed sheets were clean, but room floor dirty. The place is huge, it's a backer packer farm really. If u want some where with a chilled atmosphere, and alot less going on, don't stay here. On the other hand, if your looking for a busy non stop people every where kinda joint. Then book in !

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the City and Even closer to the central Station!

Disliked: There just 3 Toilets on each floor

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

20 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location

Disliked: Awful bathrooms

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2011

Liked: Location, right next to the main station and the city centre.

Disliked: I booked a double room for me and my gilrfriend and we got a tiny twin room. On arrival, there was water on the floor and on one of the beds. Rain was leaking from the roof inside the room. We had to change for 2 single rooms cause there was no other option available. We finally slept together in a single bed. Then we had to change again on the next day or a double room, that means check out at 10 am and check in again at 2 pm. We were homeless from 10 am to 2 pm, even though we had booked and paid for 2 days. There is noise and smell in the rooms, corridors, and sanitaries. Tiny size of the bedrooms, just enough to fit a bed. Poorly equipped rooms, no furniture apart from the bed, leave all your stuff on the floor. This hotel looks just like a factory, and seems just a goods means of making money out of backpackers. Wouldn't recommend this hotel to others, definitely won't come again.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Nikoletta Nadasi

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2011 Nikoletta would recommend this property

Liked: Location only. It was close to the city center.

Disliked: Dirt, noise, zero design...etc.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2011

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Everything.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Gustavo Cordero

Alone

City break

28 December 2010

Liked: The situation and cheap food

Disliked: All the rest, dirty, stupid staff (not all but some staff are stupid), there are rats and cokroaches (I saw 3 rats in 3 days!) No clean bathroom) Bedroom very very small and dirty, smell humidity and the floor is glue

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were very good

Disliked: not enough kitchen utensils

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ane Tillisch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2010 Ane would recommend this property

Liked: When I first got there I imagined a horror movie made by Steven king. The old fashion elevators, and the whole surroundings were just like it. I was afraid finding a dead body when going for a cigaret. Just kidding. The hostel was always very clean, and the staff was extremely kind and helpful. I absolutely LOVED it. Lots of space in the room, and a locker. The location was just amazing. Close to everything - just me who's unbelievable bad at finding places. And thats a fact! Ha ha. It was easy to find the Hostel, and is located next to some cool bars, with good prices.

Disliked: The only thing missing was a place to plug your rechargers in. Only one place to do that - Behind a bed. It was kind of difficult when theres 10 people staying there. But other than that, i might say it's my favorite hostel so far.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

19 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: central,cleane,helpfull,freunly staff

Disliked: dont no

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

19 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Dinner and Drink Meals

Disliked: The Hallways were a bit scruffy.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was awesome-right near Queen Street. Plus, the old building has a lot of charm, what with the 1950s elevator.

Disliked: The bathrooms are really old. In fact, everything is, but we're talking dirty as here.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds

Disliked: the staff were decent but not overly friendly, real moody bitch on the front dest that morning.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 November 2010

Liked: Location is fantastic, the bar/cafe has good cheap food.

Disliked: The noisiest hostel I have ever stayed in, the Wifi is horrendously expensive.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

17 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are very good: real clean linnen and a comfortable mattress.Bathroom was a bit dissapointing.

Disliked: The bathroom is used by a lot of people and is not very clean.