We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Base Brisbane - Central

Hostel | Corner Ann & Edward Streets, Brisbane, Australia .

69.8% Overall Rating

346 out of 496 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/11/2014)

Duncan Bewick thinks…

"Great staff, great bar, and stuff to do on everyday of week at hostel Overall a really good place to stay"

Read all Base Brisbane - Central reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.65

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brisbane

Base Brisbane-Embassy
17.81 USD

Hostel 73.1% 180 reviews
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
18.59 USD

Hostel 75.1% 157 reviews
Kookaburra Inn
32.14 USD

Guesthouse 90.9% 287 reviews
Bunk Backpackers
16.27 USD

Hostel 82.7% 432 reviews
Chill Backpackers
20.14 USD

Hostel 76.6% 222 reviews
Banana Bender Backpackers
21.69 USD

Hostel 79.4% 42 reviews
Brisbane City Backpackers
20.14 USD

Hostel 79.2% 743 reviews
Aussie Way Hostel
20.91 USD

Hostel 81.6% 297 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.8%

Overall Rating

346 out of 496 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Base Brisbane - Central'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
76.8%
Value
65.6%
Safety
65.6%
Refine your results Showing 313 of 350 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

04 July 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Noise, grotty unclean toilets, prison cell like rooms

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2011

Liked: cheap meal sometimes at the pub like 5 dollar including a pint of beer

Disliked: some staffs are really rude at the reception ! capacity and mobility is high so the toilets are hard to maintained clean ! And VERY NOISY !!! people talking in the corridor all the time and there are windows / gap on the doors so you could just listen and probably join people's conversation easily !

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Ralf Wingen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2011

Liked: rooftop really cool

Disliked: only 1 kitchen, fire alarm goes off a lot

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Catherine Ellis

Alone

Visiting friends or family

30 May 2011

Liked: It was easy to find. Security was OK.

Disliked: I have stayed in over 30 Hostels worldwide and this is hands down the worst experience I have ever had. The double room that was booked was disgusting! I would not stay here again and am very disappointed that I wasted my money staying here this time. I spent as little time as possible at the property for many reasons - shared areas were not clean at any point. There was toilet paper and water (I assume) all over the bathroom floors, not just one but on different levels. The room was very disappointing, stained carpets, holes in the linen and pillow cases, windows that would not open, no ventilation in the room, the smell was gut wrenching and it was extremely small. The private room had a bed. That was the highlight - however, the mattress was in desperate need of replacement.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Adam Ahmet

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2011 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact I got a free upgrade, this made me happy.

Disliked: It seemed very unsociable as a hostel, perhaps as a result of it's size. It didn't have the same backpacker feel most good hostels do. Went to Embassy and the rooms are much nicer, its much more modern.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: there is lockers, bed lights and many electric powers in the room. good location. nice people.

Disliked: messy kitchen, many ppl didnt do their dishes. bathroom is big enough... but u can find many ants are having the shower with u@@

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Justin Scott-Matthews

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 May 2011 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located to almost everything in Brisbane. Within walking distance to most attractions and transport.

Disliked: No windows above the doors in the rooms so you can hear all the noises from every other room. The showers and toilets could use a good scrub as well.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

07 May 2011

Liked: position, fun

Disliked: value money, noise, durty place

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2011

Liked: The upstairs showers were nice.

Disliked: The doors are left open in your rooms! the kitchen is so filthy. The hallways stink of damp. Mostly the toilets don't work.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2011

Liked: allot of people to get to know

Disliked: expensive, not clean

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kelly Baker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2011 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: great old style building, large rooms and bathrooms, bar downstairs was wicked, location was fantastic - can walk to everything and the sushi place near is amazing !!!

Disliked: bit noisy but hey its party

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location.

Disliked: Air conditioning broken.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 March 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Noisy, dirty, smelly...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Conviniently located to the Central Train Station and within the CBD to conduct business. The staff were very kind and friendly and the arrangements for extra two days was no hassle.

Disliked: Some of the rooms definitely need some tender care. And a handy man would be necessary to fix up this including making sure there were no leaks. Whatever happened on the night that brought the fire and rescue services would not have happened if there was a little bit of TLC to the bathrooms and the rooms.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location.

Disliked: Maybe because it's an old building, it's a bit noisy (when someone walk on the floor even outside the room!)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: was close to the city

Disliked: the fridge in the kitchen

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ben Reeson

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 February 2011 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: It is really well located and has good facilities and is also cheap!

Disliked: Nothing much. All seemed well. Some people couldn't work the old school lift, which was funny.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

John Butcher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2011

Liked: I needed to catch the early train out to the airport, so the location was excellent. Other wise I'd never stay there again.

Disliked: I stayed in a single room. My bed sheets were clean, but room floor dirty. The place is huge, it's a backer packer farm really. If u want some where with a chilled atmosphere, and alot less going on, don't stay here. On the other hand, if your looking for a busy non stop people every where kinda joint. Then book in !

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the City and Even closer to the central Station!

Disliked: There just 3 Toilets on each floor

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

20 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location

Disliked: Awful bathrooms

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2011

Liked: Location, right next to the main station and the city centre.

Disliked: I booked a double room for me and my gilrfriend and we got a tiny twin room. On arrival, there was water on the floor and on one of the beds. Rain was leaking from the roof inside the room. We had to change for 2 single rooms cause there was no other option available. We finally slept together in a single bed. Then we had to change again on the next day or a double room, that means check out at 10 am and check in again at 2 pm. We were homeless from 10 am to 2 pm, even though we had booked and paid for 2 days. There is noise and smell in the rooms, corridors, and sanitaries. Tiny size of the bedrooms, just enough to fit a bed. Poorly equipped rooms, no furniture apart from the bed, leave all your stuff on the floor. This hotel looks just like a factory, and seems just a goods means of making money out of backpackers. Wouldn't recommend this hotel to others, definitely won't come again.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Nikoletta Nadasi

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2011 Nikoletta would recommend this property

Liked: Location only. It was close to the city center.

Disliked: Dirt, noise, zero design...etc.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2011

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Everything.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Gustavo Cordero

Alone

City break

28 December 2010

Liked: The situation and cheap food

Disliked: All the rest, dirty, stupid staff (not all but some staff are stupid), there are rats and cokroaches (I saw 3 rats in 3 days!) No clean bathroom) Bedroom very very small and dirty, smell humidity and the floor is glue

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were very good

Disliked: not enough kitchen utensils