HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Nomads Brisbane Brisbane Hostel

308 Edward Street, Brisbane, Australia

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 69%

Facilities 70%

Location 95%

Safety 76%

Staff 79%

Value 75%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Important Information

All reservations between 23th December 2016 and 3th January 2017 require a minimum 5-night consecutive stay.
All bookings over this period will be charged in full on the 1 December.
Failure of payment will result in cancelled bookings!
Credit cards will incur a 2% fee.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 69%

Facilities 70%

Location 95%

Safety 76%

Staff 79%

Value 75%

Showing 31-40 of 123 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: Does what it says on the tin. Massive place, good facilities.

Disliked: Too big for me, I prefer 'cosier' hostels'.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Central is our biggest hostel in Brisbane and prides ourselves on being a party hostel. If you were after smaller cosier hostels, I would recommend our Embassy property on Elizabeth St. They are much smaller than Central and cosier. Embassy also offers double ensuite rooms. Maybe next time you are in Brisbane, you can stay at Embassy. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Comfortable beds, friendly staff

Disliked: Dirty kitchen, heating turned up too high in the bedrooms, bathroom closed for cleaning in the run up to checkout time

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking a moment of your time to leave a review. We are super happy to hear you found our beds comfortable and the staff friendly. We are disappointed to hear you found the kitchen dirty. It is cleaned 5 times a day but we have found that sometimes some people do not respect others and don't clean up after themselves. In regards to the bathrooms I will follow that up with our housekeeping manager as they are normally finished cleaning the bathroom by 8:30am. Enjoy your travels.

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location Staff

Disliked: Coming from someone who stayed at wake up and bounce in Sydney, this place is disgusting! It is old and needs renovating! I was on the 3rd floor and the lifts didn't work, had to walk 3 flights of stairs each time and at night could hear the music from downstairs. the rooms are dirty and the beds creak..I had booked 2 nights but left the next day to YHA far cleaner! Stay at a different base but not central!


The property's response is

We are disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Central is located in a very old heritage listed building. We are gradually renovating our bathrooms and updating our rooms, but unfortunately some things, such as our lift are heritage listed, and the lift does on occasion decides it need a break. As for the rooms being dirty we have an awesome housekeeping team that service the rooms daily. Sometimes guests spread their stuff out in the room which can be a little inconsiderate.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Very helpful staff!Awesome atmosphere

Disliked: All the doors are really big, bulky and heavy! Made it hard manoeuvring through them with lots of luggage.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Jade. Thanks for leaving an amazing review. This makes up very happy! We are glad our staff were extremely helpful during your stay. In regards to the doors? Do you mean the lift? Unforutnately as its super old - heritage listed, you do have to manually open them and it is a bit of a bugger at times especially with lots of bags. But we love our lift as its so unique. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. The Base Brissy Crew.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location right opposite Central train station is awesome. Staff were helpful and friendly. Convenient to all entertainment facilities and eateries of the CBD.

Disliked: The bathroom facilities need updating.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

HI Darryl, Thank you so much for leaving an awesome review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for bringing up the bathrooms. They do need updating and we are currently in the process of renovating the bathrooms. We have started on level 1 and are working our way up. Our single rooms will also be getting a bit of a facelift. We hope you see you again soon. Peace & Love, The Base Brissy Crew.

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Very dirty rooms, disgusting beds, old and ran down bathrooms. Holes in the walls and womit on them and on the windows. Music playing the whole night until 5 a.m.Staff was very slow and not motivated at the check in.Wenn checked out after one night even though we booked two nights.


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback. Our rooms and bathrooms are going through renovation at the moment and will be more accommodating once finished. Base Central is a party hostel, where the bar takes noise levels seriously & monitors the levels all night. The beats from downstairs can at times travel up & we can arrange to room move you with our 24 hour reception team. If you were after a quieter hostel Base Embassy would have been perfect. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location is awesome and weekend roadside parking!

Disliked: The smell

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we appreciate it immensely when guests let us know what they think. We are proud that the location is so close to everything in the city and the weekend street parking is a nice little bonus. Unfortunately it was raining heavily for about 3 weeks during your stay causing most buildings to have a damp smell. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: location & price

Disliked: toilets & showers clean but dated

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We take all of our guest’s feedback on board so that we can make any necessary improvements & improve our service for our guests. We think our location is perfect and is so close to everything in the city & just across the road from Central Train Station. Our bathrooms are currently undergoing renovations at the moment. Unfortunately we can only close one at a time as we do not want to inconvenience our guests any more than necessary.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Loved the location and price of the hostel.Beds were comfy enough and was given a blanket when asked.

Disliked: Noise from the music in the bar was SO loud.Bed linen was just a sheet. Got cold in the night and had to ask for a blanket.Bathrooms are a bit outdated and could do with a refurb.


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Brissy is getting a wee bit chilly (10degrees at night) so we do have extra blankets for guests to borrow when needed. At the moment we are offering great deals online making our prices extremely competitive, and we're right in the middle of the city too. Our bathrooms are currently undergoing renovations at the moment. Unfortunately we can only close one at a time as we do not want to inconvenience guests more than necessary. Safe travels.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location

Disliked: It was very lound coz of the night club

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Pawel. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I'm glad the location was great for you, we are very conveniently located. At Central we do pride ourselves on being a party hostel. Sometimes, the beats from downstairs can at times travel up to the rooms. The Down Under Bar takes noise levels seriously and monitors the levels all night. In future if you are after a quiet hostel, we do have Base Brisbane Embassy - it doesn't have a bar connected to it and is a more relaxed, quieter hostel.

Check Availability