HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Base Brisbane - Central Brisbane

Hostel

308 Edward Street, Brisbane, Australia

Atmosphere 71%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 66%

Location 97%

Safety 72%

Staff 76%

Value 68%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 4.53USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 71%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 66%

Location 97%

Safety 72%

Staff 76%

Value 68%

Showing 31-40 of 60 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Very helpful staff!Awesome atmosphere

Disliked: All the doors are really big, bulky and heavy! Made it hard manoeuvring through them with lots of luggage.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Jade. Thanks for leaving an amazing review. This makes up very happy! We are glad our staff were extremely helpful during your stay. In regards to the doors? Do you mean the lift? Unforutnately as its super old - heritage listed, you do have to manually open them and it is a bit of a bugger at times especially with lots of bags. But we love our lift as its so unique. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. The Base Brissy Crew.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location right opposite Central train station is awesome. Staff were helpful and friendly. Convenient to all entertainment facilities and eateries of the CBD.

Disliked: The bathroom facilities need updating.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

HI Darryl, Thank you so much for leaving an awesome review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for bringing up the bathrooms. They do need updating and we are currently in the process of renovating the bathrooms. We have started on level 1 and are working our way up. Our single rooms will also be getting a bit of a facelift. We hope you see you again soon. Peace & Love, The Base Brissy Crew.

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Very dirty rooms, disgusting beds, old and ran down bathrooms. Holes in the walls and womit on them and on the windows. Music playing the whole night until 5 a.m.Staff was very slow and not motivated at the check in.Wenn checked out after one night even though we booked two nights.


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback. Our rooms and bathrooms are going through renovation at the moment and will be more accommodating once finished. Base Central is a party hostel, where the bar takes noise levels seriously & monitors the levels all night. The beats from downstairs can at times travel up & we can arrange to room move you with our 24 hour reception team. If you were after a quieter hostel Base Embassy would have been perfect. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location is awesome and weekend roadside parking!

Disliked: The smell

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we appreciate it immensely when guests let us know what they think. We are proud that the location is so close to everything in the city and the weekend street parking is a nice little bonus. Unfortunately it was raining heavily for about 3 weeks during your stay causing most buildings to have a damp smell. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: location & price

Disliked: toilets & showers clean but dated

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We take all of our guest’s feedback on board so that we can make any necessary improvements & improve our service for our guests. We think our location is perfect and is so close to everything in the city & just across the road from Central Train Station. Our bathrooms are currently undergoing renovations at the moment. Unfortunately we can only close one at a time as we do not want to inconvenience our guests any more than necessary.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Loved the location and price of the hostel.Beds were comfy enough and was given a blanket when asked.

Disliked: Noise from the music in the bar was SO loud.Bed linen was just a sheet. Got cold in the night and had to ask for a blanket.Bathrooms are a bit outdated and could do with a refurb.


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Brissy is getting a wee bit chilly (10degrees at night) so we do have extra blankets for guests to borrow when needed. At the moment we are offering great deals online making our prices extremely competitive, and we're right in the middle of the city too. Our bathrooms are currently undergoing renovations at the moment. Unfortunately we can only close one at a time as we do not want to inconvenience guests more than necessary. Safe travels.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location

Disliked: It was very lound coz of the night club

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Pawel. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I'm glad the location was great for you, we are very conveniently located. At Central we do pride ourselves on being a party hostel. Sometimes, the beats from downstairs can at times travel up to the rooms. The Down Under Bar takes noise levels seriously and monitors the levels all night. In future if you are after a quiet hostel, we do have Base Brisbane Embassy - it doesn't have a bar connected to it and is a more relaxed, quieter hostel.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Clean comfortable beds best night sleep in a hostel so far!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are super happy we were able to provide you with your best night sleep in a hostel so far. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and we hope you see you again soon. The Base Brissy Crew!

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is pretty good

Disliked: You can't sleep due to the nightclub below.


The property's response is

Hi. Thank you for your feedback. We think our hostel is in a fabulous location too - just across from Central train station & one block from the main shopping district in the city. 15minutes over the river and you are at South Bank Parklands where you can enjoy a swim in Brissy man made beach. The bar takes noise levels seriously & monitors the levels all night. The beats from downstairs can at times travel up & we do provide ear plugs to guests that are having trouble sleeping due to noise.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Perfectly located in the city

Disliked: We were treated very badly when complaining for the reasoning of only having one plug socket in a four bedroom dorm. The receptionist on was more interested in talking to his friend then dealing with our simple request for an extension cable. We weren't even offered one for the next day when we went back. This should come with the price of the room.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello. Thanks for leaving a review. We are sorry to hear about your issue with the plug socket. We are an old heritage listed building and unfortunatley back in the day not many people needed plug sockets to charge their phones, cameras, laptops, hair straightners and all other devices we now can't seem to live without. Due to the wiring of the building we havent been able to change this, however, we now offer at reception an power board extension for a small deposit which guest can borrow.

Check Availability