We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Base Brisbane - Central

Hostel | Corner Ann & Edward Streets, Brisbane, Australia .

68.0% Overall Rating

343 out of 488 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/08/2014)

Serra Battal thinks…

"The location is great, the private room was not big but it was not small either. The staff were very helpful and the hostel had a very good overall ambience. I bought a diet coke and as soon as I…"

Read all Base Brisbane - Central reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.37

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brisbane

Base Brisbane-Embassy
21.50 USD

Hostel 74.2% 178 reviews
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
17.91 USD

Hostel 75.2% 147 reviews
Kookaburra Inn
37.17 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 286 reviews
Bunk Backpackers
20.60 USD

Hostel 84.1% 415 reviews
Chill Backpackers
23.29 USD

Hostel 74.5% 217 reviews
Banana Bender Backpackers
23.29 USD

Hostel 79.4% 42 reviews
Brisbane City Backpackers
20.60 USD

Hostel 78.6% 737 reviews
Aussie Way Hostel
24.18 USD

Hostel 80.8% 293 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.0%

Overall Rating

343 out of 488 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Base Brisbane - Central'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
56.0%
Staff
73.6%
Value
64.8%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 306 of 342 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: Noisy, dirty, no space in room

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Peter Bett

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and quirky building

Disliked: Funny smell in room and hallways. Pretty noisy in the morning which is not at all unusual for a hostel

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Accommodation was comfortable, bathrooms were clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

NIKITA ODDY

Alone

Business / conference

14 April 2012

Liked: It is next to the train station, there is a 24 hour check in desk, and the girls' bathroom has swipe key access.

Disliked: It smelt bad, the rooms have a vent above the door that lets in lots of light and noise,and the bedding (blanket) looked shabby.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

06 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was centrally located. It was literally kiddie corner from central station which made transit really very easy. Located above a bar which made it easy to get out for the night as well.

Disliked: Shortly after arrival me and my girlfriend were changing and someone entered the room. The front desk put two different parties in my private room. It made my girlfriend very uncomfortable for her first hostel experience.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its very central

Disliked: it was quite noisy because of other travellers at night time

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2012

Liked: the location

Disliked: elevator,showers and carpets need an upgrade desperately.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Lowe

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

07 March 2012 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly! I also LOVE the bar underneath (we went on the recommendation of one of the staff members and were very impressed!)

Disliked: N/A

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 March 2012

Liked: Location is great, very close to central station and city. It has an elevator and I had a heavy suitcase so that was great!!

Disliked: The rooms smell, the kitchen is very dirty and there are few bathrooms per floor. My room was very far from the bathroom. The bed linens were not clean and the beds do not have a light as in many other base hostels, so if you want to sleep you have to turn off the room light and the rest of the people cannot do anything, or the other way...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very convenient

Disliked: too old building

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Thomas Fairbrother

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and friendly people

Disliked: Variety of prices people paid for rooms, best to ring them. Room smelt pretty bad and noisy with bar downstairs

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2012

Liked: I liked the location.

Disliked: I disliked the size of the room and the fact that it was too noisy at night.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2012

Liked: Location to Brisbane city centre was really close and also to the Central Metro Station which is highly useful in getting the AirTrain if required.

Disliked: The kitchen was far too small for the amount of people staying at the hostel plus the cleanliness of the overall hostel was a mess. A dead cockroach was located outside my room and i had a mini lizard in my dorm share. The kitchen was also in a disgusting state with lack of cleaning facilities in decent condition.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location,. Travel desk. Restaurant/bar next door serving cheap meals & drinks (although can be quite noisy if you stay on the first floor)

Disliked: Compared to other Base hostels I have stayed in it was not as clean & definitely hasn't had a refurbish for some time. We stayed on the 1st floor, rooms were nice enough and spacious but staying on this floor can be noisy due to the music playing in the bar below.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Rebecca Willey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2012

Liked: Close to the CBD, staff were helpful

Disliked: Bathroom was disgusting, kitchen was filthy!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

11 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Victorian style building

Disliked: small tv lounge and dvd player was broke

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jennifer Marshall

Alone

City break
Shopping

18 December 2011 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: close to city go in and out of building 24 hours a day

Disliked: nil

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

john richardson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

13 December 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything, the kitchen is hurrendously dirty, my food was stolen.... Ive seen nicer streets to sleep on... Do not ever stay at this hostel

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

12 December 2011

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: The most disgusting hostel we've been to. Kitchen was dirty, bloodstains on sheets, pillows were stained yellow, water all over the kitchen floors, gum in all the sinks, 2 small pots for the whole hostel, the doors all have an opening at the top so you can hear everyone in the hallway. announcements on the PA system all the time. worst hostel by far.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Superb location in a building full of character.

Disliked: You have to pay to use a locker ($5 for 4 hours or $8 for each day!).

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2011

Liked: Nothing. I would not recommend this hostel!

Disliked: Extremely noisy with drunken people sitting in the corridors talking all night. Bathroom facilities were filthy and room was small and not clean. Access is difficult with old lift - dirty carpets and walls. Place very run down.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Rob cash

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2011 Rob would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the centre opposite the central train station so easy to get around. 24 hour reception is good too unlike Base Emmbassy.

Disliked: Room was very basic and there was not many places to chill out but there is a good bar down stairs.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2011

Liked: Its location

Disliked: pretty dirty rooms

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2011

Liked: it was cheap and clean

Disliked: too big, way to restrooms was too far