HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Nomads Brisbane Brisbane Hostel

308 Edward Street, Brisbane, Australia

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 69%

Facilities 70%

Location 95%

Safety 76%

Staff 79%

Value 75%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Important Information

All reservations between 23th December 2016 and 3th January 2017 require a minimum 5-night consecutive stay.
All bookings over this period will be charged in full on the 1 December.
Failure of payment will result in cancelled bookings!
Credit cards will incur a 2% fee.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 69%

Facilities 70%

Location 95%

Safety 76%

Staff 79%

Value 75%

Showing 21-30 of 123 reviews

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Only good thing about this hostel is the location

Disliked: In serious need of a renovation. So run down and dirty. Buckets down the corridors catching water leaks.

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: The location

Disliked: We booked two rooms for 9 people and when we arrived we were told that we will be in 3 different rooms.The room was so hot because the air conditioner was broken and in another rooms as a cockroach..I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Rooms were clean and quite. Friendly staff, great location.

Disliked: Bathroom and laundry facilities very dated.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Lauren, thanks so much for your review. I am really pleased you enjoyed your time at Base Central. Unfortunately we are an old building but we think that brings us a little character. Enjoy the rest of your travels.Thank-you, JM.

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: location is right in the middle of the CBD

Disliked: I have stayed in at least 80 hostels in the past few years, this is one of the worst! This is a total party hostel and not the good kind! The bathrooms are dirty but what's even worse is that there were holes in the walls, so that you could see the person in the toilet cabin next to you!!! ... Half of the showers on our floor were not working and so the other showers were overcrowded. The hostel's policy forbids alcohol and smoking which means that people get drunk and smoke weed in the dorm rooms instead of the common areas! People are also dealing with drugs! The lockers in my room were all broken and could not be used (doors were either missing or ripped out). The rooms are extremely noisy because people are partying in the rooms and the hallways, the air con is very old and so loud that it wakes you up all the time (even if you use ear plugs). The whole hostel is dirty - especially the kitchen, which is also too small for so many people. There is not enough place to store your food and no free food box. The staff were not unfriendly but they simply do not care because there are so many people staying in the hostel that it is just "mass production" for them and that's how you're being treated.

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location was good. situated in cbd.

Disliked: It was dirty and too hot in the rooms. The bathrooms were broken and dirty as well. It was smelling in the whole hostel. I've never stayed in such a bad hostel and would never go there again.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great staff, great bar, and stuff to do on everyday of week at hostelOverall a really good place to stay

Disliked: Was very noisy at night time, so much for the no alcohol rule, it went out the window

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you are enjoying your stay with us. As for the alcohol, we have a strict no alcohol policy and any alcohol brought into the hostel will be confiscated. We have two bars downstairs - the zi bar and the downunder bar where guests can go full on flat out 7 days a week.

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location, staff was helpful

Disliked: Very outdated from the ancient elevator that you have to physically hold open while you try to get all your luggage in to the rooms that have an open space above the door (although visually appealing, everything echoes from the hallway into the room and vice versa), bathroom water temperatures are extremes as they go from freezing to scorchingly hot (typically small things like this don't bother me, but it was that extreme), the double room was definitely not worth the price. with two suitcases in the room it was hard to maneuver because the room was so small. extremely hot, the ac didn't apparently reach the room, and the fan didn't work.


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to hear you didnt fully love your stay with us, but we did notice that you stayed longer than your original booking. We love our hertiage listed elevator. It is a wee bit old school and yes you have to hold open the doors, but we think it adds charm to our over 100 year old property. The same goes for the grates above the doors. Unfotuntaley these are heritage listed and we cannot change them. We hope you enjoy your travels.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is great, the private room was not big but it was not small either. The staff were very helpful and the hostel had a very good overall ambience. I bought a diet coke and as soon as I opened it, it split all over the floor. I still had 2 days until check out but I found the cleaner on my floor (4th floor) and told him what happened. A few seconds after I went back to my room, he had already cleaned it. I never learned his name but if someone from Base Central is reading it, give that guy a pet on the shoulder. He did a good job and he had a good smile!

Disliked: No free wifi, the wifi doesn't work properly on 4th floor. No kitchenCold bathrooms

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello Serra. Thank you for taking the time for leaving a review. We are super happy you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff to be very helpful. We will definitely be letting our housekeeper know how awesome he is. As for the wifi as it is outsourced so unfortunately there is a small cost involved. We think that $4 for 24hours and $12 for a week is very reasonable for any budget conscious traveller. As for the kitchen, we have a self catering kitchen on the ground floor. Safe Travels.

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: The bar

Disliked: Dirty, disgusting room/sheets. Rude staff on checking in, speaking to a member of a group like a school child then preceeding to make us wait 10minutes to check in as he was "only coming on shift" despite two other members of staff behind the counter doing nothing at the time

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: location

Disliked: roach ou cockroach

Check Availability