HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)

Hostel | 462 George Street, Brisbane, Australia QLD 4000

77.7% Overall Rating

113 out of 150 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/09/2014)

"Kitchen was very large and had everything you needed, there were outlets by each bed with a light (very handy), lockers were in every room as well as storage lockers outside, washrooms were plentiful, facilities overall…"

Read all Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly) reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.37
  • Towel USD 1.75

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brisbane

Base Brisbane - Central
20.09 USD

Hostel 68.0% 488 reviews
Chill Backpackers
22.71 USD

Hostel 74.5% 217 reviews
Banana Bender Backpackers
22.71 USD

Hostel 79.4% 42 reviews
Brisbane City Backpackers
20.96 USD

Hostel 78.9% 738 reviews
Yellow Submarine Backpackers
16.59 USD

Hostel 70.2% 28 reviews
Brisbane City YHA
32.75 USD

Hostel 85.8% 163 reviews
Aussie Way Hostel
23.58 USD

Hostel 80.8% 293 reviews
Base Brisbane-Embassy
20.09 USD

Hostel 73.4% 179 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.7%

Overall Rating

113 out of 150 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
86.4%
Value
78.4%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 93 of 102 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen was very large and had everything you needed, there were outlets by each bed with a light (very handy), lockers were in every room as well as storage lockers outside, washrooms were plentiful, facilities overall were excellent

Disliked: A fairly large hostel, hard to meet people if you are a solo traveller

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, across the train station (airport link- roma- street) next to a bar and breakfast places, in the middle of the city. nice staff, willing to help with everything (checked me in early, free upgrade, elevator wasn't working, offered to take luggage upstairs) nice comfy beds, bathroom ensuite (a bit worn but clean) tv area next to kitchen (they also have a tv room) and organise tours/events

Disliked: not the best place to meet fellow travelers, but perfect if you need to rest, have a break of traveling, cheap place to stay while looking for a job.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: handy to rail and town

Disliked: sheets too short

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kasmira Gregory

Alone

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

10 August 2014 Kasmira would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a 4-bed female dorm. The dorm was very clean and the keycards meant it felt very secure. The bedding was more than adequate. The staff were super helpful when I arrived and when I checked out. The girl behind the desk explained all the discounts available with the card, gave directions to cheap bars and so on. 20% discount of food and drinks at the bar downstairs was well appreciated also! The kitchen was well-supplied with facilities, heaps of fridges, storage space, stove, bench space etc. There was a $10 deposit if you needed crockery but it was refundable as far as I know (I didn't need it). There were a lot of warnings about noise but I had no problems whatsoever! Noise from the bar downstairs was at a very reasonable level even though it was Saturday night and all the other guests kept their frivolities respectful when it got late. You expect some noise - it's a hostel, after all - but it's nice when it's kept fair.

Disliked: I always object to having to pay for wifi just because so many places I've stayed do it for free, or at least have free internet on hostel-supplied computers. Here it's Global Gossip which always feels very expensive to me. The kitchen was a pit, but tbh I sort of expect that from such a large hostel especially since I was in there at peak dinner time. Bathroom looked clean but smelt very mouldy. There weren't any lockers in the room, which I didn't mind too much since the rooms themselves were secure and I was in a small dorm, but would have made me uncomfortable if I was sharing with more people I think. Not sure if guests have control over the temperature of the heaters/aircon in the room, I couldn't find a remote anywhere, which meant the room got overly hot and stuffy overnight. Blind wouldn't wind all the way down in my room and there was a horribly bright light directly outside it, which was very unfortunate. Not sure if it was broken or a design flaw.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location.

Disliked: Cleaning products smelt strong and unpleasant. Announcements over loudspeaker in rooms re free beer or similar. Lockers were charged extra for and out of order during my stay.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christopher O'Sullivan-Duffy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

29 June 2014 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and nice. It has everything you could need on a basic level - i.e. the rooms and bathrooms were kept clean and at the time that I stayed the hostel was quite quiet and you could get a good nights sleep. Also the events such as the walking tour were greatly appreciated especially as I was travelling on my own.

Disliked: There seemed to be a bit of an issue with food going missing in the kitchen. Not really the fault of the property but just something to be aware of. Also the rooms could do with a lick of paint but I wasn't really there for the decor of the place

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Charlotte Sachs

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2014 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean. Good breakfast deal. Nice staff.

Disliked: Would of been nice to have a better common room area and more plugs. The only downfall was the people in our room who left stuff everywhere which made it difficult to move.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The overall experience

Disliked: The cleeningness

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rodrigo Costa de Jesus

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2014

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Terrible to find a place to park the car. The staff was not too helpful.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

amy wilson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 March 2014 amy would recommend this property

Liked: The bar downstairs and the food served there. Location to station.

Disliked: Only one bathroom in our room on that floor split with 13 people therefore not that clean.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2014

Liked: Good location close to the rail station

Disliked: The WiFi doesn't work, the staff is not friendly and when you have a problem (with the WiFi for example) they don't help, they say to call the technical service, and when I explain that I need help because my English is bad by phone, they don't want to help me. Air conditioned too cold, I fall very sick because it was broken and they couldn't fix it.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Emily Fewster

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 January 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Location and bar next door

Disliked: The shower was pretty pathetic

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

HOU-YIN LIOU

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2013

Liked: roommates are freindly

Disliked: room is too small and there isn't a hairdryer no free wifi

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location just opposite to Transit Centre

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeanne Oden

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2013 Jeanne would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in this Hostel for 3 nights in Oct. and the last night was Halloween. Big party downstairs but our room was quiet. Room and en suite bathroom clean.

Disliked: Jeanne left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2013

Liked: Free rice and pasta was very appreciated.

Disliked: There was no air conditioning in the whole hostel. The kitchen was so hot that you had to take breaks from being in there. Rooms got so hot at night most people slept in underwear because of the heat. I understand that this is Australia, but this is the first hostel I have come across with this issue. This heat factor was so huge, we decided to find another hostel to stay in for our second week. The internet was also impossibly slow.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mallory Treweeke

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

30 September 2013 Mallory would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed it :)

Disliked: Mallory left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2013

Liked: The staff were friendly

Disliked: Once I arrived at the hostel I was told that I had booked the wrong dates and that my card had been charged for the night I wasn't there. After explaining what the date was that day, they realised that they had got it wrong. Not the best first impression, but it was resolved well. The Kitchen was so dirty that I could only bear to cook one meal during my entire weeks stay.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

SO MAN SHUN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2013 SO would recommend this property

Liked: convenient location

Disliked: a bit expensive

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the Transit Centre, good Location , friendly Staff

Disliked: Something like a Lounge, a Room where everybody can Hang out together was missing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: small, untidy rooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was pretty awesome, the pub underneath was a winner too

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

28 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the Brisbane Transit Centre and the city.

Disliked: Doona covers and bedsheets are not washed for each guest, only pillow cover. Residents in dorms are noisy, dirty and messy. No consideration for other guests. No free WI-FI

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location convenient to suncorp stadium

Disliked: Nothing