HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly) Brisbane

Hostel

462 George Street, Brisbane, Australia

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 71%

Facilities 66%

Location 91%

Safety 76%

Staff 82%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 3.79USD
  • Towel 1.52USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 71%

Facilities 66%

Location 91%

Safety 76%

Staff 82%

Value 81%

Showing 1-10 of 30 reviews

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Loved the location and bar nearby.

Disliked: The place was not so tidy, and the room was freezing. The aircon was broken, so we couldn't turn up the heat. The shower in the bathroombwas broke - only boiling water came out.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good A/C, Kitchen

Disliked: $4 dollars a day for wifi

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The location is quite convenient ��

Disliked: Only one toilet in a 13 ppl dorms room,wait a long time to use it

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Spacious hostel. Good location

Disliked: I stayed in a 13 bed dorm with bathroom and the bathroom was extremely dirty all the time

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel has a nice and comfortable living area.

Disliked: We were in a 10 Bed Dorm, the room was okay but the bathroom was quit old. It wasn't directly dirty so for us it was no problem.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Kitchen was very large and had everything you needed, there were outlets by each bed with a light (very handy), lockers were in every room as well as storage lockers outside, washrooms were plentiful, facilities overall were excellent

Disliked: A fairly large hostel, hard to meet people if you are a solo traveller

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: great location, across the train station (airport link- roma- street) next to a bar and breakfast places, in the middle of the city.nice staff, willing to help with everything (checked me in early, free upgrade, elevator wasn't working, offered to take luggage upstairs) nice comfy beds, bathroom ensuite (a bit worn but clean)tv area next to kitchen (they also have a tv room) and organise tours/events

Disliked: not the best place to meet fellow travelers, but perfect if you need to rest, have a break of traveling, cheap place to stay while looking for a job.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey there, Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to leave a review. I'm very glad you liked the location, staff, activites and the room. Good luck with your future travels and hopefully we might see you again, Base Brisbane Uptown Crew :-)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: handy to rail and town

Disliked: sheets too short

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello! Thank you for your feedback and for leaving a review. Our location is definately one of our best features. I'm sorry the sheets were too short for your bed. I will check with the housekeepers and see if there is another way they can make the beds to try and reduce this issue. Thanks again and safe travels :-)

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I stayed in a 4-bed female dorm. The dorm was very clean and the keycards meant it felt very secure. The bedding was more than adequate.The staff were super helpful when I arrived and when I checked out. The girl behind the desk explained all the discounts available with the card, gave directions to cheap bars and so on.20% discount of food and drinks at the bar downstairs was well appreciated also!The kitchen was well-supplied with facilities, heaps of fridges, storage space, stove, bench space etc. There was a $10 deposit if you needed crockery but it was refundable as far as I know (I didn't need it).There were a lot of warnings about noise but I had no problems whatsoever! Noise from the bar downstairs was at a very reasonable level even though it was Saturday night and all the other guests kept their frivolities respectful when it got late. You expect some noise - it's a hostel, after all - but it's nice when it's kept fair.

Disliked: I always object to having to pay for wifi just because so many places I've stayed do it for free, or at least have free internet on hostel-supplied computers. Here it's Global Gossip which always feels very expensive to me.The kitchen was a pit, but tbh I sort of expect that from such a large hostel especially since I was in there at peak dinner time.Bathroom looked clean but smelt very mouldy.There weren't any lockers in the room, which I didn't mind too much since the rooms themselves were secure and I was in a small dorm, but would have made me uncomfortable if I was sharing with more people I think.Not sure if guests have control over the temperature of the heaters/aircon in the room, I couldn't find a remote anywhere, which meant the room got overly hot and stuffy overnight.Blind wouldn't wind all the way down in my room and there was a horribly bright light directly outside it, which was very unfortunate. Not sure if it was broken or a design flaw.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lengthy review. I'm very happy to hear you liked the staff and they were helpful with any questions you had. I'm to hear that other backpackers were considerate of the noise and luckily we have a soundproof building so it helps miminise noise from inside and outside the hostel. We had to remove all AC remotes from rooms because they were constantly getting stolen which is sad. Thank you again and safe travels :-)

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Clean, good location.

Disliked: Cleaning products smelt strong and unpleasant. Announcements over loudspeaker in rooms re free beer or similar. Lockers were charged extra for and out of order during my stay.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey there, Thanks for leaving a review. You'll be happy to know that we are currently working on changing out cleaning chemicals to more natural ones to hopefully reduce any smells. We have had problems with our lockers but you'd be happy to hear that they have just been serviced and are back in full working order! Yay! Thanks again and safe travels :-)

Check Availability