HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)

Hostel | 462 George Street, Brisbane, Australia QLD 4000

74.9% Overall Rating

106 out of 142 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/06/2014)

Christopher O'Sullivan-Duffy thinks…

"The staff were very helpful and nice. It has everything you could need on a basic level - i.e. the rooms and bathrooms were kept clean and at the time that I stayed the hostel was quite quiet and you…"

Read all Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly) reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.58
  • Towel USD 1.86

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brisbane

Base Brisbane - Central
18.62 USD

Hostel 68.7% 482 reviews
Chill Backpackers
24.20 USD

Hostel 75.1% 215 reviews
Cloud9 Backpackers
18.62 USD

Hostel 54.3% 109 reviews
Banana Bender Backpackers
24.20 USD

Hostel 79.4% 42 reviews
Brisbane City Backpackers
24.20 USD

Hostel 76.2% 735 reviews
Yellow Submarine Backpackers
14.89 USD

Hostel 72.7% 24 reviews
Brisbane City YHA
30.71 USD

Hostel 86.6% 161 reviews
Aussie Way Hostel
25.13 USD

Hostel 80.3% 290 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.9%

Overall Rating

106 out of 142 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
83.2%
Value
75.2%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 89 of 96 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location.

Disliked: Cleaning products smelt strong and unpleasant. Announcements over loudspeaker in rooms re free beer or similar. Lockers were charged extra for and out of order during my stay.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christopher O'Sullivan-Duffy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

29 June 2014 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and nice. It has everything you could need on a basic level - i.e. the rooms and bathrooms were kept clean and at the time that I stayed the hostel was quite quiet and you could get a good nights sleep. Also the events such as the walking tour were greatly appreciated especially as I was travelling on my own.

Disliked: There seemed to be a bit of an issue with food going missing in the kitchen. Not really the fault of the property but just something to be aware of. Also the rooms could do with a lick of paint but I wasn't really there for the decor of the place

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Charlotte Sachs

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2014 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean. Good breakfast deal. Nice staff.

Disliked: Would of been nice to have a better common room area and more plugs. The only downfall was the people in our room who left stuff everywhere which made it difficult to move.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The overall experience

Disliked: The cleeningness

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rodrigo Costa de Jesus

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2014

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Terrible to find a place to park the car. The staff was not too helpful.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

amy wilson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 March 2014 amy would recommend this property

Liked: The bar downstairs and the food served there. Location to station.

Disliked: Only one bathroom in our room on that floor split with 13 people therefore not that clean.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2014

Liked: Good location close to the rail station

Disliked: The WiFi doesn't work, the staff is not friendly and when you have a problem (with the WiFi for example) they don't help, they say to call the technical service, and when I explain that I need help because my English is bad by phone, they don't want to help me. Air conditioned too cold, I fall very sick because it was broken and they couldn't fix it.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Emily Fewster

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 January 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Location and bar next door

Disliked: The shower was pretty pathetic

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

HOU-YIN LIOU

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2013

Liked: roommates are freindly

Disliked: room is too small and there isn't a hairdryer no free wifi

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location just opposite to Transit Centre

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeanne Oden

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2013 Jeanne would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in this Hostel for 3 nights in Oct. and the last night was Halloween. Big party downstairs but our room was quiet. Room and en suite bathroom clean.

Disliked: Jeanne left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2013

Liked: Free rice and pasta was very appreciated.

Disliked: There was no air conditioning in the whole hostel. The kitchen was so hot that you had to take breaks from being in there. Rooms got so hot at night most people slept in underwear because of the heat. I understand that this is Australia, but this is the first hostel I have come across with this issue. This heat factor was so huge, we decided to find another hostel to stay in for our second week. The internet was also impossibly slow.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mallory Treweeke

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

30 September 2013 Mallory would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed it :)

Disliked: Mallory left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2013

Liked: The staff were friendly

Disliked: Once I arrived at the hostel I was told that I had booked the wrong dates and that my card had been charged for the night I wasn't there. After explaining what the date was that day, they realised that they had got it wrong. Not the best first impression, but it was resolved well. The Kitchen was so dirty that I could only bear to cook one meal during my entire weeks stay.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

SO MAN SHUN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2013 SO would recommend this property

Liked: convenient location

Disliked: a bit expensive

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the Transit Centre, good Location , friendly Staff

Disliked: Something like a Lounge, a Room where everybody can Hang out together was missing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: small, untidy rooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was pretty awesome, the pub underneath was a winner too

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

28 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the Brisbane Transit Centre and the city.

Disliked: Doona covers and bedsheets are not washed for each guest, only pillow cover. Residents in dorms are noisy, dirty and messy. No consideration for other guests. No free WI-FI

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location convenient to suncorp stadium

Disliked: Nothing

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013

Liked: Cheap, good location (close to the bus station).

Disliked: REALLY DIRTY, no atmosphere, people steal your food, need a deposit for the dishes, noisy at night. I do not recommend this hostel.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2012

Liked: Less than 5 mins walk from the Transit Centre. 24 hours check-in.

Disliked: AirCon did not work. Windows did not open and the blinds did not work. In-room safe did not work. No plates in the kitchen. The bathroom smelled and didn't look like it has been cleaned in a few days.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: In room safe did not work

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Michael Burdiss

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Location, reasonable priced, lots of food storage space

Disliked: Staff - told them 3 times the bed hadn't been changed. Ended up getting my own sheets at 19:00 and doing myself. Also would be more helpful if they told you about $5 deposit for cups etc at checking rather than finding out when you go to use the kitchen. One life was broken and there are no stairs for general use so getting up and down to the fourth floor proved slow