We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Yellow Submarine Backpackers

Hostel | 66 Quay St, Brisbane, Australia 4000

68.3% Overall Rating

24 out of 37 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/02/2015)

Berthold Wespel thinks…

"I felt very welcome from the beginning on and I liked the familiar atmosphere most."

Read all Yellow Submarine Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 35.26

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brisbane

Brisbane City YHA
26.64 USD

Hostel 86.5% 169 reviews
Eton house
50.93 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Brisbane City Backpackers
20.37 USD

Hostel 79.2% 743 reviews
Chill Backpackers
20.37 USD

Hostel 76.6% 222 reviews
Banana Bender Backpackers
21.94 USD

Hostel 79.4% 42 reviews
Aussie Way Hostel
21.16 USD

Hostel 81.6% 297 reviews
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
18.81 USD

Hostel 75.1% 157 reviews
Some Rooms Backpacker
16.46 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.3%

Overall Rating

24 out of 37 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Yellow Submarine Backpackers'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
56.8%
Cleanliness
56.0%
Staff
82.4%
Value
73.6%
Safety
60.8%
Refine your results Showing 30 of 34 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Short way to city

Disliked: Messy rooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Berthold Wespel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2015 Berthold would recommend this property

Liked: I felt very welcome from the beginning on and I liked the familiar atmosphere most.

Disliked: ---

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price

Disliked: Atmosphere

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jenny Davies

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2015

Liked: Comfortable bed

Disliked: Greeted by stoners lying around the front door, challenge to tread my way carefully through the haze of pot and bodies to get to reception. Room of 6 beds, all female dorm was full but big enough to cope with the belongings that were strewn everywhere around it! Bed was comfortable enough. Desperate to have a cup of tea after a longer day of travel. Went to the kitchen only to find that there wasn't a single mug or cup in the whole place! Very bad news. Kitchen was dirty and poorly equipped. Also was small and very difficult to find enough room to make dinner.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Steven Hudson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2015 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly and was instantly comfortable with my stay in a family like atmosphere

Disliked: The only thing no signage at beginning of its street to say nearby.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

alex taylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2015 alex would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2015

Liked: I liked that it was a good price.

Disliked: No air-con, empty liquor bottles all over the room and a huge pile of dirty clothes on the floor just inside the room. It didn't bother me, so when I needed emergency stay for the night of the 2nd, i rebooked. I got another room (more expensive) and there were Cockroaches IN THE room. I know they can't hurt me, I'm just disgusted by the fact that they can carry disease. When I went to the attendant to ask about possible solutions for this, he was helpful, handing us a spray can, but didn't have a good additude. A room full of chicks and three Cockroaches will never mix, no matter how many times you tell us they won't hurt us. These Cockroaches were flying! Ugh!

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2014

Liked: Price

Disliked: Felt unsafe.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine Barron

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

26 August 2014 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: It offered private rooms that were clean and had everything we needed

Disliked: Catherine left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

elaine spencer

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: trains so close to room, very noisy. difficulty in finding plates etc in kitchen. general level of cleanliness - no washbasin in toiloets.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff and guests, stayed up to wait for me to arrive after hours!!

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly receptionist, walking distance to city centre, all in all a bit run down but as clean as you keep a hostel

Disliked: Poorly equipped kitchen, tv/dining room very small

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is kind and friendly and it's cheap.

Disliked: The hostel smells bad in certain rooms and bathrooms. The nearest train station is very noisy.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is big so there's plenty of room so it doesn't get crowded. The rooms are tired but clean.

Disliked: If you're a light sleeper you might want to take ear plugs with you, because the trains that pass by are quite loud. The wifi did not work correctly. There are also no lockers in the rooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice atmosphere, next to all the important stuff of brisbane, really really nice staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Au Chung Man

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2014 Au would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good but need some time to find on the map. Staff are helpful. Nice choice if you plan to stay 1 to 2 nights.

Disliked: The only thing need to be improved is the kitchen condition. A little bit small and not enought tableware. Female bathroom should install lock

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2014

Liked: friendly stuff

Disliked: We had a realy bad old smelly untidy room next to the railway

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cecilia Gelinder

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014 Cecilia would recommend this property

Liked: The athmosphere was really nice, everyone was super friendly and it had a very "homey" feeling about it. It was very clean which was a big plus. The hostel itself was also quiet big so there was plenty of space to move around so it doesn't feel that crowded.

Disliked: That there were no faucettes in the bathrooms, but there's nothing they can do about that so you'll just have to get used to it. No lockers in the rooms, so you'll just have to trust your bunk buddies.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014

Liked: it was very cheap and close to the city centre

Disliked: It was dirty and loud, a very bad smell everywhere. I didn't feel safe because everyone could come into the hostel during the night (although the front door was closed, backdoor is always open). Some really strange people living here since years (because they are not legal in the country....). Some of the stuff (Chinese) can't speak and understand English (but they try to help). All in all I was very disappointed and cancelled the other nights because I didn't feel very comfortable (others definitely do and stay there for a long time).

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Moore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

08 October 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Staff made me feel really at home. The hostel puts free dinner on every Sunday, which is great!

Disliked: No wi-fi!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Agustin Claret

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013 Agustin would recommend this property

Liked: The yellow submarine has something that others hostel cannot buy, no matter how many swimming pools, wet t-shirt contests they put, etc, Yellow submarine has personality. It has a soul.

Disliked: The job board could be better.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Victoria Cook

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 July 2013 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, location, surroundings

Disliked: Would benefit from wifi

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

alastair breen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2013 alastair would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Overpriced for what it was and no internet

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie O'Brien

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2013 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, friendly staff. Clean. Very cheap internet. Would recommend this hostel to anyone!

Disliked: Katie left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Carol Douglas

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2013 Carol would recommend this property

Liked: The uniqueness of the place and large dorms, set up as a submarine, plus fairly close to Transit center and museums.

Disliked: Lack of air conditioning