HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bowen Terrace Accommodation

Hostel | 365 Bowen Terrace, New Farm, Brisbane Brisbane, Australia 4005

85.2% Overall Rating

23 out of 24 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/03/2014)

"The location was great, the facility was neat and welcoming, and the deck space was lovely. Our stay overall was very pleasant and without drama."

Read all Bowen Terrace Accommodation reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.60

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Bookings can be modified or cancelled up to 30 days before with out cost. The full amount will be taken upon booking. Please note all credit card transactions will attract a $2.00 fee. When cancelling a booking the original booking cost will be lost, in the case of a no-show or cancellation on the day, the whole booking will be deducted. In order to secure your booking at Bowen Terrace we will require guests to contact us immediately after placing the booking on the email address provided via the website's booking confirmation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brisbane

Bluetongue Backpackers & Tours
20.92 USD

Hostel 73.8% 70 reviews
Bunk Backpackers
21.39 USD

Hostel 75.8% 397 reviews
Kookaburra Inn
38.59 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 284 reviews
Valley Verandas Friendly Backpackers
17.67 USD

Hostel 63.9% 139 reviews
Base Brisbane-Embassy
20.46 USD

Hostel 72.9% 171 reviews
Base Brisbane - Central
20.46 USD

Hostel 63.8% 476 reviews
Brisbane Manor Hotel
32.55 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.9% 88 reviews
Queensland Motel
46.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.2%

Overall Rating

23 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bowen Terrace Accommodation'

Atmosphere
88.3%
Location
81.7%
Facilities
85.8%
Cleanliness
91.7%
Staff
79.2%
Value
83.3%
Safety
86.7%
Refine your results Showing 18 of 22 reviews
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, the facility was neat and welcoming, and the deck space was lovely. Our stay overall was very pleasant and without drama.

Disliked: The staff, while friendly, were not particularly helpful. We were not offered a tour of the property on arrival, told about internet or kitchen facilities and they were unable to help us with information on ferry services. Although they did provide some information on buses. Despite booking on HostelBookers where a deposit is payed with the balance due on arrival, full payment for our stay was deducted from my credit card a week before we arrived. When contacting the hostel to query this, I was told that it was their standard policy. However, this was not made clear top me at any point throughout the booking process.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean and smalli

Disliked: The reception was never available, only 2 hours in the morning The hostel was on the top of a hill, the city and the supermarket were really near but because of the hill walking was a bit annoying

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

24 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Position and price

Disliked: Not really a place to meet others

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YUTARO KANAYAMA

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 YUTARO would recommend this property

Liked: luxurious facilities!! It was totally like the hotel.

Disliked: unfriendly staff

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice property away from the busy centre, quiet at night so it was good to chill and sleep but also close to bars and restaurants.

Disliked: Wifi is limited to 1 hour a day

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good people, good value, excellent rooms

Disliked: thin walls - conversation and snoring very audible

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice atmosphere in the hostel, like staying at home. Lot of space and not really crowded. No party hostel!

Disliked: No lockers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phil Savage

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 May 2013 Phil would recommend this property

Liked: What a lovely place to stay. Very quiet place, no noise from other rooms or neighbouring properties. No aircon but the ceiling fan was more than adequate. Maria was very knowledgeable and helpful. Would/will stay here again.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johanna Haase

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2013 Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is like a home away from home. A very relaxing and welcoming atmosphere!

Disliked: Johanna left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful well furnished house, more like a B&B than a hostel. Clean and well kept.

Disliked: It would have been useful to have somebody at reception to answer questions. The person who supposedly stayed/worked there was less than helpful

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathrin Henning

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2012 Kathrin would recommend this property

Liked: It feels like you are for a visit at your parents house. Maria is really nice and helpful when she is there.

Disliked: When I arrived there wasn´t anybody who showed me where my room etc. was, I was only told the code for the main door and found my key in front of my dorms door. There were lots of old people when I arrived, sharing a dorm with a 65 year old was strange in the beginning.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Oliver

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

21 November 2012 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is everything I want & nothing I dont want in terms of size, cleanliness, facilities etc etc. It is small quaint & more like a guest house with shared rooms. It is a little out of town but in a good area however is a hassle to get too & from initially. Once there though you wont regret it & that hassle in getting there is worth it!!!

Disliked: Positioning thus $18 taxi ride to locate it or $5 bus ride.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is more like a guest house with a couple of dorm rooms - not a party hostel but very nice and relaxed. Its a lovely building and good facilities - TV room, kitchen, pool, etc. In a great location in new farm and easy to walk into town or get the cat ferry. Loved staying here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Work / volunteering

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the atmosphere. Definitely not a crazy party hostel, but plenty of couches and good books around.

Disliked: The air in my basement room was pretty sticky, even with an open window.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anthony Severs

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2012 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean property with great outdoor communal area with a pool table / BBQ / swimming pool. Also the kitchen area has little touches such as a condiments cupboard with salt / pepper / cooking oil which is great for people trying to travel light. Also plenty of kitchen utensils & bus stop across the road straight into the city.

Disliked: Nothing really!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Patricia Denise de Man

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2011 Patricia Denise would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is great! The hostel is in a big house and you really feel at home.. The dorms are very nice! I stayed in a 4 bed room, and the two bunk beds could be seperated by a curtain! There is also a nice swimmingpool and garden, and a lovely terrace. The kitchen was very clean, the bathroom and the toilet a little bit less, but certainly not dirty!

Disliked: I liked everything

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

30 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: far too hot, needs air con

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

03 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i have stay there many years ago and the place has only got better, which is a place with a backpacker.

Disliked: one of the down side is that the kitchen is on the small side.