We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bunk Backpackers

Hostel | 11-21 Gipps Street, Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Australia 4006

83.5% Overall Rating

353 out of 426 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/02/2015)

Hannah Chapman thinks…

"i was slightly apprehensive about checking into Bunk after reading the mixed reviews. I shouldn't have been, it's in a great location, a short walk from the valley. It's clean enough and the bed was…"

Read all Bunk Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 7.81

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brisbane

Kookaburra Inn
32.40 USD

Guesthouse 90.9% 287 reviews
Bluetongue Backpackers & Tours
17.57 USD

Hostel 71.3% 73 reviews
Brisbane Manor Hotel
27.33 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.3% 91 reviews
Bowen Terrace Accommodation
23.42 USD

Hostel 86.9% 26 reviews
Base Brisbane - Central
20.30 USD

Hostel 68.9% 493 reviews
Base Brisbane-Embassy
16.40 USD

Hostel 73.1% 180 reviews
Ellie's Guest House
31.23 USD

Guesthouse 84.6% 5 reviews
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
16.40 USD

Hostel 77.1% 153 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/02/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/02/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.5%

Overall Rating

353 out of 426 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bunk Backpackers'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
88.0%
Value
83.2%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 313 of 359 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Hannah Chapman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

27 February 2015 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: i was slightly apprehensive about checking into Bunk after reading the mixed reviews. I shouldn't have been, it's in a great location, a short walk from the valley. It's clean enough and the bed was comfy! Also there's FREE breakfast and FREE fast wifi in the reception area. Great atmosphere in Birdees, cheap drinks and entertainment! I held a crocodile and watched a dildo race. Standard night apparently. Gutted that we missed the tranny bingo! Heading back next week and can't wait! ?

Disliked: Squeaky beds!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Charlotte Thorpe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 February 2015 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Had a couple of good nights sleep. Good location.

Disliked: The bunks could do with an upgrade, they squeak really bad.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A really nice hostel, clean rooms and a good common area with wifi. The fact that they have a really good night club is a big plus!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jesse Nelson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2015 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: Because Australia is an expensive place for budget travellers, tiny things are important. Luggage storage is free, as is a basic cereal, toast, coffee breakfast. It's also right by a train stop that leads to the airport (very convenient).

Disliked: I cannot pick anything that stands out as a dislike. For $5 Australian more per night, I stayed in a 10-bed air-con room with its own bathroom and shower, so I don't know what standard rooms were like.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good environment. Friendly staff and guests. I like the disposal of the beds in the room, they put it in a way that is more private.

Disliked: Free wi-fi only in the reception and you have to pay for the lockers.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice location (chinatown), free shuttle bus, free wifi in the lobby area, lots of privacy in the dorms (well organised room), clean and friendly and well humored staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Samuel Griffin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 September 2014

Liked: lockers and individual power points for each bed

Disliked: extremely rude staff, no common room to speak of, no hostel feel or spirit, the least chill hostel i've ever stayed in

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazingly close to the heart of Brisbane's nightlife and not too far from the city core. Also free the free breakfast really speaks for itself

Disliked: people who don't party won't get too much sleep here but who doesn't like to party?!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jordan Grant

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2014 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and full of banter; I arrived several hours before my check in yet I was still welcomed to have breakfast and a curl up on the couch.

Disliked: Showers were very hit and miss with regard to the temperature.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Harris

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen & laundry facilities were good and nice having the bar attached but not being too loud for an earlie night. The privatized bunk were a nice touch in the big rooms

Disliked: Although it was nice to break up the room into smaller areas for privacy, the configuration made it difficult to store and open luggage. I can also see the sharing a toilet/shower to a room without communal facilities on the floor being an issue. Especially with a group trying to get ready at the same time

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff. Clean and spacious rooms with lockers to store away valuables. Biggest selling point was each bed had it's own power socket attached to the side. I could charge my phone while still using it laid down in bed.

Disliked: Does get very loud at the weekends with the club directly below. If you are not going out at the weekend or wanting an early night then this is not the place to book

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Fiona Main

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 August 2014

Liked: Good location for fortitude valley nightlife, 10 minute walk to CBD

Disliked: Cancelled part of our stay at bunk - not great. Not entirely sure how the place has good ratings. Before we arrived we changed our room from a 10 bed to an 8 bed because we read they were bigger and better. 8 bed was TINY. Absolutely tiny. No room for your stuff or to do anything. Complained and moved to a 6 bed which was not any better - we were lucky to have a car with us because there was NO way we could have fit our luggage in the room, had to go to our car everytime we needed stuff.... Not ideal. The car park was atrocious! Almost considered going elsewhere because we were scared of scratching our rental car in the ridiculously small "car park". And they charged $10 a day to park there! But the worst part of the hostel - the endless smells. The first floor where you access the lift constantly smelt like urine. The hallway to our dorm had an awful stench that hit you when you walked in... Not even sure what that was. And the room - every time we walked in a horrible smell hit you. I understand dorm rooms can get stuffy but this nearly made me vomit. The shower was freezing cold every day and on our last day it didn't even spray properly just dribbled so you could definitely not wash properly. to be fair the lady on reception sent someone up immediately to look at it so we should have mentioned it before but felt like we had just given up on the place. I suppose if you don't expect much from a hostel it would be adequate but if you're concerned about cleanliness and not living in prison sized rooms then don't be fooled by the good ratings!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, due to a dividing wall the dorm room seems comfy, bathroom and toilet en suite, hot tub an pool can be used all day, breakfast outside in the Birdee's bar, wide range of kitchen utensils, reasonably priced tours on offer at the reception. The hotel is located right next to Chinatown where you can find lots of bars and restaurants.

Disliked: The bathroom because the shower head was very low and not adjustable in height and no possibility to put one's clothes without getting them wet.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cindy Worm

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 July 2014 Cindy would recommend this property

Liked: Its a big place with lots of space and things to do. The tv room and the bar are very nice!

Disliked: The Kitchen smelled verry bad and the window in my room was broken. So it was cold in the night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

19 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: the sometimes noisy road outside our room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful and nice staff, located in the middle of partyarea

Disliked: roommate were sleeping till 1 or 2pm

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

dan woulahan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2014 dan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very friendly. Very sociable and weekly inter bunk tournaments great for meeting new people

Disliked: If want a quiet night in the club next to bunk might not be quiet.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Korn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere!

Disliked: Julia left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2014

Liked: -

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pui ling Li

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

23 May 2014 pui ling would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, have function everyday. Good facilities, locker in the room, power point and light for each bed :) free breakfast!

Disliked: pui ling left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Lauren Haigh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2014

Liked: Good location, not far from the CBD. Free breakfast was handy.

Disliked: the rooms were very small and there wasn't any room for luggage. Kitchen lacked ventilation so it was very smelly. Wasn't anything to do for people who didn't want to get drunk every night.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Daniel Weber

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Cool games and events

Disliked: The longterm guests use the room like their own living room, means there is everywhere their stuff

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff friendly

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Park

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2014 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean! Good location!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.