We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bunk Backpackers

Hostel | 11-21 Gipps Street, Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Australia 4006

83.8% Overall Rating

366 out of 439 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/05/2015)

"The hostel itself was very updated, it felt more like a hotel than hostels that Ive stayed before."

Read all Bunk Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 7.79

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brisbane

Kookaburra Inn
32.32 USD

Guesthouse 91.5% 288 reviews
Bluetongue Backpackers & Tours
17.52 USD

Hostel 72.3% 75 reviews
Brisbane Manor Hotel
25.31 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.3% 91 reviews
Bowen Terrace Accommodation
22.59 USD

Hostel 88.0% 27 reviews
Base Brisbane - Central
15.58 USD

Hostel 69.5% 504 reviews
Base Brisbane-Embassy
19.47 USD

Hostel 71.9% 183 reviews
Ellie's Guest House
32.71 USD

Guesthouse 84.6% 5 reviews
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
18.69 USD

Hostel 75.1% 157 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.8%

Overall Rating

366 out of 439 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bunk Backpackers'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
87.2%
Value
82.4%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 324 of 372 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

25 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very sociable and in a great location

Disliked: no general lounge, wifi could be better in the rooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: But noisy

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel itself was very updated, it felt more like a hotel than hostels that Ive stayed before.

Disliked: Location was a bit far off CBD and the rooms can get a bit musky when its a full crowd because the bolted in windows.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Daniel Allenby

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2015 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Upbeat with lots of backpackers who want to chat and associate with others. This , I believe, develops from a trickle down effect because of the staff. A good first impression makes it easier for others to open themselves up.

Disliked: The dorm beds are quite squeaky... a simple maintenance on them (tightening the allen bolts) would help in the biggest way. The noise level around the place struggles a bit later on in the night/early morning as it's not patrolled upstairs... pretty much hostel life in general though. Dorms will always be a struggle but in general this place hits the nail on the head. Good place to stay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marina Siebenand Alves

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2015 Marina would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, room/ bathroom/ kitchen very clean and spacious. Free breakfast, free wifi downstairs at reception. 15min walk to Brisbane city centre, 5min walk to next train station. Lots of offers and activities. One of the best hostels I've stayed in.

Disliked: Marina left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Beth Dunn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2015 Beth would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, helful staff, nice room, good bathrooms.

Disliked: Bit annoying that I couldnt get the wifi I'd paid for in my room..

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Plug and light by each bed. Free breakfast. Clean rooms. Air con. Good size kitchen. Free wifi in communal areas.

Disliked: I stayed in an 8 bed dorm and there was only 1 toilet and 1 shower in the room which meant people were often queuing to use these. Our room was full of people who were living at the hostel whilst working here. This meant they were not interested in talking to us and made the room feel awkward. Not allowed own alcohol in the hostel, meaning a night out can get very expensive. Quite a walk to the city beach and shops.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Shopping

15 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train access Free breakfast was simple but a nice thing to have Staff were helpful, especially with getting around

Disliked: Maybe some more activities for those travelling solo to meet other people in the same boat

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice and clean and the staff were great

Disliked: No it was great

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mike Knowles

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2015 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. Lovely staff and a decent room. Free wifi downstairs or pay extra for wifi in your room, which we did. 5 minutes walk to the train station. Free breakfast. Good kitchen. Decent bar. Loved it.

Disliked: Nothing really, this was the best hostel on our trip so far.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dan Jiang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2015 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: It was the best hostel in Australia for me. There is a division of quiet space and socializing space. Great location. airport ticket at the front desk is helpful. And very funny staff. Being on a quiet floor helped and ensuite bath and toilet is good and clean.

Disliked: Dan left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Hannah Chapman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

27 February 2015 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: i was slightly apprehensive about checking into Bunk after reading the mixed reviews. I shouldn't have been, it's in a great location, a short walk from the valley. It's clean enough and the bed was comfy! Also there's FREE breakfast and FREE fast wifi in the reception area. Great atmosphere in Birdees, cheap drinks and entertainment! I held a crocodile and watched a dildo race. Standard night apparently. Gutted that we missed the tranny bingo! Heading back next week and can't wait! ?

Disliked: Squeaky beds!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Charlotte Thorpe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 February 2015 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Had a couple of good nights sleep. Good location.

Disliked: The bunks could do with an upgrade, they squeak really bad.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A really nice hostel, clean rooms and a good common area with wifi. The fact that they have a really good night club is a big plus!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jesse Nelson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2015 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: Because Australia is an expensive place for budget travellers, tiny things are important. Luggage storage is free, as is a basic cereal, toast, coffee breakfast. It's also right by a train stop that leads to the airport (very convenient).

Disliked: I cannot pick anything that stands out as a dislike. For $5 Australian more per night, I stayed in a 10-bed air-con room with its own bathroom and shower, so I don't know what standard rooms were like.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good environment. Friendly staff and guests. I like the disposal of the beds in the room, they put it in a way that is more private.

Disliked: Free wi-fi only in the reception and you have to pay for the lockers.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice location (chinatown), free shuttle bus, free wifi in the lobby area, lots of privacy in the dorms (well organised room), clean and friendly and well humored staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Samuel Griffin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 September 2014

Liked: lockers and individual power points for each bed

Disliked: extremely rude staff, no common room to speak of, no hostel feel or spirit, the least chill hostel i've ever stayed in

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazingly close to the heart of Brisbane's nightlife and not too far from the city core. Also free the free breakfast really speaks for itself

Disliked: people who don't party won't get too much sleep here but who doesn't like to party?!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jordan Grant

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2014 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and full of banter; I arrived several hours before my check in yet I was still welcomed to have breakfast and a curl up on the couch.

Disliked: Showers were very hit and miss with regard to the temperature.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Harris

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen & laundry facilities were good and nice having the bar attached but not being too loud for an earlie night. The privatized bunk were a nice touch in the big rooms

Disliked: Although it was nice to break up the room into smaller areas for privacy, the configuration made it difficult to store and open luggage. I can also see the sharing a toilet/shower to a room without communal facilities on the floor being an issue. Especially with a group trying to get ready at the same time

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff. Clean and spacious rooms with lockers to store away valuables. Biggest selling point was each bed had it's own power socket attached to the side. I could charge my phone while still using it laid down in bed.

Disliked: Does get very loud at the weekends with the club directly below. If you are not going out at the weekend or wanting an early night then this is not the place to book

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Fiona Main

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 August 2014

Liked: Good location for fortitude valley nightlife, 10 minute walk to CBD

Disliked: Cancelled part of our stay at bunk - not great. Not entirely sure how the place has good ratings. Before we arrived we changed our room from a 10 bed to an 8 bed because we read they were bigger and better. 8 bed was TINY. Absolutely tiny. No room for your stuff or to do anything. Complained and moved to a 6 bed which was not any better - we were lucky to have a car with us because there was NO way we could have fit our luggage in the room, had to go to our car everytime we needed stuff.... Not ideal. The car park was atrocious! Almost considered going elsewhere because we were scared of scratching our rental car in the ridiculously small "car park". And they charged $10 a day to park there! But the worst part of the hostel - the endless smells. The first floor where you access the lift constantly smelt like urine. The hallway to our dorm had an awful stench that hit you when you walked in... Not even sure what that was. And the room - every time we walked in a horrible smell hit you. I understand dorm rooms can get stuffy but this nearly made me vomit. The shower was freezing cold every day and on our last day it didn't even spray properly just dribbled so you could definitely not wash properly. to be fair the lady on reception sent someone up immediately to look at it so we should have mentioned it before but felt like we had just given up on the place. I suppose if you don't expect much from a hostel it would be adequate but if you're concerned about cleanliness and not living in prison sized rooms then don't be fooled by the good ratings!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, due to a dividing wall the dorm room seems comfy, bathroom and toilet en suite, hot tub an pool can be used all day, breakfast outside in the Birdee's bar, wide range of kitchen utensils, reasonably priced tours on offer at the reception. The hotel is located right next to Chinatown where you can find lots of bars and restaurants.

Disliked: The bathroom because the shower head was very low and not adjustable in height and no possibility to put one's clothes without getting them wet.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cindy Worm

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 July 2014 Cindy would recommend this property

Liked: Its a big place with lots of space and things to do. The tv room and the bar are very nice!

Disliked: The Kitchen smelled verry bad and the window in my room was broken. So it was cold in the night.