We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bunk Backpackers

Hostel | 11-21 Gipps Street, Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Australia 4006

81.4% Overall Rating

370 out of 445 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/07/2015)

Karol Ann Jacques thinks…

"Staff very friendly, fun games every night! So many Backpackers at the hostel, makes it easy to meet people all over the world!"

Read all Bunk Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 7.31

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brisbane

Kookaburra Inn
30.32 USD

Guesthouse 91.2% 290 reviews
Bluetongue Backpackers & Tours
16.44 USD

Hostel 72.3% 75 reviews
Brisbane Manor Hotel
32.87 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.3% 91 reviews
Bowen Terrace Accommodation
21.92 USD

Hostel 88.0% 27 reviews
Base Brisbane - Central
16.07 USD

Hostel 67.3% 506 reviews
Base Brisbane-Embassy
18.99 USD

Hostel 71.9% 183 reviews
Ellie's Guest House
30.68 USD

Guesthouse 84.6% 5 reviews
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
16.80 USD

Hostel 75.1% 157 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.4%

Overall Rating

370 out of 445 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bunk Backpackers'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
86.4%
Value
80.0%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 330 of 378 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Karol Ann Jacques

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2015 Karol Ann would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very friendly, fun games every night! So many Backpackers at the hostel, makes it easy to meet people all over the world!

Disliked: Sometimes cold showers, wi-fi didn't work except in the lobby (not worth paying for). No one at the tour desk..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

christopher gravino

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

30 June 2015 christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful for all the stuf you need

Disliked: Nothing

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

22 June 2015

Liked: The free wifi is ok, but only in the reception area

Disliked: Everything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere. The rooms with a plug socket by each bed. Value for money

Disliked: My shower was freezing cold!

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Aneka Ganatra

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2015

Liked: The bar area was nice and the staff were pretty helpful/ friendly.

Disliked: Having been reviewed so well on Hostelbookers I was surprised to find that the hostel was so disappointing. "Free wifi" was confined to the communal area and barely worked even there, after paying for wifi I found it didn't work in my room. The 10 bed dorm was absolutely tiny to the extent that I couldn't actually get my backpack round the room to my bed and I then discovered an ant infestation on the brick wall by my bed (there were also ants in the bathroom). Also had a big issue with noise as the room was located (practically inside) the bathroom and so could hear not only all the drunk roommates coming in but things like the hand dryer going off throughout the night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bob Pearse

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 May 2015 Bob would recommend this property

Liked: The Bar is that good that people come to the bar that are not even staying at the hostel. Great atmosphere within hostel and bar.

Disliked: Bob left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

25 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very sociable and in a great location

Disliked: no general lounge, wifi could be better in the rooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: But noisy

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel itself was very updated, it felt more like a hotel than hostels that Ive stayed before.

Disliked: Location was a bit far off CBD and the rooms can get a bit musky when its a full crowd because the bolted in windows.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Daniel Allenby

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2015 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Upbeat with lots of backpackers who want to chat and associate with others. This , I believe, develops from a trickle down effect because of the staff. A good first impression makes it easier for others to open themselves up.

Disliked: The dorm beds are quite squeaky... a simple maintenance on them (tightening the allen bolts) would help in the biggest way. The noise level around the place struggles a bit later on in the night/early morning as it's not patrolled upstairs... pretty much hostel life in general though. Dorms will always be a struggle but in general this place hits the nail on the head. Good place to stay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marina Siebenand Alves

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2015 Marina would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, room/ bathroom/ kitchen very clean and spacious. Free breakfast, free wifi downstairs at reception. 15min walk to Brisbane city centre, 5min walk to next train station. Lots of offers and activities. One of the best hostels I've stayed in.

Disliked: Marina left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Beth Dunn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2015 Beth would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, helful staff, nice room, good bathrooms.

Disliked: Bit annoying that I couldnt get the wifi I'd paid for in my room..

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Plug and light by each bed. Free breakfast. Clean rooms. Air con. Good size kitchen. Free wifi in communal areas.

Disliked: I stayed in an 8 bed dorm and there was only 1 toilet and 1 shower in the room which meant people were often queuing to use these. Our room was full of people who were living at the hostel whilst working here. This meant they were not interested in talking to us and made the room feel awkward. Not allowed own alcohol in the hostel, meaning a night out can get very expensive. Quite a walk to the city beach and shops.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Shopping

15 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train access Free breakfast was simple but a nice thing to have Staff were helpful, especially with getting around

Disliked: Maybe some more activities for those travelling solo to meet other people in the same boat

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice and clean and the staff were great

Disliked: No it was great

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mike Knowles

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2015 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. Lovely staff and a decent room. Free wifi downstairs or pay extra for wifi in your room, which we did. 5 minutes walk to the train station. Free breakfast. Good kitchen. Decent bar. Loved it.

Disliked: Nothing really, this was the best hostel on our trip so far.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dan Jiang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2015 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: It was the best hostel in Australia for me. There is a division of quiet space and socializing space. Great location. airport ticket at the front desk is helpful. And very funny staff. Being on a quiet floor helped and ensuite bath and toilet is good and clean.

Disliked: Dan left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Hannah Chapman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

27 February 2015 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: i was slightly apprehensive about checking into Bunk after reading the mixed reviews. I shouldn't have been, it's in a great location, a short walk from the valley. It's clean enough and the bed was comfy! Also there's FREE breakfast and FREE fast wifi in the reception area. Great atmosphere in Birdees, cheap drinks and entertainment! I held a crocodile and watched a dildo race. Standard night apparently. Gutted that we missed the tranny bingo! Heading back next week and can't wait! ?

Disliked: Squeaky beds!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Charlotte Thorpe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 February 2015 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Had a couple of good nights sleep. Good location.

Disliked: The bunks could do with an upgrade, they squeak really bad.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A really nice hostel, clean rooms and a good common area with wifi. The fact that they have a really good night club is a big plus!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jesse Nelson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2015 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: Because Australia is an expensive place for budget travellers, tiny things are important. Luggage storage is free, as is a basic cereal, toast, coffee breakfast. It's also right by a train stop that leads to the airport (very convenient).

Disliked: I cannot pick anything that stands out as a dislike. For $5 Australian more per night, I stayed in a 10-bed air-con room with its own bathroom and shower, so I don't know what standard rooms were like.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good environment. Friendly staff and guests. I like the disposal of the beds in the room, they put it in a way that is more private.

Disliked: Free wi-fi only in the reception and you have to pay for the lockers.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice location (chinatown), free shuttle bus, free wifi in the lobby area, lots of privacy in the dorms (well organised room), clean and friendly and well humored staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Samuel Griffin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 September 2014

Liked: lockers and individual power points for each bed

Disliked: extremely rude staff, no common room to speak of, no hostel feel or spirit, the least chill hostel i've ever stayed in

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazingly close to the heart of Brisbane's nightlife and not too far from the city core. Also free the free breakfast really speaks for itself

Disliked: people who don't party won't get too much sleep here but who doesn't like to party?!