HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Bunk Brisbane Brisbane Hostel

11-21 Gipps Street, Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Australia

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 86%

Location 86%

Safety 93%

Staff 84%

Value 83%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 86%

Location 86%

Safety 93%

Staff 84%

Value 83%

Showing 81-90 of 200 reviews

23% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
23% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location

Disliked: Most things. Staff were not nice, unclean, really hot,

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really cool, funky old building. The kitchen was really big which was nice. and the bunks are awesome and very private, with their own walls and plugs for each bed

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Privacy screens around the bunks were good and each bunk had its own power socket and cubby. Staff at reception were very helpful. Free breakfast was good. Loved the book exchange. Hostel was very safe. Very good value for money.

Disliked: Not enough communal chill out areas. There was the kitchen and TV area which were fantastic but you got thrown out at 10.30pm when the club upstairs got started as they wanted to shut the door through to the accomodation from the bar. Also no byo alcohol allowed in the kitchen so if you just wanted to have a few quiet beers and some conversation there is nowhere but the bar which is very loud. Also bouncers for club were very rude. We left our towels in the bar one afternoon and when we got back in the evening we went to get them and were told we had to go all the way around the building and in through the club door to get them. We explained that we just wanted to get our towels (which we could see from the door) but were basically told to sod off and go around. Eventually another (friendlier) bouncer let my friend in to get them. Only light bulb in bathroom was gone for several days before I asked for it to be replaced.( They did replace it when I asked though)

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very good all-you-can-eat-breakfast! Coffee and tea making facilities all day

Disliked: The kitchen had no aircon and you couldn't open the windows so it was very hot and smelly inside. My first room didn't had a window, but the 20-Dorm ( I hadn't thought this before!) was very nice and you had even more privacy than in the 10-bed-dorm). You are not allowed to drink alcohol inside and they do check the rooms, so hide alcohol on fridays and saturdays around 9 o' clock! Fortitude Vallley was described as a good party location, but we didn't found a lot of party there..

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: It's a nice place. And the staff and people are friendly

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Amenities, clean, loads of partying.

Disliked: Kindof too big, not very social unless you go there with a group.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: satisfactory low price & amazing free breakfast !!Location, Facilities are good.

Disliked: small room & small bathroom

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Even though there's always a big party going on in birdees ( the hostel's bar) you can still be calm in the rooms without being disturbed by the noise.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Although the rate is slightly on the high end of hostels, they even provide breakfast (even though it is only cereals and milk), and the room was really clean, there was $2 lockers to self-store bags. To be honest, it felt like 5-star especially when we were escorted to our twin share! Keep it up!

Disliked: The shared bathroom had a poor shower head structure. There was quite a bit of grout on the sills and a worn out basin but it was generally quite clean and well equipped fixtures.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: A very good atmosphere, events and party all nightFree breakfast24h reception

Disliked: You have to buy internet (12$ a week) and for washing your clothes (4$ washing 4$ dryer)

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability