HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bunk Backpackers

Hostel | 11-21 Gipps Street, Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Australia 4006

83.9% Overall Rating

338 out of 408 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/07/2014)

Cindy Worm thinks…

"Its a big place with lots of space and things to do. The tv room and the bar are very nice!"

Read all Bunk Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 9.36

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brisbane

Kookaburra Inn
38.84 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 286 reviews
Bluetongue Backpackers & Tours
21.06 USD

Hostel 73.8% 70 reviews
Brisbane Manor Hotel
32.76 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.9% 88 reviews
Bowen Terrace Accommodation
27.14 USD

Hostel 86.9% 26 reviews
Base Brisbane - Central
18.72 USD

Hostel 68.7% 482 reviews
Base Brisbane-Embassy
21.53 USD

Hostel 74.2% 178 reviews
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
19.65 USD

Hostel 74.9% 142 reviews
Banana Bender Backpackers
24.33 USD

Hostel 79.4% 42 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.9%

Overall Rating

338 out of 408 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bunk Backpackers'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
86.4%
Value
84.8%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 300 of 342 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Eloi Nobre

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: they just want to make money...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danny Parsons

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2012 Danny would recommend this property

Liked: friendly, clean, hot women !!

Disliked: creaking metal beds!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

15 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and very nice stuff in a good location to enjoy the beach or good party. Very peacful place to chill out or meet new friends.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were booking for april, but i mistake occurred and we booked for may.. I hadn't seen the mistake until we get to the hostel.. where they made a way to accommodate us without any problem.

Disliked: we had to share bathroom with another room and the bathroom was not very clean..

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

10 April 2012

Liked: They provided a refund for the next night as we decided to leave (see below)

Disliked: Semen all over bathroom, cockroaches in toilets, ear plugs plastered on walls remaining affixed due to ear wax, understaffed during night (not the nicest), overstaffed during day, as expected for a city located hostel people coming and going all the night into dormitory, all beds were squeaky and every time someone moved it was clearly heard and it didn’t help that the people next to us were having sex.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2012

Liked: Located in the valley to party.

Disliked: Staff sucked. Annoying anouncement thru loudspeakers which are in every room. Free this, free that was more like a hoak. Never saw smaller twin rooms....honestly a bad joke! No common areas other than the stinkiest kitchen I ever smelled.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2012

Liked: Staff

Disliked: Dirty

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

06 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Top Spot, Birdee Num Nums!

Disliked: Bunks in the dorms are very, very squeaky and make it hard to sleep in!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its big and has great food deals. a pool and a club

Disliked: there is no real common area where everybody is hanging out. no alcohol allowed anywhere in the hostel!!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jarleth Lennon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2012 Jarleth would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff, friendly and helpful. Good location for nightlife, but quite a long walk to town centre

Disliked: 20 people in a dorm and only one shower

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2012

Liked: Air conditioned 6 share room

Disliked: Too hot in the kitchen...Sweating in whole building except own room. Some have to pay extra for using locker, each time 2$! Light in toilet did not work...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2012

Liked: Key Card door's are alway's the best for security Checking out

Disliked: Size of the room was pathetic for a private room. Their was only just enough room for my bags, let alone a second person! Bad Lighting in both bedroom and bathroom Cupboards could not open fully so were unusable because they opened into the bunk bed!! Bed side lamp did not work, so no light at all at night on bottom bunk No organisation when checking in, staff were all over the place when i checked in. Didn't tell me where anything was, just how the keycard worked. Kept waiting often when waiting at the reception desk to make enquireies Not worth anywhere near the money they charge for a private room

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Pim Beekman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2012 Pim would recommend this property

Liked: Service, location, facilities

Disliked: It smelled really bad in the kitchen...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew McClelland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, fun and great staff

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

25 January 2012

Liked: That their are walls between the beds, 24 hour reception

Disliked: dirty, stink

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Chris Barcroft

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2012

Liked: It was cheap, and the staff helped me out with my queries, though I only stayed for one night.

Disliked: I stayed on a Sunday so it wasn't the most exciting night. However, I wa sleft waiting at reception several times as they were understaffed. The property lacked atmosphere as it was very big, and the theming (I stayed in the 'Jungle' area) was very lame, and may aswell not have existed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gustav Frystak

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2012 Gustav would recommend this property

Liked: Welcome drink at bar must be 8.30. Bit unconvenient if u want to go out for dinner, and the bar staff is not willing to skip the clock.

Disliked: Average service

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Steinmetz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

07 January 2012 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Modern and stylish Accommodation. It´s absolutely worth for your money!

Disliked: The beds make a bit too much noise. The mattresses were like plastic...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Caroline Lobo

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2011 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpful, we were shocked about our value for money with the room. It was a great experience as this was my first backpackers. I do wish that me and my partner took more advantage of the services they had to offer, which was quite a lot! Even after we had checked out, the backpackers accomodamted for our needs evwn though our stay had ended. I loved thatthe reception was open 24/7; very efficient. I was very pleased that they provided us with soap and a bath towel, even though i had packed some. Additionally, the kitchen was huge and was great fun to use, cleaned everyday as well. The location was good too as it was right behind the train station and a 20 min walk from the city. I have to say the overexceeded my expectations :)

Disliked: The only flaw was the noise that was always prominent, but it was a backpackers. Thankfully i had seen a previous comment on bunk about noise and i made sure to pack some earplugs. We both alept beautifully. Another thing that did annoy me was that the airconditionaing was out of our control and always kept at a certain temperature. However once we relaxed in the room, the temperature was just right for us to sleep or continue relaxing in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

12 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very secure with a key swipe entry system. staff were friendly and helpful too. There were also food offers and drink offers too plus free welcome drinks.

Disliked: the loudspeaker announcement in our rooms got a bit annoying.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen was large, cinema room had good movies!

Disliked: Room set up, they try to give you extra privacy by adding partition walls between bunks but it just cramps up the room! Rooms feel very small! Also children's bunk beds, cant sit up in them!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

caroline bain

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2011 caroline would recommend this property

Liked: it was awesome everything a hostel should be! The pool was ace! The kitchen was massive and very well equipped. good deals on bar food and drinks.

Disliked: There should be free internet for travellers and maybe more computers. If there was a large common room where people could drink their own booze or chill rather than spend money in the hostel bar.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

craig shearer

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

28 September 2011 craig would recommend this property

Liked: everything very happy would highly recommend it to anyone

Disliked: nothing awesome hostel

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2011

Liked: There are lots of facilities, bar, pool, and laundry.

Disliked: We arrived at 1:00am and didnt get into our room till 3:00am. The guy on reception was hopeless, didnt give us any information and sent us to the wrong room to begin with. Also the dorm rooms are small, there is 7 to one bathroom. This is definately a party hostel, you can heard the music in your room till 4:00am.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly staff were very helpful and willing to accommodate all requests

Disliked: the tacos should be bigger! :)