We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bunk Backpackers

Hostel | 11-21 Gipps Street, Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Australia 4006

82.6% Overall Rating

345 out of 417 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/11/2014)

"nice location (chinatown), free shuttle bus, free wifi in the lobby area, lots of privacy in the dorms (well organised room), clean and friendly and well humored staff"

Read all Bunk Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 8.73

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brisbane

Kookaburra Inn
36.24 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 286 reviews
Bluetongue Backpackers & Tours
19.65 USD

Hostel 74.4% 71 reviews
Brisbane Manor Hotel
30.57 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.3% 91 reviews
Bowen Terrace Accommodation
25.33 USD

Hostel 86.9% 26 reviews
Base Brisbane - Central
20.09 USD

Hostel 68.3% 489 reviews
Base Brisbane-Embassy
17.47 USD

Hostel 73.4% 179 reviews
Ellie's Guest House
34.93 USD

Guesthouse 84.6% 5 reviews
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
19.21 USD

Hostel 77.7% 150 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.6%

Overall Rating

345 out of 417 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bunk Backpackers'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
87.2%
Value
84.0%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 308 of 350 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The most friendly and efficient staff I have ever seen, good atmosphere in the middle of the night clubs, free food during week days ... and more, I planned to stay only a few days ... but I've been there for weeks now.

Disliked: ?

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

James Godfrey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Was our first time in oz. a good place to start our trip! All staff seemed very friendly and welcoming!

Disliked: Room was nice and clean but a little smaller than expected!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rachel Baldwin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 September 2012 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: staff were really friendly, free meals also were great!

Disliked: little bit noisy and people knocking and trying to get into our room but suppose these things cant be avoided

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good

Disliked: There are no lockers in the rooms and it cost 2 dollors each time you want to but something in the lockers in the hallways.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Colin Kane

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2012 Colin would recommend this property

Liked: Massive place with lots on. There's a free meal Mon-Thurs, which is handy. It's not very big but it's free.

Disliked: The room I was in didn't have a locker. To have a locker you'd have to upgrade to a more expensive room. And if you wanted to use a locker you had to pay $2 everytime you locked it...kinda defeats the purpose of the cheaper room...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2012

Liked: The fact they gave us our money back for our three nights stay because we had a really bad stay!

Disliked: Our room was dark and dingy, the hostel was extremely noisy with loud bar and people coming and going all night (despite being in a private room) and we were plagued by COCKROACHES! By the end of our second night we had killed around 12 cockroaches in our room and had to be moved to a dorm room. We calculated around 40 people sharing three showers and there was no hot water and no way they could keep them clean with so many people 24 hours a day. We complained and got our money back for the three nights. Some of the staff were extrememly helpful and understanding and did everything they could do to help with the situation but equally some of them couldnt give a damn! overall not a pleasant experience!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Richard Mason

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 June 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in the 2 bed apartment. Was able to have drink in the apartment unlike the rest of the building. Was clean and had toaster, kettle etc, everything you need.

Disliked: Was noisey as the room over looked the bar, but it is a backpackers so not a huge surprise.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms offered more privacythan most backpackers with each of the bunk beds in the room seperated by a wall. The bar had a great atmosphere and value for money drinks and meals.

Disliked: The stairwell and elevator where a bit smelly which was off-putting.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Eloi Nobre

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: they just want to make money...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danny Parsons

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2012 Danny would recommend this property

Liked: friendly, clean, hot women !!

Disliked: creaking metal beds!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

15 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and very nice stuff in a good location to enjoy the beach or good party. Very peacful place to chill out or meet new friends.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were booking for april, but i mistake occurred and we booked for may.. I hadn't seen the mistake until we get to the hostel.. where they made a way to accommodate us without any problem.

Disliked: we had to share bathroom with another room and the bathroom was not very clean..

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

10 April 2012

Liked: They provided a refund for the next night as we decided to leave (see below)

Disliked: Semen all over bathroom, cockroaches in toilets, ear plugs plastered on walls remaining affixed due to ear wax, understaffed during night (not the nicest), overstaffed during day, as expected for a city located hostel people coming and going all the night into dormitory, all beds were squeaky and every time someone moved it was clearly heard and it didn’t help that the people next to us were having sex.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2012

Liked: Located in the valley to party.

Disliked: Staff sucked. Annoying anouncement thru loudspeakers which are in every room. Free this, free that was more like a hoak. Never saw smaller twin rooms....honestly a bad joke! No common areas other than the stinkiest kitchen I ever smelled.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2012

Liked: Staff

Disliked: Dirty

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

06 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Top Spot, Birdee Num Nums!

Disliked: Bunks in the dorms are very, very squeaky and make it hard to sleep in!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its big and has great food deals. a pool and a club

Disliked: there is no real common area where everybody is hanging out. no alcohol allowed anywhere in the hostel!!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jarleth Lennon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2012 Jarleth would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff, friendly and helpful. Good location for nightlife, but quite a long walk to town centre

Disliked: 20 people in a dorm and only one shower

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2012

Liked: Air conditioned 6 share room

Disliked: Too hot in the kitchen...Sweating in whole building except own room. Some have to pay extra for using locker, each time 2$! Light in toilet did not work...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2012

Liked: Key Card door's are alway's the best for security Checking out

Disliked: Size of the room was pathetic for a private room. Their was only just enough room for my bags, let alone a second person! Bad Lighting in both bedroom and bathroom Cupboards could not open fully so were unusable because they opened into the bunk bed!! Bed side lamp did not work, so no light at all at night on bottom bunk No organisation when checking in, staff were all over the place when i checked in. Didn't tell me where anything was, just how the keycard worked. Kept waiting often when waiting at the reception desk to make enquireies Not worth anywhere near the money they charge for a private room

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Pim Beekman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2012 Pim would recommend this property

Liked: Service, location, facilities

Disliked: It smelled really bad in the kitchen...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew McClelland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, fun and great staff

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

25 January 2012

Liked: That their are walls between the beds, 24 hour reception

Disliked: dirty, stink

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Chris Barcroft

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2012

Liked: It was cheap, and the staff helped me out with my queries, though I only stayed for one night.

Disliked: I stayed on a Sunday so it wasn't the most exciting night. However, I wa sleft waiting at reception several times as they were understaffed. The property lacked atmosphere as it was very big, and the theming (I stayed in the 'Jungle' area) was very lame, and may aswell not have existed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gustav Frystak

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2012 Gustav would recommend this property

Liked: Welcome drink at bar must be 8.30. Bit unconvenient if u want to go out for dinner, and the bar staff is not willing to skip the clock.

Disliked: Average service