HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bunk Backpackers

Hostel | 11-21 Gipps Street, Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Australia 4006

75.8% Overall Rating

329 out of 397 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/03/2014)

"Surprised in a very positive way after reading the bad reviews. Great value for money, perfect for Backpackers."

Read all Bunk Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.87
  • Towel USD 0.94

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brisbane

Valley Verandas Friendly Backpackers
17.79 USD

Hostel 64.2% 137 reviews
Kookaburra Inn
38.85 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 284 reviews
Bluetongue Backpackers & Tours
21.06 USD

Hostel 73.8% 70 reviews
Brisbane Manor Hotel
32.77 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.9% 88 reviews
Bowen Terrace Accommodation
27.15 USD

Hostel 85.2% 24 reviews
Base Brisbane - Central
20.60 USD

Hostel 65.5% 475 reviews
Base Brisbane-Embassy
20.60 USD

Hostel 72.9% 171 reviews
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
20.60 USD

Hostel 71.2% 135 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.8%

Overall Rating

329 out of 397 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bunk Backpackers'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
76.8%
Value
72.8%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 290 of 331 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2012

Liked: Air conditioned 6 share room

Disliked: Too hot in the kitchen...Sweating in whole building except own room. Some have to pay extra for using locker, each time 2$! Light in toilet did not work...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2012

Liked: Key Card door's are alway's the best for security Checking out

Disliked: Size of the room was pathetic for a private room. Their was only just enough room for my bags, let alone a second person! Bad Lighting in both bedroom and bathroom Cupboards could not open fully so were unusable because they opened into the bunk bed!! Bed side lamp did not work, so no light at all at night on bottom bunk No organisation when checking in, staff were all over the place when i checked in. Didn't tell me where anything was, just how the keycard worked. Kept waiting often when waiting at the reception desk to make enquireies Not worth anywhere near the money they charge for a private room

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Pim Beekman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2012 Pim would recommend this property

Liked: Service, location, facilities

Disliked: It smelled really bad in the kitchen...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew McClelland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, fun and great staff

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

25 January 2012

Liked: That their are walls between the beds, 24 hour reception

Disliked: dirty, stink

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Chris Barcroft

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2012

Liked: It was cheap, and the staff helped me out with my queries, though I only stayed for one night.

Disliked: I stayed on a Sunday so it wasn't the most exciting night. However, I wa sleft waiting at reception several times as they were understaffed. The property lacked atmosphere as it was very big, and the theming (I stayed in the 'Jungle' area) was very lame, and may aswell not have existed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gustav Frystak

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2012 Gustav would recommend this property

Liked: Welcome drink at bar must be 8.30. Bit unconvenient if u want to go out for dinner, and the bar staff is not willing to skip the clock.

Disliked: Average service

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Steinmetz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

07 January 2012 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Modern and stylish Accommodation. It´s absolutely worth for your money!

Disliked: The beds make a bit too much noise. The mattresses were like plastic...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Caroline Lobo

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2011 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpful, we were shocked about our value for money with the room. It was a great experience as this was my first backpackers. I do wish that me and my partner took more advantage of the services they had to offer, which was quite a lot! Even after we had checked out, the backpackers accomodamted for our needs evwn though our stay had ended. I loved thatthe reception was open 24/7; very efficient. I was very pleased that they provided us with soap and a bath towel, even though i had packed some. Additionally, the kitchen was huge and was great fun to use, cleaned everyday as well. The location was good too as it was right behind the train station and a 20 min walk from the city. I have to say the overexceeded my expectations :)

Disliked: The only flaw was the noise that was always prominent, but it was a backpackers. Thankfully i had seen a previous comment on bunk about noise and i made sure to pack some earplugs. We both alept beautifully. Another thing that did annoy me was that the airconditionaing was out of our control and always kept at a certain temperature. However once we relaxed in the room, the temperature was just right for us to sleep or continue relaxing in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

12 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very secure with a key swipe entry system. staff were friendly and helpful too. There were also food offers and drink offers too plus free welcome drinks.

Disliked: the loudspeaker announcement in our rooms got a bit annoying.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen was large, cinema room had good movies!

Disliked: Room set up, they try to give you extra privacy by adding partition walls between bunks but it just cramps up the room! Rooms feel very small! Also children's bunk beds, cant sit up in them!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

caroline bain

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2011 caroline would recommend this property

Liked: it was awesome everything a hostel should be! The pool was ace! The kitchen was massive and very well equipped. good deals on bar food and drinks.

Disliked: There should be free internet for travellers and maybe more computers. If there was a large common room where people could drink their own booze or chill rather than spend money in the hostel bar.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

craig shearer

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

28 September 2011 craig would recommend this property

Liked: everything very happy would highly recommend it to anyone

Disliked: nothing awesome hostel

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2011

Liked: There are lots of facilities, bar, pool, and laundry.

Disliked: We arrived at 1:00am and didnt get into our room till 3:00am. The guy on reception was hopeless, didnt give us any information and sent us to the wrong room to begin with. Also the dorm rooms are small, there is 7 to one bathroom. This is definately a party hostel, you can heard the music in your room till 4:00am.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly staff were very helpful and willing to accommodate all requests

Disliked: the tacos should be bigger! :)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011

Liked: Nice Location within the entertainment district, creative design

Disliked: Cockroaches in bathroom of a private double room, hostel tried to promote itself at another hostelbooker portal by giving out free wifi for good votes...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David March

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: A large hostel with 24 hour reception staff and plenty of facilities including computing, washing, etc. The bar/club attached was also a good evening out.

Disliked: Rooms were large and poorly lit and the shower curtains left something to be desired! The bar though nice was a bit expensive and on one night we were barred from entry because we weren't dressed smart enough - at a backpackers hostel!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Holly Mahboub

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

28 August 2011 Holly would recommend this property

Liked: Dorm had an ensuite. Location was great! Loved birdees next door. Great atmosphere.

Disliked: One staff member was particularly rude. The rest were good but i wish i got that guy's name coz he had zero personal skills and provided no service.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The situation is really nice, this property is surrounded by nightclub and near the center. Available beds in the rooms is good, because the other travelers don't see everything we do.

Disliked: It's noisy and there are cockroaches in the kitchen.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very modern. Me and a friend stayed in the 16 bed dorm. Its good value for money, clean and spacious and quite private considering how many people you share with. Bunks are separated by a small wall and each bed has its own plug sockets. There is a bar which is quite popular but its far enough away that you can still get a good nights sleep.

Disliked: We read that each bed had its own light but the lights had been removed when we stayed. The beds are foam and are sunken in the middle so its quite uncomfortable if you stay for a few nights but we have found this in most hostels. Lockers are available but they are single use only and cost $2 which means you have to pay every single time you need to get something out of them - such a rip off!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really close to the city centre, only a short walk away.

Disliked: The atmosphere generated by staff was not the best in comparison to other hostels we stayed in. Sometimes we felt that we were an inconvenience to the staff when making simple and standard requests.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie MacGregor

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

03 August 2011 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and tidy. Good facilties.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to city friendly staff

Disliked: squeaky beds and plastic bed wetting type sheets

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hoff! He gave us an upgrade and we stayed one night in the increadibly huge appartment! Thanks for that ;-) You get a lot of privacy even in the dorms because there are walls in the room which can be good and bad...for us it was a bit unsociable but ok. The 7 Dollar meal is ok although you can get better things in hostels...but the bar birdee is really nice! Location is close to chin town for great food but a bit far from the city and southbank.but trainstation is close.

Disliked: nothin in particular

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Grace Daw

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011

Liked: The bar was fun, and the room was a decent size. Well-equipped kitchen

Disliked: The bathrooms weren't the cleanest and the bunkbeds were ridiculously noisy, it was also difficult to meet people as a solo traveller