HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Bunk Brisbane Brisbane Hostel

11-21 Gipps Street, Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Australia

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 86%

Location 86%

Safety 94%

Staff 86%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 7.55USD

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 86%

Location 86%

Safety 94%

Staff 86%

Value 83%

Showing 41-50 of 198 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: i was slightly apprehensive about checking into Bunk after reading the mixed reviews. I shouldn't have been, it's in a great location, a short walk from the valley. It's clean enough and the bed was comfy! Also there's FREE breakfast and FREE fast wifi in the reception area. Great atmosphere in Birdees, cheap drinks and entertainment! I held a crocodile and watched a dildo race. Standard night apparently. Gutted that we missed the tranny bingo! Heading back next week and can't wait! �

Disliked: Squeaky beds!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great atmosphere. Lovely staff and a decent room.Free wifi downstairs or pay extra for wifi in your room, which we did. 5 minutes walk to the train station. Free breakfast. Good kitchen. Decent bar. Loved it.

Disliked: Nothing really, this was the best hostel on our trip so far.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Had a couple of good nights sleep. Good location.

Disliked: The bunks could do with an upgrade, they squeak really bad.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: A really nice hostel, clean rooms and a good common area with wifi. The fact that they have a really good night club is a big plus!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Because Australia is an expensive place for budget travellers, tiny things are important. Luggage storage is free, as is a basic cereal, toast, coffee breakfast. It's also right by a train stop that leads to the airport (very convenient).

Disliked: I cannot pick anything that stands out as a dislike. For $5 Australian more per night, I stayed in a 10-bed air-con room with its own bathroom and shower, so I don't know what standard rooms were like.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good environment. Friendly staff and guests. I like the disposal of the beds in the room, they put it in a way that is more private.

Disliked: Free wi-fi only in the reception and you have to pay for the lockers.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nice location (chinatown), free shuttle bus, free wifi in the lobby area, lots of privacy in the dorms (well organised room), clean and friendly and well humored staff

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: lockers and individual power points for each bed

Disliked: extremely rude staff, no common room to speak of, no hostel feel or spirit, the least chill hostel i've ever stayed in

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Work / volunteering

Liked: Amazingly close to the heart of Brisbane's nightlife and not too far from the city core. Also free the free breakfast really speaks for itself

Disliked: people who don't party won't get too much sleep here but who doesn't like to party?!

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff were very friendly and full of banter; I arrived several hours before my check in yet I was still welcomed to have breakfast and a curl up on the couch.

Disliked: Showers were very hit and miss with regard to the temperature.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability