HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bunk Backpackers

Hostel | 11-21 Gipps Street, Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Australia 4006

75.8% Overall Rating

329 out of 397 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/03/2014)

"Surprised in a very positive way after reading the bad reviews. Great value for money, perfect for Backpackers."

Read all Bunk Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.86
  • Towel USD 0.93

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brisbane

Valley Verandas Friendly Backpackers
17.67 USD

Hostel 63.9% 139 reviews
Kookaburra Inn
38.59 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 284 reviews
Bluetongue Backpackers & Tours
20.92 USD

Hostel 73.8% 70 reviews
Brisbane Manor Hotel
32.55 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.9% 88 reviews
Bowen Terrace Accommodation
32.55 USD

Hostel 85.2% 24 reviews
Base Brisbane - Central
20.46 USD

Hostel 63.8% 476 reviews
Base Brisbane-Embassy
20.46 USD

Hostel 72.9% 171 reviews
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
19.53 USD

Hostel 71.2% 135 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.8%

Overall Rating

329 out of 397 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bunk Backpackers'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
76.8%
Value
72.8%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 290 of 331 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
34.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

gustavo saenz

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

21 November 2012

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: bathrooms very bad, the beds were imposible, you couldn´t stay even in the front of the hostel.....i will never return again

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Qianke Chen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

15 November 2012 Qianke would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely good, funny environment, talkative boss, friendly staff. I love it, differently take it if u go brisbane

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice twin rooms; helpful staff in particular as there seems to be a problem with twin room discription on hostelbookers.com, which actually don't have private bathroom, they give us a free upgrade upon request; good location within walking distance from CBD and directly in nightlife area, free pancakes on sunday, free bus station pick-up (free phone from hotel information board!)

Disliked: Shabby carpet in hallway, one fridge out of order thus the others were packed, barely enough cutlery/dishes

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2012

Liked: cheap bar

Disliked: you are not allowed to drink alcohol anywhere there were mostly british tourists and not so many backpackers when i went there

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

david howley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

23 October 2012 david would recommend this property

Liked: ;) fanntastic! such a brilliant room! pool and atmosphere was amazing !! everything really clean!! :)

Disliked: david left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jeffrey Bush

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2012 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: They had a fantastic bar with great drink specials. I liked that they had free food as well as enough power outlets for everybody staying in the room. The hostel was very clean, which it seems like that is hard to find in Brisbane.

Disliked: They had a later than usual check in and the rooms were not ready on time. There could have been more fridge space as well.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Laura Seddon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Arrived in the middle of the night the lady checked us in as there was three of us and did it quick as we all needed our beds, all staff friendly and helpful

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The most friendly and efficient staff I have ever seen, good atmosphere in the middle of the night clubs, free food during week days ... and more, I planned to stay only a few days ... but I've been there for weeks now.

Disliked: ?

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

James Godfrey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Was our first time in oz. a good place to start our trip! All staff seemed very friendly and welcoming!

Disliked: Room was nice and clean but a little smaller than expected!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rachel Baldwin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 September 2012 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: staff were really friendly, free meals also were great!

Disliked: little bit noisy and people knocking and trying to get into our room but suppose these things cant be avoided

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good

Disliked: There are no lockers in the rooms and it cost 2 dollors each time you want to but something in the lockers in the hallways.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Colin Kane

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2012 Colin would recommend this property

Liked: Massive place with lots on. There's a free meal Mon-Thurs, which is handy. It's not very big but it's free.

Disliked: The room I was in didn't have a locker. To have a locker you'd have to upgrade to a more expensive room. And if you wanted to use a locker you had to pay $2 everytime you locked it...kinda defeats the purpose of the cheaper room...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2012

Liked: The fact they gave us our money back for our three nights stay because we had a really bad stay!

Disliked: Our room was dark and dingy, the hostel was extremely noisy with loud bar and people coming and going all night (despite being in a private room) and we were plagued by COCKROACHES! By the end of our second night we had killed around 12 cockroaches in our room and had to be moved to a dorm room. We calculated around 40 people sharing three showers and there was no hot water and no way they could keep them clean with so many people 24 hours a day. We complained and got our money back for the three nights. Some of the staff were extrememly helpful and understanding and did everything they could do to help with the situation but equally some of them couldnt give a damn! overall not a pleasant experience!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Richard Mason

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 June 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in the 2 bed apartment. Was able to have drink in the apartment unlike the rest of the building. Was clean and had toaster, kettle etc, everything you need.

Disliked: Was noisey as the room over looked the bar, but it is a backpackers so not a huge surprise.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms offered more privacythan most backpackers with each of the bunk beds in the room seperated by a wall. The bar had a great atmosphere and value for money drinks and meals.

Disliked: The stairwell and elevator where a bit smelly which was off-putting.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Eloi Nobre

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: they just want to make money...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danny Parsons

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2012 Danny would recommend this property

Liked: friendly, clean, hot women !!

Disliked: creaking metal beds!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

15 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and very nice stuff in a good location to enjoy the beach or good party. Very peacful place to chill out or meet new friends.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were booking for april, but i mistake occurred and we booked for may.. I hadn't seen the mistake until we get to the hostel.. where they made a way to accommodate us without any problem.

Disliked: we had to share bathroom with another room and the bathroom was not very clean..

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

10 April 2012

Liked: They provided a refund for the next night as we decided to leave (see below)

Disliked: Semen all over bathroom, cockroaches in toilets, ear plugs plastered on walls remaining affixed due to ear wax, understaffed during night (not the nicest), overstaffed during day, as expected for a city located hostel people coming and going all the night into dormitory, all beds were squeaky and every time someone moved it was clearly heard and it didn’t help that the people next to us were having sex.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2012

Liked: Located in the valley to party.

Disliked: Staff sucked. Annoying anouncement thru loudspeakers which are in every room. Free this, free that was more like a hoak. Never saw smaller twin rooms....honestly a bad joke! No common areas other than the stinkiest kitchen I ever smelled.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2012

Liked: Staff

Disliked: Dirty

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

06 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Top Spot, Birdee Num Nums!

Disliked: Bunks in the dorms are very, very squeaky and make it hard to sleep in!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its big and has great food deals. a pool and a club

Disliked: there is no real common area where everybody is hanging out. no alcohol allowed anywhere in the hostel!!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jarleth Lennon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2012 Jarleth would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff, friendly and helpful. Good location for nightlife, but quite a long walk to town centre

Disliked: 20 people in a dorm and only one shower