We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bunk Backpackers

Hostel | 11-21 Gipps Street, Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Australia 4006

81.9% Overall Rating

380 out of 455 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/07/2015)

Karol Ann Jacques thinks…

"Staff very friendly, fun games every night! So many Backpackers at the hostel, makes it easy to meet people all over the world!"

Read all Bunk Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 7.13

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brisbane

Kookaburra Inn
29.59 USD

Guesthouse 91.2% 290 reviews
Bluetongue Backpackers & Tours
16.04 USD

Hostel 74.2% 78 reviews
Brisbane Manor Hotel
30.30 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.3% 91 reviews
Bowen Terrace Accommodation
21.39 USD

Hostel 88.0% 27 reviews
Base Brisbane - Central
16.40 USD

Hostel 68.5% 508 reviews
Base Brisbane-Embassy
17.82 USD

Hostel 71.3% 184 reviews
Ellie's Guest House
29.94 USD

Guesthouse 84.6% 5 reviews
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
17.82 USD

Hostel 74.6% 158 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.9%

Overall Rating

380 out of 455 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bunk Backpackers'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
81.6%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 338 of 388 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christoph Gebeshuber

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2013 Christoph would recommend this property

Liked: good concept. cheap food of acceptable quality. free transport to bus station

Disliked: ---

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Louisa Thomas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2013

Liked: Was fairly cheap and had power points for each bed

Disliked: Bathrooms gross, overall just felt like a bulk bin style backpackers. The two staff I dealt with at reception were nice but I think the place is so big there's no accountability and the facilities were foul. Bathrooms had vomit on floor, kitchen stunk and water in showers smelt awful too. I'm not even normally that fussy after staying in 100's of hostels but I moved out of bunk as soon as I could

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty easy to get in from airport. Rooms and bathrooms are clean. If you want to clubbing, there's plenty of places to do it around.

Disliked: Club just besides the hostel, can get quiet noisy at night. No free wifi. Lockers are 2$ per use.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alexander Felos

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: They had a meet and great with a drink which was a nice way to meet other traveler's.

Disliked: The Rooms could have been bigger.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

31 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It got lots activities bonding roommates togather, great facilities, loved it!

Disliked: Nothing, it is the best so far

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Erin Wilkinson

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Welcoming and friendly hostel. Close walk to the valley and the city. Night club right next door. Awesome place

Disliked: You have to pay for wifi

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ricky Humble

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 July 2013 Ricky would recommend this property

Liked: Size, Clean and Location

Disliked: Ricky left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Irene Rallings

Alone

Business / conference

17 July 2013 Irene would recommend this property

Liked: The mattress on my bed was super comfy!

Disliked: The building was a bit old and crummy here and there which impacted on the appearance of cleanliness. Other than that it was great.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

14 July 2013

Liked: breakfast was a great surprise. 4 different kinds of cereals, bread, butter and jam... of good quality, not of the shitty brands you normally find in hostels. Also free transfer to coach terminal was great !

Disliked: it's a ridicously huge hostel, clearly run with the purpose to make as more money as possible. u can just feel it, no matter how kind the staff may treat you. speakers in dorm rooms advertising tours left me in disbelief. free drink on check in was a joke. good for a night, but don't come here if you wish to make new friends

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lidia Koval

Alone

Business / conference

13 July 2013 Lidia would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! Would stay again!

Disliked: Lidia left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dividers in the large dorms, makes it feel more private. Lots of big lockers for valuables in the rooms and outside. Really large kitchen with a massive kitchen table and tv's so you can watch some great aussie morning television whilst you eat your breakfast.

Disliked: The bathroom in our dorm was really grim, and annoyingly the light for the dorm room was on the outside of the room. The tv room also smelt very damp and is shut at 11pm on the dot.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Magnus Barber

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 June 2013 Magnus would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy to get there from airport, Birdies next door and friendliness and helpfulness from staff really made it enjoyable!

Disliked: Better lockers

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Fanny Lozé

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 June 2013 Fanny would recommend this property

Liked: Cheerful atmosphere Cool tips/offers to go out by night / to eat City tours / shuttle offered Free Breakfast

Disliked: Paying WIFI Not quite clean and often very noisy and crowded : not a place for a restful night!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sarah-Jane Antell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

02 June 2013 Sarah-Jane would recommend this property

Liked: The room lay outs are good, rather than the beds being against the walls facing the centre, they are in the middle and you have a divider in between all the bunks, with their own lamps,plug sockets and little shelves. So you felt like you had much more privacy. There's wooden lockers in the room which if you have your own padlock. Or you can pay to use the proper lockers downstairs. We we over looking the communal area but the noise didn't really bother us. They had a good singer/guitarist while we were there in the bar and the atmosphere was great, it has its own little club too. You can't BYO drinks though, can only buy at the bar. Location is ok, 10-15 minute walk to town but further to south bank etc.

Disliked: They advertise for you to just ring when you arrive at the transit centre and they'll pick you up.. I had to ring over 20 times before anyone answered the phone, then they said they only come hourly and there wasn't one at 11, so we'd have to wait an hour and a half for a pickup, or pay $10 for a taxi. When I replied saying well you advertise a free shuttle and to just call you I just got a mumbled sorry. It's a half hour unpleasant walk with all your luggage. Reception was really slow, would have to queue for ages to check in or ask any questions. When we got to our beds mine had dirty tissues on the shelf and a empty coke bottle, unmissable if they have come and cleaned before we checked in. It's not very near town centre, 5-10 min walk to woolworths and about 10-15 to town centre. All sights are further past that so always a good walk to get anywhere.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2013

Liked: Big, mostly uncrowded kitchen

Disliked: The value you get for your money is just not worth it, for this expensive prices, which by the way strangely became higher and higher during my stay over a few days (up to 31 $) although other people paid less for the same thing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jodie Poole

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2013 Jodie would recommend this property

Liked: I like that you bunks are a bit more private due to the partitions and also the bar is good

Disliked: there was not much room for your stuff in the rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kim Cordell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2013 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in the jungle- 20 bed dorm and it was quite spacious. Everyone was very friendly at the hostel and the kitchen area was massive with lots of crockery which is always a bonus. There was a tv room with sky which was cool and the free breakfast was pretty good.

Disliked: The tv room shuts at 10.30pm which is a bit annoying but I understand they want to shut the kitchen area. There was only one bathroom in the 20 bed dorm but there are lots of showers/toilets nearby and the beds were ridiculously creaky!

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Cloe Henry

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2013

Liked: The travelling guide.

Disliked: Because in the two rooms I tried, there were cockroaches, mould, dust, dirt. In the second room, which was a private room, so more expensive, I didnt have a light near my bed, and the big room light was very low, so at night I couldnt see anything, read or write. Plus the room was so tiny I didnt have any place for my lugages. The lockers were broken. The kitchen is not well-ventilated, so after only 5 minutes in it, you smell really bad, clothes and hair smell like food and oil. And it smelled like sewer in the bathroom.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maddie Minto

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

20 May 2013 Maddie would recommend this property

Liked: I loved it! So close to everything, the friendliest staff, such good value for money. I will be staying there every time I'm in the valley, and have already recommended it to all my friends.

Disliked: Nothing! I honestly love it, best atmosphere.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Satoshi Ito

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2013 Satoshi would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: noise at night

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Leigh Henderson

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

12 May 2013 Leigh would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, close to everything.. Good value for money. Breakfast was appreciated also.

Disliked: Too much chlorine in the spa..

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

07 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Birdees

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So amazing will stay here everytime.

Disliked: Nothing I enjoyed everything.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms are quite narrow but enough space to put your stuff and have a sleep. Hostel as a hostel,can get a bit messy. The breakfast is inclusive that's a nice extra -toasts,jams,nutella, coffee,tea,cereals and stuff. would recommend to all backpackers

Disliked: Bring your ear plugs,beds are quite noisy

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Danielle McLeod-Robertson

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

01 May 2013

Liked: The room was lovely, the staff were friendly and high-energy, facilities were quite nice

Disliked: I think I would have had. Much better time had we had hot water for our showers and we weren't situated right next to the road works (neither were mentioned to us before we paid for our stay :-( We were stayin just for one night and unfortunately we didn't get much sleep and I didn't get a shower after I had worked all day. Was hoping to have been offered a refund or at least some form of apology but did not receive one from the staff. Made us feel u important and a little disappointed. I usually love staying at hostels however it unfortunately seemed as if everything went wrong last night :-( it's not the hostel's fault, I just would like an apology or some form of remorse!