HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bunk Backpackers

Hostel | 11-21 Gipps Street, Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Australia 4006

83.9% Overall Rating

338 out of 408 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/07/2014)

Cindy Worm thinks…

"Its a big place with lots of space and things to do. The tv room and the bar are very nice!"

Read all Bunk Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 9.31

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brisbane

Kookaburra Inn
38.63 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 286 reviews
Bluetongue Backpackers & Tours
20.94 USD

Hostel 73.8% 70 reviews
Brisbane Manor Hotel
34.90 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.9% 88 reviews
Bowen Terrace Accommodation
32.58 USD

Hostel 86.9% 26 reviews
Base Brisbane - Central
18.62 USD

Hostel 68.7% 482 reviews
Base Brisbane-Embassy
21.41 USD

Hostel 74.2% 178 reviews
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
19.55 USD

Hostel 74.9% 142 reviews
Banana Bender Backpackers
24.20 USD

Hostel 79.4% 42 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.9%

Overall Rating

338 out of 408 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bunk Backpackers'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
86.4%
Value
84.8%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 300 of 342 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere

Disliked: Lockers don't work, rooms bit cramped and showers not clean

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Helen Jeffery

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2013 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Pick up and drop off bus. Attached restaurant gives $5 off mains to Bunk guests. Laundry facilities.

Disliked: Room was miniscule. Booked an 8 bed dorm but not enough room for backpacks etc. If stayin dorms the kitchen is pretty far from the rooms. No lockers in rooms. Lockers outside but you had to pay $2 each time you used it. Total rip off! Installing lockers where you use your own padlock would have been just as easy, so I can only conclude that these lockers are purely for money grabbing! Our bathroom did not appear to have been cleaned for at least 3 days. There was hair left around the sink from where someone had shaved for 3 days, and toilet stalls had paper all over the floor, and actual toilets were not clean.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

adam bishop

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 January 2013 adam would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere was good the bar serves good foodd with discounts for people staying at bunk and has some good drink specials, the staff are good and its relativley clean and they offer a decent free breakfast

Disliked: the beds are really noisy and the rooms very warm if you want to be close to the city its a little farish to walk but thats your decision on where you book your location and no free internet in these times of lots of travellers is a bit crazy

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

16 January 2013

Liked: It was conveniently located for my needs.

Disliked: Too many hidden costs; deposits for everything was a bit annoying, as I had less money for food because they didn't inform anyone that there would be deposits.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

rudy spitaler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2013 rudy would recommend this property

Liked: location, near to the most interesting place of the city (china town, queen cross, central station) room clean and in order, toilet clean as well in the room (showerroom and bathroom separated, but in the room: tht's great) nice & friendly staff free food everyday, depending on the weekday: sandiwiches, pancakes, and small tacos

Disliked: my bed was noisy (unluckily i choose a bad one) booking directly in the hostel is much more expensive than on this site (around 29$ against around 22$): so book on internet if you want to extend your stay! (unless you have the mad card) internet is not for free (like in many other hostels) the kitchen closes at 22:30 it's not allowed to bring your own alcohol, because thay are licensed to serve it in the birdee (attached to the hostel: anyway the prices of beer at birdee look like good)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money, plenty to do on sight.

Disliked: The rooms are a little cramped when full of backpacks

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Samuel Snell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

02 January 2013 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is very friendly, everyone goes down to the bar daily for the free tacos. The location is great and everything is cleaned daily.

Disliked: As with any hostel it is not the cleanest place on Earth.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Levente Bodo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2012 Levente would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly and helpful staff, comfortable beds.

Disliked: Lack of free WiFi that should come as standard nowadays.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

27 November 2012

Liked: Free food was good until I got food poisioning

Disliked: People threw up in the shower and toilets and it was left like that, staff where either good or extreamly poor with deeling with needs of guests, It smelt, It was impossible to sleep at all in the room I stayed in due to the creeking beds

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

laura sheeran

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2012 laura would recommend this property

Liked: Large kitchen and good facilities

Disliked: That you could not bring alcohol into the hostel. I understand that they have a bar but you should be given an option if you want to go to a bar or not.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

gustavo saenz

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

21 November 2012

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: bathrooms very bad, the beds were imposible, you couldn´t stay even in the front of the hostel.....i will never return again

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Qianke Chen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

15 November 2012 Qianke would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely good, funny environment, talkative boss, friendly staff. I love it, differently take it if u go brisbane

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice twin rooms; helpful staff in particular as there seems to be a problem with twin room discription on hostelbookers.com, which actually don't have private bathroom, they give us a free upgrade upon request; good location within walking distance from CBD and directly in nightlife area, free pancakes on sunday, free bus station pick-up (free phone from hotel information board!)

Disliked: Shabby carpet in hallway, one fridge out of order thus the others were packed, barely enough cutlery/dishes

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2012

Liked: cheap bar

Disliked: you are not allowed to drink alcohol anywhere there were mostly british tourists and not so many backpackers when i went there

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

david howley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

23 October 2012 david would recommend this property

Liked: ;) fanntastic! such a brilliant room! pool and atmosphere was amazing !! everything really clean!! :)

Disliked: david left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jeffrey Bush

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2012 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: They had a fantastic bar with great drink specials. I liked that they had free food as well as enough power outlets for everybody staying in the room. The hostel was very clean, which it seems like that is hard to find in Brisbane.

Disliked: They had a later than usual check in and the rooms were not ready on time. There could have been more fridge space as well.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Laura Seddon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Arrived in the middle of the night the lady checked us in as there was three of us and did it quick as we all needed our beds, all staff friendly and helpful

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The most friendly and efficient staff I have ever seen, good atmosphere in the middle of the night clubs, free food during week days ... and more, I planned to stay only a few days ... but I've been there for weeks now.

Disliked: ?

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

James Godfrey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Was our first time in oz. a good place to start our trip! All staff seemed very friendly and welcoming!

Disliked: Room was nice and clean but a little smaller than expected!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rachel Baldwin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 September 2012 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: staff were really friendly, free meals also were great!

Disliked: little bit noisy and people knocking and trying to get into our room but suppose these things cant be avoided

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good

Disliked: There are no lockers in the rooms and it cost 2 dollors each time you want to but something in the lockers in the hallways.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Colin Kane

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2012 Colin would recommend this property

Liked: Massive place with lots on. There's a free meal Mon-Thurs, which is handy. It's not very big but it's free.

Disliked: The room I was in didn't have a locker. To have a locker you'd have to upgrade to a more expensive room. And if you wanted to use a locker you had to pay $2 everytime you locked it...kinda defeats the purpose of the cheaper room...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2012

Liked: The fact they gave us our money back for our three nights stay because we had a really bad stay!

Disliked: Our room was dark and dingy, the hostel was extremely noisy with loud bar and people coming and going all night (despite being in a private room) and we were plagued by COCKROACHES! By the end of our second night we had killed around 12 cockroaches in our room and had to be moved to a dorm room. We calculated around 40 people sharing three showers and there was no hot water and no way they could keep them clean with so many people 24 hours a day. We complained and got our money back for the three nights. Some of the staff were extrememly helpful and understanding and did everything they could do to help with the situation but equally some of them couldnt give a damn! overall not a pleasant experience!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Richard Mason

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 June 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in the 2 bed apartment. Was able to have drink in the apartment unlike the rest of the building. Was clean and had toaster, kettle etc, everything you need.

Disliked: Was noisey as the room over looked the bar, but it is a backpackers so not a huge surprise.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms offered more privacythan most backpackers with each of the bunk beds in the room seperated by a wall. The bar had a great atmosphere and value for money drinks and meals.

Disliked: The stairwell and elevator where a bit smelly which was off-putting.