We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bunk Backpackers

Hostel | 11-21 Gipps Street, Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Australia 4006

83.8% Overall Rating

366 out of 439 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/05/2015)

"The hostel itself was very updated, it felt more like a hotel than hostels that Ive stayed before."

Read all Bunk Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 7.79

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brisbane

Kookaburra Inn
32.32 USD

Guesthouse 91.5% 288 reviews
Bluetongue Backpackers & Tours
17.52 USD

Hostel 72.3% 75 reviews
Brisbane Manor Hotel
25.31 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.3% 91 reviews
Bowen Terrace Accommodation
22.59 USD

Hostel 88.0% 27 reviews
Base Brisbane - Central
15.58 USD

Hostel 69.5% 504 reviews
Base Brisbane-Embassy
19.47 USD

Hostel 71.9% 183 reviews
Ellie's Guest House
32.71 USD

Guesthouse 84.6% 5 reviews
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
18.69 USD

Hostel 75.1% 157 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.8%

Overall Rating

366 out of 439 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bunk Backpackers'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
87.2%
Value
82.4%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 324 of 372 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Natasha Eversfield

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: Privacy screens around the bunks were good and each bunk had its own power socket and cubby. Staff at reception were very helpful. Free breakfast was good. Loved the book exchange. Hostel was very safe. Very good value for money.

Disliked: Not enough communal chill out areas. There was the kitchen and TV area which were fantastic but you got thrown out at 10.30pm when the club upstairs got started as they wanted to shut the door through to the accomodation from the bar. Also no byo alcohol allowed in the kitchen so if you just wanted to have a few quiet beers and some conversation there is nowhere but the bar which is very loud. Also bouncers for club were very rude. We left our towels in the bar one afternoon and when we got back in the evening we went to get them and were told we had to go all the way around the building and in through the club door to get them. We explained that we just wanted to get our towels (which we could see from the door) but were basically told to sod off and go around. Eventually another (friendlier) bouncer let my friend in to get them. Only light bulb in bathroom was gone for several days before I asked for it to be replaced.( They did replace it when I asked though)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

David Sandh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Amenities, clean, loads of partying.

Disliked: Kindof too big, not very social unless you go there with a group.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013

Liked: Very good all-you-can-eat-breakfast! Coffee and tea making facilities all day

Disliked: The kitchen had no aircon and you couldn't open the windows so it was very hot and smelly inside. My first room didn't had a window, but the 20-Dorm ( I hadn't thought this before!) was very nice and you had even more privacy than in the 10-bed-dorm). You are not allowed to drink alcohol inside and they do check the rooms, so hide alcohol on fridays and saturdays around 9 o' clock! Fortitude Vallley was described as a good party location, but we didn't found a lot of party there..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ulla osterlund

Alone

Partying / nightlife

14 November 2013 ulla would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice place. And the staff and people are friendly

Disliked: ulla left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YUTARO KANAYAMA

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2013 YUTARO would recommend this property

Liked: satisfactory low price & amazing free breakfast !! Location, Facilities are good.

Disliked: small room & small bathroom

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Even though there's always a big party going on in birdees ( the hostel's bar) you can still be calm in the rooms without being disturbed by the noise.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Although the rate is slightly on the high end of hostels, they even provide breakfast (even though it is only cereals and milk), and the room was really clean, there was $2 lockers to self-store bags. To be honest, it felt like 5-star especially when we were escorted to our twin share! Keep it up!

Disliked: The shared bathroom had a poor shower head structure. There was quite a bit of grout on the sills and a worn out basin but it was generally quite clean and well equipped fixtures.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ruth Marheinecke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2013 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was awesome, cheap drinks in the bar, pretty clean, good location

Disliked: It's a very big hostel and therefore not particularly personal. Pay for wifi, washing machine and lockers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They always had something going on for us to do. Staff always super helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly

Disliked: Not that clean

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Clement Riviere

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

26 September 2013 Clement would recommend this property

Liked: A very good atmosphere, events and party all night Free breakfast 24h reception

Disliked: You have to buy internet (12$ a week) and for washing your clothes (4$ washing 4$ dryer)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christoph Gebeshuber

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2013 Christoph would recommend this property

Liked: good concept. cheap food of acceptable quality. free transport to bus station

Disliked: ---

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Louisa Thomas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2013

Liked: Was fairly cheap and had power points for each bed

Disliked: Bathrooms gross, overall just felt like a bulk bin style backpackers. The two staff I dealt with at reception were nice but I think the place is so big there's no accountability and the facilities were foul. Bathrooms had vomit on floor, kitchen stunk and water in showers smelt awful too. I'm not even normally that fussy after staying in 100's of hostels but I moved out of bunk as soon as I could

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty easy to get in from airport. Rooms and bathrooms are clean. If you want to clubbing, there's plenty of places to do it around.

Disliked: Club just besides the hostel, can get quiet noisy at night. No free wifi. Lockers are 2$ per use.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alexander Felos

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: They had a meet and great with a drink which was a nice way to meet other traveler's.

Disliked: The Rooms could have been bigger.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

31 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It got lots activities bonding roommates togather, great facilities, loved it!

Disliked: Nothing, it is the best so far

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Erin Wilkinson

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Welcoming and friendly hostel. Close walk to the valley and the city. Night club right next door. Awesome place

Disliked: You have to pay for wifi

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ricky Humble

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 July 2013 Ricky would recommend this property

Liked: Size, Clean and Location

Disliked: Ricky left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Irene Rallings

Alone

Business / conference

17 July 2013 Irene would recommend this property

Liked: The mattress on my bed was super comfy!

Disliked: The building was a bit old and crummy here and there which impacted on the appearance of cleanliness. Other than that it was great.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

14 July 2013

Liked: breakfast was a great surprise. 4 different kinds of cereals, bread, butter and jam... of good quality, not of the shitty brands you normally find in hostels. Also free transfer to coach terminal was great !

Disliked: it's a ridicously huge hostel, clearly run with the purpose to make as more money as possible. u can just feel it, no matter how kind the staff may treat you. speakers in dorm rooms advertising tours left me in disbelief. free drink on check in was a joke. good for a night, but don't come here if you wish to make new friends

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lidia Koval

Alone

Business / conference

13 July 2013 Lidia would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! Would stay again!

Disliked: Lidia left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dividers in the large dorms, makes it feel more private. Lots of big lockers for valuables in the rooms and outside. Really large kitchen with a massive kitchen table and tv's so you can watch some great aussie morning television whilst you eat your breakfast.

Disliked: The bathroom in our dorm was really grim, and annoyingly the light for the dorm room was on the outside of the room. The tv room also smelt very damp and is shut at 11pm on the dot.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Magnus Barber

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 June 2013 Magnus would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy to get there from airport, Birdies next door and friendliness and helpfulness from staff really made it enjoyable!

Disliked: Better lockers

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Fanny Lozé

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 June 2013 Fanny would recommend this property

Liked: Cheerful atmosphere Cool tips/offers to go out by night / to eat City tours / shuttle offered Free Breakfast

Disliked: Paying WIFI Not quite clean and often very noisy and crowded : not a place for a restful night!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sarah-Jane Antell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

02 June 2013 Sarah-Jane would recommend this property

Liked: The room lay outs are good, rather than the beds being against the walls facing the centre, they are in the middle and you have a divider in between all the bunks, with their own lamps,plug sockets and little shelves. So you felt like you had much more privacy. There's wooden lockers in the room which if you have your own padlock. Or you can pay to use the proper lockers downstairs. We we over looking the communal area but the noise didn't really bother us. They had a good singer/guitarist while we were there in the bar and the atmosphere was great, it has its own little club too. You can't BYO drinks though, can only buy at the bar. Location is ok, 10-15 minute walk to town but further to south bank etc.

Disliked: They advertise for you to just ring when you arrive at the transit centre and they'll pick you up.. I had to ring over 20 times before anyone answered the phone, then they said they only come hourly and there wasn't one at 11, so we'd have to wait an hour and a half for a pickup, or pay $10 for a taxi. When I replied saying well you advertise a free shuttle and to just call you I just got a mumbled sorry. It's a half hour unpleasant walk with all your luggage. Reception was really slow, would have to queue for ages to check in or ask any questions. When we got to our beds mine had dirty tissues on the shelf and a empty coke bottle, unmissable if they have come and cleaned before we checked in. It's not very near town centre, 5-10 min walk to woolworths and about 10-15 to town centre. All sights are further past that so always a good walk to get anywhere.