HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bunk Backpackers

Hostel | 11-21 Gipps Street, Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Australia 4006

75.8% Overall Rating

329 out of 397 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/03/2014)

"Surprised in a very positive way after reading the bad reviews. Great value for money, perfect for Backpackers."

Read all Bunk Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.88
  • Towel USD 0.94

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brisbane

Valley Verandas Friendly Backpackers
17.82 USD

Hostel 66.1% 136 reviews
Kookaburra Inn
38.93 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 284 reviews
Bluetongue Backpackers & Tours
21.11 USD

Hostel 73.8% 70 reviews
Brisbane Manor Hotel
32.83 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.9% 88 reviews
Bowen Terrace Accommodation
27.20 USD

Hostel 85.2% 24 reviews
Base Brisbane - Central
20.64 USD

Hostel 65.5% 475 reviews
Base Brisbane-Embassy
20.64 USD

Hostel 72.9% 171 reviews
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
20.64 USD

Hostel 71.2% 135 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.8%

Overall Rating

329 out of 397 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bunk Backpackers'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
76.8%
Value
72.8%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 290 of 331 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms are quite narrow but enough space to put your stuff and have a sleep. Hostel as a hostel,can get a bit messy. The breakfast is inclusive that's a nice extra -toasts,jams,nutella, coffee,tea,cereals and stuff. would recommend to all backpackers

Disliked: Bring your ear plugs,beds are quite noisy

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Danielle McLeod-Robertson

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

01 May 2013

Liked: The room was lovely, the staff were friendly and high-energy, facilities were quite nice

Disliked: I think I would have had. Much better time had we had hot water for our showers and we weren't situated right next to the road works (neither were mentioned to us before we paid for our stay :-( We were stayin just for one night and unfortunately we didn't get much sleep and I didn't get a shower after I had worked all day. Was hoping to have been offered a refund or at least some form of apology but did not receive one from the staff. Made us feel u important and a little disappointed. I usually love staying at hostels however it unfortunately seemed as if everything went wrong last night :-( it's not the hostel's fault, I just would like an apology or some form of remorse!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Anja Strauss

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2013 Anja would recommend this property

Liked: great stay!

Disliked: cant bring alcohol :(

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2013

Liked: Quiet, Shared bathroom with only one more room

Disliked: There was a smell both on the floor, the bathroom and in the room; no idea what it is... Perhaps the mould in the room ?!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Frederik Doetzer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2013 Frederik would recommend this property

Liked: Free Breakfast (Continental), Rooms are prettty cheap. One Bathroom for 4 persons.

Disliked: Dirty bathrooms (Toilets!), Very small rooms. Location not perfect, but not too far away.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Christoffer Jagerhorn

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 April 2013 Christoffer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, 24 hrs reception, good facilities.

Disliked: Inadequate vents in the kitchen, the air got really stuffed. Beds made a lot of noise for even the smallest movement, pool was small and cramped in beside the bar, not a very inviting place to take a swim.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Lucy Sawyer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

04 April 2013

Liked: great to get breakfast included, real bonus

Disliked: mouldy shower curtains, coudln't share room with the person I booked with, music from bar directly outside in courtyard until 3am

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jay Lee

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

03 April 2013 Jay would recommend this property

Liked: clean and kind staff

Disliked: good! but only one is not free-wifi. that's all.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Luke Webb

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2013 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. Travel bugs on site for booking tours to Fraser Island etc. bar on site. Stayed in a 20 bed dorm but it didn't feel like it as there were partition walls between bunks.

Disliked: Expensive Internet and had to pay $2 for a locker.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

valentin Baud

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2013 valentin would recommend this property

Liked: nice bar , nice staff , good location, , swiming pool

Disliked: valentin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cleo Fraass

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2013 Cleo would recommend this property

Liked: I had the best time in bunk. I almost felt like home.

Disliked: Cleo left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

JULIE RAFOLS

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2013

Liked: Atmosphere and bar

Disliked: Very dirty loads of insects in the room Staff not helpful No lockers in room and lockers outside very small and expensive Cleaners useless

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

31 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: birdees is the best place for party, celebrating australia day there was awesome, i was lucky with my roommates and no one stole anything.

Disliked: we got rain in our room, so the clothes starts smelling bad and the floor was wet

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Laura Cooney

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of facilities, good bar deals ($5 off main meals when you show your room key and cheap drinks), enough space and communal areas for it to not feel crowded but equally quite social, friendly staff

Disliked: Smaller rooms feel a bit cramped, not enough kitchen equipment

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place with free food, big kitchen, great breakfast and all facilities

Disliked: wi fi isn't free (4 dollars for one day is a little bit expensive).

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere

Disliked: Lockers don't work, rooms bit cramped and showers not clean

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Helen Jeffery

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2013 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Pick up and drop off bus. Attached restaurant gives $5 off mains to Bunk guests. Laundry facilities.

Disliked: Room was miniscule. Booked an 8 bed dorm but not enough room for backpacks etc. If stayin dorms the kitchen is pretty far from the rooms. No lockers in rooms. Lockers outside but you had to pay $2 each time you used it. Total rip off! Installing lockers where you use your own padlock would have been just as easy, so I can only conclude that these lockers are purely for money grabbing! Our bathroom did not appear to have been cleaned for at least 3 days. There was hair left around the sink from where someone had shaved for 3 days, and toilet stalls had paper all over the floor, and actual toilets were not clean.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

adam bishop

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 January 2013 adam would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere was good the bar serves good foodd with discounts for people staying at bunk and has some good drink specials, the staff are good and its relativley clean and they offer a decent free breakfast

Disliked: the beds are really noisy and the rooms very warm if you want to be close to the city its a little farish to walk but thats your decision on where you book your location and no free internet in these times of lots of travellers is a bit crazy

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

16 January 2013

Liked: It was conveniently located for my needs.

Disliked: Too many hidden costs; deposits for everything was a bit annoying, as I had less money for food because they didn't inform anyone that there would be deposits.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

rudy spitaler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2013 rudy would recommend this property

Liked: location, near to the most interesting place of the city (china town, queen cross, central station) room clean and in order, toilet clean as well in the room (showerroom and bathroom separated, but in the room: tht's great) nice & friendly staff free food everyday, depending on the weekday: sandiwiches, pancakes, and small tacos

Disliked: my bed was noisy (unluckily i choose a bad one) booking directly in the hostel is much more expensive than on this site (around 29$ against around 22$): so book on internet if you want to extend your stay! (unless you have the mad card) internet is not for free (like in many other hostels) the kitchen closes at 22:30 it's not allowed to bring your own alcohol, because thay are licensed to serve it in the birdee (attached to the hostel: anyway the prices of beer at birdee look like good)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money, plenty to do on sight.

Disliked: The rooms are a little cramped when full of backpacks

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Samuel Snell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

02 January 2013 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is very friendly, everyone goes down to the bar daily for the free tacos. The location is great and everything is cleaned daily.

Disliked: As with any hostel it is not the cleanest place on Earth.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Levente Bodo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2012 Levente would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly and helpful staff, comfortable beds.

Disliked: Lack of free WiFi that should come as standard nowadays.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

27 November 2012

Liked: Free food was good until I got food poisioning

Disliked: People threw up in the shower and toilets and it was left like that, staff where either good or extreamly poor with deeling with needs of guests, It smelt, It was impossible to sleep at all in the room I stayed in due to the creeking beds

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

laura sheeran

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2012 laura would recommend this property

Liked: Large kitchen and good facilities

Disliked: That you could not bring alcohol into the hostel. I understand that they have a bar but you should be given an option if you want to go to a bar or not.