HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bunk Backpackers

Hostel | 11-21 Gipps Street, Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Australia 4006

83.9% Overall Rating

338 out of 408 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/07/2014)

Cindy Worm thinks…

"Its a big place with lots of space and things to do. The tv room and the bar are very nice!"

Read all Bunk Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 9.36

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brisbane

Kookaburra Inn
38.84 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 286 reviews
Bluetongue Backpackers & Tours
21.06 USD

Hostel 73.8% 70 reviews
Brisbane Manor Hotel
32.76 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.9% 88 reviews
Bowen Terrace Accommodation
27.14 USD

Hostel 86.9% 26 reviews
Base Brisbane - Central
18.72 USD

Hostel 68.7% 482 reviews
Base Brisbane-Embassy
21.53 USD

Hostel 74.2% 178 reviews
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
19.65 USD

Hostel 74.9% 142 reviews
Banana Bender Backpackers
24.33 USD

Hostel 79.4% 42 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.9%

Overall Rating

338 out of 408 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bunk Backpackers'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
86.4%
Value
84.8%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 300 of 342 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sarah-Jane Antell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

02 June 2013 Sarah-Jane would recommend this property

Liked: The room lay outs are good, rather than the beds being against the walls facing the centre, they are in the middle and you have a divider in between all the bunks, with their own lamps,plug sockets and little shelves. So you felt like you had much more privacy. There's wooden lockers in the room which if you have your own padlock. Or you can pay to use the proper lockers downstairs. We we over looking the communal area but the noise didn't really bother us. They had a good singer/guitarist while we were there in the bar and the atmosphere was great, it has its own little club too. You can't BYO drinks though, can only buy at the bar. Location is ok, 10-15 minute walk to town but further to south bank etc.

Disliked: They advertise for you to just ring when you arrive at the transit centre and they'll pick you up.. I had to ring over 20 times before anyone answered the phone, then they said they only come hourly and there wasn't one at 11, so we'd have to wait an hour and a half for a pickup, or pay $10 for a taxi. When I replied saying well you advertise a free shuttle and to just call you I just got a mumbled sorry. It's a half hour unpleasant walk with all your luggage. Reception was really slow, would have to queue for ages to check in or ask any questions. When we got to our beds mine had dirty tissues on the shelf and a empty coke bottle, unmissable if they have come and cleaned before we checked in. It's not very near town centre, 5-10 min walk to woolworths and about 10-15 to town centre. All sights are further past that so always a good walk to get anywhere.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2013

Liked: Big, mostly uncrowded kitchen

Disliked: The value you get for your money is just not worth it, for this expensive prices, which by the way strangely became higher and higher during my stay over a few days (up to 31 $) although other people paid less for the same thing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jodie Poole

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2013 Jodie would recommend this property

Liked: I like that you bunks are a bit more private due to the partitions and also the bar is good

Disliked: there was not much room for your stuff in the rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kim Cordell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2013 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in the jungle- 20 bed dorm and it was quite spacious. Everyone was very friendly at the hostel and the kitchen area was massive with lots of crockery which is always a bonus. There was a tv room with sky which was cool and the free breakfast was pretty good.

Disliked: The tv room shuts at 10.30pm which is a bit annoying but I understand they want to shut the kitchen area. There was only one bathroom in the 20 bed dorm but there are lots of showers/toilets nearby and the beds were ridiculously creaky!

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Cloe Henry

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2013

Liked: The travelling guide.

Disliked: Because in the two rooms I tried, there were cockroaches, mould, dust, dirt. In the second room, which was a private room, so more expensive, I didnt have a light near my bed, and the big room light was very low, so at night I couldnt see anything, read or write. Plus the room was so tiny I didnt have any place for my lugages. The lockers were broken. The kitchen is not well-ventilated, so after only 5 minutes in it, you smell really bad, clothes and hair smell like food and oil. And it smelled like sewer in the bathroom.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maddie Minto

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

20 May 2013 Maddie would recommend this property

Liked: I loved it! So close to everything, the friendliest staff, such good value for money. I will be staying there every time I'm in the valley, and have already recommended it to all my friends.

Disliked: Nothing! I honestly love it, best atmosphere.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Satoshi Ito

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2013 Satoshi would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: noise at night

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Leigh Henderson

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

12 May 2013 Leigh would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, close to everything.. Good value for money. Breakfast was appreciated also.

Disliked: Too much chlorine in the spa..

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

07 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Birdees

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So amazing will stay here everytime.

Disliked: Nothing I enjoyed everything.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms are quite narrow but enough space to put your stuff and have a sleep. Hostel as a hostel,can get a bit messy. The breakfast is inclusive that's a nice extra -toasts,jams,nutella, coffee,tea,cereals and stuff. would recommend to all backpackers

Disliked: Bring your ear plugs,beds are quite noisy

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Danielle McLeod-Robertson

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

01 May 2013

Liked: The room was lovely, the staff were friendly and high-energy, facilities were quite nice

Disliked: I think I would have had. Much better time had we had hot water for our showers and we weren't situated right next to the road works (neither were mentioned to us before we paid for our stay :-( We were stayin just for one night and unfortunately we didn't get much sleep and I didn't get a shower after I had worked all day. Was hoping to have been offered a refund or at least some form of apology but did not receive one from the staff. Made us feel u important and a little disappointed. I usually love staying at hostels however it unfortunately seemed as if everything went wrong last night :-( it's not the hostel's fault, I just would like an apology or some form of remorse!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Anja Strauss

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2013 Anja would recommend this property

Liked: great stay!

Disliked: cant bring alcohol :(

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2013

Liked: Quiet, Shared bathroom with only one more room

Disliked: There was a smell both on the floor, the bathroom and in the room; no idea what it is... Perhaps the mould in the room ?!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Frederik Doetzer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2013 Frederik would recommend this property

Liked: Free Breakfast (Continental), Rooms are prettty cheap. One Bathroom for 4 persons.

Disliked: Dirty bathrooms (Toilets!), Very small rooms. Location not perfect, but not too far away.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Christoffer Jagerhorn

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 April 2013 Christoffer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, 24 hrs reception, good facilities.

Disliked: Inadequate vents in the kitchen, the air got really stuffed. Beds made a lot of noise for even the smallest movement, pool was small and cramped in beside the bar, not a very inviting place to take a swim.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Lucy Sawyer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

04 April 2013

Liked: great to get breakfast included, real bonus

Disliked: mouldy shower curtains, coudln't share room with the person I booked with, music from bar directly outside in courtyard until 3am

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jay Lee

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

03 April 2013 Jay would recommend this property

Liked: clean and kind staff

Disliked: good! but only one is not free-wifi. that's all.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Luke Webb

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2013 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. Travel bugs on site for booking tours to Fraser Island etc. bar on site. Stayed in a 20 bed dorm but it didn't feel like it as there were partition walls between bunks.

Disliked: Expensive Internet and had to pay $2 for a locker.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

valentin Baud

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2013 valentin would recommend this property

Liked: nice bar , nice staff , good location, , swiming pool

Disliked: valentin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cleo Fraass

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2013 Cleo would recommend this property

Liked: I had the best time in bunk. I almost felt like home.

Disliked: Cleo left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

JULIE RAFOLS

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2013

Liked: Atmosphere and bar

Disliked: Very dirty loads of insects in the room Staff not helpful No lockers in room and lockers outside very small and expensive Cleaners useless

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

31 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: birdees is the best place for party, celebrating australia day there was awesome, i was lucky with my roommates and no one stole anything.

Disliked: we got rain in our room, so the clothes starts smelling bad and the floor was wet

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Laura Cooney

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of facilities, good bar deals ($5 off main meals when you show your room key and cheap drinks), enough space and communal areas for it to not feel crowded but equally quite social, friendly staff

Disliked: Smaller rooms feel a bit cramped, not enough kitchen equipment

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place with free food, big kitchen, great breakfast and all facilities

Disliked: wi fi isn't free (4 dollars for one day is a little bit expensive).