HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Brisbane City Backpackers Brisbane Hostel

380 Upper Roma Street, Qld 4000, Brisbane, Australia

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 79%

Location 84%

Safety 79%

Staff 79%

Value 76%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 11.43USD
  • Breakfast 3.81USD
  • Towel 7.62USD

Important Information

CANCELLATION POLICY

48 hrs notice from the date of arrival is required to cancel a booking.

CHECK-IN POLICY

All guests are required to produce goverment photo ID on check-in.
Persons wishing to stay in our backpacking dormitory accommodation are required to have with them, a full sized travellers backpack.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 79%

Location 84%

Safety 79%

Staff 79%

Value 76%

Showing 1-10 of 25 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Good view of the city

Disliked: Very cold during the night

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Very close to transit centre and easy to walk to Southbank. Awesome views out of the city.

Disliked: Kitchen not the cleanest - but that due to guests as well.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent choice of hostel, busy and central, not noisy and plenty facilities to keep everyone occupied.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The pub and the rooftop

Disliked: the room was dirty not because of the hostel but because of the people

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Great View

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is very convenient!

Disliked: It have been the worst hostel far away. The thing that I most care in a hostel is the cleanness, and I didn't find it in this hostel. When I arrived to my bethdrom the smell was horrible. I felt sick straight away, after I have to sleep in the up bed in front of the air conditioner that sounds to much, so I decided to turn off. And when I put my blanket oh my God that mattress was so dirty and full of spot everywhere. I could feel the tables in my back .... luckily I just stayed one nigth there ... please if you are looking for a good place that isn't the option.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Pool, cinema, bar (drinks and food), big kitchen, garden and tower, clean, close to CBD

Disliked: very loud at night, room too small, bed linen (hard plastic)

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: One of the better hostels in Brissy.Swimming pool and common area very good and a handy bar.Generally good atmosphere.

Disliked: This hostel has a silly rule about only allowing travellers with a backpack over 65kg! I have a large soft-bodied bag with wheels which is also very common amongst hostel travellers.The manager let me in anyway but i really cannot see the common sense in this rule(especially since one guy in my dorm room had a similar bag and another a suit case)At least my food was'nt taken this time has it was once from here.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The room was air-conditioned. The hostel is pretty near the train station.

Disliked: On arrival everything seemed great and the girl on the desk was very friendly. But as the time that we were there progressed, the service went rapidly downhill. On several occasions I asked the reception staff for recommendations for somewhere to eat, for transport advice and other things and they came up with a blank stare, a grunt or a mumbled "dunno". I work in the tourism industry and find it unfathomable that you would employ someone to work on a front desk in a busy hostel who neither knows the attractions of the city very well or seems to have no interest in finding out about them. It appeared that a lot of the staff were sleepy, hungover travelers who were just keen to earn a quick buck or two. The bathrooms were not checked and were not cleaned regularly and the kitchen was just a disgrace. The atmosphere in the hostel is loutish and unfriendly. Would not recommend.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Pool, happy-hour of the bar, river view. Room was clean.

Disliked: The kitchen was horrible. Very limited tools. No plats, cutlery, available: we have had to leave 10$/pax deposit to get them ,which we discover only after searching all around the kitchen, and they were dirty !The cleanliness of the kitchen was very limited... The gas cooker had to be lighted up with our own mean.Noisy room on bar side.

Check Availability