HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Chill Backpackers Brisbane Hostel

328 Upper Roma Street, Brisbane, 4000, Brisbane, Australia

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 73%

Location 85%

Safety 71%

Staff 79%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

Check-in policy:
In the interests of security, all guests are required to produce government photo ID on check-in.
Persons wishing to stay in our backpacking dormitory accommodation are required to have with them, a full sized traveller’s backpack. A backpack is not required to stay in a single, twin or double room.

Payment:
Every transaction made using eftpos of credit card will incur a $1 surcharge

Chill Backpackers reserves the right to pre authorise credit cards prior to arrival.

Bookings are only guaranteed with a credit card which is valid and has sufficient amount equal to the full amount of the booking.

Cancellation policy:
Please be aware there is a 48 hour cancellation period with Chill Backpackers. Once inside this period, full payment will be taken of the provided credit card. A cancellation number needs to be obtained when cancelling a booking.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 73%

Location 85%

Safety 71%

Staff 79%

Value 81%

Showing 1-10 of 27 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: staff

Disliked: No windows

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean and spacious, one of the better kitchens I've used in a hostel on the east coast

Disliked: It felt a little impersonal, not as social as other hostels

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Location

Disliked: Kitchen

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff were very friendly and helpful

Disliked: The kitchen was not particularly clean, and there didn't seem to be much space for storage or surfaces for cooking.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Dorms were clean, location approx 10 minutes walk from main shopping street and close to river to cross to southbank which was good.

Disliked: Staff were not overly friendly. Showers adequate but not the cleanest.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Terrace

Disliked: Fridge was too small

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location near to transit centre. Pretty clean overall.

Disliked: Most of the Reception staff are incompetent, rude and unhelpful (not all). A few of the gas cooker Hobbs are not working and one of the cleaners stole a hat from my double room.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is purely one of the reasons we booked a couple more nights on, as the transit centre was a 5 minute walk away.

Disliked: The staff were incredibly rude and unhelpful. After they made an error with my booking, they suggested that it was my fault. There was clearly no communication between staff members as I had a note left on my door to come to reception, to find out it was yet another mistake. They also told me different fees for leaving luggage in the storage room. The night manager especially, Sam, I think his name was, was rude, unhelpful and should not be working as a night manager when he lacked social skills!!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location.Things going on at the hostel is quiz night/movie night

Disliked: Room was very small and was an upgrade...no lockers either

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the receptionist david was very welcoming, he gave me a free upgrade and showed me on the map pretty much all the important things to do and see. the two outside terraces are amazing, cleanest hostel ever, when i checked out the receptionist Girl made a coffee for me, all the staff was very nice

Disliked: aircon was a lil too cold and you can't turn it lower or higher

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability