We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Chill Backpackers

Hostel | 328 Upper Roma Street, Brisbane, Australia 4000

75.8% Overall Rating

176 out of 226 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/08/2015)

"Dorms were clean, location approx 10 minutes walk from main shopping street and close to river to cross to southbank which was good."

Read all Chill Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Check-in policy: In the interests of security, all guests are required to produce government photo ID on check-in. Persons wishing to stay in our backpacking dormitory accommodation are required to have with them, a full sized traveller’s backpack. A backpack is not required to stay in a single, twin or double room. Payment: Every transaction made using eftpos of credit card will incur a $1 surcharge Chill Backpackers reserves the right to pre authorise credit cards prior to arrival. Bookings are only guaranteed with a credit card which is valid and has sufficient amount equal to the full amount of the booking. Cancellation policy: Please be aware there is a 48 hour cancellation period with Chill Backpackers. Once inside this period, full payment will be taken of the provided credit card. A cancellation number needs to be obtained when cancelling a booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brisbane

Brisbane City Backpackers
18.62 USD

Hostel 80.1% 748 reviews
Brisbane City YHA
24.36 USD

Hostel 85.9% 174 reviews
Yellow Submarine Backpackers
11.46 USD

Hostel 69.5% 47 reviews
Banana Bender Backpackers
17.91 USD

Hostel 82.3% 46 reviews
Eton house
39.40 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Aussie Way Hostel
19.34 USD

Hostel 80.2% 301 reviews
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
17.91 USD

Hostel 74.6% 158 reviews
Base Brisbane - Central
16.48 USD

Hostel 68.5% 508 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.8%

Overall Rating

176 out of 226 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Chill Backpackers'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
76.8%
Value
76.0%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 179 of 189 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dorms were clean, location approx 10 minutes walk from main shopping street and close to river to cross to southbank which was good.

Disliked: Staff were not overly friendly. Showers adequate but not the cleanest.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Terrace

Disliked: Fridge was too small

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near to transit centre. Pretty clean overall.

Disliked: Most of the Reception staff are incompetent, rude and unhelpful (not all). A few of the gas cooker Hobbs are not working and one of the cleaners stole a hat from my double room.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Hayley Moriarty

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2015 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: The location is purely one of the reasons we booked a couple more nights on, as the transit centre was a 5 minute walk away.

Disliked: The staff were incredibly rude and unhelpful. After they made an error with my booking, they suggested that it was my fault. There was clearly no communication between staff members as I had a note left on my door to come to reception, to find out it was yet another mistake. They also told me different fees for leaving luggage in the storage room. The night manager especially, Sam, I think his name was, was rude, unhelpful and should not be working as a night manager when he lacked social skills!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Things going on at the hostel is quiz night/movie night

Disliked: Room was very small and was an upgrade...no lockers either

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Scholier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2015 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: the receptionist david was very welcoming, he gave me a free upgrade and showed me on the map pretty much all the important things to do and see. the two outside terraces are amazing, cleanest hostel ever, when i checked out the receptionist Girl made a coffee for me, all the staff was very nice

Disliked: aircon was a lil too cold and you can't turn it lower or higher

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

20 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfest

Disliked: Shower

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its really central and only a few walking minutes from the cbd. You can bring your own alcohol.

Disliked: /

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, clear room, good location

Disliked: bathroom's water is unstable

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

08 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So island good location

Disliked: Staff were quite rude and not very helpful.Room wasn't the cleanest, they were super strict about staying outside with drinks and for a backpackers (I've stayed in ALOT) I was quite disappointed about how inflexible they were. It's fine for a short stay but I definitely wouldn't go back.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop views of city

Disliked: One girl in reception was very rude she completely ignored me when I asked for a blanket as it was soo cold at night. She was generally unhelpful can't believe she has a receptionist job. The manager and other staff were very nice though.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

18 May 2014

Liked: Roof

Disliked: Couldn't invite visitors/friends to the roof top

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

19 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop terrace had good views of Brisbane, free sausage sizzler on Fridays. Staff were friendly

Disliked: no lockers in bedrooms, we were in a 5 bed dorm and the room felt very small and crowded

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Maria Pasqualino

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2014 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Was very clean

Disliked: Maria left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2014

Liked: Good location. Close to everything

Disliked: See above. Cleanliness is horrible

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

hugo sander

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2014 hugo would recommend this property

Liked: The style and the aircon fulltime on rooms

Disliked: The music they play is not the best, but is the same on every backpacker.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very characteristic building; bright blue with the name of the Hostel on the side so easy to spot. It's only a couple of minutes walk from the Transit Centre, and also located opposite a cinema and supermarket. The best news for me on arriving there was being told I had been upgraded to a private room, which I must add was clean and very well air-conditioned.

Disliked: Slightly far out of town but I enjoyed the quieter environment anyway after coming from Surfers Paradise!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

09 December 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Lack of blankets/ facilities

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of movies shown, great outdoor areas, close to town and southbank, plenty of bathrooms/shower rooms

Disliked: Hostel overbooked rooms so not in the same room (although we were upgraded to a smaller dorm the next day).

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 November 2013

Liked: The location was great right near the roma street station. Various other hostels up the road. Good walk to central

Disliked: The bathrooms were always dirty, there was no place to leave your clothes in the shower and no bench space in the entire bathroom. Also had no hand towels or hand dryers. NO LOCKERS! Does not offer towel with linen. If you want one you have to purchase. If they even have any to purchase... Moved around three times.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very close to the train station which is very convenient

Disliked: hard to find parking,

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Dustin Pietak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2013 Dustin would recommend this property

Liked: nice atmosphere, clean, rooms are not too big. amazing rooftop terrace! breakfast with view over brisbane =)

Disliked: very cold rooms. not aible ro change the temperature of the aircon.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Patrick

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Chill area, free parking and rooftop bar.

Disliked: Nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2013

Liked: Close to bus terminal

Disliked: Dirty, no where to lock belongings, not great amenities

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2013

Liked: view from the terrace, byo

Disliked: room too small and without window, no lockers in rooms, no living room inside the building, internnet too expensive