We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Chill Backpackers

Hostel | 328 Upper Roma Street, Brisbane, Australia 4000

74.5% Overall Rating

167 out of 217 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/02/2014)

"Rooftop terrace had good views of Brisbane, free sausage sizzler on Fridays. Staff were friendly"

Read all Chill Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Check-in policy: In the interests of security, all guests are required to produce government photo ID on check-in. Persons wishing to stay in our backpacking dormitory accommodation are required to have with them, a full sized traveller’s backpack. A backpack is not required to stay in a single, twin or double room. Payment: Every transaction made using eftpos of credit card will incur a $1 surcharge Chill Backpackers reserves the right to pre authorise credit cards prior to arrival. Bookings are only guaranteed with a credit card which is valid and has sufficient amount equal to the full amount of the booking. Cancellation policy: Please be aware there is a 48 hour cancellation period with Chill Backpackers. Once inside this period, full payment will be taken of the provided credit card. A cancellation number needs to be obtained when cancelling a booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brisbane

Brisbane City Backpackers
18.34 USD

Hostel 78.9% 738 reviews
Brisbane City YHA
29.69 USD

Hostel 85.8% 163 reviews
Yellow Submarine Backpackers
13.97 USD

Hostel 70.2% 28 reviews
Banana Bender Backpackers
22.71 USD

Hostel 79.4% 42 reviews
Eton house
56.77 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Aussie Way Hostel
23.58 USD

Hostel 80.8% 293 reviews
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
20.96 USD

Hostel 77.7% 150 reviews
Base Brisbane - Central
20.09 USD

Hostel 69.6% 490 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.5%

Overall Rating

167 out of 217 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Chill Backpackers'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
78.4%
Value
70.4%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 171 of 180 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, clear room, good location

Disliked: bathroom's water is unstable

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

08 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So island good location

Disliked: Staff were quite rude and not very helpful.Room wasn't the cleanest, they were super strict about staying outside with drinks and for a backpackers (I've stayed in ALOT) I was quite disappointed about how inflexible they were. It's fine for a short stay but I definitely wouldn't go back.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop views of city

Disliked: One girl in reception was very rude she completely ignored me when I asked for a blanket as it was soo cold at night. She was generally unhelpful can't believe she has a receptionist job. The manager and other staff were very nice though.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

18 May 2014

Liked: Roof

Disliked: Couldn't invite visitors/friends to the roof top

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

19 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop terrace had good views of Brisbane, free sausage sizzler on Fridays. Staff were friendly

Disliked: no lockers in bedrooms, we were in a 5 bed dorm and the room felt very small and crowded

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Maria Pasqualino

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2014 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Was very clean

Disliked: Maria left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2014

Liked: Good location. Close to everything

Disliked: See above. Cleanliness is horrible

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

hugo sander

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2014 hugo would recommend this property

Liked: The style and the aircon fulltime on rooms

Disliked: The music they play is not the best, but is the same on every backpacker.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very characteristic building; bright blue with the name of the Hostel on the side so easy to spot. It's only a couple of minutes walk from the Transit Centre, and also located opposite a cinema and supermarket. The best news for me on arriving there was being told I had been upgraded to a private room, which I must add was clean and very well air-conditioned.

Disliked: Slightly far out of town but I enjoyed the quieter environment anyway after coming from Surfers Paradise!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

09 December 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Lack of blankets/ facilities

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of movies shown, great outdoor areas, close to town and southbank, plenty of bathrooms/shower rooms

Disliked: Hostel overbooked rooms so not in the same room (although we were upgraded to a smaller dorm the next day).

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 November 2013

Liked: The location was great right near the roma street station. Various other hostels up the road. Good walk to central

Disliked: The bathrooms were always dirty, there was no place to leave your clothes in the shower and no bench space in the entire bathroom. Also had no hand towels or hand dryers. NO LOCKERS! Does not offer towel with linen. If you want one you have to purchase. If they even have any to purchase... Moved around three times.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very close to the train station which is very convenient

Disliked: hard to find parking,

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Dustin Pietak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2013 Dustin would recommend this property

Liked: nice atmosphere, clean, rooms are not too big. amazing rooftop terrace! breakfast with view over brisbane =)

Disliked: very cold rooms. not aible ro change the temperature of the aircon.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Patrick

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Chill area, free parking and rooftop bar.

Disliked: Nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2013

Liked: Close to bus terminal

Disliked: Dirty, no where to lock belongings, not great amenities

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2013

Liked: view from the terrace, byo

Disliked: room too small and without window, no lockers in rooms, no living room inside the building, internnet too expensive

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was new, so the rooms and the carpet were clean. The roof terrace was nice and it had a pool table. The tv room was quite good, with comfy couches to sit on.

Disliked: The toilets on the first floor were unisex, so they more often that not ended up being absolutely filthy and p***** on. When it rained, most of the terrace was unusable, so you had to squeeze onto two picnic tables. Internet is really expensive here compared to other places, and it doesnt reach into the rooms.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location there is very conveinence.

Disliked: No lockers provided in rooms.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Owen Connick

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

19 July 2013 Owen would recommend this property

Liked: Room was clean and nicely sized. No noise from the road. Outdoor areas are good with a great view over the river.

Disliked: Kitchen is waaaayyy too small for the number of guests. Almost impossible to cook between 6-8.30pm. After this all the pots and pans are just stacked up because there aren't any proper drying racks. The pots are all ancient and terrible. There isn't enough space in the fridges. Excluding one guy who looked like he was the owner/manager, the staff were pretty useless. They seemed to do the absolute minimum they thought they had to do. They gave wrong info and seemed to have a clique of English/Irish gapper friends. Room was too warm. Whole place is centrally air conditioned, so we couldn't change the temp.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good availability of information, *some* staff very helpful. I got some free internet time when I checked in which was very handy. Easy walk to Southbank, Queen Street etc. Reasonably clean.

Disliked: Not enough powerpoints in the room, none at all near my bed - I had to either spend ages sitting in the lobby or go and sit around in a local library to charge my phone. No lockers or under-bed baskets for baggage. Can't hire a towel (have to buy), mostly long-term backpackers so the room was overflowing with mess which made it dangerous in the dark, bathroom was tiny. No lock on the luggage room door. Some staff... not as helpful as others. $1 to use eftpos or credit card regardless of transaction size is steep, the most I was charged anywhere else was 50c and that was for a very small transaction - usually more than $10 and it's free. Unless you specifically ask there is no pillow or blanket. As I arrived late and didn't want to further disturb my roommates I ended up freezing the first night.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff, very clean, good location

Disliked: unisex bathrooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alberto dagrezio

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

08 May 2013 Alberto would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and tidy, spacious rooms, breathy athmosphere, close to the CBD and Southbank. Most of all.....the elevator!!!! Not so many hostels can boast a brandnew pretty fast elevator, bringing you up and down nice and easily!

Disliked: The kitchen is a little bit too on the messy side, with just a fiew pots, pans and not many utensils. But does the job thou.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jamie Robson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2013 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel for socializing, also good for getting a good night sleep. My hostel room was pretty quiet throughout the night.

Disliked: Some of the room were pretty small and there wasn't enough space to put luggage, I had my luggage on my bed somenights.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jamie Robson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2013 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the city and Southbank areas, the rooftop was a really nice area to hang out. There weren't any lockers in the rooms which was a bit of a downside.

Disliked: Jamie left no negative feedback.