HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Chill Backpackers Brisbane Hostel

328 Upper Roma Street, Brisbane, 4000, Brisbane, Australia

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 73%

Location 85%

Safety 71%

Staff 79%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

Check-in policy:
In the interests of security, all guests are required to produce government photo ID on check-in.
Persons wishing to stay in our backpacking dormitory accommodation are required to have with them, a full sized traveller’s backpack. A backpack is not required to stay in a single, twin or double room.

Payment:
Every transaction made using eftpos of credit card will incur a $1 surcharge

Chill Backpackers reserves the right to pre authorise credit cards prior to arrival.

Bookings are only guaranteed with a credit card which is valid and has sufficient amount equal to the full amount of the booking.

Cancellation policy:
Please be aware there is a 48 hour cancellation period with Chill Backpackers. Once inside this period, full payment will be taken of the provided credit card. A cancellation number needs to be obtained when cancelling a booking.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 73%

Location 85%

Safety 71%

Staff 79%

Value 81%

Showing 41-27 of 27 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: I wanted a place to sleep and have a shower and this hostel served its purpose well! Any problems I had would not be with the hostel but would come down to PEOPLE HAVING RESPECT FOR OTHER PEOPLE

Disliked: Nothing, it was fine!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This hostel was in a great location as it was walking distance to the bus/train station and south bank area. There was a cinema room that should several movies for free and a lovely outdoor terrace.

Disliked: The rooms are small but clean and key card operated. Most of there tables for eating are outside which isn't very useful when it rains!!! Lastly you have to pay a deposit to get crockery which we didn't discover until we were in the middle of cooking our dinner and had to head back downstairs to reception!!!

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location and that you are able to drink on the rooftop with a nice view!

Disliked: The staff is really rude, there is no restroom in the lobby, which made it kind of difficult for us arriving in the morning to use a toilet if you don't wanna pay up over $30 just to use it and leave your stuff... Wifi was extremly expensive, $8 for a day and the guy in the lobby didn't tell me it was important to keep the little note I was giving with the code so I spent 15 minutes of internet for $8... it was nothing they could do.. PLEASE ARE YOU SERIOUS. Bad servide. Small kitchen, dirty room with no lockers.


The property's response is

I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a great stay with us, if you had come to speak to us over the 2 days you stayed here we would have done what we could to improve your experience. Unfortunately because you arrived the night before the date of your booking you would have had to pay for that night to check in, I would suggest that next time you are going arrive at a hostel at 2am you book the previous night so that you can check straight in.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Loved everything about it. A clean, fun hostel with great outdoor space and really friendly, helpful staff. Kitchen is big and open, enough space for 8 to cook at a time. Movie room is always playing something so perfect for those relaxing nights. Pool table, tons of outdoor seating, great city views, and you are allowed to drink alcohol on the patio till midnight. Favourite nights involved meeting other travellers over a beer and game of pool. One of my favourite hostels ever.

Disliked: That I couldn't stay longer!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the accomodation was clean, air con in our 4 bed room. there was a girls only bathroom, where hair dryer were available for free. the kitchen was huge and very clean. outside there was a beautiful patio, where you can see the brisbane river from above.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The Location and staff were quite friendly

Disliked: How there were no drinking cups in kitchen and how you had to go down to reception to give a $10.00 deposit for cup and plates, when cups should be supplied.The price for a double room and what you get is quite expensive!

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Communal areas

Disliked: Expensive wifi

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Business / conference

Liked: Great location, very clean and nice and spacy even thought it's quite a small/medium sized hostel. Nice showers. Tv-room almost like a little cinema and with loads of couches. I just stayed on night but still had easy ro make friends.

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Nice roof view.

Disliked: Tiny rooms, beds not that great.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice view!! Kitchen and place to eat is pretty good!

Disliked: Small rooms, no locker

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability