HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Chill Backpackers Brisbane

Hostel

328 Upper Roma Street, Brisbane, 4000, Brisbane, Australia

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 77%

Facilities 74%

Location 85%

Safety 71%

Staff 79%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

Check-in policy:
In the interests of security, all guests are required to produce government photo ID on check-in.
Persons wishing to stay in our backpacking dormitory accommodation are required to have with them, a full sized traveller’s backpack. A backpack is not required to stay in a single, twin or double room.

Payment:
Every transaction made using eftpos of credit card will incur a $1 surcharge

Chill Backpackers reserves the right to pre authorise credit cards prior to arrival.

Bookings are only guaranteed with a credit card which is valid and has sufficient amount equal to the full amount of the booking.

Cancellation policy:
Please be aware there is a 48 hour cancellation period with Chill Backpackers. Once inside this period, full payment will be taken of the provided credit card. A cancellation number needs to be obtained when cancelling a booking.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 77%

Facilities 74%

Location 85%

Safety 71%

Staff 79%

Value 81%

Showing 31-40 of 44 reviews

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: Room was clean and nicely sized.No noise from the road.Outdoor areas are good with a great view over the river.

Disliked: Kitchen is waaaayyy too small for the number of guests. Almost impossible to cook between 6-8.30pm. After this all the pots and pans are just stacked up because there aren't any proper drying racks. The pots are all ancient and terrible. There isn't enough space in the fridges.Excluding one guy who looked like he was the owner/manager, the staff were pretty useless. They seemed to do the absolute minimum they thought they had to do. They gave wrong info and seemed to have a clique of English/Irish gapper friends.Room was too warm. Whole place is centrally air conditioned, so we couldn't change the temp.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, good availability of information, *some* staff very helpful. I got some free internet time when I checked in which was very handy. Easy walk to Southbank, Queen Street etc. Reasonably clean.

Disliked: Not enough powerpoints in the room, none at all near my bed - I had to either spend ages sitting in the lobby or go and sit around in a local library to charge my phone. No lockers or under-bed baskets for baggage. Can't hire a towel (have to buy), mostly long-term backpackers so the room was overflowing with mess which made it dangerous in the dark, bathroom was tiny. No lock on the luggage room door. Some staff... not as helpful as others. $1 to use eftpos or credit card regardless of transaction size is steep, the most I was charged anywhere else was 50c and that was for a very small transaction - usually more than $10 and it's free. Unless you specifically ask there is no pillow or blanket. As I arrived late and didn't want to further disturb my roommates I ended up freezing the first night.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nice staff, very clean, good location

Disliked: unisex bathrooms

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Work / volunteering

Liked: Very clean and tidy, spacious rooms, breathy athmosphere, close to the CBD and Southbank. Most of all.....the elevator!!!! Not so many hostels can boast a brandnew pretty fast elevator, bringing you up and down nice and easily!

Disliked: The kitchen is a little bit too on the messy side, with just a fiew pots, pans and not many utensils. But does the job thou.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good hostel for socializing, also good for getting a good night sleep. My hostel room was pretty quiet throughout the night.

Disliked: Some of the room were pretty small and there wasn't enough space to put luggage, I had my luggage on my bed somenights.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Close to the city and Southbank areas, the rooftop was a really nice area to hang out. There weren't any lockers in the rooms which was a bit of a downside.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: this hostel is quite near the Roma street train station, and it is easy to walk to center area!

Disliked: There is no free wifi, its really inconvenient for us who always need the wireless. Also, the triple room is quite small and with no lockers.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I enjoyed the social atmosphere of the terraces

Disliked: The rooms were fairly basic

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: The staff are really helpful when i asked them what to do in and around brisbane! They had a terrace that over looked over the city and it was a stunning view! They had a lot of long termers who were so kind to me. They asked to join them drinking and to go out with them, everyone was so friendly it was a great atmosphere! BYO alcohol made it even better as you spend less money in the clubs while also socializing with everyone in the hostel! It has to be the cleanest hostel I've stayed at as I saw just a bathroom cleaner 3 times during the day. I stayed for 3 nights and got a good deal with free internet to use on the computers they provided in reception which was 24 hours which means I could skype home and not have to worry about the time difference!

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: I wanted a place to sleep and have a shower and this hostel served its purpose well! Any problems I had would not be with the hostel but would come down to PEOPLE HAVING RESPECT FOR OTHER PEOPLE

Disliked: Nothing, it was fine!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability