We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Chill Backpackers

Hostel | 328 Upper Roma Street, Brisbane, Australia 4000

76.2% Overall Rating

171 out of 221 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/01/2015)

Alexandra Scholier thinks…

"the receptionist david was very welcoming, he gave me a free upgrade and showed me on the map pretty much all the important things to do and see. the two outside terraces are amazing, cleanest…"

Read all Chill Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Check-in policy: In the interests of security, all guests are required to produce government photo ID on check-in. Persons wishing to stay in our backpacking dormitory accommodation are required to have with them, a full sized traveller’s backpack. A backpack is not required to stay in a single, twin or double room. Payment: Every transaction made using eftpos of credit card will incur a $1 surcharge Chill Backpackers reserves the right to pre authorise credit cards prior to arrival. Bookings are only guaranteed with a credit card which is valid and has sufficient amount equal to the full amount of the booking. Cancellation policy: Please be aware there is a 48 hour cancellation period with Chill Backpackers. Once inside this period, full payment will be taken of the provided credit card. A cancellation number needs to be obtained when cancelling a booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brisbane

Brisbane City Backpackers
20.29 USD

Hostel 79.2% 743 reviews
Brisbane City YHA
26.53 USD

Hostel 85.9% 164 reviews
Yellow Submarine Backpackers
12.49 USD

Hostel 68.8% 36 reviews
Banana Bender Backpackers
20.29 USD

Hostel 79.4% 42 reviews
Eton house
46.04 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Aussie Way Hostel
21.07 USD

Hostel 81.6% 296 reviews
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
16.39 USD

Hostel 77.1% 153 reviews
Base Brisbane - Central
20.29 USD

Hostel 68.9% 493 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.2%

Overall Rating

171 out of 221 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Chill Backpackers'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
83.2%
Value
72.8%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 175 of 184 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff, very clean, good location

Disliked: unisex bathrooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alberto dagrezio

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

08 May 2013 Alberto would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and tidy, spacious rooms, breathy athmosphere, close to the CBD and Southbank. Most of all.....the elevator!!!! Not so many hostels can boast a brandnew pretty fast elevator, bringing you up and down nice and easily!

Disliked: The kitchen is a little bit too on the messy side, with just a fiew pots, pans and not many utensils. But does the job thou.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jamie Robson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2013 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel for socializing, also good for getting a good night sleep. My hostel room was pretty quiet throughout the night.

Disliked: Some of the room were pretty small and there wasn't enough space to put luggage, I had my luggage on my bed somenights.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jamie Robson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2013 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the city and Southbank areas, the rooftop was a really nice area to hang out. There weren't any lockers in the rooms which was a bit of a downside.

Disliked: Jamie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really helpful when i asked them what to do in and around brisbane! They had a terrace that over looked over the city and it was a stunning view! They had a lot of long termers who were so kind to me. They asked to join them drinking and to go out with them, everyone was so friendly it was a great atmosphere! BYO alcohol made it even better as you spend less money in the clubs while also socializing with everyone in the hostel! It has to be the cleanest hostel I've stayed at as I saw just a bathroom cleaner 3 times during the day. I stayed for 3 nights and got a good deal with free internet to use on the computers they provided in reception which was 24 hours which means I could skype home and not have to worry about the time difference!

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Pik Ching Ng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2013 Pik Ching would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel is quite near the Roma street train station, and it is easy to walk to center area!

Disliked: There is no free wifi, its really inconvenient for us who always need the wireless. Also, the triple room is quite small and with no lockers.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Fredrik Brander

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2013

Liked: The location and that you are able to drink on the rooftop with a nice view!

Disliked: The staff is really rude, there is no restroom in the lobby, which made it kind of difficult for us arriving in the morning to use a toilet if you don't wanna pay up over $30 just to use it and leave your stuff... Wifi was extremly expensive, $8 for a day and the guy in the lobby didn't tell me it was important to keep the little note I was giving with the code so I spent 15 minutes of internet for $8... it was nothing they could do.. PLEASE ARE YOU SERIOUS. Bad servide. Small kitchen, dirty room with no lockers.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the social atmosphere of the terraces

Disliked: The rooms were fairly basic

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was in a great location as it was walking distance to the bus/train station and south bank area. There was a cinema room that should several movies for free and a lovely outdoor terrace.

Disliked: The rooms are small but clean and key card operated. Most of there tables for eating are outside which isn't very useful when it rains!!! Lastly you have to pay a deposit to get crockery which we didn't discover until we were in the middle of cooking our dinner and had to head back downstairs to reception!!!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nicki Brook

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 March 2013 Nicki would recommend this property

Liked: I wanted a place to sleep and have a shower and this hostel served its purpose well! Any problems I had would not be with the hostel but would come down to PEOPLE HAVING RESPECT FOR OTHER PEOPLE

Disliked: Nothing, it was fine!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tiffany Magee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2013 Tiffany would recommend this property

Liked: Loved everything about it. A clean, fun hostel with great outdoor space and really friendly, helpful staff. Kitchen is big and open, enough space for 8 to cook at a time. Movie room is always playing something so perfect for those relaxing nights. Pool table, tons of outdoor seating, great city views, and you are allowed to drink alcohol on the patio till midnight. Favourite nights involved meeting other travellers over a beer and game of pool. One of my favourite hostels ever.

Disliked: That I couldn't stay longer!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carolin Risse

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2013 Carolin would recommend this property

Liked: the accomodation was clean, air con in our 4 bed room. there was a girls only bathroom, where hair dryer were available for free. the kitchen was huge and very clean. outside there was a beautiful patio, where you can see the brisbane river from above.

Disliked: Carolin left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

03 February 2013

Liked: The Location and staff were quite friendly

Disliked: How there were no drinking cups in kitchen and how you had to go down to reception to give a $10.00 deposit for cup and plates, when cups should be supplied. The price for a double room and what you get is quite expensive!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Communal areas

Disliked: Expensive wifi

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

23 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very clean and nice and spacy even thought it's quite a small/medium sized hostel. Nice showers. Tv-room almost like a little cinema and with loads of couches. I just stayed on night but still had easy ro make friends.

Disliked: Nothing!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 January 2013

Liked: Nice roof view.

Disliked: Tiny rooms, beds not that great.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice view!! Kitchen and place to eat is pretty good!

Disliked: Small rooms, no locker

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

naomi evans

Alone

Family Holiday

24 December 2012 naomi would recommend this property

Liked: nice and close to city centre,south bank was close for a cool swim was excellent. shops and pubs were excellent,cheap for location and very beautiful.

Disliked: none

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ben Corbett

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2012 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: clean and friendly staff

Disliked: rooms were quite small, and no air con in our room so very hot at night!!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 August 2012

Liked: Location is good, closest backpackers towards the city.

Disliked: Carpet in rooms are dirty, linen is very uncomfortable, doors leak noise.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Richard van Dijk

Alone

Business / conference

09 August 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Great facilities, internet, pool table, outside terrace, cosy video room. This makes this the place to be in night in the weekend : ) Clean amenaties, 24 hour reception.

Disliked: No windows that could open so if you love aircon only then this is the place for you : ) Also kitchen doesn't open till 6am so if you are an early traveler keep this in mind.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

XINGYI WANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2012

Liked: balcony is very big and beautiful.Near Roma Street.

Disliked: it should be free wifi.Now it offfers 12 hours wifi for 12 hours.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 July 2012

Liked: Fairly quick to get to city centre.

Disliked: I stayed with my partner in a private room which was very small and the hostel was very noisy at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The movie room was great, especially on rainy days.

Disliked: Kitchen could be bigger for the number of people staying here

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Close to bus/train stop.

Disliked: Nothing