We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Aussie Way Hostel

Hostel | 34 Cricket Street, Brisbane, Australia 4000

82.3% Overall Rating

253 out of 299 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/04/2015)

Lynette Ohye thinks…

"I stayed in a triple room. The hostel is divided into two sections, the main with dorms and a back cottage for the double/triple rooms. So there is a kitchen and lounge area for the back cottage,…"

Read all Aussie Way Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

VIP & YHA discount for Direct booking only.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brisbane?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brisbane

Banana Bender Backpackers
17.33 USD

Hostel 81.3% 44 reviews
Chill Backpackers
20.48 USD

Hostel 76.0% 224 reviews
Brisbane City Backpackers
20.48 USD

Hostel 78.1% 745 reviews
Brisbane City YHA
26.78 USD

Hostel 85.9% 172 reviews
Eton house
51.19 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Yellow Submarine Backpackers
12.60 USD

Hostel 70.2% 42 reviews
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
18.90 USD

Hostel 75.1% 157 reviews
Avondale Private Hotel
77.97 USD

Hotel 3 star 32.4% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.3%

Overall Rating

253 out of 299 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Aussie Way Hostel'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
82.4%
Value
84.0%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 222 of 247 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lynette Ohye

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals

20 April 2015 Lynette would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a triple room. The hostel is divided into two sections, the main with dorms and a back cottage for the double/triple rooms. So there is a kitchen and lounge area for the back cottage, which is convenient. The hostel is nice and quiet, if you want a party hostel stay at a difference place (there are many other backpackers near Roma St Station). Buses, trains and shopping centre are convenient walking distance away, so is Suncorp Stadium if you are visiting Brisbane for a game.

Disliked: The carpet in our room was really in need of replacing, it was kind of painful to walk barefoot on it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Antonio Tozzi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2015 Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: very calm, very clean and top Location! I love this hostel, I will come back 3 more times! for me the best in town!

Disliked: the kitchen could be bigger

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is quiet. Sleep at night is easy

Disliked: Non 24h reception

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Andrew Ridout

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2015 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: I would recommend this hostel to others. Great staff and location. Nice quiet hostel with all the facilties.

Disliked: Only have two minor negatives which weren't all that bad are the air conditioning unit in our private room was so loud it wasn't worth using. The other thing was one of the pillows was a bit grubby. But we had four on our double bed anyway so wasn't really bothered.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

02 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I only stayed 1 night but it was close to the event I was attending.

Disliked: noisy air conditioner

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

27 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not in central district but still possible to walk in 10 min. I stayed here for Asian Cup football tournament and stadium is just 3 minutes away.

Disliked: Kitchen closing time is early.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anna McCraith

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Very quiet, we stayed in an annex of just four double/triple rooms which overlooked the pool. When the kettle blew a fuse the owner came in on day off and gave us their personal kettle after staff fixed the problem.

Disliked: Possibly could have had extra toilet and shower between the rooms, though as the annex wasn't full it wasn't an issue

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

24 August 2014

Liked: Pretty small hostel in a silent corner of the city, no party but good if you want to relax and get some sleep. You can reach the city in a 10 min walk, Southbank, Beach and Library in 15 min. Supermarket also nearby.

Disliked: It is really small, just 6 or 7 other backpackers stayed with me there, no real feeling of community. Wifi cost 5$ a day and there's no real opportunity to find a job. Also the staff wasn't very helpful and nice, no 24 hour reception. I just used it for my first three days to get over my jetlag, so it was okay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie BUSQUET

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 July 2014 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Charming room, nice venue

Disliked: Stephanie left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

04 June 2014

Liked: Location Quiet

Disliked: Dirty Showers change from boiling to freezing in seconds No barrier on the top beds By far the worst mattresses I have slept in so far

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nadine Mueller

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 May 2014 Nadine would recommend this property

Liked: - quiet hostel in residential street - hostel in a real queenslander house - double rooms in a seperate building with seperate kitchen and bathrooms

Disliked: - small communal kitchen in the main building

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tayla Kent

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

28 February 2014 Tayla would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cute Hostel. Extremely friendly staff

Disliked: Bunk beds were very shaky and had no barrier.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

12 January 2014

Liked: Good location

Disliked: A smile / "How are you?" from the staff would've been nice

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

09 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Situated in a residential area so nice and quiet although not far to walk into the city centre.

Disliked: Pity the carpet in the room looked so grubby!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Dennis Sumethasorn

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2013

Liked: Friendly people

Disliked: No free wifi and quite far from city 25-30 mins

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Gildea

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2013 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are extremely friendly and helpful, great location and only a 5 min walk from the transit centre, nice quiet hostel, not a party hostel and everyone is very friendly. would defo saty again and recommend

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We got upgraded for 2 of our 3 nights!

Disliked: Didn't seem very friendly, no organised socials or anything so harder to meet people

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mélanie Voisin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2013 Mélanie would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was really clean and close to the city. Really easy to meet people! we liked having a fridge in our room, quite convenient! Thanks for these 2 days!!

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andy S

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

26 November 2013 Andy would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and tidy. Fridges and lockers in rooms. Enough showers for everyone. TVs upstairs and down. The place has a shared house feel. Quiet at night so you can sleep. There is a coles round the corner but CBD is bout 20 mins walk. Also the girls that work here are cool.

Disliked: Dont really like that you cant sit in the garden after 10pm but its better for everyone else. Its in a residential street.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

16 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place, looks more like a house than an hostel.

Disliked: The girl from the reception does not smile at all, she is not sympathic.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

YUTARO KANAYAMA

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2013 YUTARO would recommend this property

Liked: Normal

Disliked: Beds, bathroom were little old & dirty.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kenneth brown

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2013 kenneth would recommend this property

Liked: A good hostel for the price. Good location close to bus terminal and easy short walk to the centre of town.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rangi johnson

Alone

Events / festivals

29 October 2013 rangi would recommend this property

Liked: Close to central city, relaxed atmosphere

Disliked: rangi left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel with pool, big common room with tv nice area outside. nice rooms beds are ok

Disliked: MINUS for expensive wifi already not the cheapest options plus the cost. too much. Internet can t be that expensive!!!