HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of No14

Hostel | 14 Lovel St, Katoomba, NSW Blue Mountains, Australia 2780

96.1% Overall Rating

58 out of 58 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/02/2014)

"The staff was so friendly and helpful. This has been one of the cosiest hostels I've stayed at in Australia with a "homey" feeling."

Read all No14 reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: Presently there are no fires in Katoomba, it is 100% safe to visit, and all walks have reopened with no damage. Guests who plan to arrive after 20.30 hr ( 8.30pm ) need to advise us DIRECTLY via phone or email, as special arrangements need to be made to enter hostel after hours. If you do not contact us you may not be able to enter the hostel. Absolutely not available for long term accommodation. Due to storm damage in our area, Telstra is experiencing a mass service disruption to internet provision , possibly extending to mid April and,as a result we cannot provide wifi as advertised .

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Blue Mountains?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Blue Mountains

Katoomba Mountain Lodge
22.37 USD

Hostel 76.1% 108 reviews
Hotel Blue
60.59 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel
20.51 USD

Hostel 92.3% 79 reviews
Blue Mountains YHA
30.76 USD

Hostel 87.1% 83 reviews
The Flying Fox Backpackers
26.10 USD

Hostel 89.0% 121 reviews
Katoomba Town Centre Motel
39.15 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.8% 18 reviews
Blue Mountains Heritage Motel
29.83 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 15 reviews
Milroy Holiday Apartments
64.32 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.1%

Overall Rating

58 out of 58 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'No14'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
97.6%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
98.4%
Value
97.6%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 44 of 58 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Geoff HALLAM

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

28 March 2014 Geoff would recommend this property

Liked: There was a pleasant family atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was so friendly and helpful. This has been one of the cosiest hostels I've stayed at in Australia with a "homey" feeling.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: FRIENDLY NESS OF STAFF AND OTHER GUESTS

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds, spacious rooms, clean place, friendly owner!

Disliked: Nil

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very homely and small hostel. you have to walk a little to the starting point of the walking tracks but very close to the train station and about 5 min to coles

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Li YAP

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Li would recommend this property

Liked: worth every penny to stay here, cheap and clean!

Disliked: Li left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small and cozy

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The place itself is beautiful, giving a homy feeling. the rooms are spacious and the beds are big and comfortable. kitchen is clean and well supplied, and the bathrooms were clean as well. And of course the staff are really nice and easy-going.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy, friendly and warm.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Dalzell

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 July 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely little hostel with a great cosy atmosphere. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. All the facilities were perfect especially the free tea and coffee, breakfast and wifi.

Disliked: We loved everything!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Declan Corry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2013 Declan would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, it was amazing. Thank you to the staff and owners for such a pleasant stay :)

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a 100 year old colonial style building, purpose built as a hotel when the railway arrived in Katoomba, full of atmosphere and lovely rooms. Good, hot showers. Mandy was delightful and very helpful.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike at all.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas McDonald

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 April 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Really good hostel. The rooms, bathroom, and kitchen are clean, beds are comfortable, staff are friendly and there is no noise to be heard after 10. Great value for money!

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Heather McLaughlin

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2013 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: No private bathrooms. Bathroom was downstairs

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very cosy and the people are friendly. I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone. The staff is very helpful - save us big bucks for shaing tips for travel around the vicinity! Even though we're short on time, we were able to see the top destinations in katoomba and leura because of her guidance.

Disliked: None.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

21 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just several minutes walk from Katoomba Rail, a basic breakfast included based on cereals, muesli and tea/coffee, cozy rooms.

Disliked: I'd forgotten how thin the adjoining walls are between the rooms. Pillows aren't that great.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: sitting on the veranda with a cup of coffee enjoying the morning sun. Having a chat with other travellers or with the lovely owner of the hostel.

Disliked: can't really think about anything here....

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, no problems

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: you feel so much like home, when you enter No 14! Everything works very easy and is based on trust!

Disliked: I would have appreciated if there would be basic spices like salt, pepper, oil and vinegar in the kitchen. And toast for breakfast. Cause they just had muesli which gets a little difficult if you have problems with milk. I would have even paid "a dollar" more for that. But fortunately other backpackers helped out, cause I don't travel around the whole time, therefor I haven't had spices with me. But that are all small things, which you might just recognize if it's your first hostel you stay at. I would allways go back to that place!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott Blondel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 February 2013 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: This has been my favourite hostel I have stayed in throughout Australia. Has more of a homestay feel to it. The property is very traditional and fitting with the environment that you are there to see. The rooms, kitchen, bathroom and lounges are spotless. Mandy and her team make you feel very welcome and are extremely knowledgeable about the area and clearly enjoy having guests with them. You also get a free breakfast (selection of cereals), free wifi and free tea and coffee. It's a great place to meet fellow like minded travellers. If you are looking for a great base to explore the Blue Mountains, I would highly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Scott left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dale Nolan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2013 Dale would recommend this property

Liked: Owner was absoultely fantastic, really friendly and welcoming. She also had a wealth of local knowledge. Great atmosphere.

Disliked: A little bit of a walk from station.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very welcoming staff and atmosphere, very comfortable rooms, very quiet, free tea and breakfast.

Disliked: Poor internet facilites although this hardly mattered.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place and terrace, quite, calm

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Camilla Warren

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

28 November 2012 Camilla would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so hospitable and helpful. I really felt they went above and beyond normal service. the hostel is very cosy and homely, with a lovely clear kitchen and good bathrooms. highly recommend it

Disliked: Apart from the (small) hill to get into town (it's a 5 min walk so not far) and leaving, absolutely nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place to stay. Excellent advice and maps to help us select good walking tracks and public transport options.Quiet, friendly. will reccomend to others of all ages

Disliked: Smokers on the deck