We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of No14

Hostel | 14 Lovel St, Katoomba, NSW Blue Mountains, Australia 2780

95.8% Overall Rating

65 out of 65 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/08/2014)

Natalie Candarakis thinks…

"The staff were friendly and helpful, the private room was quaint and warm and had a pretty view over some trees and other houses. I liked the fact there were two common rooms and the hostel was amply…"

Read all No14 reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: Presently there are no fires in Katoomba, it is 100% safe to visit, and all walks have reopened with no damage. Guests who plan to arrive after 20.30 hr ( 8.30pm ) need to advise us DIRECTLY via phone or email, as special arrangements need to be made to enter hostel after hours. If you do not contact us you may not be able to enter the hostel. Absolutely not available for long term accommodation. Cancellation policy: All weekends/Public Holidays will be charged a 50% non Refundable deposit on bookings. 2 Weeks cancellation notice is required for a refund of balance.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Blue Mountains?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Blue Mountains

Katoomba Mountain Lodge
21.50 USD

Hostel 77.7% 112 reviews
Hotel Blue
51.50 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel
19.70 USD

Hostel 92.2% 89 reviews
Blue Mountains YHA
28.66 USD

Hostel 86.9% 85 reviews
The Flying Fox Backpackers
22.39 USD

Hostel 89.0% 125 reviews
Katoomba Town Centre Motel
37.62 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.8% 18 reviews
Blue Mountains Heritage Motel
30.00 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 15 reviews
Milroy Holiday Apartments
70.76 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.8%

Overall Rating

65 out of 65 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'No14'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
99.2%
Staff
99.2%
Value
98.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 51 of 65 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Natalie Candarakis

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 August 2014 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful, the private room was quaint and warm and had a pretty view over some trees and other houses. I liked the fact there were two common rooms and the hostel was amply heated during a very cold night. The showers were large and hot, even in the very cold bathroom.

Disliked: I'd been really looking forward to staying as the reviews about atmosphere were one of the main reasons we picked the hostel. Unfortunately, there was a large family of 8 staying at the hostel, and to be honest, they totally ruined the vibe. They completely took over the kitchen and the common room with the fire place, not for an hour but until after 10pm, three kids under the age of 8 were running around the hostel. It meant everyone else in the hostel retreated to their rooms. We weren't after a party, just an opportunity to chat to fellow travellers and drink a glass of wine by the fire. I'm sure had the family not been there, we would've enjoyed our stay a lot more, but unfortunately the family really destroyed the atmosphere. It might be an idea to ensure guests know it's a family-friend hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Kydd

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 June 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere

Disliked: Na

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Smith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2014 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Very Clean, quiet and friendly travellers/staff. Staff are very helpful and very relaxed. Its very "cottage like" and has a lot of character. The kitchen facilities are great and clean. There's free wifi although sometimes the signal isn't great but you would expect that being in the blue mountains.Best hostel we've stayed in the whole time we have been in Australia as it feels homely and good value for money! Its only 5mins from the Katoomba train station, 5mins to the supermarkets/cafes etc and only a 40min straight walk down to the echo point and walks etc or there's a bus for $2.30 that will take you there..

Disliked: liked everything!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant cosy house, spotless kitchen, lovely lounge areas, helpful friendly, free breakfast and tea/coffee/milk

Disliked: Only one bathroom with 3 showers really far away from our room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendlyness

Disliked: Nope

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Homey feel with friendly people and staff. The hostel is close to the railway station and the main strip of restaurants and shops.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, quiet and lots of friendly travellers.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Geoff HALLAM

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

28 March 2014 Geoff would recommend this property

Liked: There was a pleasant family atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was so friendly and helpful. This has been one of the cosiest hostels I've stayed at in Australia with a "homey" feeling.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: FRIENDLY NESS OF STAFF AND OTHER GUESTS

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds, spacious rooms, clean place, friendly owner!

Disliked: Nil

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very homely and small hostel. you have to walk a little to the starting point of the walking tracks but very close to the train station and about 5 min to coles

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Li YAP

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Li would recommend this property

Liked: worth every penny to stay here, cheap and clean!

Disliked: Li left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small and cozy

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The place itself is beautiful, giving a homy feeling. the rooms are spacious and the beds are big and comfortable. kitchen is clean and well supplied, and the bathrooms were clean as well. And of course the staff are really nice and easy-going.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy, friendly and warm.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Dalzell

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 July 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely little hostel with a great cosy atmosphere. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. All the facilities were perfect especially the free tea and coffee, breakfast and wifi.

Disliked: We loved everything!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Declan Corry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2013 Declan would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, it was amazing. Thank you to the staff and owners for such a pleasant stay :)

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a 100 year old colonial style building, purpose built as a hotel when the railway arrived in Katoomba, full of atmosphere and lovely rooms. Good, hot showers. Mandy was delightful and very helpful.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike at all.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas McDonald

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 April 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Really good hostel. The rooms, bathroom, and kitchen are clean, beds are comfortable, staff are friendly and there is no noise to be heard after 10. Great value for money!

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Heather McLaughlin

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2013 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: No private bathrooms. Bathroom was downstairs

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very cosy and the people are friendly. I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone. The staff is very helpful - save us big bucks for shaing tips for travel around the vicinity! Even though we're short on time, we were able to see the top destinations in katoomba and leura because of her guidance.

Disliked: None.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

21 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just several minutes walk from Katoomba Rail, a basic breakfast included based on cereals, muesli and tea/coffee, cozy rooms.

Disliked: I'd forgotten how thin the adjoining walls are between the rooms. Pillows aren't that great.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: sitting on the veranda with a cup of coffee enjoying the morning sun. Having a chat with other travellers or with the lovely owner of the hostel.

Disliked: can't really think about anything here....

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, no problems

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.