HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Annie's Place Hostel

Hostel | 4 Traeger Ave, Alice Springs, Australia 0870

77.4% Overall Rating

403 out of 463 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/05/2014)

Robert Harman thinks…

"The property itself has a great feel about it, from the people on reception to the staff who work in the bar. The hostel offers free wi-fi and free breakfast, now that is a rarity in most hostels we…"

Read all Annie's Place Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Alice Springs?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Alice Springs

Toddy's Backpackers
21.59 USD

Hostel 80.2% 67 reviews
Haven Resort
22.53 USD

Hostel 80.7% 137 reviews
Alice Springs YHA
23.47 USD

Hostel 86.2% 29 reviews
Desert Rose Inn
35.20 USD

Hostel 82.9% 16 reviews
Alice in the Territory
23.47 USD

Hotel 4.5 star 71.1% 8 reviews
Alice Lodge Backpackers
21.59 USD

Hostel 85.4% 280 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.4%

Overall Rating

403 out of 463 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Annie's Place Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
81.6%
Value
79.2%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 305 of 327 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Sarah Snider

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy to walk to town

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2014

Liked: 10 minutes walking from the city centre

Disliked: room not really clean

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Harman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: The property itself has a great feel about it, from the people on reception to the staff who work in the bar. The hostel offers free wi-fi and free breakfast, now that is a rarity in most hostels we have stayed in, so we found this very good value for money.

Disliked: I have no dislikes about the property, we felt very welcome and very safe as the main gate was locked at night and you needed a code to get into the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Seemed really laid back and comfortable, everyone was really friendly and easygoing. Everything was just straight forward and easy :) Made less stress for traveling by staying at Annie's!

Disliked: I'm a little dubious of the security with my bags I'm leaving over the weekend, but I'm just going to trust and be optimistic :)

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2014

Liked: The dance music...

Disliked: Noisy. Needs renovation. Duck tape holding the 20 year old air con together. No room where you can get away from the noise. The music was booming until 1am it was so loud I gave up at midnight and went to the party...can't beat them...might as well join them!! Would go there again as a nightclub but never reco anyone to stay there!! Sorry was not going to leave any negative but you asked?? Should be renamed to annies nightclub...with a bed if you are pissed!!! Staff were wonderful but didn't make up for the noise... Even on arrival at lunchtime the noise outside room 1was unsleepable..

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms and bathroom are very clean, bar is very lively and a good place to meet people.

Disliked: Common areas were pretty dirty, I didn't even want to dip my foot in the pool it was so grimy. Can be very loud at night. Staff not that attentive.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really friendly and knew their stuff. The food in the bar was really good. And the fact we coul leave our bags for 3 days for free while we went to ayers rock was brill.

Disliked: The kitchen felt like it could do with some tlc.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendliness, air conditioning, free breakfast, bar was not as loud as i expected--and the doors between the bar and hostel were closed at 10 PM, which was nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bar, though noisy, was well run and the food was very good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Mathias Weigand

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2014

Liked: free Wifi and Computers

Disliked: I really can't recommend this hostel. -> The hostel is far away from the town center which means always long walks to get food, sightseeing etc. -> It was 40° C, but nobody wanted to use the pool because it looked green and not nice at all! One day 2 brave girls still went for a swim in the pool, but not for long: They jumped out of the pool, screaming, because there was a dead mouse swimming in it... After I've seen that I went straight to the reception to vent my anger. They didn't even apologize for the bad pool!!!!!!! wft... Not very friendly nor helpful... -> You can't drink you own alcohol in the hostel. (aprox.) 150$ fine if you get caught in the hostel!!!! That means you always have to buy your beer or vine from the bar. No way to socialize and drink with the other backpackers, if you are on a budget!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Laura Wallace

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really friendly and helpful, nice bar.

Disliked: Bit of a walk out of town.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Benoit Bolte

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2014 Benoit would recommend this property

Liked: The dinner nice plans and atmosphere around the bar. The free breakfast. The free wifi.

Disliked: The staff made a mistake about our booking. They thought we were coming two days before. Therefore the privated room we asked for was not available and we had to change our plans and take a shared dorm. The free breakfast is advertised between 5:30-9:00 am but there was almost nothing left when we arrived arount 8:15...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Benoit Bolte

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2014

Liked: The location is perfect and people staying there are very friendly and easy-going.

Disliked: We stayed there on Xmas day. Everything was closed. No service on this day. The Hostel advertises for cheap/nice dinner and a swimming pool. The swimming pool was very dirty. SO was the area around. Nobody was going inside despite the 45 degrees on that day as it looked very repulsive. The bar and the restaurant were closed, and no shopping center or restaurant was opened in Alice Spring. Thus we could not eat!!! We weren't notified about this in advance by the hostel in order to bring food to cook in the common kitchen.This was very unpleasant. Finally, the chek-in was laborious as the reception was closed even though they accepted bookings on this day but said they weren't working on Xmas day!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place

Disliked: Cleanliness. But I went during Xmas period.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had a great atmosphere in the evening with live music and the bar, but maybe not everyone would enjoy this.

Disliked: The free breakfast was nice but wasn't maintained very well, for example the food was often left open to flies etc.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: loud parties in the common area, I usually don't mind, but when I had to wake up at 5 am, it wasn't nice

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place for backpackers, cheapest in town, about 1 km to town centre, free breakfast

Disliked: Too noisy at night. Travelling in Alice Springs is very exhausted. I am looking forward to an early sleep in the evening.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I'm still here! Love it, the people are great, free WiFi is a absolute treat in Australia! There's also a free internet room with tv and sofas, loads of help for booking tours. The breakfast is basic toast with lots of different spreads and tea and coffee, and its great, that's all you need for breakfast considering what you're paying here. The attached bar is really handy, haven't eaten there but it says you can eat from $5 and jugs of beer from $12. The walk into town takes about 10 mins at a pretty slow pace (it's hot!) and you've got a Woolworths supermarket in town if you're on a budget. The 6 bed female dorms have ensuite bathroom (shower, toilet, sink). Plenty of plug sockets too which are sometimes lacking in hostels. I got WiFi in my room when I stayed in room number 2 but had to step outside when I stayed in room 4.

Disliked: Could be a bit cleaner but I didn't see any bugs. WiFi isn't in all rooms. Pool is a bit murky.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

John Anderton

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 October 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: Annie's place offered great facilities and friendly staff. The backpacker offers were great value for money and the food served was brilliant for the price. The Atmosphere was exactly what you need when socialising and meeting new people. I would certainly recommend this Hostel.

Disliked: I would have liked Lunch to be served or at least have some food available during the day.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Th atmosphere! The sink and tap water in the bedroom!

Disliked: The bed linen too short! No hangers in the bedroom!!

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing special but all in all good

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joan Barnett

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2013 Joan would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed two nights at the beginning and the end of our holiday. The price was good value, with free transfer from the airport on arrival and we were able to book into our room early. The room was small but adequate and very clean, with private facilities and a flat screen TV. A basic breakfast was included and on our first night we enjoyed a lovely meal and drinks that were well priced. The location was good about 10 to 15min walk into the heart of the town.

Disliked: There is some noise after midnight but it is to be expected when the hostel is catering for mainly young people having a good time so oldies like us just go with the flow. On our last night it was very busy in the kitchen and our order was very late and needed two reminders after an hour wait to get our meal. The place is very popular with people who are not staying at the hostel, who take advantage of a fun place to go with good food.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Margaret Burgess

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2013 Margaret would recommend this property

Liked: Early breakfast great as most people leaving early for tours.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The decor and atmosphere

Disliked: No door to bathroom in ensuite! Very loud til 1AM because of bar on property. Not great for people who need their rest, waking up before 6 am...