HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Backpackers by the Bay

Hostel | 12 Hermitage Drive, Airlie Beach, Australia .

84.5% Overall Rating

99 out of 124 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/06/2014)

"Really friendly hostel and staff. A nightly quiz held which was good to meet people at. Not a party hostel but still quite social. The latest room was a 4 which was good - also had secure lockers in rooms. About a 10-15…"

Read all Backpackers by the Bay reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

We require 3 days notice for all cancellations otherwise the first nights stay will be charged.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Airlie Beach?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Airlie Beach

Whitsunday Terraces
46.54 USD

Apartment 81.1% 102 reviews
Airlie Beach YHA
26.06 USD

Hostel 74.6% 29 reviews
Airlie Waterfront Backpackers
18.62 USD

Hostel 77.8% 267 reviews
Global Backpackers Airlie Beach
18.62 USD

Hostel 71.5% 184 reviews
Base Airlie Beach resort
26.06 USD

Hostel 80.2% 92 reviews
Airlie Beach Magnums
20.48 USD

Hostel 77.7% 113 reviews
Nomads Airlie Beach
21.41 USD

Hostel 82.1% 133 reviews
Whitsunday On The Beach
48.17 USD

Hotel 3 star 91.5% 57 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.5%

Overall Rating

99 out of 124 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Backpackers by the Bay'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 84 of 92 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly hostel and staff. A nightly quiz held which was good to meet people at. Not a party hostel but still quite social. The latest room was a 4 which was good - also had secure lockers in rooms. About a 10-15 minute walk into town by felt safe walking alone at night. Lose to bus station and a shuttle picked me up. Free tea and coffee was nice. One hour of free wifi given.

Disliked: wait until you get to this hostel to book your whitaunday trip - the hostel will get you a good discount and Give you free luggage storage while you are on your trip (maybe free accomodation too). I didn't know about this so had already booked my trip by the time I'm arrived and then the luggage storage cost extra. It's a shame the wifi wasn't free all the time. The bathrooms were a bit run down and not the cleanest but fine.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked their 'Get Inspired' wall, the main receptionist was lovely and they had good evening entertainment including quiz nights and movie night.

Disliked: The kitchen could have been better. Not sure what they were called but I often came across tiny bugs in there. Other than this facilities were good.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Iris Klijn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 November 2013 Iris would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice place to stay. The staff was friendly and the hostel has a good atmosphere.

Disliked: It was a bit far from the city. But I felt me safe to walk in the dark back to the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kenneth brown

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2013 kenneth would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel a very short walk from town and very close to the bus station making the location perfect. Very clean with great facilities and friendly staff. Really nice atmosphere about the place. Enjoyed my stay immensely and would highly recommend.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, atmosphere, best hostel!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helena Silver

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 September 2013 Helena would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was really friendly and with a quiz every night at 7pm you really get to know everyone. Small dorm rooms was nice as well!

Disliked: Nothing!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 September 2013

Liked: Rainbow beach ist very small So the Hostel is close to everything. The best about this Hostel was the Free sandboarding Tour to the dunes at Sunset. Very nice.

Disliked: When you are there it feels like you are Camping. The Outsider facilities could be cleaner, the rooms have no safe, no shelfs or anything to put our stuff somewhere. The bathroom was small.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Max 4 beds per dorm, the quiz, location to center and bus stop

Disliked: Ants in the kitchen

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, very friendly owner. Nice area to hang out in rear of the hostel with a small bar and trivia nights to win a bottle of sparkling wine. Big, well-stocked kitchen.

Disliked: Security into rooms could be improved, each room had not only interior door but also rear entry into outdoor courtyard that was lockable only with a chain. Perhaps install lockers in rooms for use of guests to store and re-charge valuable electronics. Internet very expensive relative to other hostels (and nowadays, newer hostels even provide free wi-fi)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Sarah-Jane Antell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 June 2013

Liked: Not on the main strip which is quite loud. They picked us up from the greyhound.

Disliked: We booked this hostel as it had really good reviews, however as soon as we arrived we were disappointed. It's really old and dated. The room was full of these ant sized bugs all up the walls and floors and in the kitchen cupboards. Luckily we'd only booked this for the night before and after our whitsundays so weren't spending any proper time here or we'd have moved. We arrived off the greyhound at 7am and when we got to the hostel police were there to talk to a women who was a permanent drunk staying at the hostel. Not the best first impression. They also turn the electrics off in the kitchen over night so everything in the fridge was dripping wet, our food bag was soaked which ruined some bits inside. Although its not on the main strip it's still a bit too far out. They dropped us off at the marina for our Whitsunday sailing but dispute calling in advance, with 5 people on our boat in that hostel they wouldn't pick us up, making us walk the 30 mins back.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

31 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly! The receptionist was lovely, kind, and very helpful! The kitchen was large enough to accommodate several guests cooking at once. I loved the location as well - since it is located just a short walk from the main strip in Airlie Beach, it was quiet at night. For a communal bathroom, I felt it was pretty clean.

Disliked: There was no place to get cold water - i could not find any ice trays to put ice in my water bottle. My main problem was the beds - i could deal with the pillow being rather uncomfortable, but the bed bugs really put me off. I came home with these mysterious little red bites all over me and realized that I had been bitten by bed bugs!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location - away from the main strip of Airlie Beach but only about 5-10 min walk from town. Friendly and helpful staff, lovely saltwater pool which had a shade cover over it - great on hot sunny days! Bookings service for Whitsundays trips, dorm rooms only 4 beds per room.

Disliked: Nothing much!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2013

Liked: The rooms were clean and there was free air conditioning overnight that came on automatically. It was within walking distance of the town but far enough away to be quiet at night. The staff were very helpful

Disliked: The main major drawback of this hostel is the kitchen and more specifialy the ANTS!! We left food in the cupboards and the bags were covered in ants when we went back. I would stongly reccommend that if you stay here you put all your food in the fridges. there was also supposed to be a quiz at night that never happened and they did give us dvds for the tv but there was no remote so you couldn't put the volume up loud enough to hear it!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Soren Jensen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2013 Soren would recommend this property

Liked: Such a nice hostel. Honestly the best hostel i ever stayed at. The rooms are really clean, so is the bathroom and kitchen. The staff was so friendly and they really seamed to love the place and their job. And for a person like me, its really good that they are doing the quiz, becourse you that gets you to know some of the people staying. I was only at the hostel for one night, but its a night i will never forget. I felt so welcome and i had a lot of fun at the little cheap bar. If i get time i AM going back to relax in the nice cold pool and a little nap in the hamocks. And the 2.50 $ breakfast is really god. I was surpriced how good it was. No doubt the best hostel

Disliked: nothing. it was to awsome.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very charming atmosphere, super friendly staff (Peter is great and you can ask all the questions you might have...), pool to cool down, bar, activities....

Disliked: The fridge is in bad condition

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Damian Kopala

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 January 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Rooms smell like damp. Bathrooms smelled like poo and urine. Fridges in the kitchen were leaking water the solution was to put towels underneath.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jasmine Wright Catron

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

24 November 2012 Jasmine would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly, welcoming and just totally amazing! It's so cheap and you get way more than you expect. The rooms are clean and have air-con and a fan and are very light and the facilities are all great. It's also really close to the centre of Airlie Beach, only about a three minutes walk. It was the best hostel I have ever stayed in!

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

25 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good facilities, not too crazy!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: was lovely and quiet, got free wifi and rooms were quite spacious. nice staff and very chilled out hostel.

Disliked: Had to walk outside to go to the toilet and shower room which I wasn't very comfortable doing at night. The room we stayed in only had a fan to make the room cool. It did have a door leading outside but didn't want to leave that open because of the possibility of bugs getting in. If you don't like bugs I wouldn't recommend this place because it is very much an open plan hostel.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2012

Liked: It was quiet and away from the main street.

Disliked: It was probably a bit too quiet and the feeling that the place gave was that it is a bit run down. The chalk board was advertising a quiz but it was never changed the whole time I was there and never happened (neither did the free movie or any of the other events). It was a bit dirty in the bathroom and the paint was coming off.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpful. They kept the kitchen and shower aria clean. The had a nice aria to site and chill.

Disliked: The location was a bite far away from the central street. The stares towards the hostel needed a repair..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Katherine Miles

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2012 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Very social and clean. Very helpful staff - I had to leave at 7am that morning and wasn't coming back. As reception wasn't open that early they arranged for me to check out anyway!~Well above and beyond what other hostels would do! Thank you guys :-)

Disliked: Nothing!!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Basic clean hostel. Rooms are clean, good bunk beds and good air-con. Free wifi during the day time. Pick up from bus station. Kitchen was ok, BBQ available.

Disliked: Bit far from the main street, about 10 min walk.