We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sunny's Adelaide Backpacker Hostel

Hostel | 139 Franklin Street, Adelaide, Australia 5000

78.9% Overall Rating

104 out of 160 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/06/2014)

Valentin EGGER thinks…

"Le personnel est très accueillant et m'ont donner beaucoup de conseils déterminants lors de l'achat de ma voiture. Les locaux sont très propres et les pancakes au ptit dej sont un must! Situé en…"

Read all Sunny's Adelaide Backpacker Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Adelaide?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Adelaide

Adelaide Central YHA
24.54 USD

Hostel 90.1% 61 reviews
Adelaide's Shakespeare International Backpackers H
17.47 USD

Hostel 87.0% 114 reviews
Our House Backpackers
17.47 USD

Hostel 84.5% 74 reviews
Adelaide Motel & Backpackers
16.59 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 47.5% 58 reviews
Blue Galah Backpackers Hostel
19.21 USD

Hostel 67.9% 51 reviews
Hostel 109
39.30 USD

Hostel 87.1% 4 reviews
Adelaide Backpackers Inn
23.58 USD

Hostel 86.3% 5 reviews
The Guest House
24.45 USD

Hostel 89.8% 19 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.9%

Overall Rating

104 out of 160 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sunny's Adelaide Backpacker Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
92.0%
Value
79.2%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 108 of 115 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: It is not a clean hostel and bed wasnt comfy

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

23 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, the staff were awesome and the people I met were all lovely.

Disliked: No hooks in the showers for your clothes, pretty minor complaint really.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Property is a bit old

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jack Smith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2014 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Good chilled out hostel, management where friendly and you get free pancakes.

Disliked: Jack left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

amica hagen

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 July 2014 amica would recommend this property

Liked: The ffriendly staff and they made pancakes for breaky

Disliked: It was a little bit dirty

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valentin EGGER

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2014 Valentin would recommend this property

Liked: Le personnel est très accueillant et m'ont donner beaucoup de conseils déterminants lors de l'achat de ma voiture. Les locaux sont très propres et les pancakes au ptit dej sont un must! Situé en plein centre à deux minutes du quartier chinois. Très silencieux et reposant.

Disliked: Valentin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owners really nice and helpful. Really good pancakes for breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kes boswell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

29 April 2014 kes would recommend this property

Liked: It is small with a nice atmosphere. The staff couldn't be more helpful, even starting pancakes slightly early because we had to catch our flight. Perfect location only 10 minutes walk from the bus stop. Many thanks.

Disliked: kes left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Melanie Schwarz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2014

Liked: the staff was amazingly nice... the pancake breakfast ist excellent.. really fluffy and tasty...

Disliked: Melanie left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast wifi

Disliked: Older little bit dirty

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

12 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: warm atmosphere,not a very big premise but in inside have comfortable space.

Disliked: Just don't have television yet, but this is not a necessary thing, actually is not a problem

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

19 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of the staff, family feeling, if you don't want to check out yet you can keep the room till you do, helpfull staff, free internet, free coffee and thé all day, free bicycle use around the corner, close to markets, shops, public transport and bars.

Disliked: Old building, needs freshened up, needs some repairs

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

magdalena partl

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013

Liked: free pancake breakfast! delicious! good wifi

Disliked: dirty, small rooms, hole in the wall (in room), small bathrooms, small kitchen, small common area

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Daphne de Jong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2013 Daphne would recommend this property

Liked: Easy going atmosphere, the staff are very friendly and try to help you out whenever they can (such as organising a trip to Kangaroo Island with other backpackers), I feel safe here and the free pancake breakfast is amazing.

Disliked: Nothing. It's not the cleanest place on the planet, but it's great value for your money.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and informative owner/ manager?! You can pick up the WiFi in the rooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tsim Wing Shan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

17 October 2013 Tsim would recommend this property

Liked: Manager and staff are very nice in here~ all of us can enjoy the free pancake in every morning~I have a good good time coz you can make many friend in here=] Also this place is nearly the bus station n China town~

Disliked: Tsim left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff helps you out with everything and offers great tours. The pancake breakfast is awesome.

Disliked: Breakfast only from 8 to 8:45. Can't lock the shower (has a good curtain so.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

JINHWA KIM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

17 July 2013

Liked: Just I wanted house for staying at that moment. This hostel is good for staying short term with reasonable price. Good thing was quiet and silent because always someone tried to sleep all the time thus I had to move quietly. So It was good for sleeping.

Disliked: I stayed at domitory for 6 people which was really poor atmosphere. There is no lift so I had to carry my baggage by myself from ground.(My baggage was so heavy) It was so cold and I got a cold at that moment, but blanket was so thin and it couldn't make me warm.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

John Davy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013

Liked: Leaving it

Disliked: Everything

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

CHING-CHUNG MENG

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

02 April 2013 CHING-CHUNG would recommend this property

Liked: Great guys there

Disliked: Small kitchen

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

28 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, went above and beyond (free pancake breakfast in the morning!). Location was good, near the heart of the city but not too noisy (at least on a weeknight). Lots of long-term stayers to chat with, although I only stayed one night so I didn't really meet many people.

Disliked: The bed could have been more comfortable, and the kitchen is a bit small with only a few pots/pans.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

24 February 2013

Liked: Nice staff

Disliked: Dirty and smelly

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Ashleigh Merriel

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

24 September 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything! There was no-one on reception, I was told the manager was at the pub and I was unable to stay as one of the backpackers told me they were all full despite my booking being confirmed and deposit paid. I had to struggle to find accommodation at the last minute on a friday night. The place was dark when I got there and in a way I'm really glad I didn't stay as it was dirty and smelt funny

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chris Wood

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 July 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Its close to the city and the central bus station

Disliked: There is not much of an atmosphere and no they have no computers where you can go online but its a great place 2 stay short term for the price and everybody there is friendly and helpful.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2012

Liked: I did not like anything about this property

Disliked: The hostel was shabby. it looked run down, the ktichen was tiny and to disgusting to cook in. The bedrooms and bathrooms were horrible.